Rent Where the Wild Things Are for PS3
view large frontback

Where the Wild Things Are

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, Wii, DS
GF Rating
5.6

298 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Wonderful Fun

posted by TWIT4LIFE (SANTA MARIA, CA) Feb 22, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

I was looking for an easy and fun game, a break after getting a couple platinums in some really hard games, and this is exactly what I wanted. It was a one day plat, perfect for trophy hunters, and for a kid game the game play was actually very good.

I would never say it is a challenging game, played on hard right off the bat and the enemies are still cake, but that's why its actually a really good kids game. Many kid games get way to challenging for really young kids. Where the Wild things are started as a ten page children's story, one I remember fondly from my own childhood, and the game makers kept that in mind when they made this game.

The scenes in the game are breathtaking and fantastical, keeping with the style of the illustrations from the book, and the characters are a group of monsters, "Wild things" that you truly grow to love.

I recommend for people who remember reading this as a kid with a smile, people who want easy trophies, but most of all I recommend this for children, as it was always meant for you to enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

This was a cute game.

posted by Lymiegirl (TAMAQUA, PA) Jun 17, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

As an adult I enjoyed playing it and so did my 8 year old sun. It isn't a game for hardcore players- but a rather easy game just to putz around with. It was cute- great for us "Mom" gamers-ha!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good Game for Trophies& Plat!

posted by Jayman777 (TORRANCE, CA) Mar 16, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

Easy Game, even on hard mode. Game explains itself made from movie. took like 10hrs to Plat, not hard at all, think god I rented it though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It was what you expected it to be.

posted by Goalminer (BROOKLINE, MA) Jan 18, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

Such as the person that was a trophy hunter, which is exactly what I am, this game was exactly what I thought it would be from the outset, and in fact, it is a much better game than some of the other "kids" games out there that actually aren't that well suited for a child under the age of 10.

If you're an adult that plays video games on a regular basis, then this game should give you no problem at all. I finished it over the course of nine hours, but it wasn't a breakneck speed nine hours. I actually read the book as a kid, so I enjoyed the game, and the characters were very well done.

The gameplay on hard is actually quite easy. The easy setting is really, really a simple setting for the kids. The most challenging aspect to this game, if you want to call it challenging, is finding all of the hidden items that are scattered across the island. If you don't find them on your first time playing the game, just go to chapter select afterwards, and keep hunting them down. It doesn't take long at all.

For those people that are complaining that this game is a joke because it isn't hard enough, realize that it's a game based on a children's book. If you want a difficult game to play, then I would recommend something with a bit more umph to it, such as Call of Duty: Black Ops, or perhaps Toy Story 3 will give you more of a challenge :)

Best of luck folks!

Goalminer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Trophy/Achievement Review - Very Easy

posted by Alayes (AMES, IA) Nov 13, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

21 out of 23 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

As a trophy collector, I figured that it might be interesting to have a review that focuses on how difficult this game is to platinum/1000GS, how long it will take, and how you'll feel while playing it.

Fun Factor: 4/10

Ok, this game isn't a lot of fun, but I've played worse. It's definitely do-able though, as the game works and functions, but it's simply boring and repetitive. Bear in mind, I am 23 year olds, so perhaps I am not the targeted audience, but my 10 year old cousin lost interest after an hour, so that says something. It's just another hack and slash, under the guise of adventure and platforming. Very linear, and checkpoints just about every single minute, so don't expect any frustration. Some of the platforming is terrible, but nothing that will make you throw your controller.

Difficulty: 3/10

This game is very easy, and the difficulty trophies/achievements stack, so you only have to play through it once, then clean up using chapter select. Nothing online - just offline. Hard mode is a joke, and won't give you any trouble whatsoever. Hard mode is accessible right from the get-go.

Length: 4/10

The majority of the trophies/achievements are story-based, or collectibles, yet these are very easy to find, as they're right in your face. You might have to backtrack using chapter select here and there, but in the end, this game shouldn't take longer than 8-10 hours. Tops.

Overall: Very Easy

If you're a trophy/achievement hunter, then this is almost a no-brainer. Decent entertainment, with little challenge and a short lifespan. Go rent it for the weekend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Easy Trophies

posted by blacklabel (FLORENCE, KY) Jun 13, 2010

Member since Mar 2007

As you know, this is a kids game, I actually enjoyed the game, however it is a short easy game. Will take another play thru to get all the trophies if your not careful. Has a good mix and pretty well done for a movie title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

dull and glitchy

posted by darkangel2 (SPRING HILL, FL) Feb 3, 2011

Member since Nov 2009

Not a fun game at all. Its only worth playing if you are a trophy hunter. Easy platinum

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horrid cant believe i played it

posted by shaunn (SACRAMENTO, CA) Dec 2, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

4 out of 13 gamers (31%) found this review helpful

this game is an embarring thing to play and a major waste of time i got the game and beat it in the same day the gameplay wasnt that fun either i even think i 2 year could beat ina day too i mean some enemys would die and i didnt even touch them this game gets a negative 10 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse