Rent Wheelman for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Wheelman

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
5.9

4126 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
3

Bad

Pretty shiny garbage is still garbage.

posted by HippyVock (SEATTLE, WA) Aug 4, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2006

14 out of 17 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

There are so many good things in this game that get completely overshadowed by a deluge of spotty action controls and worst of all the game will show you a fantastic enemy explosion in a cutscene format and when gameplay resumes it's a craps roll as to which direction your car is going. Half the time I found myself going 90 or even 180 degrees from my original direction, which always ensures you'll fail a timed event. Over and over and over. And over. No exaggeration, it took me 28 tries on the 2nd side mission to get the special arrow to turn from red to green (to "airjack" a car) and three people watching me, along with myself, could not figure out why it wouldn't work. I won't even bother telling you how awful the rubberband effect was with the vehicles. That was almost funny at times. Funny like you fell out of a tree and instead of breaking your neck you only broke your arm. It really hurts and is painful to look at, but it's still kind of funny.

I think this garbage is a result of game developers becoming to comfortable with their product and not encountering the problems us laymen do as we ain't that good. Either that or the Unreal engine only works for Cliffy B. and I wish others would stop using that pos, which is another topic altogether (don't believe me? look up the manual they provide and page thru the 300 or so pages of fatal errors). All in all, I'd skip this title unless you enjoy doing the exact same thing over and over for no good reason. It sure wasn't for fun. I like Vin and all, but wow, does this thing excrete a foulness underneath it's gloss that makes me want to vomit my lungs out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not great

posted by JoeVegas (LAS VEGAS, NV) Mar 29, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

28 out of 40 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

Hey ebook32 guy, if you think the game is a 7 to a 9, then why did you give it a 3????????????

Anyway! I played it for an hour straight, it's not bad but it's not great, the graphics are a 5, action is a 7, story is ok, good thing is that the missions follow up without having to navigate and find them on the map like GTA4, this is much easier and more straight forward, so you can just press "A" and get to the next mission, the other thing that is good is the car you're driving can take a lot before being out of commission, so you won't die easily...
Game overall is ok, but not great, worth a rental but that's about it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't bother!!!!

posted by mixinit (OCALA, FL) Jul 21, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

HORRIBLE, dumb, waste of time, just a few words that describe this game. It is a very bad imitation of GTA. As you flow through the game you will notice vans that can out run and out perform sports cars but only when YOU are trying to catch them. Sloppy graphics and just all around bad game play. It can be downright frustrating at times. This game is NOT on the level as saints row or GTA.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Just idiocy

posted by darren004 (CHARLOTTE, NC) Sep 26, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

11 out of 16 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

I really wanted to like this game, but it is just awful. I could only get 30 minutes into the game before I came close to throwing my controller at my television. I was trying to do a mission about just stealing vehicles by "air-jacking" them, jumping from your vehicle to another. While physically impossible in real life for sure, it is made even worse because you have to be racing around crowded streets with your finger on the accelerator, while holding the b button down until you get close enough to release the b key. Except that time rarely comes because your target will always be rubber-banding in front of you. You could be in a missle car chasing a jalopy and it will almost always stay just far enough in front of you and once you get close, it will make a sick turn and you will crash into a wall just before you try to take the car. I tried it like 5 times and my blood-pressure was about to hit the roof before I ejected the disc and put it back in the mail.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Variety and Story

posted by RaceAce (VICTORVILLE, CA) Jun 15, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

If you like Need for Speed, Burnout Revenge, Grand Theft Auto, a good story and shoot 'em up type variety in your playing experience, you'll like this game. Vin is an undercover agent with no back off who plays some vicious gangs against each other. He's a driver and that gives you the opportunity to taxi, deliver packages, steal cars, be a hit man and generally cause trouble. The shoot out episodes are a bit rough until you get used to what controls are for what but the driving scenes are fun and sometimes hilarious. Watch Vin hit a car at full speed while on a motorcycle and see what happens! Drive everything from big rigs to motorcycles with the air jack feature, smash the bad guys off the road, scare people out of their vehicles, lose the cops, steal their cars, too, while you take over the city in Italy and wipe out mafiosa groups single-handedly. All in all, it will keep you entertained.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Hollywood's grand theft auto

posted by killersrt (RIVERVIEW, FL) May 27, 2009

Member since Sep 2007

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This game brings back memories of True Crime. Almost a knockoff of Grand Theft Auto, but with a few alterations. The air jack, while not entirely realistic, was a great addition. Example: You're in the midst of a high speed pursuit, being slammed around and shot at the whole time. Your car catches fire and you have seconds before you explode and end your mission. Instead of GTA's form of "jump out of a moving car", taking the chance of not only being killed by the goons, but also losing the pursuit, you have the option to hop on to the next car in front of you and stealing it without taking a breath. The slow-mo attacks and the crashes were great, as were watching bodies flail out of the exploding cars. The story line was a bit faulty to me, but nothing to the point of me turning the game off early. You have tons of side missions you can do along the way to "upgrade" you character. There is not much else to say about this game. If you liked True Crime, this is a game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Diesel Power

posted by MadWolf (LEVITTOWN, NY) Apr 12, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Not bad, the budget, and effort were there. I remember a time, when any game, that mentioned a celebrity or movie, was sure to be a disaster. I’m glad they seem to have broken that trend lately, this being a good example. As I expected, I noticed a lot of GTA comparisons in other people’s reviews that I’ve read. I definitely see that, right down to some of the controls, but this is obviously more angled toward motion and fast action, which makes it more addicting. But on the other hand, the performance upgrades are very unsatisfying; the enemies are always able to pace you even if you have 15/15. Things in general get kind of repetitive after a while. I have to make sure my SMG is selected before I jump on a bike to use it while I’m riding. If you use either slow-mo action, your pistol gets selected and you can’t go back to the SMG till you get off again. And worst of all, when you enter a spray shop in a narrow alley, it’s spits you out right into the wall and breaks your brand new windows! All in all, good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

don't get it

posted by xxbobby63x (PAWLING, NY) Apr 11, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

The game is alright. There is not to much features too it. Its very basic. The story Line could be more exciting. There is about 4 differant cars in the game. No boats or planes. You can't swim. Leaping from one car to another is a cool thing to do. Its too cartoony. If you like the burnout games try it out. but if yuor more of a GTA and saints row person stay away.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good, but not great

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Mar 28, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

18 out of 27 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Wheelman sounds like the title to a really good game to me atleast, because i like race oriented games. But this game isnt just race oriented, its kind of like Grand Theft Auto and Saints Row because you can also get out of the car and jack other cars. So that makes it even better. But honestly i dont think they really put enough work into this game. It has what you expect, but not what you crave. The campaign mode has just the ragular plot missions and side missions. So itll keep you going for a while. The side missions allow you to unlock special things. The main plot is somewhat good, just not over exciting. But prouble the most different things about this game is the special things you can do with your car. You can move the right stick, left, right, or forward to make your car kind of attack other cars. You can also drive-by shoot other vehicles. Which auto aims for you. And when you shoot while not in a car it does basically the same shooting system GTA IV uses. But prouble the coolest thing you can do in your car is you can Air Jack other cars. Basically what that means is while driving a car you can get right up behind another car and jump on it and kick out the driver. The graphics are acceptable, but not really as good as i would like to see. And thats about it, no online, just the campaign. Try it out if you like Vin Diesel or GTA games, if not try out one of the other amazing games out on the market today.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Vin Diesel, in the role of a lifetime.

posted by Shade62 (BEND, OR) Jun 28, 2009

Member since Oct 2006

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

The game is perfectly adequate. That's... about it. The game is basically an attempt to replicate the feel of car-chase movies, and it succeeds well enough. There's fun to be had, but also a fair bit of frustration in some of the more repetitive missions that are basically, "Drive here, do this, drive back while infinitely respawning thugs try to run you off the road and murder you." The gun fights are few and far between, which is good because they're remarkably bland; mostly just there to keep you from burning out on the driving.

Air-jacking is fun, but incredibly silly looking, leaping bodily from one car to another to swipe it while on the move. It's basically the only way to survive the later missions.

And that's about it. There's fun to be had, and there's a decent chance you'll enjoy yourself. But it is actually incredibly short, which is a concern at sixty dollars. There are side missions; racing, escaping cops, trying to destroy certain vehicles and whatnot, but they're mostly just the same stuff you do in the rest of the game, except with no story context. They unlock upgrades, garages, and weapon caches, but I barely noticed the former, and the latter two are completely useless.

If high speed vehicular combat sounds fun to you (and really, why wouldn't it?) then you can easily wring some fun out of this game. Just don't pay full price, or it may dull the fun with buyers' remorse.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Diesel Is The Man!

posted by marshall84 (ASHEVILLE, NC) May 5, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2008

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

I got my copy of Wheelman, first off, I’ve become a fan a Vin Diesel since I had seen him in films, such as “XXX” and well-known “The Fast & The Furious.” I wasn’t sure quite to make of Vin Diesel starring & playing the lead role in a videogame. He looks perfect (as Diesel) in the game!

The storyline is a bit choppy. Cut & dry in the first 2 missions, it does get better with progress. I’ve come to be fond of the Air-jacking other cars that you’re trying to catch during time-trials. The controls of some cars, I stress some, can be tedious and on the sensitive side. Just as a side note, if you’re driving on a straight away and you go to do a quick U’ey/sharp turn, the car may do a complete 360 turn or spin twice. Its little things like that I’m noticed.

The graphics are great! Reminds me of Saints Row graphics, with Diesel power! He’s the man!

Gameplay- I’ll give it an 8 out of 10. The controls can be repetitive & sluggish in points, only in smaller amounts. It’s not a nagging issue. Voice of Diesel is perfect!

Replay- I’ll give it a 7 out 10. It’s a very repetitive game. If you’re a fan of Diesel, this may be a keeper for you!

Overall- I give it an 8 out of 10. This is a well-rounded game. I’m come to appreciate & really believe Diesel & developers made a well quality game!

Thank you for reading! Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not for the Veteran Gamer

posted by mdias814 (ERIE, PA) Jun 24, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I found this game to be very easy to beat and it was repiticious. However the game play was fun and the graphics are pretty detailed, and for some reason it never gets old airjacking cars. Lots of activities to do after you beat the campaign and you unlock additional weapons through side missions. Thanks god for gamefly or i would have lost out 60 bucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

AHHH OK!

posted by cookie1819 (HAMLIN, WV) Sep 23, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is like a bad Grand Theift Auto Game Same Charteristics but bad bad in ovrall comparison if you want this game just rent GTA!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

REDUNDANT

posted by SlipKnot34 (LANCASTER, TX) Oct 19, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

REDUNDANT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A Dissapointment, But it was expected

posted by sohchx (HAGERSTOWN, MD) Aug 4, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

SIGH!! They should have just called this game The Transporter because that's basically what it is, a pure knock off of the movie,but sadly the movies are better.I just can't bring myself to recall anything good about the game.In gun battles why is it that a guy can take half a clip of bullets to the body and still be standing up shooting back at you? Are they wearing bullet proof vests under their shirts? The gun selection is very small. During driving missions the enemy vehicles that ram you on a constant basis are extremely annoying and never go away so ,I guess I should assume each gang has an endless amount of goons that they send out?? Also during these missions the option you have to ram the vehicle who is ramming you makes you crash to a dead stop either into a car or building about 90% of the time. When you try to hit the turbo boost or NOS, whatever it's called to get away from the enemy it does not help!!!!! They are still right along side of you. Oddly I found that they purposely have fewer cars on the road during missions and that leaves you a sitting duck if your car is totalled and you have to switch cars somehow. You get out of the car to get a new one, but guess what?? NO CARS TO GET IN!!! So what happens?They pump you full of bullets,your dead. When on a mission where you have to chase a car down and destroy it that car is always way faster than yours even when you are in the fastest car in the game and he is in an SUV. You can never catch the guy until the mission timer runs out. MISSION FAILED!!! The races are nearly impossible because they purposely add more pedestrian cars for you to crash into automatically putting you in last place until the end of the race. The air jacking is okay but the worst thing is that you have to be behind cars going almost the exact speed as them and it will not work from the sides only behind. This is a real pain if you are in a heated chase and need a car fast. I'm at word limit so just rent it,better yet borrow it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

pretty horrible.

posted by GavinGrowl (BOISE, ID) May 5, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Ok, I'm not going to lie, i had some high expectations for this game.
im sorry to say i was really let down when i played it.
the game play is pretty much just a knock off of GTA, and when you crash it kind of looks like burn out.
everyone in the game has a really annoying accent,
and the game pretty does all the missions for you, you just drive from point a to point b.

in my opinion, this game is not worth trying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

So far so good

posted by ebook32 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Mar 27, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2007

10 out of 19 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

I haven't finished the game yet, but I would say the game is between a 7.5 and 9. There are some intense moments in the game which make WHEELMAN fun to play. Think of WHEELMAN as NEED FOR SPEED and STUNTMAN rolled into one with maybe a little GTA. So, if your a fan of either 3 you'll have fun playing WHEELMAN.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Do Not Waist Your Time

posted by Perkins09 (OPELOUSAS, LA) Jun 28, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I am 31 years old and have never wrote a review on anything much less a game...until I played Wheelman. This is the worste game I have ever played and I started out playing an atari. Don't do it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Wheelman

posted by W1LL21 (TAMPA, FL) May 14, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

For the first hour or so I was pretty entertained by the game, but I found it very repetitive. Really how many asinine reasons could they come up with to have Vin Diesel play his character from the Fast and Furious movies and speed around Italy. The driving was ok, but the gunplay was horrible. I would recommend it for a ten year old or an adult who could care less about story in their games; but on the same token if you are playing this game looking for any resemblance of a coherent plot you are going to end up disappointed. Well on a high note m son loved it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BOARDING

posted by warr99 (PANAMA CITY, FL) May 13, 2009

Member since May 2009

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game was no fun i sent it back the first day i got it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Wheelman

posted by nickhuro (PUNTA GORDA, FL) Jul 16, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is terrible!!! its got a few kool aspects but other than that its got nothing driving is very unrealistic the whole game is very unorganized! TERRIBLE!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

So So

posted by McCastro (LUSBY, MD) May 21, 2009

Member since May 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Game play is similar to that of Grand Theft Auto with a couple of different tweaks to the game. Was a little disappointed on the game play considering the game was made by Ubisoft. Ubisoft has a really good line up of games but no so with this particular game. The story line gets to be a little drawn out and the same things over and over again which does not keep the attention long at all. Found myself about to fall asleep while waiting for the story line to finish in certain parts. I would not purchase the game for 30.00 but if price would come down to about 15.00-20.00 I would consider it as there are alot of side missions to do.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

stupid

posted by wstearns09 (San Bernardino, CA) Feb 18, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game was just plain stupid and i only had it for 3 days and got bored of it qwick but the only thing cool was the way the driving controls were, other that, just stupid

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

vini vidi vici

posted by beruzeruku (WOODBRIDGE, VA) Dec 16, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

some how when you have to follow a car they always speed up just as your about to reach them....hmmmm....funny...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game is not worth it

posted by lunchboxMM (SOUTH AMBOY, NJ) Oct 29, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the demo for this game is better and you can destroy trees faster than umbrellas

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse