Rent Wing Island for Wii
view large frontback

Wing Island

Not Rentable
GF Rating
4.2

370 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
5

Fair

Great Concept, but Controls are Weak

posted by eborchardt (MADISON, WI) Apr 10, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was super excited to see a flying game being released after finding out there was no Pilotwings being released for Wii. So I made sure this game made it to the top of my rental queue as soon as possible.

The game starts out with a story about a character that inherits a business that uses planes to do odd jobs. You play this character and are given assignments to complete. When you complete your missions, you earn money that you can use to repair, upgrade, or buy new planes.

The missions themselves are very creative. There is one where you have to locate cows that have escaped their pasture, and another you are crop dusting. There are also missions that you compete against computer opponents by flying through rings and popping balloons. The missions were much more difficult than I anticipated. It took me several attempts to beat some of them.

The major downfall in this game are the controls. Steering right/left/up/down is quite natural and is fine. The game has a few other controls as well. You can speed up by holding up on the d-pad and slow down by holding down on the d-pad. I found that I am holding the up button constantly, which is a little awkward. The real problems came with the speed burst and u-turns. To do a speed burst, you need to thrust the remote forward. To do a u-turn, you flick the remote to the side. There were many instances where I would try to do a speed burst but end up doing a u-turn instead.

I enjoyed playing this game for a while, but I eventually got so frustrated with the controls that I wanted to throw the remote across the room.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent Game, Weak Controls

posted by trucles (REDWOOD CITY, CA) Apr 11, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was very excited to see a flying game for the Wii. The missions are pretty fun with a good variety of tasks, including transporting cargo, locating targets, crop-dusting, navigating courses, etc. It's a little strange flying in formation and having to re-arrange formations, but adds an interesting twist to the traditional flying game. Steering is handled mostly by tilting the Wiimote and is very responsive. However, boosts, braking, and quick-turns are handled by physically moving the Wiimote, and these motions don't respond well at all. I also found the missions during which you located targets very frustrating, as your radar screen isn't very helpful, so I found myself wandering aimlessly, hoping to get lucky and stumble across one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

If this isn't a "Fair - 5", I don't know what is

posted by JFiz81 (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) May 7, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ever thought “I really wish I knew an example of a game rated Fair - 5.” It's your lucky day, as Wing Island might be the clearest “5” I’ve had in a bit.

This game has a lot of simple pros, and also a lot of small cons. When I totaled up the imaginary scorecard in my brain, it came out about even, and I’d say that’s a 5. Here’s why:

The controls: To be honest, the controls were better then I thought they’d be. I was able to learn the steering and move throughout with ease. On the other side of that, maybe they were smooth because they were a little too simple. Well, simple controls that work, in my opinion, are better then overly complex controls that feel like a yoga session to pull off.

The graphics : Graphics were OK. Nothing to write home about, and only a few maps. The maps are few and on the small side, but at least they are vastly different in setup so each map doesn’t feel the same. They could have let plane upgrades actually be visible in the game to give a little eye candy for you plane lovers, but upgrade your engine/weight/turning all you want in the garage and your plane will look the same as it did.

The game: My phrase on this “fair" game: too short (not to be confused with the rapper). The plot line which is required to open some of the islands is over to quick. After that, you have the option to continue flying around the islands that you’ve opened and try to best your top mission scores. On top of that, a lot of the missions are sometimes frighteningly similar in goal and in how you complete them:

Mission 1: Drop off these apples!
Mission 2: Drop off these barrels!

I don’t mind the whole replay option of ‘bettering your scores’, but when my scores to work on are cloned missions across very few islands, I feel like the game is about done.

Final (deep) thoughts: When I put my thoughts together, the word “Fair” floated over my head like a divine intervention, so 5 it is. I had a lot of fun, for about a day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Worth a rental...

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Jul 1, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

All the reviews say there is not much to this game (and they are right); but it is not like it is promising one thing and delivering another. I found myself keeping this one longer then the usual 1 day. Rent it and you will be suprised that you will like it and when it comes down to $9.99 it is worth adding to your library. Afterall; we all need a brake from hardcore shoot them ups.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

better than the reviews say

posted by veelaunch (GLENDALE, UT) Dec 16, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

At the time of this review Wing Island is rated 4.1. This game is certainly better than that. The controls are not perfect but they are the best controls for a flying game on Wii. Controls are much better than for Blazing Angles or Heatseeker. I love having multiple planes and flying them in different formations. You have to use the best formation for your task There were great competitions where you had to pop the other plane’s balloons or use formations to pop hordes of balloon in the sky. The game looked great and ran smoothly. It did give me pleasant memories of Pilotwings from the SNES. I feel comfortable with my 7 rating as a good solid rent but probably not worth a purchase.

The down side was the story and squeaks for voice acting. These dumb little ducks looked awful. The story should have been completely removed. If you can skip through the pathetic dialog then you will find what’s left to be a pretty good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great kid's game.

posted by gameguy197 (BROWNWOOD, TX) Sep 27, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game didn't hold my interest long, but my kids enjoyed it. The only problem I had was that the controls were a little off, but not as bad as some other Wii games I have tried.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

awkward control scheme

posted by kidfrombox (MOSCOW, ID) Aug 21, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

During the training missions the control scheme feels natural and fluid, but as soon as you begin an actual mission you learn this just isn't true.
I had visions of "Pilotwings" dancing through my head, which were quickly dashed as I crashed, and crashed my way through the first mission. I really didnt play much beyond that first mission though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

not bad

posted by wlmaul (LANCASTER, PA) Aug 15, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

this game was pretty good except for being a littie hard. If there were different levels it would be better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

OK Game

posted by TopGamer1 (BOULDER, CO) Jul 27, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

I was disappointed by the missions, but otherwise a cute game for kids. It would be nice if Wii had a better flight simulator game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

yawn!

posted by wiifan2009 (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Apr 26, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2006

this game is boring. more like hard for me. i give wing island 1 teenage bird out of 5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

fair flight game not too bad

posted by hobieone (LAS VEGAS, NV) Feb 3, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2008

the game is somewhat reminiscent of pilot wings and thats about it.

graphics i'd say was average for the wii, but overall game play aside from the cheesy storyline i thought was good and challenging the controls were responsive and not that hard to get used to. the game was fun and challenging. altho the 2 player control scheme escapes me as to why they did it with the nunchuck?? and not a second controller which make the 2 player part a bit awkard

other than that it game i'd rent again or possibly buy if found in a bargain bin

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Cool concept, poor execution

posted by Scotto55 (READING, PA) Jan 16, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

My main gripe is with the controls. Even exact motions don't give the right results. Particularly in trying to quick turn right, quick brake, and change to V formation.

For some reason, when I move the tip of the controller to the right to initiate a quick right turn, it does a quick left turn. Almost 100% of the time.

And any motion that requires a quick pull back of the controller seems to always do the opposite for me. Almost every time when I want a quick break and just pull the control straight back, I get a quick thrust.

I thought maybe it was my controller. But I get the same results on both. And I played for hours in the tutorial sections trying to get it right.

It is so hard to enjoy the game with these flaws.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

BORING!!!

posted by trarocks (TRENTON, NJ) Jul 21, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

game might be fun for little kids but that may even be a stretch- Game is so bad there is very little that can said about it-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

game was ok

posted by jasonp (POCAHONTAS, AR) Mar 31, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

fun game i didn't like all the formation flying but otherwise was a fun game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

the title is not what the game is

posted by aokiju (MOUNTAIN TOP, PA) Jan 2, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

You do not get to fight you just put fires out, shoot cows with nets and deliver goods to people.When you do battle someone all you do is pop balloons with your plane

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Controlls Really Needs work

posted by ffej1138 (SANTA CRUZ, CA) Dec 17, 2007

Member since Dec 2007

Most of the time the game is alright. Its when you have to use the lame controls to fly in formation that you really see the short comings of the game. This coupled with the cheesy story line and interactions that explain the mission.. who wrote these.. I mean really. I played it for three days and went right back to Game Crazy to sell it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

gets boring very quickly

posted by CenVill (PEMBROKE PINES, FL) Dec 2, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

The game is way too simplistic. The tasks are boring, hard to accomplish, and dumb.

This game is OK for a few hours. Very young children may enjoy it for a day or two. The rest of us won't.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Bum Island

posted by kruetz57 (ROCKFORD, IL) Nov 26, 2007

Member since May 2006

ok when i found this game on gf i was like WOW!!! finally i can try this game because it wasnt at the stores and i never found here and when it came to my box i was like yes!!! it came finaly and i booted it up and i literaly played it for 45 seconds and almost threw up everything is horrible the gameplay sucks the graphics were probably the best thing and come on your phrikin birds whats up with that and your name is phrikin junior the missions are pointless you have to do perfect to get even 1 gold flight is impossible and come on they give you 2 phrikin min. to complete each mission i almost killed my self cuz i waited about 5 phrikin days for this not recomended unless you want to torcher yourself in unbelievable ways just stick with the super smash bang m up shoot m up M rated games im not allowed to play those but id still rather get in trouble than play that garbage

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Charming, fun yet challenging

posted by Ultimtegmr (OLATHE, KS) Jun 13, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

Wing Island is basically a game where you control planes and do missions from extinguishing fires to locating cows. The game itself has nice graphics and the look is cute. The missions are enjoyable yet some are difficult and may take multiple tries to conquer. The controls are easy to learn and master. There could be a few more selections of planes to buy and a larger variety. Wing Island is a game that can kill an hour or so but then the missions repeat themselves and become monotonous. Overall, a game for a younger crowd.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »