Rent Wii Sports Resort for Wii
view large frontback

Wii Sports Resort

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.1

3745 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great for the Family

posted by usmom3 (LUBBOCK, TX) Aug 7, 2009

Member since May 2006

21 out of 26 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

We waited in anticipation for this game & at midnight July 25/26 I was at Wal-Mart waiting to get my hands on it. We love it! My husband & I play it with our 15 y/o son & our 6 y/o daughter. The only complaints I have about it is that not all the games are 4 players & like all other Wii games it only goes up to 4 players (we have a 4 y/o son that is starting to want to play so we have to take turns when he dose)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

finally!

posted by wiifan2009 (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Aug 3, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2006

14 out of 17 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

i waited years for this game to come out i'm glad it finally came out my favorite sports in this game is table tennis, archery and bowling. golf is better this time it really is a work out it's a great game for wii owners i recommend this game to everyone. wii sports resort gets 5 bullseyes out of 5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A good way to demo the motion plus.

posted by str8rippin (COCKEYSVILLE, MD) Jul 27, 2009

Member since Oct 2006

26 out of 33 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

With the games I have played so far, I am happy. The archery and wakeboarding games are especially fun. I like the swordplay and new bowling games as well. Bowling is pretty much the same, but it's more sensetive and there are more modes of play.

Archery could use more modes, like letting you fire more than three arrows at each target in a round, but overall I'm happy I bought this game. It would be nice to rent, but I can see why Gamefly would not have it to rent. You CAN'T play this game without the Wii Motion Plus, and I suspect most folks don't have that yet.

However, when you do buy it, with only one motion plus, you can still play most games with more than one person. I have not played all the games on the disk, but I have only come across one that needs another controller and that's because you play table tennis against another live person at the same time.

Also, it's a great buy getting the motion plus free with the game when places like Gamestop sell it for $25.

You should definitely buy this game and it's best played with other people.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

you need wii motion plus

posted by hmongswagg (LANCASTER, MA) Jan 5, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Im sure it is a great game because i enjoyed wii sports a lot, but I could not play it. if I knew that I had to have the wii motion plus to play it I would have picked something else. I just got a wii and did not know but I will for the future!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Sign me up for this Resort

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Aug 10, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

When WiiSports came out with the Wii, it was the game that sold the system for it's clever use of the Wiimote, and the fact that it was just plain fun for people of almost all ages.
Now they come out with Wii Sport Resort, a game where you fly off to Wuhu Island (yes, that's the name of the island) where you play a bigger variety of mini games (and no, you do have to pay for this one). The new games are Swordplay, Wakeboarding, Frisbee, Archery, Basketball, Table Tennis, Power Crusing, Canoeing, Cycling, and Air Sports. Returning from the original game Bowling and Golf.
But each mini game has more than one game attached to it. Here are two examples:
In Air Sports you can duel other players in a dog fight, fly about the island to get tokens, or you can skydive with a whole lot of Miis.
The Swordplay has you fighting against the AI or an opponent, slicing through obstacles in the indicated direction, or taking on a whole lot of AI Miis in Showdown.
To say this game has plenty of choices is an understatement. There's something for just about anyone who's iterested in the Wii.
But there are a few drawbacks. If you want to get more than one person playing this compilation, you have to get more than one Wii MotionPlus; you have to get one for every player.
And a few games just didn't make the cut for me: Basketball, the Pickup Game, was bland, Golf still has me hitting the ball way too hard and doing stunts on the Wakeboarding didn't thrill me.
And it would be great if every single game was unlocked when you first play Wii Sports Resort.
But that's a small gripe. The other mini games more than make up for the bad ones (bowling is still just as fun as before, smashing Miis with swords doesn't get old and the 3 point contest is a blast), and I get an accessory that I will want to use in many Wii games to come. This is one compilation that I will want to play for many months.
Wii Sports Resort is a strong candidate for my BEST WII GAMES OF 2009 list.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Wii resort

posted by jjlogan (ANDREWS, TX) Oct 9, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

11 out of 16 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

You must have a wii motion plus controller to play this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Of course you can't rent it!!

posted by DJDrake (WINDHAM, NH) Jul 28, 2009

Member since Feb 2007

11 out of 18 gamers (61%) found this review helpful

U guys haven't heard anything about this game have you? U need a new controller attachment for the game.. The Wii MotionPlus!! So that's why you can't rent it. Go google it and learn about it... you'll want to buy the game after.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

You need the Motion Plus for Remote

posted by tirlong (NEW ORLEANS, LA) Sep 14, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

21 out of 37 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

You can't play this game unless you have the motion plus for the remote. GameFly should tell you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best sword control EVER

posted by Destroy (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Aug 24, 2009

Member since Oct 2004

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

If you do nothing else, then unlock all sword modes and play the third sword mode. Samurai Showdown. Brilliant sword control and awesome game there.

The rest of the game is awesome as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wii Sports Resort

posted by Cyberdemon (BROOK PARK, OH) Jul 29, 2009

Member since Apr 2007

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

This is an excellent game to show you the capabilities of the new motion sensor. The games are not deep with extras but that was not the intention of the game. People without common sense should not be allowed to review. The reason they don't rent this is because you need the new motion plus adapter which 99.9% of Wii owners do not have. I has only been out about a month with 4-5 games that support it!!! Great game go buy it!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

LAME

posted by KingBondo (WEST HILLS, CA) Oct 23, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

You need the 'additional' (Nintendo suck you dry) remote adapter. I don't really even know why it's necessary to have- didn't need it for the first Wii sports. Gamefly should make it more apparent that you MUST have this to play it. Nintendo should make it an option, not a requirement to play.

I'm not sure if it's fun or not, but I'm not going to find out- because I'm not buying the extra remote. Oh well....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Why can't we rent this?

posted by CANIGAME (MAHOPAC, NY) Jul 27, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

14 out of 28 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is a total blast. Now I have to pay $50 to get it because gamefly for whatever reason does not have it. Gamefly needs to get this game. Gamefly dropped the ball on this one they usually have all the top games. What happened gamefly? We want Wii sports resort!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Seriously,

posted by darenm91 (BROOMFIELD, CO) Nov 11, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you didn't know this game needed the wii motion sensor then thats too bad. Do your research on games before you rent next time. There was no need to rate the game a 1 you should have written gamefly to complain instead. The game is just like the sports package that comes with the wii, except with more games. I thought it was fun and play it when we have guest over and parties. This game is more of a purchase than a rent honestly. PLUS YOU GET A WII SENSOR WITH IT, so you dont end up writing bad reviews of the game when you actually never played the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Careful Went Renting

posted by ImTheMom (LAKELAND, GA) Sep 25, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Just a little FYI. You need to have the new motion censer pack for the controls. I didn't have them. Renting it. Not able to play it. So just make sure you have it before you rent the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

love it

posted by Drowzee7 (COLUMBUS, OH) Aug 9, 2009

Member since Aug 2004

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i love this game sooo much i just have trouble with Frisbee but i love the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

cool

posted by warehouse (CEDAR BLUFF, AL) Aug 4, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i played the demo at six flags and its very fun!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome game

posted by raiders222 (PORTERVILLE, CA) Dec 9, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is just so amazing I was unstopable on basketball ant the sword play.that is why i give it a 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

fun for all

posted by scoobydu (PORT ORCHARD, WA) Aug 12, 2009

Member since May 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Great game, so far my only complaint is that you must buy a second wii motion controller in order for you to play 2 players. An once you realize that, then you have to hunt one down before they are all sold out!! But other than that it's a very good game to own. Fun for all ages! A+ Nintendo!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

love it

posted by jlalb06 (LONG BEACH, CA) Aug 9, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I played yesterday for my first time and loved it. Some people in Amazon complained about the bike one using your hands but I loved it. I loved the frisbee dog one too. Canoeing was hard on my back but I may try it again. I played it over 2 hours yesterday and was having so much fun with it. I bought mine based on other people giving it high remarks. I'm happy that I did and recommend you add this game to your collection. Amazon has it with free shipping and it got me fast. The reason I give it a 9 vs a 10 as some of the games are too easy to be able to open up another track for the 1 day bike race for instance. I'd like to see more bike tracks or harder to open up as I opened them up in one day. Get this game and have a blast with it. You'll probably need more than one motion plus thingy if you have up to 4 people playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Overall pretty good but . . .

posted by rikitiki (KERNERSVILLE, NC) Aug 3, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was really looking forward to table tennis but the controls for this game are unbearable. About 40% of the time the computer is in a different swing than you are (ie you are swinging forehand and the computer has you in backhand). Then in the middle of a switch from forehand to backhand (in the few times you can actually get this to work) the computer will inexplicably cause you to hit the ball.

Other than table tennis, which I really wanted to be good, the rest of the games are great and the controls seem to enhance the game play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

dont!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by demogamer (PORT CLINTON, OH) Dec 3, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

This game is soooooo stupid you have to have that extra atatchment just to play the game AND GAMEFLY DOSNTTELL YOU THAT YOU NEED IT TO PLAY SO I AM EITHER WASTE 2O BUCKS TO PLAY A RENTED GAME OR JUST BUY IT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

wii motion plus is needed.... so buy it

posted by superbug (LONG BEACH, CA) Dec 30, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

i could not play the game because of that Wii motion plus >:(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Couldn't play due to requirements

posted by soshimo (CHULA VISTA, CA) Oct 26, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I didn't notice that this game required the motion controller plus and I don't have that hardware at home so it was a wasted rental. I refuse to spend 20$+ x each controller to enjoy a game. The developers of this game should be relegated to the same place the makers of Rock Band, Guitar Hero, and lawyers go. It's a rip off and you have to spend another $50 minimum just to enjoy the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Wii sports resort

posted by psistalk (LABELLE, FL) Oct 24, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

If you dont have a wii motion plus they dont send it with the game so you cant play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bummed

posted by jackspragg (SPRINGBORO, OH) Oct 20, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

We had no idea the Motion Plus was required. Typically GameFly has an alert on the rent screen, but it was in the game description area... boooo! Will rent again once I see value in the Motion Plus ($20.00 or if you buy this game $50 it comes with). Totally bummed!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse