Rent Wild Earth: African Safari for Wii
view large frontback

Wild Earth: African Safari

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
4.8

307 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

If you like "Endless Ocean"...

posted by aafaa7 (UXBRIDGE, MA) Oct 22, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

...I think you'll enjoy this game. It is fairly laid-back like "Endless Ocean", but much more engaging. You still have to find animals, but you have to get their picture - without getting attacked! I do agree with some of the other reviews in that the graphics of the flying birds are horrible, and the mini-games that you unlock as you complete missions are not even worth playing. But if you're looking for a relaxing, interactive education about African wildlife, you just might enjoy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Enjoyment for Animal Lovers

posted by Moodys13 (LEXINGTON, SC) Oct 4, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

While the game can seem slow with excessive play, it is still very enjoyable and worth the time. The game teaches you about animals as you work to get the perfect photo. Controls are easy to use as is the game play. It's not one of the more active Wii games, but is a nice change of pace. I highly recommend this game for those that have wanted to venture out on safari, but cannot for whatever reason.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

It's "Mild Earth: African Safari"

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Apr 30, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

WILD EARTH: AFRICAN SAFARI is an interesting twist on the shooting game. Instead of shooting weapons at your targets, you are taking pictures of the targets, mostly animals doing what they naturally do about Africa.
Each of the 11 stages play out the same way: you go from point A to point B. Along the way, a ever changing list of objects or animals appears on the screen, and you have to find those animals or objects and take pictures. There's a set number of pictures you have to take each stage in order to pass it.
If you get too close too the animals, the game warns you. Do it too often, you'll have to restart the assignment.
The controls are for the most part easy. You walk about using the thumb stick, scan through the area with the Wiimote, zoom in and out and snap your shot using the buttons.
However, driving the car gets very tough because the car bumps too much and it's too easy to lose your bearings. That's a minor problem.
A major problem this game has is its graphics. To put it bluntly, this game looks putrid. The animals don't look nearly like their real life counterparts (the vultures look like feathers attached to poles and a wire frame.) The scenery is bland and the action is toned down in the wrong way.
There are many times during the game where we spot a carnivore capture its prey, then it pokes its nose at the prey, and the game says the predator is "eating." Doesn't look like that to me.
A second problem is content. I got though all 11 missions in less than six hours, and I have no desire to play them a second time.
A final problem is the mini games you unlock after every successful photo shoot. These mini games feel like an after thought; they weren't fun and the controls were clunky.
If you're into nature, I'd suggest you check out PBS, Animal Planet, Discovery Channel, a nature documentary on DVD, or for the best of the bunch, the DVD collection named PLANET EARTH. You'll get more about African wildlife than here.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best game ever

posted by love2dash (PAHRUMP, NV) Mar 1, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

One of the most funnest kick back games that I have ever played. You really feel like you are there

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Educational...NOT Entertaining!

posted by nicolemcm (BROOKLINE, NH) May 20, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Very boring! No aspect of the game keeps you playing it! This game seems to put more effort into educating the player about wildlife, than it does making it entertaining to play! Which is'nt a bad thing, its just boring! Most people will agree that this is not what you seek in a video game. I would not reccommend this game to anyone other than someone looking to brush up on their "animal sounds!"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wild Earth:African Safari

posted by arpitj1224 (CHELMSFORD, MA) Dec 25, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

I think this a perfect game because anyone who likes animals can come up close to them like they are actually there and take pictures for a magazine. Okay in the 1st assingment yes you have to take picture of elephant dung but it is not that bad. Well signing off.

-Arpit1224

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

THIS SUCKS!

posted by Rawrmaster (WASHOUGAL, WA) May 24, 2009

Member since May 2009

I got this game excactly at 3:00 today, and I went and played it. IT IS THE MOST BORING, WERIDEST GAME YOU COULD EVER GET! The first objective, take a picture of browing giraffes. Easy enough. 2nd objective, TAKE A PICTURE OF ELEPHANT POO! OMG! I do not recommend this game to ANYONE.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not Good At All

posted by CandyDog (APTOS, CA) Jan 1, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

The mini games are weird and when you have to take a picture you don't know where you're going. The prompts don't help, "Giraffe necking." How many people know what that means?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »