Rent Winning Eleven: Pro Evolution Soccer 2007 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Winning Eleven: Pro Evolution Soccer 2007

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS, PSP Games, PS2
GF Rating
6.5

684 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Gameplay alone is worth it

posted by dangerhaz (WEST HOLLYWOOD, CA) Mar 5, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

So I've been really into FIFA 07 for the past several months and I think it's a great game. As far as I knew, the game play felt realistic. When I heard everyone raving about how much better the game play was in Winning Eleven, I had to try it out. I was blown away by how much more fun and realistic this game is. People are complaining about the graphics and the sound and how this game doesn't have the team and player licensing, but if that's really more important to you than how it actually plays, then go join a fantasy soccer league. FIFA 07 has been fun yet very frustrating at times. I find myself cursing regularly throughout a match, mainly because my ai players would do little to help me. They'd actually watch the ball roll right by them if I didn't choose to control that player. Soccer can be a fast paced match and I need a little help from my team mates to keep up. Winning Eleven eliminated all that frustration, my teammates actually play like real players and do their part to help. As for all the criticism about graphics and sound, it's not that bad. The only time I really hate the graphics is during close ups, but from the gameplay view (which you have way more camera options than in FIFA) the graphics and animations are very fluid. Watch a soccer game on TV and you'll know what I mean about how much better Winning Eleven is. The soccer ball sound effects themselves sound more realistic in Winning Eleven, FIFA just has a better announcer and a better soundtrack. Winning Eleven gives you a lot more game settings too. I would love to ramble on in more detail about how much more fun this game is than FIFA, but I'm running out of room. Without a doubt, I recommend Wining Eleven over FIFA and I think any soccer player would agree.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The best football game I have ever played

posted by Joe2006 (NAPLES, FL) Feb 23, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I decided to write a review because I saw a few people give this a 1. I wonder how much they played WE because I have always played the FIFA series and the more you played the more boring it got. The exact opposite is true with Winning Eleven. I have owned it for about 3 weeks now and I literally cannot wait to get home from work to play it. It takes some getting used to but this game makes playing football fun. It makes you think before you pass, and makes you set up your plays before you try to score. When you score in this game you will feel like you are on top of the world. It is so much more realistic than FIFA I cannot even begin to describe it. Just rent and you will notice.

I highly recommend this game to any fan of soccer or football. This game deserves no less than an 8 or 9 in my book.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better than FIFA07

posted by IamtheStig (PORT RICHEY, FL) Feb 8, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

14 out of 17 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

I just played this at a friends house. Now It is in my Q. Much Much better that FIFA07. Very Smooth play, great graphics, AI is tight. Overall a really good game. I like World Cup 06 better, for the simple reason that when you win the World Cup, it feels like an accomplishment. The gameplay in Winning Eleven is better than WC06 though. Just something missing, I guess it just does not have the monumental feeling of WC06.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best out there.

posted by Soccerguy (BUFFALO, NY) Feb 8, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

For those who really like soccer Winning Eleven is the best soccer game since Playstation 1. The game is all about the gameplay and nothing else,you probably wont see the same gameplay over and over and each goal is different from the other.

-----Graphics----
-This is not a FIFA 07, the graphics are just OK. What they did was they made the game for PS2, and did a few changes to HD, better lighting, better Characters(But if you watch the player carefully they are going to be as equal to the PS2 version. Basically the same thing from Fifa WC 2006 for 360, is not a next-gen graphics but they are far better from the past-gen

-----Gameplay-----
This is what makes the game the best.

The way that you passes the ball or the way you kick is always something magic, something more than the game. The tricks may be hard to do it and they may not work the way you wanted to but is that what put the value to the gameplay. Its really hard to play now with the CPU, they dont lose the ball that easy, and the golly dont do the super defense that they used to do in W11 10. There is nothing more to say about the gameplay, the rest is the same old good thing. For the FIFA fans the gameplay may be to hard for you guys because FIFA is a boring game play.

-The goals are beautiful and is not going to be the same every time

-The players shine on the filed

-The replay is worth watching

Pro

--The best gameplay out there

--You can make your own formation, and put the team the way it fits the best for you

--The players are just like in the real life

--The Online can keep you months and months busy

--Archivement are very easy to get

Cons

-- Is does not have a next-gen graphics

--It does not have all the teams

--It does not have the germany league anymore

--The Germany team is all wrong

--You will see some slowdown at the online matches

Well what i have to say is, if you like soccer game this is game that you must have at any cost because any sport game is about the gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

REALLY disappointing

posted by THFCfan (SELLERSVILLE, PA) Feb 13, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Ah, such high hopes for this title, especially since Fifa '07 was a big let down in terms of gameplay. But straight up - this is NOT a Next Gen title on the 360. Everything about this game from the player animations, to the stadiums, to the crowd to the presentation screams PS2. There is next to no improvements that I can tell from last years' title on the Xbox. While the gameplay might be smoother than Fifa 07, the presentation is exactly the same as previous versions. I found it glaringly simple in nature and the tackling and goaltending leaves a lot to be desired. Graphically Fifa 07 OWNS this game. Plus for some reason, there is no ability to edit and rename teams like you could do before, so unless you're an ARSEnal fan (and I'm not) you're left playing as Man Red or Northeast London etc. I'm not keeping this one as I feel that Konami really didn't put much effort into this game. Here's hoping that UEFA Champions League will be a saving grace for Footie fans this year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

hi

posted by gmaniscool (BATAVIA, NY) May 3, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is awsome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

BIG disappointment

posted by komodo9mm (OMAHA, NE) Jun 4, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was a huge fan of the last WE game on PS2. Graphically this game is no big improvement, not that I care--I often find myself playing live arcade often enough.

Animations are very realistic, there is little wrong in the way realism... my major gripe is #1 they eliminated the German (Deutschland or Alemania for your spanish croud) leagues. I could care less about the franchises, of which there are few.

My second gripe is in difficulty level.

Pop the game in amateur to get used to the controls, and get good at scoring goals--it shouldn't take you long before you can start getting 5-6 per game.

Take the difficulty up one notch, and suddenly you can NEVER keep a hold of the ball. It's almost rediculous how big the leap in difficulty is. It's as vast as the difference in difficulty between easy and insane in Gears of war--that kind of drastic. This difficulty gap is the main reason it gets such a low score from me. The game goes from being way too lax to way too intense at the flip of the switch. IMHO they didn't do anything to improve how easy it is to get cards either.

That said it's still fun, but I'm extremely glad I rented it instead of bying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Another winner from Konami

posted by esc0bar (HOMESTEAD, PA) Feb 12, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Staying true to the original Winning Eleven games, the game play in WE 2007 is phenomenal. The AI is fantastic and this is one of the few games that actually becomes more fun when played at the higher levels.

The only reason I give it a 9 instead of a 10 is the items they removed from the game. Most of the changes occurred in the Master League section, where you can no longer create a team from scratch, which sadly was one of the best parts of the game.

I guess the trade off is more licensed teams, making the game a little more friendly to the casual fan.

At any rate, I'll be holding onto this one for a while. I'm sure a lot of others will be keeping it too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great game

posted by Steven6268 (TAUNTON, MA) Feb 8, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

A+ for gameplay runs smooth online graphics could be better but its so much fun to play if you like soccer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sad Sad Sad

posted by Jsquared (ACTON, CA) Feb 12, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

Probably the worst soccer game made in a long time. Challenging is horrible. Shooting properly is an art and probably the only thing this game has going for it. Thank god i did not buy it. Online play is full of people who will NOT choose anyother team other than Brazil or any top tier team. People also have a quitting problem, and connection issues.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Am I Even Playing??

posted by TerryYake (MAPLE SHADE, NJ) Mar 23, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This game is horrible. The controls are so loose half the time it feels you're not the one that's actually playing the game. It's near impossible to direct a shot on net. Even from 6 yards out the players loft them into Row ZZ. The passing is terrible. Get ready for a lot of "Nooo! Not to THAT guy!" AI is like a bunch of special needs 5 year olds playing football. Players rarely make forward runs, instead opting to run AT you when you have the ball. Forwards routinely setup camp offside. Apparently unaware they need to stay with the last man back.

Fake team names are locked. You can't change them to the real ones yourself. terrible. Wish i could give this game a 0/10 but 1/10 was the lowest available.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Thank God I didn't buy it....

posted by hbravo74 (KEY WEST, FL) Feb 19, 2007

Member since Nov 2004

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

Same histor, different cover....I don't understand what the big hype about this game was...I accept it...I was excited too, but after playing it....what a dissapointment...This game lacks the same realism FIFA does, players moves are unrealistic, you can take on your adversary with a single player, AI is horrible(probably better than other games), but still horrible. If you try to play with a team that is not one of the big ones it becomes almost impossible to win a game. Online playing is horrendous...Another dissapointment...After all this years nobody has been able to make a realistic soccer game....I fianally give up on them...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Winning eleven 2007 (pro evolution soccer)

posted by BenReynold (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Feb 18, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

Re - THFCfan review

The fact that you used the word 'goaltending' in your review tells me and every other person in the 'football' playing community that you know absolutely nothing about the sport.

newbs should stick to FIFA Soccer....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pleasently surprised

posted by gamer09 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Sep 14, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

I thought (for the most part) pro evolution was a decent game. The game play was much better than Fifa and the graphics were comparable.
A few of the things that need a bit of tweaking are..
-Goal celebration graphics
-More licensed teams

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

GOAL

posted by Gamer2k (BRONX, NY) Sep 4, 2007

Member since May 2007

You'll get a kick out of this game. It has smooth game play, easy to master controls and all your favorite teams. play for one of the many cups or play a season but try not to miss this if you enjoy soccer games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Soccer Game Ever

posted by jasonk1 (PARAMUS, NJ) Aug 22, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

I have always been a fifa fan. But this game just blows it away. Its alot harder at first but much more realistic. You have to make every shoot count and button control is key. Game overall is a 10. The only 2 things that are weird for the 360 is the tournament modes. If your a few players but want to play a cup or other tournament, you can only play your teams. You can pickup other teams or auto skip the games you dont want to play. Those are the only set backs. MUST HAVE SOCCER FANS!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Soccer Game. Period.

posted by TGhost (RIVERVIEW, FL) Aug 10, 2007

Member since Dec 2005

This is the best soccer game ever. Period. Do not even lose time thinking about FIFA games.

The major downside are the graphics. They are ok when played on HD but too much last gen when on SD.

Also, not a major improvement on gameplay and controls from it's previous interaction on XBOX (Winning Eleven 9 International) but there's not much to complain
about controls and gameplay there.

What is a real shame is that Konami left a lot of the game out of this next gen version. There very little editing and you cannot save your replays anymore.

But even with the downs, if you like Soccer and like depth in your games this is THE game you gotta get. Along with ball physics and ultra sharp and deep controls the soccer strategy and player management are strong points of WE:PES 2007: There's enough game there to keep you turning this DVD on until next year when the next interaction comes up from Konami.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Really Bad!

posted by Alex233 (PITTSBURGH, PA) Jul 23, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

This game is soooo bad! I would much rather play the FIFA games than this. All this game did was take up space on my GameQ. Really Not worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not what I hoped

posted by StrngBrew (RED BANK, NJ) Jul 9, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

I started playing soccer video games with the EA World Cup series. My enjoyment of those games naturally led me to the FIFA series, which I also enjoyed(especially the 360 version of FIFA 07). So as you read this review, remember that it's from the perspective of someone new to the WE series.

However, I always heard the buzz about Winning Eleven. I even had several friends tell me that I simply had to try the Konami because the gameplay was so superior to FIFA. Most critic's reviews had the games ranked pretty close to one another but consistently had WE as the better game.

So I rented it and was instantly disappointed. The poor menu presentation and lack of official licenses is disappointing, but not something you can't get over if the gameplay is great. Unfortunately, I just never saw this great gameplay. I found the movement, while smooth, was still rather unrealistic at times and not terribly easy to control.

The actual look of the game was also a definite notch below the EA offering. The close up character models were actually very poor and during gameplay the very small looking players would sometimes get jumbled on the screen.

I don't want to say the game is bad, but given the very high expectations I had due to the wildly positive reviews from most people... I was pretty disappointed. It may compare favorably to the PS2 or Xbox versions of FIFA 07, but on the 360 it wasn't even close in my opinion. If you're going to rent a football/soccer game for the 360 FIFA07 is the way to go.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Winning -11: Slow Action Soccer 2007

posted by gamerxman (PAYSON, UT) Jul 6, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

I was a fan of F.I.F.A. soccer games growing up in the early nineties. The pace was fast, it was unbelievably fun to manipulate the bend of the ball and shots on goal were what they should be: high. Soccer is a blast to play, but watching it can be a bore. Playing this sorry excuse for a soccer game puts me into a deep sleep. Your players first of all walk to the ball, when you slide tackle, your whole team or at least two players follow suit. Breakaways are non existent and the graphics are sub par. The audio in this game is also horrific. The computer has a great shot on goal, only for the announcer to say "Oh they have a good chance!" two minutes later. 6.5? 6.5?........if this game gets a 6.5 then I've been a straight A student my whole life. If this game is a 6.5 the Atlanta Hawks have a shot at the N.B.A. title next year. I wanted to write more in depth, but i don't like to write about garbage. DO NOT RENT THIS GAME, EVEN IF YOUR PAID TO PLAY IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not Very Good

posted by JB3535 (ALPHARETTA, GA) Jun 4, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

This game is very confusing! I think that it is European so everything in it is different. The game itself is very slow moving. It had an English league that only has 2 of the actual English Premiere League teams. So I couldn't be the team i wanted and I could figure out how to play!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by iceman978 (GREENSBORO, NC) May 21, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

Though at first it may seem just too plain you really have to look at the way the players move and the AI in the game to really see how great it actually is. I am a die hard Fifa 07 fan but when I first played PS I was like wow this game is whack, but it really wasn't it's just that it's so much different than fifa that at first you wouldn't like it. But if you really analyze the game you could see that for as far as a realistic soccer experince go Winning Eleven because it much more rooted in the fundamentals of the game with crisp passing and smart ai. you also have to really plan out your attacks because unlike Fifa 07 you can't just blow by everyone. O yea it also has tricks with 360 and fients and other little features in th gamefly like the players mindsets and stuff for things like having a agressive defense or a soft defense that sits back and trys teh off sides trap ounce in a while.

peace 9of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Soccer at its best

posted by Poofyman (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Apr 26, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

I don't know how good the other soccer games are. But i like the graphics on the game just think the gameplay could be alittle better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

FUTBOL!

posted by DiRtYmEaT (STANWOOD, WA) Apr 23, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

EAISER PLAYABLILTY THAN FIFA SERIES
NOT AS DYNAMIC AS WELL THOUGH IF YOU WANT A SIMPLE SOCCER GAME THAT DOESNT TAKE LONG TO MASTER THIS IS THE ONE FOR YOU EASY PLAY MAKES FOR EXCITING PLAYER VS. PLAYER BUT LEAVES SOMTHING TO BE DESIRED ON TOUNRY MODES
GRAPHICS NOT AS IMPRESSIVE AS FIFA EITHER
BUT SOMETIMES YOU JUST WANT A GAME YOU CAN PLAY RIGHT OUT OF THE BOX WELL THIS IS IT,

FUN

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Forget FIFA!

posted by Zadkiel (BALTIMORE, MD) Mar 25, 2007

Member since Sep 2003

Forget FIFA...that game is horrible.

Play is very smooth

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse