Rent White Knight Chronicles: International Edition for PS3
view large frontback

White Knight Chronicles: International Edition

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.6

4604 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

not the game i thought it would be.

posted by Rozen578 (NORTH BRUNSWICK, NJ) May 5, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

it was a very boring game, story was your typical average save the princess bit. the Game play was real boring and i loved it how the monsters could attack me even if ran like 10 miles away from them. This was not the RPG i was looking for.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Very Short/Limited Storyline, Mediocre Multiplayer

posted by jayboogs (JAFFREY, NH) Mar 15, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was all psyched when my cousin told me about this RPG for PS3, really one of the first RPGs for the system that can go multiplayer. To my disappointment I finished the game in like 20-25 hours. The way they left the ending sets them up for a White Knight Chronicles 2, which I hope will be designed better than the first.

There is a mode called GEONET which allows you to go online with others and even create your own town "Georama" by hiring NPCs in various towns to come work for you. Chances are you will probably end up beating the game way before you even start doing this, so if I had to do it again I would work on building my Georama before I went too far in the storymode (to make it worth doing at all).

When you flip the game you start at level 35 and get to keep all your equipment and weapons. Seeing that they let you do that, you would think that the creatures would have to be tougher to make the gameplay more challenging, but unfortunately this is not the case. You can zoom through the storyline again within a few hours because most mobs can be taken out with one swing. Very weak.

The multiplayer mode is probably the best thing this game has going for it, with about 50 quests it barely makes the game worth playing. Unfortunately there is a HUGE flaw with this mode. Since the developers do not tell you this, I ended up doing some quests 3 or 4 times before I figured it out. When doing multiplayer mode it is IMPERATIVE that you keep your characters inventory as empty as possible. If your inventory is full and you are doing a quest, the game will send a neccessary item (for example a gem that you need after defeating a dragon) directly to your GROUP INVENTORY, and the item cannot be used to finish the quest. Thus the quest cannot be finished and needs to be restarted. A HUGE game flaw. Very poorly created game by a well known game developer (Level 5). I hope they get it right the next time around.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

This is one tarnished Knight

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Feb 6, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

89 out of 113 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

Level 5's newest RPG, "White Knight Chronicles: International Edition", looked quite promising in the trailers and previews. After all, Level 5 had given us some terrific RPGs on the PS2 such as "Dark Cloud", "Rogue Galaxy", and "Dragon Quest VIII". Sadly though, this "Knight" arrives with a bit of tarnish on it. Graphically, the game looks good enough, with some fine enviroments and some imaginative looking monsters. The character models are pretty much standard for a JRPG- the boy who's more than he appears to be, the plucky girl friend, the older, seasoned warrior. All we've seen before. While it has a deep avatar creation set-up, your creation is not the main character. Nor does he/she ever speak. You're just kind of there, along for the ride. The voice acting is passable, though not memorable, and the soundtrack suits the game well. The main thing that keeps the game from being what it could have been is its broken combat system. Using a clunky menu to scroll through for your next move, all in real time, it basically boils down to fill up a gauge meter,act, then repeat. The big problem comes from the uneven rules. Your character's attacks have limited range. The enemies do not. Even if you run, and run far, you can still be struck. This leads to a lot of cheap deaths and frustration. Sadly the story is so generic (boy with hidden power goes to save the princess from evil guy) that it's hard to find a compelling reason to continue the repetitive quests through the 25-30 hours it takes to complete the single player game. This could have been great, the potential was there. But, alas, it was not to be. Perhaps "Final Fantasy XIII" will be the answer for our next great RPG fix. This tarnished "Knight" is a rental only. It's far too broken to be a purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Forget the SP campaign, GeoNet is where it's at!

posted by ShrapDog (NEWARK, NJ) Feb 19, 2010

Member since Jun 2009

14 out of 17 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

Ok if you're looking for +100hrs and ultra hard grinding in New Game+:
THIS AINT THE GAME...but
If you're PS3 can go online, and you like:
killing huge monsters,
crafting armors,
weapons,
multicolor eyeglasses, (lol)
monocles, capes,
constructing your own town with people you met in the single player
joining up with people online to do quests, collect materials, etc etc
Then this just might be for you.

Yes, the single player is laughably easy (people died in the single player mission? wth?!), it's like 20hrs max (with cutscenes), closer to 6hrs when you do NG+...this game is set to be a trilogy, as can be seen in the ending. And NG+ doesnt scale so you can literally run around naked the 1st half of the game collecting the ranked gear.
Full of cliches and I think the cutscenes probably equal more time than actual gameplay but whatever...

Now the GeoNet - This is where this game and your avatar shine. The GeoNet is where you get to build your own town based however you like, and you can recruit NPCs (farmers, miners, warriors, chefs, mages) from the SP campaign to come work for you. Once online you can use the adventurer's quests you bought in SP to recruit other players online to help you with quests. There are Guild Ranks and Binding Ranks, the higher you get the better the gear gets. All mobs have specific drops that you need to collect in order to make better gear. As you get higher in level/ranks the quests get harder, pretty much anything after GR 7 will require grouping in one shape or another. The GeoNet acts seperately from the PSN so you can have WKC friends and regular PSN friends kept seperately.

So ya, the single player is weak but the GeoNet, which is a free service is by far the best part of this game.
(Complaining about the graphics? lip syncing? I swear some people wont be happy until they are watching real life people in actual settings with a toolbar at the bottom. The graphics are fine)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Dark Cloud 3 In Spirit

posted by gameflyrev (DALLAS, TX) Feb 23, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

23 out of 33 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

Level 5 is one of my favorite JRPG developers. Dark Cloud 1 and 2 had a certain spirit that really grabbed me and I loved the Georama system of those two titles. Well, with White Knight Chronicles you could really call it the spiritual successor to Dark Cloud and label it Dark Cloud 3. BUT, this title has a single player storyline with more going on then just " you need to rebuild towns ". But in classic Level 5 style, the storyline takes a serious backseat to everything else in the game. Really, what JRPG has a GREAT storyline anyway?

Beyond the storyline problems, I find nearly nothing worth complaining about. The online element is actually really well done. Being able to create your own town, hire residents, farm materials that others can take advantage of, and grow your town is incredibly fun and well managed. I've gone to bland towns and then walked into a town incredibly well designed with tons of buildings and residents and lakes and whatnot. A place you would love to enter again. Also, thanks to the level of the town, you can find yourself walking out of a Town with some advanced weaponry and armor thanks to the binding system and the ability to buy more rare materials from these town shops compared to the storyline towns.

Combat system works like Final Fantasy XII. Everything is real time and it utilizes the ATB system ( Active Time Battle ). Anyone who has played Final Fantasy 7 or 6 or 8 or whatever has used this system before. But, unlike FF instead of waiting for a bar to fill you wait for a circle on the screen to fill before you can activate your next attack. People call this slow, but it is a normal thing. Also, you can speed this process up with buffs, higher stats like agility, lighter armor on your character and other factors. Currently I wait about 2 seconds between spear attacks. The combo system is great. The graphics are great. And the soundtrack is prob. the best of an RPG this generation.

Overall, a solid JRPG.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Epic Game, But..

posted by toMsonsLLC (BERWYN, IL) Feb 3, 2010

Member since Jun 2009

58 out of 86 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game had the potential and hype to start with. But it's epically terrible!

We fans have been waiting for this game for years. A MMO and JRPG mixture that we expected to be the next great game of 10'. The game starts off with a cool concept where you are a boy (Lenard), who gets an ability to call this awesome creature/robot known as the White Knight. The story itself is told very harsh manor, it doesn't grip you at all. It makes you feel rather empty and uninvolved. They just do a overall bad job on telling the story. Story itself has a few good plot twists, but nothing to make you think that the game overall is a master piece or even decent (sad to say). The game doesn't engage you for the entire thing, including the ending. The end of the game was very unsatisfying, and just like IGN says, it's a horrible cliff hanger. They gave this game no thought, or at least it seems.

Now for the gaming details, the game looks bad. From the pictures and renderings they presented for the longest time, you would think that the model work and effects would look great. But that is far from the truth, even the environments look like utter garbage. This just doesn't look like a next generation game. The voices don't even come close to the characters model.

The game battle system, you gain skills and you pretty much add them to your in-game options screen. It's a nifty idea, but I've gotten this even though IGN's rating of it, which is in the 5's. They say you spend most of your time in the battle system "waiting" and that is so correct. It's like "Last Remnant" to an extreme, you almost forget you're playing the game at times! Unlike Last Remnant, in White Knight distance plays no role. They can attack you from behind a mountain, huge tree or a mile-away and with their short range attacks. But you can't. The free roaming in the game is useless, just stay close and never move. Works better!

Multiplayer mode is pretty solid.

Rent, do NOT buy!

OVERALL = 4.5/10.0

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I love it!

posted by Kriist (MIAMISBURG, OH) Feb 11, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

10 out of 15 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I can completely understand the bad reviews this game is recieving among the other users, but in my personal opinion I love this game. The story line and in-game characters are a bit lacking but what they lack in story they definately make up for in world building and character custumization. I am at the point now where I can sit for hours and just work on combo's for each character and battle presets to play around with on different types of monsters.

I was a huge fan of the Final fantasy 11 style gameplay, and I think they hit the nail on the head with this game. Not a copy of ffxi but definately around the same feel. From the huge worlds to explore, to the Notorious Monster style battles and bosses that you get to fight, all the way down to the re-popping monsters to level your characters on.

I normally don't write reviews on games, but I felt I needed to defend the honor of White Knight Chronicles! Game on!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A decent game but a terrible movie

posted by MacTruck (IOWA CITY, IA) Feb 8, 2010

Member since Jan 2007

21 out of 33 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

This game has great character customization, equipment crafting and tweaking, and I loved making skill combos to try on bosses. The gameplay was fun when you got to it, and I have not had another RPG present a prettier dragon to assail with swords and spells.

However, I hated feeling like I was watching an incredibly slow and boring cutscene for more time than I spent actually playing the game. The dialog on this game is brutally slow, trite, and entirely forgettable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

white knight chronicals

posted by zerocool83 (LA VERGNE, TN) May 23, 2010

Member since May 2010

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

i don't know why everyone is bashing this game... it deserves more credit than other people will tell you. The single player campaign is not too shabby but the online play is where its at. there are all kinds of weapons and armor you can make. you can make your own combo moves for max damage. a guild ranking system and repeatable quest you can go into to either solo or up to 4 people in a party. anyone who knows anything about rpgs would like this game and will prob play it 100 hours or more just on the online play. stop bashing this game its really good and everyone is just being a snob if they say otherwise. this game is clearly for the more hardcore gamers and rpg lovers. plus they are making a 2nd one right now so it cant be that bad if they have enough money to make a 2nd one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

if you like MMOs but do not have the time.

posted by tyrial (BROOKLYN, NY) Feb 26, 2010

Member since Apr 2006

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game has gotten a bad rap. I believe people are expecting some kind of Final Fantasy or Star Ocean. these games have no online co-op.
This games story is very typical of RPG's where some young boy/girl gets chosen and/or saves the day. If you are interested in the game for i
They should have marketed this game as an "Online co-op" game rather than a single player with optional online play (most of the trophies expect you to play and rank up.)
It reminds me very much of an MMO (final fantasy.)
You can see the armor and weapons change on your characters
which is really cool! (unlike some Popular RPG's)
the online quests have a 1hr time limit (every better because I might only have an hour to play.)
do not listen to the negative reviews, rent and try it for yourself.
(But, please play long enough to SEE the online play as the first hr or two is more like a tutorial than story...)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

White Not

posted by zargot (BURLINGTON, VT) Aug 23, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Well not a lot to say about this game. I rented it and played it for about 3 hours and had to send it back. I hated the battle system, the characters were annoying and it just wasn't fun. I hate to say that cause I really was waiting for this game.......all well they cant all be 10's.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Entertaining, but a little boring...

posted by Tsukune (TULSA, OK) Feb 5, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

9 out of 15 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

White Knight Chronicles is one of the first 2010 RPGs on PS3 and there is definitely lots of expectation on this title. I didn't know what to expect from this game but now I know. WKC delivers and fails in many different areas which I will list here:
Pros: The graphics are fairly well done and there are plenty of unique vistas and locations to visit. Music and Voice and Acting is respectable and welcomed. The MMO-style Gameplay is interesting and its very fun to level up and experiment with different combos. Replay value is great as there are plenty of quests to do. As of writing this review, I have not yet tried GeoNet (online multiplayer for those not in the know) but from word of mouth and internet sources, its great. Character creation is fantastic and fun to do. Oh yeah, playing as the White Knight is awesome!

Cons: The overall presentation, story, and characters are average at best. The custom characters don't talk much in-game (maybe not at all...) and honestly they are just there to give you a extra character and to fill in space. Lip syncing is atrocious and wreaks havoc on cutscene after cutscene. Gameplay, while well done, gets boring after a while. Trophies are very time-consuming which may or may not be a bad thing depending on the personal taste of the player.

White Knight Chronicles didn't necessarily disappoint, but it failed to be a complete success. There is much fun to be had in the world of WKC but with even more RPGs releasing on PS3 in the near future, WKC may lag behind the pack. 7/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Strictly average solo, ZOMG online,

posted by kidhero99 (LAUDERDALE LAKES, FL) Feb 6, 2010

Member since Nov 2008

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

Graphics-
It's no surprise by looking at numerous videos and screen-captures of this game that it's a far cry from cutting edge. The overall technical level of the graphics is either showing its age or they took a hit by having such expansive and large set pieces and characters. That isn't to say they're awful though. Each individual looking at this game will likely have to evaluate what they demand in terms of graphics from a game. I personally would call them passable because while they aren't astonishing the locations of the game are interesting to look at and the enemies and characters you'll meet are appropriate to their settings and fun. Character and attack animations while mostly understated still manage to be engaging and entertaining with spells being the most impressive of the bunch.

Story-
Save the princess, save the kingdom, save the world. Nothing to write home about but it's a serviceable and time honored plot. It won't be moving any story junkies in any particular way but it is peppered with its charming, humorous, and exciting moments.

Online-
Here we go, this in my opinion is the meat and potatoes of the game and it's single most redeeming factor. The format is simple, select a quest, recruit some other players, and head out. This is all organized in common areas called hometowns. Initially there is only the generic one which anybody can access but individual players have the ability to create their own town via the game's Georama system and then they can open it up to other players but uploading it. The town isn't just a place to plop building and look pretty though. Depending on which buildings you have and who you put in them can alter various factors of your town such as shop inventories. Upgrading your Georama hometown is a constant endeavor. Each individual set piece needs to be crafted which requires having various collected materials from the environment and the world's denizens as well as often large sums of cash. The residents of your

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Snoozer

posted by Seriatim (SOLON, ME) Apr 14, 2010

Member since Aug 2008

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Long cut scenes, no tutorial, characters you don't care about, and a turn based RPG dressed up to look like real time all combine to make this game a snoozer. Long cut scene, as long as they are engaging, are not a bad thing. However, in this game you get cut scenes followed by cut scenes, involving characteres that you don't care about because they have no background or development. When you do get to fight, there is not much in the way of a tutorial or which skills you can unlock. You can move when you fight, but for the life of me I don't know why, since your position or distance from your enemy makes no differnce in whether the enemy can hit you. You can attack and run 40 feet away, behind the enemy, and still get hit with the enemy's sword slash. You might as well just stand still and attack. Changing targets is also a pain as you have to go into sub menus to do it, and then back out to attack again. I played it for one afternoon and had no urge to go back the followng day and continue.
But, for all that, that game itself is not broken. It is a functioning RPG, it just is plain vanilla.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

White Knight looks like a lady.

posted by DoubleGulp (TUCSON, AZ) Feb 7, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

7 out of 13 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

Playing White Knight Chronicles is like getting to hook up with the hottest girl you've ever known, only to find out in the heat of passion that she's a dude. Pretty to look at, but bad package.

One of the problems I had with the game was combat. Combat in the game is rather easy, and dull. The game lets you maneuver around during combat to perform ranged attacks, but seems almost pointless considering that the enemy can hit you with close range melee attacks no matter where you are in the screen, it seems that the developer created ideas in the game and just didn't completely follow through on the idea.

Another issue is character creation. I liked the character creation process, I thought it was pretty in depth and I felt like I was able to come up with a unique character and enjoyed the process. However, it seemed pointless, I could have just as easily created a block of wood named "Hey You" and it would have suited the role my created character had in the game which was pretty slim as it just felt like a filler character.

Watching the characters talk is also painful. I know the game is a JRPG and I cant expect the voice acting to perfectly mimic the mouth movement of the characters, but it's so badly off and it really detracts from the emotion and story of the characters.

I do have to say that the visuals are very nice, which is my initial point. The characters look good, and the large enemies can be quite creative and breathtaking at times. The scenery is vibrant and detailed and could really draw you into the game, if the pesky gameplay and story didn't get into the way.

In closing the game like the girl i mentioned looks really good, the trailers got me really excited to tear into it. But when It all comes down to it, and you're really getting into it, there's some things you just cant get past.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not what I had hoped for...

posted by Ulybnis (PINE GROVE, PA) Feb 6, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

9 out of 17 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

All the previews and hype sure made this game sound great...unfortunately that's all it was...hype.

GRAPHICS: The graphics in this game are average a 7/10. Nothing really to write home about. I've heard them referred to as "garbage" but really, they are sufficient.

STORYLINE:Not the best, 5/10. Jeez, I felt like I watched %50 of this game and played the other %50. Worst yet, the story isn't compelling at all, very standard and predictable. It almost seems like at times the cutscenes are too long and drawn out.

GAMEPLAY: 6/10 Alright, here is a BIG issue...First of all the camera is clunky ESPECIALLY when fighting as the White Knight. The battle is hard to get into as most of it is you just waiting...The idea of dodging or running away from an attack is futile here the enemy will hit you at ANY range once it's attack begins. If you don't dig using the main character (which is NOT your avatar FYI) and you don't have him set up... it's hard to edit his attack schemes when being pummeled to death. Leveling up is actually more of a chore then it is something to look forward to...

To explain the battle system slightly clearer it works like this...you have MP and AP. You also have a brief wait period between attacks. To use special attacks you need AP and some need MP. To attack with more then just a poke or a prod, you must set up "Combos" BEFORE a fight. These allow you to mash the X button so you can pull off move than one attack at a time.

ONLINE: 6/10, unfortunately there isn't much to do in Online mode...you can create a "home" (AKA page) where people can view what you've done and your pictures. You can also embark on quests with the help of others, with no reward for completing the quests other than...character growth it gets quite monotonous fast.

OTHER: 6/10 You get the ability to choose your weapon and spells without being pigeon holed into one type, which is fun.

OVERALL: 6/10 I'm quite disappointed with this game...RENT before you buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not bad

posted by DiCE1904 (SPICEWOOD, TX) Feb 5, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

9 out of 17 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

Not a bad game, had a little learning curve but after you understand everything the game is pretty dope. However the same battle after battle does get a little boring (for me). The online is way cool with your own village and such and cool side quests. The environment is pretty detailed but seems to drop fps at some parts. Trophies are kind of hard to get but it keeps you playing. Overall not bad, gave it a 8

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Epic Disappointment

posted by aradvanced (LA PALMA, CA) Feb 7, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

7 out of 14 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

After seeing the scores that White Knight Chronicles received my first impression was that they were too harsh with the game.

The game had it's cheesy storyline, predictable plot twists and the ever-so important love triangles. All that make a old school JRPG. However any hope and redeeming qualities that this game would have had went down the drain after the ending cinematic of the game.

If anything, I would have given the game a 0, but gamefly only allows 1 to be the lowest score. However since I did actually enjoy playing the game up to the point where it ends. I guess a 5 will do nicely.

To anyone who actually bought this game. May God have mercy on your soul.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

What happend?

posted by SmilinMask (EVERETT, WA) Feb 10, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Four years ago I watched a trailer for white knight chronicles that left me with one of the strongest feeling of anticipation I have ever had. If you haven’t see the trailer I am referring to it's at the bottom game trailers list in videos.

The game I got to play was not the game in the video.

Where did it all go wrong? The trailer clearly shows interesting combat with quick timing, switching characters and combo techniques and even a dodge.

The actual game has none of these features. In combat you control one character and you wait for a circle timer to fill up so you can attack… once. That’s right you get to attack once every four seconds. On top of that you can’t dodge or block when the enemy attacks. You do get to make combo attacks if you set them up before battle, but they cost AP which means you’ll only be able to use them once, and then you have to wait through about five more single attacks before you get to use a combo again.

Even if the game had one of the best stories ever, it still wouldn’t be worth going through the frustrating boredom of the combat system to see it.

The game even looks worse then the concept trailer the textures have been replaced with a dull palette and hair and clothing physics are gone.

The music is still there and it’s pretty good except when you go into combat which is all too often. And despite being named the international edition there is no Japanese sound track for the voiceovers, and the English lip sync is horrible.

All and all White Knight Chronicles isn’t worth the time it takes to install on the hard drive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Story line kind seems final fantasyish

posted by RPGMonster (LOS ANGELES, CA) Feb 10, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The main character is not even your avatar character. I like that this game is not turn based as you only control on character. The other characters in you party are controlled by the AI. The storyline is kinda like something similar to other RPGs. Princess gets kidnapped you must save her blah blah blah. There are no stats that you get to play with but the points you receive from leveling will allow you to learn skills from a wide variety of skills. All skills are put into categories sword skills, long sword skills, archer skills, spear wielding skills, elemental magic skills and so forth all and all not bad. But I think if you're not an online play type of person you're not gonna really like this game because of the story line and the game play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It's Over

posted by Smuckfuzzer (HOPKINS, SC) Mar 6, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Let me start by saying that this game is not as bad as the low reviews. Now let's get to the bad part. The single player aspect of the game is not bad. The combat plays kind of like FF12, and characters can get these huge suits of armor, and transform during combat. The story isn't bad, people always complain about games having cliche stories, but thats what we like. Here's the really bad news. The online mode is where this game shines, unfortunatly it's gone!
Thats right, the online mode lets you do missions with other players, earn cool items, and build your own georama like Dark Cloud. The sad thing the online mode is gone, when I try to play online it says sign up for Geo Net on the main menu. Too bad the main menu only has "New Game" "Continue", and "Options". And you can't build your Georama unless you sign into Geo Net. That alone makes me want to quit playing, the game is pretty much dead. The is also a section in your inventory for downloaded item. Problem is there is only 1 downloadable item in the PS Store, and its just a ticket to remake your avatar.
So if you just wanna play single player, try it out, Buit I say pass, because the online mode makes this game so much more, and its gone, probaly from no one using it. It's kind of sad, It's one of those things that if you missed it, it's gone forever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Lousy Story Mode, online much better

posted by the7erm (CHEYENNE, WY) Oct 27, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game has no end.

The story mode isn't the greatest. It's fairly dry. The bosses are pretty easy, and it doesn't take much to do.

However once you start playing this game on-line with people, and buy a blutooth dongle to voice chat with people the fun starts.

I've spent over 900 hours playing this game. I've bought it TWICE, and bought a 2nd PS3 so my wife and I could play together. That being said I hate this game.
I'm sick of playing the same quests over and over again for items that drop < 0.25% of the time. I've heard of people running the same quest over 200 times to get 1 stupid item.

The thing that makes this game the most worth while isn't the game. It's the people you quest with, and the friendships you develop on your journey to GR15.

If you love grinding, and I mean love grinding because you're obsessive compulsive. This is the game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Bad rap for a great MMO

posted by mrdalvin77 (BROOKLYN, NY) Mar 8, 2010

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game has gotten a bad rap. I believe people are expecting some kind of Final Fantasy or Star Ocean. these games have no online co-op.
They should have marketed this game as an "Online co-op" game rather than a single player with optional online play (most of the trophies expect you to play and rank up.)

It reminds me very much of an MMO (final fantasy.)
You can see the armor and weapons change on your characters
which is really cool!

The online quests have a 1hr time limit which is cool because sometimes I don't always have time to play. Rent and try it for yourself and play long enough to SEE the online play as the first hr or two is more like a tutorial than story...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game for Young Teen

posted by craziestar (SPRINGFIELD, MO) Feb 9, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

This is good online co-op team game ever. I like the stories. It most of common when the guy goes after for the princess. Good Graphic, Good options to use skill while combat. Take turn in the team while stories and co-op quests. I noticed other negative comment about this game and i completely disagree what they said. Once you play, you probably start off as wrong idea then try keep play til it get you good. It does remind me of FFXI online. I used to play other online game and i love it. I am going to complete this game and get great trophies! IT is very important to enjoy the game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I Can Vibe

posted by CallMeEnvy (WESLEY CHAPEL, FL) Feb 5, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

9 out of 22 gamers (41%) found this review helpful

This Game Is pretty Great. The Graphic are nothing short of superb, and game play is awsome. this game is not DAO, the fights fill much different but are still great. the fight tatics are not as deep but you can set party members to aggressive, defence, heal, etc. this game really takes advantage of the online play and you will love it. the only problem is a weak story, it is not totaly lost but if thats what your playing for, sorry.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse