Rent Winter Sports for Wii
view large frontback

Winter Sports

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
4.2

684 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
5

Fair

fun but frustrating

posted by kingdork (WILMINGTON, NC) Mar 22, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Lots of games/sports to play and decent graphics. But the wonky controls are a deal breaker for me. I'm bummed, I was looking forward to a good curling game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

WHERE ARE THE MECHANICS IN THIS GAME??????????????

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Dec 27, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

AVOID!
The only good part is the graphics and maybe the interface. The controls are basicly MIA because on some it plays by it self and others dont register at all. The commentary is faded and annoying! I played it for just a few minutes; the delay did not help the game! I thought Mario and Sonic At The Olympics was bad but that was (some what) playable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Skiing superb... the rest needs improvement.

posted by Coaster (EAU CLAIRE, WI) Jan 13, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

For the most part the game is a disaster with controls that are either too sensitive or not sensitive enough, and other controls that are either too simple or not simple enough. But the developers hit the proverbial nail on the head with the downhill skiing events.

To me this game is only worth it for the downhill ski racing events and proves that an even more in-depth skiing game will work extremely well on the Wii.

As for the other events.. well the game mechanics either don't work very well, are too easy or in the case of figure skating are just down right stupid (hint: yet another rhythm-based system).

It's worth checking out for the skiing events alone. They are very realistic and extremely challenging and will having you trying to beat your best time over and over again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Loved the idea, not so keen on the game play.

posted by WiiMother (Lagrange, OH) Jan 7, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Outside of Wii sports - which we all love - and Will play, this is our first game to try. I was hoping it would be just like Wii sports, only with skiing, figure skating, etc. It isn't, really. We found it too hard, and even though we were doing what we thought were winning moves with the controllers, we didn't do well and the controllers often seemed unresponsive to us. We didn't improve much in the few days we had it. My son wanted to send it back the first day, but I tried to give it a fair shot. Also, the commentators really beat you up. Maybe they have good things to say too - but since we weren't any good we didn't hear those. They certainly didn't share any encouragement. And gamefly's description says there is snowboarding - there isn't. It would have been nice if there were practice modes too, similar to the ones in Wii sports. We probably did the best in speed skating. The figure skating seemed really unresponsive. I wanted to improve in the ski jumping in the worst way, but never really did. Didn't understand the cross country sking at all, and the downhill was just plain hard. All of these were tried on the beginner levels - we never would have dreamed of trying the harder ones. I'm hoping there are some other sports games out there that are better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

stick to the mario sonic sports game

posted by madgamer24 (FREDERICKSBURG, VA) Dec 27, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The game is weak, We didnt like it at all. The controls are okay, its just bad game play.I wouldnt rent this nevermind buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Still not sure

posted by sampey (YORKVILLE, IL) Dec 19, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

We got the game in yesterday and we put it in right away to try it. The figure skating game wasnt what we expected it to be. We like the Mario/Sonic sport game better. We are going to try it one more day before we decide to send it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Awful Wii Game

posted by jgoodman (CHICAGO HEIGHTS, IL) Jan 23, 2009

Member since May 2008

Don't rent it - the game is very difficult, has virtually NO excitement, too slow to transition to the screens....disappointed in this rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

What a workout

posted by Hossinator (TILTONSVILLE, OH) Dec 29, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

This one will give you a workout. Not too bad if you can get past some of the controls. I would rent it again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Missed chance....

posted by giacammo (MACEDON, NY) Aug 27, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

Not what I thought it would be. This game had great potential, but the graphics are shabby and the overall gameplay is subpar at best. If they could create a game where you feel like you are actually playing the sport instead of just moving around, that would make it better. Mario Olympics is FAR better that this one and should be a model for future games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by narutoboy (OCEANSIDE, CA) Aug 12, 2008

Member since Jun 2006

This game is so much fun I love it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Could Be Worse?

posted by wehojoel (WEST HOLLYWOOD, CA) Aug 12, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

Okay so I gave up before trying all the sports. Plan on re-renting it. All in all it's not as bad as I had expected after reading the reviews. It took a few tries at each game before I got the hang of it. The learning curve is pretty steep. Not as easy as Wii Sports. If you are looking for a follow up for Wii Sports this is not it! After a few tries I was liking the luge. What I don't like are the announcers. I couldn't understand what they were talking about. Really bad garbled accents. I'll rent it again and try the other games. But I limit how long I keep my gamefly games at home before I send them back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

PLEASE!!! WHY BOTHER?

posted by ReallyChic (CHICAGO, IL) Aug 8, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

This is by far my worst rental yet, mostly because there's no creativity whatsoever. For example the figure skating sucks, all you do is lift each controller when you're told to- no say so on the moves you do or when you do them. This is probably a great game for robots.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Probably the worst game ever

posted by wdchase (CARLISLE, AR) Jul 17, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

This is probably the most lame game I've ever played. I'm not a gamer and I love wii sports games, the controls are impossible to use, the motion is lame. I was so excited for this game and it totally fell short. I feel like I wasted my time and money. DON'T GET THIS GAME you'll regret it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible game

posted by Confidence (MASON, OH) Jul 10, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

This game is the worst wii game ever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

another wii-nner

posted by mikcali (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Jun 30, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

Barf.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

not good by any standard

posted by noobie (FRONT ROYAL, VA) Jun 28, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

This game is horrible and boring at same time not recommended

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

very hard game to play

posted by katiekatha (POTTSVILLE, PA) Jun 21, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

this game was very difficult to play, it gave no instructions, that was usefull and ofcourse i as the parent had no clue how to play my 11 year old son could not figure it out. we also thought that there would be hockey but there wasnt it was mostly different forms of skiing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

the game stunk with a capital STUNK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by gamereiver (PROSSER, WA) May 3, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

the game stunk. on the package it said you could snow board, but you can't. figures huh! all the controls were extremely sensitive. And on one of the curling challenges in the career I thought was impossible. I STRONGLY RECOMEND NOT WASTING YOUR TIME RENTING THIS GAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Poor controls

posted by MangumFam (VISTA, CA) Apr 28, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

The problem with this game is that the controls are not easy. Sports is much more intuituve to use.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

so much unrealized potential

posted by striker31 (WEST JORDAN, UT) Mar 28, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

This game could have been good. The controls were very awkward and did not respond very well. Graphically the game was pretty good. Some tutorial levels would have been nice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Winter Sports

posted by pwolfpac6 (SELDEN, NY) Mar 10, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

The Game was Horrible

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Too hard and not fun

posted by initiator (NORTHRIDGE, CA) Feb 12, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

I echo the sentiments of others who have written a review of this game. It basically blows. The controls are too hard and the game just isn't fun. The graphics are stellar, but what difference does that make if you can't control the game. I had high expectations, but like so many other Wii games, the hype didn't live up to the reality. Do any of the designers actually play these games on a Wii? Lame!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Winter Sports

posted by Retired (FERNWOOD, ID) Feb 9, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

I am new at this gaming stuff (just retired)and I think this was a bit difficult for a beginner. Maybe I will try it again when I am more experienced

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

know what you get

posted by FenwayFan2 (WHEATON, IL) Feb 2, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

This is one of those games that you either like it or hate it. It is challenging so if you like some easy game that you can beat in a day, don't get this. Skiing is by far one of the best games in it. Tilt the wiimote and nunchuck to steer. Its graphic are some of the best I've seen on the wii. SO if you want something challenging that takes time to learn how to play then this is a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Good Graphics, difficult to use

posted by jodeman (LEWISVILLE, TX) Jan 12, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

I am very new to the Wii and this new type of "motion gaming". The graphics for this game are pretty good, however the control of playing the games within this bundle differ very much. Bobsleigh and, Luge and Skeleton are very easy to use, but ski jumping and downhill racing is not so easy to figure out. Cross Country racing is not only difficult, but it is also WAY too long of a sport. I was looking forward to playing these games with my wife, but I was disappointed because of it's difficulty to learn.
One more negative is that you have to switch the nunchuck on and off between games. I will probably try this game again in the future, but it is definitely not a game for beginners.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »