Rent Wii Music for Wii
view large frontback

Wii Music

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.5

4134 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

You always WIN

posted by robertwile (MIAMI, FL) Jul 13, 2009

Member since May 2008

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I think that this is a game for people who get mad at losing games cause you get to rate your own performances, exept in mini games. and its not like guitar hero where you have to play the exact notes you can add extras or choose when you want to play them so have fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The best music game ever!

posted by TheEgame (STILLWATER, MN) Aug 26, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is very fun for anyone. Guitar Hero can't compare! This game can last about a century! I hope that people will understand my review.
This game is worth every dollar, i swear! This game is great for both kids and adults!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A game for music lovers; not just rock fans.

posted by dmhoshi (COLUMBIA, SC) Oct 25, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

44 out of 50 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

To enjoy Wii Music to its fullest, you have to think less like a gamer and more like an artist. Guitar Hero and Rock Band allows you to paint in watercolor; Wii Music allows you to use acrylics, pastels, charcoal, inks, crayons, and colored pencils. Instead of focusing solely on guitar, drums, and vocals, Wii Music serves up a buffet of a few dozen musical instruments -- ranging from the more traditional piano and violin, to the ever-popular electric and acoustic guitars, to playful-minded cat and dog noises.

Checking into the game for the first time, you're met with a tutorial that shows the common ways to hold the Wii remote and nunchuck to mimic the instruments you'll use. Don't worry about getting a handle on it all at once, you can access the tutorial at anytime later. Afterward, you'll have access to jam sessions and mini-games. I recommend playing the mini-games first, just for simplicity's sake. And when you're comfortable with those, move on to the jam sessions.

Sessions involve a group of up to six people. After choosing a song and a venue, you'll have to choose from playing Percussion, Melody, Bass, Chord, and Harmony. You may use the instruments already presented to you, or you can substitute in any other instrument you please. Starting the performance, you may choose to play it by ear, or press the minus (-) button to bring up the note guide and play it like any other rhythm game. Unlike other rhythm games, though, Wii Music does not penalize you for deviating from the set. In fact, it is encouraged, to make your own personal track. After finishing it, you may mix your previous performance with a new performance to further personalize your music.

Your ability to motivate yourself and be even a little creative will be your driving factors for how much you get out of Wii Music. If you go in with the intention of making a good-sounding performance and having fun, you'll already have a leg up on those who only want to "finish the game."

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Musical masterpiece!!!

posted by 659263 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jul 10, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Wii Music is a great way for people to learn about different instruments and music. Awesome fun for music lovers and rookies alike and a great family game. Highly recommended for music lovers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Baidey98's Review Of Wii Music

posted by baidey98 (LINDALE, TX) Jun 25, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is so addicting!!!!!! You know the Addicting Games website??? This game I think is a lot more fun than all of those games on there and I have only played a few!!!!!! But hey, when it is summer and you are bored, what else do you have to do????!!!! I thought that all my other games like High School Musical Sing It and games like that where really fun, but this beats all of them!!!!! I used to sit around the house watching TV all day, but now that I have that game, I have something to do!!! :) :) :) :0

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Music to my Kids ears!

posted by XBLRadio (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Oct 29, 2008

Member since Mar 2006

31 out of 36 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Let me start off by saying this is not meant for the Guitar Hero/Rock Band crowd. This game is simply a way to pass the time for adults, and give the kids a reason to care about classical music.

So I am going to review this game for ages 5 to 10. (Teens will not be easily amused with the song line-up)

Wii music incorporates the Wii mote to controll everything from a violin to drums. It's really easy to pick up and fun to watch your Miis do more than just parade in the Wii plaza. Most of the songs are pretty remidial, however some of the Nintendo compositions will surely peak your kids interest.

There are also several mini-games where you have to listen to appreciate how to play.

The main feature is getting the family involved (everyone picking an instrament)and cutting a few music videos. (from the composition tothe packaging) This also unlocks further songs.

Now may sites have criticized this release as being too simplistic and too much money. I feel for kids the price is descent. It costs less than most games wich offer nothing more than unoriginal gameplay. This is at least informative and somwhat a new entry into the next gen consoles.

So if you have kids, and you cant afford a night to the symphony (I attended Video Games Live last month, at a cost of 200 bucks). Then Wii music might just Conduct you to a Movement.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fun Game

posted by kayleechan (FORESTDALE, MA) Apr 8, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I loved this game! i especially loved that the legend of zelda was a song you could perform on the game. I highly recommend this game to anyone who loves to create music. 10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

10 10 10

posted by fofofo (BROOKLYN, NY) Oct 17, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this games rocks my dad just got it and i cant wait yo play it get this game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWSOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by Amanda0126 (DANIELSON, CT) Jun 12, 2010

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love this game SO much! Rent it! Love it!
TAKE MY ADDVICE

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wii Music

posted by Holigan (YACOLT, WA) Feb 7, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love Wii Music. It is fun and exciting with musical instruments I have never played. It is exciting to see myself in a band and playing music. you should rent this game and write a review like me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Wii would like too play... Violin?

posted by edzoologis (ALEXANDRIA, KY) Sep 19, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is really a mixed bag. On the one hand, it offers alot of customization and some classic songs. On the other hand, it is really goofy. The game has four control styles(piano, guitar, violin, and trumpet) and three of them are fun too play. The piano style has you moving your Wiimote and Nunchuck up and down like you were playing the keys of a piano. It was very fun and was the second best way to control this game. Guitar style has you just moving the Wiimote down like you were strumming a guitar. It was also very fun, but it will not be the control scheme you will be coming back to. The violin style is definitely the worst. You have to press B or Z while moving your Wiimote like a bow on a violin. The only problem is that it is very annoying having to jerk the Wiimote back and forth every time you had to hit a note. The Trumpet styke was by far the best. You held your Wiimote like a trumpet and pressed the one and two buttons to play. It was the most fun of the control schemes. There were also minigames too play, and they were all fun and you are definitely going to enjoy going back and beating your old high score. You could also save your preformances and rewatch your favorites whenever you wanted. The real problem with this game is song selection. One thing that I wish Nintendo had done was make the Song Selection be entirely from the Nintendo universe. Instead we get a mix of Classical, Public Domain, and Liscenced songs, with a grand total of 7 Nintendo songs(out of 52). Now this is a hard verdict to pass out, as I really did enjoy Wii Music. But I am going to hqave to say rent it, because you will enjoy it while you are playing it, but you might not want to spend the 50$ on a game you may only pick up a few times.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This is the best title that has Wii at the start!!

posted by DaTruth78 (BLOOMING GROVE, TX) Jun 18, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love Wii Music and I might never make anyone take it away (execpt myself). I want to buy it but I don't have enough money (sad face) IT COSTS WAY TO MUCH MONEY!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good for music exploration, not for "Win the game"

posted by MrChapman (MARION, IA) Mar 16, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

As a music teacher I enjoyed this game very much. This game gives a unique approach to a lot musical concepts that elementary and middle school music teachers are looking in their students.

If a parent were ask me my opinion of the game as a teacher, I would say its not a learning tool with an objective to teach as a lot of music software out there does, but a toy that young kids can use to explore music through it's simplicity and clever gimmicks. It has a child-like (that is different word from childish) quality that is parallel to the Muppets. I would say that any person who gets that kind of Muppet humor, regardless of age would likely enjoy Wii Music as well.

With teens the game could go either way; If you have a teenager that is good natured and enjoys Muppet and Veggie Tales like movies and videos then there is a good chance that they would enjoy Wii Music as well. However if you have a teen at that stage where anything that looks kiddie is beneath them or they are very defiant against being babied, I'd recommend something along the lines of "Guitar Hero".

In my own personal experience, when I played Wii Music with my own family (all over the age of 21, and all musically minded) we were in tears laughing, watching all of our Miis playing the Mario Brothers theme on Tubas.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A very light hearted game.

posted by PenPencil (RANDLEMAN, NC) Dec 5, 2008

Member since Nov 2004

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have actually rented Wii Music before so I decided to put it on my games list to experience the joy a second time. Let me just say this: This is not the type of game for people expecting it to be like Rock Band or Guitar Hero. Due to the Wii's controls, there is no possible way to hit a specific note.

Personally, I was rather upset that this enjoyable game got such a low rating. I think that this type of game could be enjoyed by all music lovers that want to add a little twist to some songs that they enjoy. Since the music selection in this game ranges from mainly classical to some "poppier" or more well known songs, it isn't for people that don't prefer that kind of thing. True, it has no plot but it wasn't meant to have a plot. Does Wii Sports have a plot? Does Wii Play have a plot? I really don't think so. You just play the game. Now if you don't like this game, that's perfectly fine. Far be it from me to try and change a person's mind set.

True, this game does have some faults to it as well. I would have found the game a tad bit more fun if there had been more mini games added to it. However, I enjoyed the song selection and the vast amount of music instruments one was capable of playing. I also enjoyed the tutorials that it gave you on a specific music type.

When renting this game (as I assume that most of you rent new games before you buy them) don't think that this is going to be some hard core, extreme, challenging game. Note that the rating is E. Correct me if I'm wrong, but I haven't played many super hard games that are rated E. Just keep a light heart in mind and don't expect anything to challenging and you should find some enjoyment in this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Bored Easily? Sour Grapes? What's your excuse?

posted by BoxTock (OGDEN, UT) Dec 30, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

25 out of 29 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I don't trust negative reviews anymore. Most of the titles I've rented have their fair share of naysayers. Look up your favorite Wii release, for example, and chances are it has an average rating of "5.4."

Let's face it - everybody has different tastes and interests. But the funny thing is, the positive reviews are almost always more helpful to me than the negative ones.

As for Wii Music, I was skeptical. I have not enjoyed any of the Rock Band or Guitar Hero games I have played. They all seem very juvenile to me - there's nothing creative behind them at all. I guess if you like matching colors and numbers or a timed version of Simon Says, then these are right for you.

Wii Music, however, presents you with something entirely different, and I think the negative reviews are a byproduct of an impatient generation of gamers raised on instant gratification. See, that's the thing with Wii Music, if you're expecting to be instantly gratified or to be instantly able to master it by overlapping the same tired techniques from other "music" titles, then you're bound to become frustrated and disappointed - almost immediately.

That's what I love about this release. It's not your "typical" game by any means. You start out learning the basic movements or fundamentals of the game. Then as you PRACTICE, and I don't just mean tirelessly repeat the same combination of moves,(something that might also be a foreign concept to many gamers) you advance through lessons and techniques that unlock more songs and venues.

It's a very enjoyable experience that will keep you entertained and engaged for a long, long time - if you have the wherewithal to "stick with it." Believe me, by the time you are learning to "expand your reggae style" and overdubbing each of the six parts with your own unique performances, you'll see that Wii Music really is an advanced concept for music enthusiasts and other creative types.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

This is a good game with fun classic songs.

posted by nawrot (ORLANDO, FL) Oct 30, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I think this is a great game but dosent let you create your own songs.Although it lets you record your performance.This mini game called pitch perfect that is hard and barely enjoyable.But the other mini games are great like mii maestro where you conduct a orchestra and is very enjoyable.As you advance through the game you earn really strange insruments like the black belt.I love changing the genre of the song like turning a jazz song to a rock song.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A great game for all ages!

posted by DanielPaul (RENO, NV) Nov 17, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

After reading some reviews on this game, I really started to become less and less interested in getting the game. But after it has already been mailed to me, I had no other choice but to rent it. Let me tell you, I am very happy I rented it.

As a musician, I found the game to be very fun and exciting. It was a little hard at first, but getting better is only a few hours away after renting. I had an enjoyable play time, and time itself slipped out of my hands.

I did not know, however, if the rest of my family would like it. They tried it out and LOVED it! Pretty soon, we were all jammin' together without a care in the world. Playing alone was fun, but playing with 2 or more people is even better.

My advise to you, now, would be to rent this game. Don't let bad reviews push you away from renting it. It's a great game for making music.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not my favorite, but its ok

posted by jojogino (nokomis, FL) Jun 30, 2009

Member since Mar 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

First of all the singers sound demented just making some noise like "doo be doo" or something which is weird to me. But besides that it's an ok game. But i do like how they have classic songs on there like the Jackson 5 song. I wouldn't reccomend buying it but i would rent if I were you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wii Music

posted by OneSxyOne (BALTIMORE, MD) Oct 30, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I was apprehensive about this game before we received it this afternoon because of all the so-so reviews. However, I must say that as a 30+ woman I find it entertaining. My teen sons enjoy it immensely as well. Perhaps the key to liking and really appreciating this unique game is having a musical background or a love of music. Those who have no real interest in the arts or expression will not get the advantages of the game. This is definitely something all ages can and WILL enjoy when played with creativity in mind. I recommend this Wii title to everyone who has an ear for music and likes to express themselves with creative endeavors. Get it... it is worth it. Take it from someone who started out as a skeptic, it is a fun way for the family to get together and have a ball. We just got it in the mail this afternoon and I have played it for a while and decided to keep it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

TERRIFIC!

posted by spaceace51 (FAIRLAWN, OH) Aug 8, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I GOT TO PLAY EVERY INSTUMENT IN THE GAME.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

How Much I Like the Game, Wii Music!!

posted by Kiwidiwiba (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jul 1, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Hi! I am a 9 1/2 year old girl. I do piano, tae-kwon-do, religious Ed, regular school, golf, and my favorite thing, SOCCER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Anyways, to the review. The game Wii Music is fun and creative. Many songs are in there to play. Some I know, some I don't, but this game is fun for the whole family(my parents can't play because they have work to do(I have a dog that, of course, doesn't know how to play video games, but if she did, then that would be creepy) so I can't play with them)! This game is also the second funnest Wii game I have played. The songs have just enough notes to make you and me tired(with the exception of 'Twinkle Twinkle Little Star')! It is really, very, fun!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Wii music is AWESOME!

posted by jake12 (OWENSBORO, KY) Jun 29, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

wii music is the best. i loved the f-zero mute city theme in there. and the zelda theme , awesome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Game

posted by mikdavis55 (Oxford, KS) Feb 19, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I think that this game is the best wii game i have ever played ever. I hope that there's a new one coming out. It took a while to get shipped, but it was worth the wait.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Wii Music not for my ears

posted by ny2co357 (ALABASTER, AL) Nov 26, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

10 out of 17 gamers (59%) found this review helpful

Okay, so I was thrilled to get this game home and try it. And I have to admit, the first hour I played it, it was fun. However, the following day I found myself bored to death. I figured maybe it was just to basic for me to enjoy, so I allowed my 8 year old to try it. After about 30 minutes, she turned to me and said,"I don't have to do anything else to play the music"? She was right- playing an electric guitar was the same as playing an acoustic guitar. Playing the jazz drums was the same as playing the marching drums. And the list goes on!My three year old tried to play it and was bored in about 10 minutes! I really wanted this game to work out, but it was a huge letdown.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A GOOD GAME.....................- .........

posted by vmimom (SPRINGFIELD, VA) Mar 16, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

THIS IS BY FAR THE BEST GAME EVER ON THE WII. YOU CAN CONDUCT YOUR OCASTRA AND PLAY FROM LIKE A HUNDRED INSTRUMENTS INCLUDING SINGING,TRUMPET,PIANO,GUI- TAR,DRUMS..........ETC.THE ONLY PROBLEM IS THAT I DID NOT KNOW THAT IF YOU WISH TO PLAY FREE PLAY WITH DRUMS YOU NEED A WII BALANCE BOARD OR YOU CANNOT PLAY DRUM MODE.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse