Rent Wheelman for PS3
view large frontback

Wheelman

Not Rentable
Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
5.9

2304 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Oh my gosh!!! This game is a blast!! Rent it now!!

posted by gamer301 (CLAYTON, NY) Mar 28, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2008

31 out of 45 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

I rented this game with huge expectations and it lives up to them all!!!! In this game, you play as Milo Burik, a wheelman for hire that does several driving jobs, like driving crooks away from the cops, stealing cars and returning them to their owners, and my favorite, carry a beautiful spanish girl who pays quite well. LOL!!!
Now down to business, this game is super fun and addictive, I give it a 9.5 out of a perfect ten. The only thing keeping it from a 10, is that once you get out of your car, you run around extremely slow, and when on foot, game can be a tad bland. But the graphics are very good, not perfect, but very good. Driving is freakin awesome!!!! You crash cars, high jack cars on the ground and while your driving. You can steal cars, and motorcycles. Driving is easy and addictive!! And the stunts are very cool!!

Pros: Amazingly addictive driving, interesting missions, awesome cars, insane stunts, deep characters, car combat is perfect, driving motorcycles is a cool touch. The cinematic gaming adds excitement.

Cons: You run really slowly, on-foot gaming is a tad bland at times.

Besides these minor flaws that don;t effect the game, it's just small things that could've been changed, but I cannot tell you how much I recommend this game to all you gamers!! Racing fans, and hardcore action gamers alike!!! Go and get it now!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

WHEELMAN is ok at best

posted by bubers (AKRON, OH) Apr 15, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

9 out of 15 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

OK I will start by saying this game is not as bad as some review on other sites say it is. First things first i beat this game in a little over 7 hrs (i did not do a lot of side missions) and it would have been shorter if not for one level(get to that later). Now down to the to the meat of the review.STORY: The story is not the best, think of it as a c list movie with over the top acting as long as you keep that in mind it is enjoyable. GRAPHICS:The graphics in this game go from ok when your driving to low PS2 quality when there is a cut scene. The world itself look pretty good. GAME PLAY: Just so you know to me this is the most important part of the game and this game is very easy to master and it is very hard to die. Now time for me to vent there is a level where you have to chase a train on a motorcycle (sound fun, right) This level show some of the games biggest flaws. For example when you start off the mission you try and catch up to the train easy, but then you get beside the train and people are shooting you from every different angle and my gun woult not target any of them. so i slowed down and i slowed the train slowed with me i almost stopped and i still ran into the back of it. (this was some of the worst game design i have ever played) And another flaw is at one point in the game I was getting chased and tried to hit my breaks and the car kept going as if i was on the gas also. My last complaint is that all the cars drive similar to each other and the do not drive any different when you have all you tires blown off. OVERALL: I would say this game make you feel like your making a low budget action movie but there are a lot of flaws to work through.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Would Be a great game if I was 6

posted by Furrypatch (FOND DU LAC, WI) Apr 3, 2009

Member since Mar 2007

9 out of 16 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Kids will love this game!! The game is completely low budget. The graphics are 5 out of 10. I think they spend more getting Vin then they did on the game. Most of the action is 80's arcade at best. And the gran turismo crashes really take away from what you think the game should be like. The only real crashes are those of the cars that you hit not the ones that you are driving. Top speed on a motorcycle into a parked car and all you do is slow down!! The physics of the cars is 5 out of 10. They should be better since this is a driving game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun but a little boring after a while

posted by evillord54 (TUCSON, AZ) Jul 14, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

The game started like any other game like that a good cop chase with some other elements to make it different but then as the game progressed the concept of the game started to make it a little boring. I am not trying to keep any one from getting the game but i am just stating my opinion. =)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not worth your time

posted by JacobC77 (RICHVALE, CA) Jun 18, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

this game was a very big dissappointment. I really was looking forward to it and it failed horribly

pros
-ok graphics
-car combat is very entertaining
-lots of side missions

cons
-bad story
-bad voiceovers
-very repetitive
-the shooting in the game is horrible
-ai is bad

in all this game was horrible. i really gave it a chance, i read all the bad reviews and thought maybe they overlooked it, but they where right. this could possibly be the worst game for the ps3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game Lots of Fun!

posted by wdickens96 (AUBURN, AL) May 14, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Wheelman is a lot of fun the demo got me pumped about the game. Once I got the game I was blown away. It is very addictive. Great graphics, cool storyline and a lot of side missions that are really fun. If I had to say one bad thing about the game it would be the lack of car variety. There are about 4 or 5 differnt cars that are fun to drive the rest are slow and just not fun. Overall I would recommed this game to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Vin Diesel Cannot Save This Title

posted by Justice76 (MILPITAS, CA) Oct 28, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

What do you get when you mix Vin Diesel, Burnout Paradise, GTA IV, and ten parts Lameness? Wheelman! I love Vin Diesel fan, but this is sub-par.

PROS
VIN DIESEL’S VOICEWORK
FAIR DRIVING GAMEPLAY
COOL MOVES: Cyclone Spins, Aimed Shots and Airjacks are sweet additions to standard gameplay.

CONS
105 REPETITIVE SIDE MISSIONS/105 S-RANKS: I only needed two more trophies to platinum this game, but it became such a grind I returned it. The panda drivers are extremely aggressive, and making the S rating on many events requires more than skill. You have to be lucky. Sometimes cars block your way, and some times they don’t.
UNFORGIVING PHYSICS: Similar to Need For Speed Undercover (NFSU), once you hit or exit a moving vehicle, it inexplicably shoots down the road in front of you at 200mph. However, if you contact the unoccupied vehicle again, it mysteriously stops and becomes a semi-immovable object, blocking you from further forward motion.
UNFORGIVING ENVIRONMENT: You come to a complete stop because you tap a curb or wall.
SUICIDAL AI DRIVERS: Cars on the street steer into you for no apparent reason. In Made To Order missions, the drivers of the hot vehicles never crash, unless you’re close enough to airjack the vehicle. Then they inexplicably hit other cars, forcing you to drive past them. Bogus.
BAD GUYS NEVER MISS: Milo: ten seconds to shoot one tire. Enemies: three seconds to shoot two tires.
BAD GUYS HAVE UNLIMITED BOOST: Moving vans go the same speed as your superbike.
INEFFECTIVE GPS: At times, the dot is too big to tell where you are supposed to go, which is frustrating when looking for specific destinations in crowded areas.
NO GPS FOR 100 CAT STATUES OR 50 CINEMATIC JUMPS
NO STORY: You shoot, slam and grind villains and police alike. Why? Because Vin Diesel is undercover. That explains everything.
FOOT GAMEPLAY: Walking/running on foot stinks.
WEAK GUN BATTLES
WIMPY GUNS: They all feel similar.
PS2 GRAPHICS
NO COP/CIVILIAN KILLS

SUMMARY: Pass on this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Very Cool Game

posted by CustomSyst (UPPER CHICHESTER, PA) Jul 28, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is pretty good, I like it! I'm glad I didn't listen to some of the reviews. The graphics is not all that bad, they didn't spend alot of money in that department but they did do well with it. The game kept my attention, I didn't grow bored with it like most first person games but this is clearly the second person view. The only real flaw that I found weird, when you shot at some of the people they don't die or fall down. I wasted severals on a guy that was just walking around town and he did not die....LOL! Now they could have down better than that, I thought that was a bit cheesy.

If you just looking for a good shot'em up game, this is ideal. Now if you want the ultimate graphics, this is not the one. This is more like, I can deal with it just for the storyboard.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun, Fast, and Lots To Do

posted by DarkDove (BRONX, NY) Jul 14, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I'm a huge Vin Diesel fan so of course i'm going to play a game starring him but this game had more then a big name action star it actually was a good game. There's something for everybody in this game from gta, racing, find & destroy, and more. This game took the ideas and missions from many popular games before it and rolled it up all in one. If you like racing and cop chasing games like Need for Speed, if you like driving people around like in Taxi, or if you like throwing(or kicking, a little hint about the gameplay) people out of their cars or shooting games like GTA then your enjoy this game because it has all of this. The missions are all nicely map out on your gps map and you can process in the game anyway you see fit. If your the kind of player that likes to just play straight through or if you like to complete a game in its entryly this game makes it easy to do either(though if you do complete the side missions with an A or higher you are rewarded). The game also has trophies for those who enjoy collecting all the trophies a game offers. The graphics were impressive, very clear and bright. And I enjoy the gameplay features that the game offered like aimed shot and air jack. There were a few issues that I came across while playing and these were glicths that cause me to have to play some missions over or kept me from air jacking(it may have been just from my disc or it may be from the game itself, which I'm not sure of but I felt that it was worth mentioning). Other then the glicths that I expeirenced, I enjoyed playing Wheelman and I remeand it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Get this one!

posted by SurfFreak (LAGUNA BEACH, CA) Jul 12, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2004

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Right of fthe bat you will notice that there is something a little different about this game. The animation is a little cartoonish but its prettty cool. The characters are pretty interesting and the story and voice acting are really good. Lots of driving and even some gunplay. The cars and bikes handle really well and you can use your vehicle as a weapon. This is a first rate title and the best game i've played in a while. Sadly it is way too short.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Venga Venga!

posted by mrgames (ESCONDIDO, CA) Jun 3, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

In most racing games most people quit before they can cross the finish line, but The Wheelman isnt like most racing games. You never know what could happen. At first you might be racing from the police and next you might be following a hijacked train. There are so many good things in this game i dont konw where to start, but there are some flaws. Sometimes the graphics range from great to late PS2 graphics. Also the acting could be better, the only character i personly liked was a class A joker named Miguel.Another thing are the side missions, they feel as if they are there to make the story longer. Over all, this is a great game with some minor flaws. The action and music feal right at home and it is worth your time to finish the game. Expect to finish the game between 8-12 hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Fun for the first five minutes

posted by wkendgam3r (LOS ANGELES, CA) May 26, 2009

Member since May 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is a GTA wanna-be game, without all the cuss words. The driving part of this game is ok for the most part, does have a cool jump out from your car onto another car feature which is pretty cool to watch. But that's about it, the game does have a very predictable story line. Where Vin Diesel just goes around talking to all the gangster in the game in his mono tone voice. Only thing they did right was design the Vin Diesel character. After a certain point in this game the mission are close to impossible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not Worth Playing

posted by erreca (TRAVERSE CITY, MI) May 12, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game has no real story line. It tries to do a bad imitation of the Need For Speed series. There are only handful of cars you can choose from to drive.

The driving interface is all third person. Not worth playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It needed more dev time

posted by ZeroChris (ORLANDO, FL) May 11, 2009

Member since May 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is not horrible, saint's row was more glitchy. The problem with this game, was that it seemed rushed and needed more time to be fined tuned. Seemed more like they tried to test the waters with Vin's popularity to sell a game. Like I said, when I played it it wasn't terrible, but as I played it, it just felt like it wasn't finished. Also, come on why would there be so many Pontiac G8's in Barcelona Italy. You can definately tell GM paid for this game, which is probably explains alot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

horrible

posted by Hacker89 (RADFORD, VA) Apr 21, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game was way!!! over hyped. I was expecting Less and got lower than that . DO NOT RENT OR BUY THIS GAME!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wheelman Review

posted by criticD (MONTEREY, CA) Apr 21, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME IS SO FREAKIN' AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
It is a great game that you should totally try out!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

mediocre...like his movies

posted by darthkillr (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Mar 30, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

6 out of 13 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

first off graphics are not very impressive, they remind me of saints row 2 type graphics. the fact that they are showcasing a pontiac g8 car in the game is a little funny, i mean c'mon of all cars in the world..a pontiac? to its credit it actually drives pretty good in the game i suppose, the melee attacks and stunts are pretty cool, but if you do one you've pretty much seen them all, story line is kinda lame. the whole game is just lacking something. i was expecting something like grand theft auto, but was i wrong!
i sent it back in a day i should of never sent killzone 2 back for this one, now thats a next gen gaming to get!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Seriously??

posted by Schism555 (TUPELO, MS) Sep 30, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is a try hard. Some reviews say its all the games like GTA, NFS, Saints Row and Burnout all rolled in one. In a way, it is but poorly done. To me, it seems the developers lacked creativity and ripped off those games and slapped Vin Chiesel's name on it to get interest. The driving is a joke and the graphics are PS2 quality nevermind the dialogue. I played it for a couple of hours really trying to give it a chance but too glitchy and frustrating. Your character will start walking when you aren't even moving the stick and the shooting was horrible, taking 60 shells to kill someone. Its so bad that when I let my 9 yr old son play it, he did one side mission and handed the controller back saying " something is wrong with that car. " My 14 yr old had similar feelings as well. If I were Vin Diesel, I'd be embarrassed that my name is on a pile of trash like this and would do all I could to have it removed from the shelves. Needless to say, its back in the mail and I'm very happy I didn't make the mistake of buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

So much potential wasted....

posted by kingdeej (GLENSIDE, PA) Aug 4, 2009

Member since May 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Wheelman felt like a game that was hurriedly made. It has an very good plot that could easily be a movie, but the full effort was obviously was not put into the game. It is my opinion that the developers, in connection with the movie that's being made, just wanted to throw something together to make dough. No question.

The missions are so ridiculously repetitive. Let me sum up about 95% of the missions for you. You drive really fast and try to survive the onslaught of about 100 cars and 200 motorcycles. Every once and awhile, they'll throw in a gunfight on foot that will lead to to another crazy drive.

Luckily for Wheelman, even though it is ridiculously repetitive, it's those things that makes a gamer want to keep playing it. Crazy racing, airjacking other cars, and lots of stuff to blowup. Fun, but after awhile it lacks creativity.

The side missions aren't any better. I didn't bother with many, except for the Showdowns (races). The rest seemed boring and completely stupid.

To sum it up, here's the rest of the main flaws that will make you pull your hair out while playing:

The fact that whenever you need to switch cars there never seems to be one on the road, like nobody drives in the middle of the afternoon on a sunny day.

How the bystander cars will constantly get in your way, like the entire community got together and decided as group to try and stop the Wheelman from completing his mission.

And there's nothing wrong with being a little unrealistic for the desire to be fun and entertaining. That's why people love video games. But there's a difference between fun unrealistic and terrible unrealistic. A 18 Wheeler with all flat tires going 100 miles per hour: That goes in the terrible unrealistic category. Plenty of more examples in this game.

So overall, if you like racing games with tons of stunts and lots of stuff to blow up and lots of things to shoot, sure give it a try. But prepared to be frustrated and annoyed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

not worth the time

posted by crash121 (AZUSA, CA) Jun 10, 2009

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is not worth the time unless all you want is the trophies and even then it wasn't worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Wow what a load of waste

posted by defected (GREENVILLE, NC) May 6, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

lol this took 20 minutes of gameplay until it went right back into the mail ! I hope you guys at gamefly will send out my next games ASAP ( this game was a waste of time ) The Ai the graphics the physics what happened ? Your car seems to have no flow when driving around the streets ! You should feel like you leaned into the corners and when you speed up you should feel the speed ! All I felt was a tin box cruising the streets on the UT3 engine " What a waste of a great engine " Now the AI was awful and at the beginning of the game you could tell its rubberband AI , and I will not play a game with this design choice! Good job with spending most of your money on vin diesel!hey developers next time spend your budget on ( Gameplay-Graphics-Physics )!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

why u should not buy this game

posted by tmac2009 (AMBRIDGE, PA) Apr 10, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

the game has an excellent story line but the gameplay as in the graphics while u r driving is chop and reminds me of gta 2 it is horrible the worst driving game i have ever played other then that that charecters have great graphics and the other gameplay is really good but i rate this game a 4 it was over hyped and did not live up to the advertisments on tv

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst programming ever!

posted by ryman5173 (WINNETKA, CA) Apr 30, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I have found over 200 glitches in the game, and I'm not even fully finished with it yet. The racing, while fun at first, gets to a point where the PC will purposely screw you over if you do something it doesn't expect. Now having that happen once or twice is ok, but throughout the whole game?! This is not worth buying, not even worth playing. I just want to see the end since I started it cause I can't find anything out it on youtube, which says something.

Vin Diesel, which you think he rocks, if he approved this game, he's a moron!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

World's best game.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by raidenZX (CHULA VISTA, CA) May 7, 2009

Member since May 2009

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

If you like need for speed undercover and grand theft auto then this is the game for you.This game is the perfect combination of those two games.Air jack is where you jump out of your car while it is moving and you jump out of your car or off of your bike and throw or kick the person off.Ram is where you can hit cars in front or to the side of you and three or five hits will blow up the car thats chasing you or your chasing.Aimed shot is where you go in slow mo and shoot the circle in front of road blocks or behind other cars.Cyclone is where you spin around in slow moand shoot cars that are chasing you.Have a wonderful day and shoot em' up!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Poor Man's GTA

posted by keeler (KATY, TX) May 5, 2009

Member since Jul 2004

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

It drives me crazy when a decent company like Ubisoft puts their name on garbage like this. I've kind of gotten used to Midway putting out junk, but not Ubisoft. This game is nothing more than a poorly thought out copy of GTA IV.

From the ridiculously long time it took to actually load the game prior to the first play (15 minutes?) to the insane number of cut scenes, it's just bad. I guess they spent all of the developement money to pay Vin Diesel for his voice over work.

If I would have spent real money on this title, I may have had a breakdown. Thank goodness for Gamefly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse