Rent Wii Play for Wii
view large frontback

Wii Play

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.9

2386 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Boring

posted by godevils06 (DURHAM, NC) Dec 18, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Most of the games in this package are just boring. It seems to be aimed more at showing the player the different ways the Wii remote can be used than at actually being fun. The shooting game is fun and laser hockey is OK, but the controls are a bit odd. The other mini-games are just plain boring. There are MUCH better uses of your time, I promise!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Different Take on Familiar Classics

posted by Raynor (RANDOLPH, MA) Feb 25, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

25 out of 29 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I found this game to be about a 50/50. Half of the games listed evoked absolute scorn, while the others are actually quite enjoyable. The breakdown is as follows:

1. Shooters : A Duck Hunt like Target Practice
2. Find Mii : A memory style game
3. Ping-Pong : Table Tennis
4. Bubbles : A fast paced "catch" game
5. Laser Hockey : Air Hockey
6. Billiards : 9-Ball
7. Fishing : "as stated"
8. Bull-Riding : Driving style knockdown game
9. Tanks : Remake of an old classic

Games 1,5,6,8, and 9 are actually ones I would recommend coming back to and playing again with other people. As for single player, the Medals awarded in this game are easy enough to come by, although you may hate having to actually play some of the games to earn them. Unlike Wii Sports not all the games come unlocked, a quick play-through (on single or multi-player) will free them, as well as give you a sampling of the games. I'd recommend renting the game at the very least for the Tanks and Billiards. However, if your planning on buying (like myself) I'd say its a good thing they packaged it with a controller as added incentive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Value w/Wii Remote

posted by eborchardt (MADISON, WI) Mar 5, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

14 out of 16 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Since you are basically buying this game at $10 with a $40 remote, it is a very good value. I bought it simply because I needed another Wii remote and figured the extra $10 would be worth it.

On to the game... The games themselves are all pretty simple. They are all designed to help you learn how to use the remote more effectively. There are a few fun games, such as shooting range, billiards, laser hockey, and tanks. There is also a game called Charge! where you are riding a bull knocking down scarecrows. The problem is that all the games lack depth. They consist of basically one level, and it is one short level. You will be done playing in a minute or two on each of the games.

You can earn medals on each game... Bronze, Silver, and Gold. I'm not sure what happens when you get all gold, I haven't earned all gold yet. I think the rating system on Wii Sports was better, earning points to earn and maintain a pro rating.

All things considered, I give this game a pretty descent rating because it is a great value at $10. If you already have all the remotes you care to have, don't bother buying this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great way to learn how to use the Wiimote!

posted by inSANEmom (HUNTSVILLE, AL) Jan 9, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

We bought this mostly for the controller. Even though not everyone reviewed the games highly, we figured it is just an extra ten bucks so we would go for it.

I enjoyed the games... there have been enough specific reviews here so I won't go into all that. But I will say this...

Though experienced gamers may find themselves bored after going through each one a couple of times, these games are PERFECT for young kids or really anyone new to the Wii system. The purpose of these games is to teach you how to use the Wiimote.

My 5 year old girl was having some issues with learning how to use the controls with other games. She is great at Bowling, but when it came time to use the Wiimote SUBTLY in other games, she had a hard time. But after just a few times playing the Wii Play games, her skills have improved DRAMATICALLY! My 8 year old boy enjoyed the games (especially the shooting game) and it has helped him refine his skills.

I highly recommend this game to new Wii owners or to parents who have young kids just learning how to play the Wii.

For experienced gamers, you may want to skip this... or add it to your library for your friends to play the first time they come over to play the Wii with you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun For About Two Hours

posted by punkrockin (SAINT PAUL, MN) Mar 5, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

This game is a lot like Wii Sports. I find Wii Sports to be tens times better than this game. There are 9 games in all that you can play. If you play by yourself your going to find yourself bored to death in about 2 hours. Playing with other people though is really fun. I think they could of put a lot more into this one. Basically I think it's just a little bonus when you buy the wii-mote. I would definatly try this one out though. But it will get old really quick. There is only so much you can do in this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Simple decision to make ((BUY THIS GAME!!))

posted by insanebane (HOLDEN, LA) Feb 25, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

Why buy it? Because it would be a total rip off to rent it. It's a great game for what it is (9 mini games designed to further adjust us to the next generation controls of the wii.) The thing is, unless you had more money that most of us at wii launch time you were left with one or two wii motes. This is the best shot and getting one it seems, and that makes this game cost about $9.99 when you figure in the FREE controller. But it isn't just the bargain you get, the games really are fun and kind of addictive. That is why i gave it a 10. It's so perfect you should buy it!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Probably not worth your rental.

posted by RichScarry (MISSOULA, MT) Feb 28, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2006

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Wii play is much like Wii sports, just not as replayable.

There are nine "mini-games" total. Most of which are pretty short, and little depth. These games are fun, and are a great use of the Wii-mote.

The Good :
Great use of Wii-mote
Pretty decent to play with a friend
Nine games in total to play

The Bad :
Not nearly enough to do, even with multiplayer
Some games could have easily had more modes

This game is worth picking up in the store for the extra Wii-mote, but I would not recommend renting it here on gamefly. It gets old after a day tops, even with multiplayer aspects in it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DO NOT RENT IT

posted by MisterMAC3 (SHERMAN OAKS, CA) Aug 6, 2007

Member since May 2007

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME WAS SIMPLY STUPID AND RIDICULOUS! THE GAMES ARE JUST STRANGE AND I FELT SO IGNORANT THAT I ACTUALLY RENTED IT!

DO NOT RENT OR PURCHASE THIS GAME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Bad...

posted by pkessler (LOUISVILLE, OH) Jan 25, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Dunno why everyone is buying this game. It's lame. Nothing like Wii Sports. It's just a bunch of mini-games that suck. I'd rather play Mario Party 8. I bought this game from Gamestop and traded it back in 2 days later. This game wasn't fun at all!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Probably the worst game ever...

posted by robert73 (DALLAS, GA) Jun 19, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Out of the mailbox at 2 and was so bad drove to post office at 3 to make sure it was on its way back. Don't let the description fool you, or a couple of other post that 2 or 3 of the games are good, none are they are the worst, sports resort is 100% better. Stay away don't do it no matter what.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game rocks

posted by AAA12321 (PRINCETON, NJ) Mar 14, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is the best game i have played yet. you use the miis as your person. Thars billiards, air hockey, a shooting game, cow racing, fishing, find that mii, and a game that is weird you have to put the mii in the shap in the bubble. my favorite game is billiards. like I said , this is the best game.

Alex shehab

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Wii Play review

posted by nobody (PERRYTON, TX) Mar 8, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

Alright first off this game is horrible and if you buy it it better be for the wii mote.You'll start off the game with only one minigame and once you play it the next one will be unlocked and so on and so forth,but once you play all the minigames you'll probably not want to play the game anymore.My advice is to stay away but if you want your own opinion then try it. but dont say i didnt warn you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I Liked It

posted by Jewboi189 (NORTH BELLMORE, NY) Mar 16, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This game has great games just like Wiisports and is really fun to play with other people.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

It is like the worst game ideas on one disk

posted by Mazedoc (PUYALLUP, WA) Feb 16, 2013

Member since Mar 2012

The only game that was worth playing was the shooting game. All of the other games were stupid. I have played other wii game collections that were a lot better, but this one just is not worth it. I am glad that I did not pay for this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

the pool game

posted by littlebits (LAKELAND, FL) Jan 6, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

the pool game does not work right.. you cant shoot the ball.. and if you can it goes a different way !!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Some good, some bad mini-games

posted by johnhce (KANSAS CITY, MO) Oct 10, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

This disc is a collection of mini-games. The "pong" game was a little fun but most of the others were entertaining only once or twice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Wii Play

posted by kelseaa (STANWOOD, WA) Jun 19, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

Wii play is a surprisingly fun game! i thought it was going to be really lame, but it wasn't. I liked that it was a 2 player game, its a good game to get if you have friends over.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

a game that last,s 1,000,000,000 years

posted by kara (SHELLEY, ID) Sep 2, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

This game never gets old!And tanks and shooting is so fun!I luv gamefly!I thought wii,s suck antell i got gamefly.i luv mii games its so fun!its 11:30 at night(sept. 2 2011) and im wide awake.I just got done watching monsters vs Alians!if you look at reviews of call of duty black opps when it says fat faline that was made by me!I am Jayden and i hope you enjoyed it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

jodsf

posted by jc3738466 (TAMPA, FL) Sep 1, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

this game is fun and challenging

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

very dull

posted by eddiebird (RICHMOND, KY) Apr 2, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

I went through the games in less than an hours time.
Very dull for a Wii game.
Shooting cans, the fishing was a joke, and then there was the cow or
bull riding,Please.

The game is Not made for children, too many guns and tanks.
It could be if you took those two things out.

This from a concerned mom. Thanks!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Great for kids

posted by wbkiernan (MIDDLETOWN, OH) Jan 22, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

This is a cool party game for 6-year olds, or adults too drunk to be able to read, but way overpriced to be as simplistic as it is. If you're looking for a time killer with very little challenge, this fits.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

wii play

posted by brooks (VENICE, CA) Nov 27, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

I had gotten my wii last year and had gotten wii play along with it. The game is all minni games. I like the shooting game, mii hunt, and cyber hockey the best. The other games are o.k. You can get board easily after about 3 games. It is not my favorite game of all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

More of a trainer than a game

posted by SlajeD (WESTFIELD, IN) Nov 10, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

A good first game if you just got a Wii but it tends to get old fast. It's fun for a while but soon you want more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

wii play

posted by tenishac (ROCKY MOUNT, NC) May 24, 2010

Member since May 2010

This game never worked so i'm not sure of how to rate this game on a scale of 1-10 but if i had to guess due to the product i was sent I would say a 0 because it doens't work properly and its no fun in paying 23.00 dollars for a game or games that do not work.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty good game...might be a keeper

posted by stephieb29 (CLEARFIELD, UT) Apr 3, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

This game was fun, although a few things got tedious. My seven year old enjoyed it the most. I myself got a little bored with it quickly. She really enjoyed the fishing game and the shooting game but her favorite was the bull riding. All in all, if I am ready to buy a new remote, I will probably buy this game with it. It's okay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse