Rent Wet for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Wet

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
6.2

9434 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Entertaining

posted by bktbrando (GRANADA HILLS, CA) Sep 16, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

96 out of 107 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

The Good---------

-The Gameplay runs really smooth. Shouldn't take you long at all to get the controls down. If you fully upgrade Rubi you'll have a lot more fun and tons more to do.

-Rage mode is exciting. The whole screen turns red and Rubi goes on a killing rampage. Things speed up, the music kicks in, and you go on a bloodlust. You can rake up a 60 chain kill combo pretty easy.

-The auto-aim and slow-mo feature is pretty nice. This game wouldn't have worked with out it. Once you have the acrobatics down playing areana mode is pretty fun. Which is where tons and tons of gunners/ guys with bats go after you and they continue to re-spawn. It's a nice time to accumulate "style" points.

-The game runs on rails. Normally I hate games that run on rails. But again it something that works for this game. Because it always keeps in you in the action and you always know where you are going.

The Bad-------------

-Take the "Film affect" off... Unless you want a headache. It was cool and different for the first 10 minutes. Then an hour later it gave me a headache.

-Still feel like they rushed it. I've discovered two bugs in the game. One of which leads to a crash. So just be ready to restart the system.

-You probably won't be urged to play this game over and over again. So play it on it's hardest difficulty then push it to the side. It's fun, but it's only fun once or twice through.

-Graphics are weak. After the "Film affect" is off. You'll be asking yourself "Is this Dreamcast?"

All in All-------------

-It will keep you entertained. This game has taken a long time to be realesed. Yes I do feel like they could have done more with it, but I do feel like they accomplished the tone and idea they were aiming for. Which is over-the-top senseless action, explosions, and gunplay. Glad I have Gamefly though. I don't think I would have bought it. I thought it was going to blow, but it's honestly a good rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

70's Kung Fu movie, turned into a game.

posted by SpasmFists (GLENDALE, AZ) Sep 14, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

119 out of 134 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

First thing to say is: Extremely original. Great action game...but it gets repetitive.

Gameplay: Action/Shooting. Aerial shooting in slow motion, gets old.

Graphics: Average graphics, nothing to brag about. But cool noise filter look for an old looking style

Sound: Great! classic music, and voice acting is cheesy like a 70's kung fu movie.

Replay Value: Finish that game once, and get half way through your second time and stop.

Bottom line, good for a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Rent don't Buy

posted by MrBubbles (BROOKHAVEN, MS) Sep 23, 2009

Member since Dec 2006

23 out of 26 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

I rented this game not expecting to much from it. But what I got from it was a very satisfying 3rd person shooter experience

It's nowhere near perfect, but it does do some things right. I really liked the slo-mo combat and combo system, especially later in the game after you have upgraded Rubi's abilities.

The story mode was a little shorter than i would have liked. I ran through it on normal in about 5-6 hours. It took a little longer on hard, only because I was going for achievements. The boss fights were a big disappointment to me. Instead of actually fighting them, they are reduced to quick time events.

The graphics were decent, but nothing ground breaking. I did like the grindhouse look and feel of the game.

The soundtrack was great. It really fit into the whole look and feel of the game.

The story was all over the place. It had characters showing up with no explanation as to who they were. Other characters disappearing without any resolution to who they were, or where they went. When i replayed it I just skipped through all the cutscenes.

As for extra content, it has some concept art and sketches. As well as character bios. You can also unlock the boneyard challenges and points count mode once you complete the story mode.

In closing, Wet offers a very entertaining stylish shooting experience with a lackluster and short story mode. It is worth a rental, but not a purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Enjoyable for such an Underrated Game

posted by fuzzmonkey (SAN LUIS OBISPO, CA) Jul 7, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I had very little expectations with Wet. The music in the demo annoyed me and the reviews were tepid at best. But I am very happy with my rental of a game that annoyed me only 2x throughout my experience.

Wet has enjoyable gameplay and its Kill-bill-esque story is a fun change from being a space marine or a WWII soldier. I unconditionally recommend it as a Gamefly rental or used purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Redundant

posted by chingle (OAK PARK, IL) Sep 20, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

Redundant, exceptional, just a few words to describe this 3rd person action shooter. At first, it's pretty entertaining, but after a while it just gets repetitive. New moves seem like a waste of time and the damage done just isn't what it should be. Still this game is great for a rental, but not worth buying. No real replay value - some may have trouble just beating it the first time. In my opinion, it could've been better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Wet ... Sodden ... Don't really care for either.

posted by SprklPony (HUNTSVILLE, AL) Jan 17, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

When first I glimpsed the promo for this game I thought 'I gotta have this!' So, I basically conducted a stake-out of my local Blockbuster hoping that one day the dolt who had consecutively rented this 'gem' would eventually have to leave the cold comfort of his mother's basement and trudge off to work.

Amazingly ... the game was never returned. So I cried in mourning, but, soon found myself distracted with Call of Duty.

After attaining enlightenment and finally subscribing to GameFly, this game was the first in my queue. I was a bit put-off by the previous reviews, but I wouldn’t be denied! Alas ... they were right.

While this game seems to embody the concept of 'epic' in its approach to combat and acrobatics, general bad-assery ... I just did not love the gameplay. Granted I have a an embarrassing aim/hit ratio, still, it was a bit difficult to grasp the controls. Some of the cinematic transitions leave you with a skewered FP perspective which hinders you jumping from rooftops, walls, etc.

Overall it was an 'ok' game. Wish I could offer something more profound but ... eh. 6 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

bitter sweet

posted by hotneokity (BRADLEY, IL) Dec 7, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

9 out of 14 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

the game was fairly good but i didn't think they did as much as they could with the sword play and i didn't like how you have to buy upgrades for everything even for basic skills such as shooting from the pipe or off of ledges. the game also had its moments such as the way your able to slide down ladders and shoot and it had plenty of action but at times i felt the game was harder then it had to be like the respawning doors u had to knock out before u could even get started killing so u are running around for at least 15 minuets getting shot at and ur life bar is down to below half and then if ur lucky u can just pull a win out of ur butt overall i beileve that u should defently not waste ur money on buying this title but it is alright to rent i got at least 6 hrs of intertanment for said game thank you for reading review please leave coment

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Incredibly fun - the perfect rental

posted by Vsonic (EAST STROUDSBURG, PA) Aug 29, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Its a shame most people overlooked A2M's Grindhouse-inspired Bullet Time shooter when it released, because it turns out to be one of the most fun games of the entire HD Generation.

Now, granted, it's a little short. Its a tad repetitive. There's no multiplayer and you can argue that there are better shooters out there. So if any of that defines a "bad" game to you, than just move on.

The key to why WET is fun to play - and why it easily sidesteps the problems Stranglehold had, namely, overusing ONE gameplay mechanic to the point of tedium very quickly (the Tequila Time thing) - are its three core mechanics. Rubi's Bullet Time/multi-shot thing, the arena-like combat, and the combos. Also, there's some (admittedly sort of clunky) platforming there to help break up the otherwise monotonous level designs. But even the platforming is sort of fun, so another win for A2M's little violent shooter!

So in most Max Payne games, and rip offs like Dead to Rights and what have you, Bullet Time is sort of dictated by a refillable meter. Not so in WET, where you go into it every time you shoot whilst doing certain moves, such as dives. Also, she auto-targets one enemy with one of her pistols, freeing you up to hit whatever else with the other. This means you can go crazy with the stuff without having to worry about running out - it also encourages the use of Rubi's acrobatic moves, which leads me to...

The arena combat. Like MadWorld, places in this game are designed more like Tony Hawk skate parks than bland rooms. Encouraging you to get higher combos, explore the environment a bit and combo-link your flashiest moves together to kill people in ever more interesting ways. Really, its the combos that keep you coming back, as you always feel like - had you noticed that place to wall run earlier, or that pole to swing by - you could've done better with your kill combo.

Its simple, dumb entertainment, but man does it entertain. Not worth a buy for some, but a PERFECT rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun... for a little while

posted by admphi (CENTERTON, AR) Dec 1, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The game started out with an easy enough tutorial and plot but quickly became redundant, then boring. It gives you the 'sandbox' feel to the game but the more you play it, the more you are pulled into a linear plot and can only achieve your objectives the way the game wants you to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

The Demo was better....

posted by TheSaint (BRADENTON, FL) Nov 29, 2009

Member since Sep 2007

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Fun game for a while. Then it becomes repetitive. I played maybe 2 hours of the game, then got too bored of it to bother to finish it. Plenty of moments in the game made it fun, just it dies out over time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horrible

posted by rambo04 (Palm Beach Gardens, FL) May 21, 2011

Member since Apr 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

had the game for 10 minutes, packed it up and it will go out in monday's mail.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game, kinda short

posted by epicgamer1 (ALPHARETTA, GA) Aug 7, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is a great game for those who love action/adventure games, and hot chicks with guns. While playing as Rubi you can do amazing acrobatics and slow-motion shooting.The game controls are a little difficult to get used to but when you learn them making quick kills becomes a breeze. The game graphics are great and the story is always interesting. The game is kinda short, literally beatable is one day, but the different challenge make it a game worth playing again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game!!!!

posted by mrigetbuzy (DETROIT, MI) Jun 4, 2010

Member since May 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this game is one of the best 3rd person shooters on the market. its gritty gameplay mixed with some max payne gameplay make it a worht wile rent. i would buy it for the right price (gamefly says keep it for $12.99, and i just might!!!...lol.)

very cool way to kill a couple hours and have some fun!! would highly recommend if you like 3rd person shooters!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A title like this demands a pun

posted by Droppo (MOUNTLAKE TERRACE, WA) Sep 16, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Ok, here's my wince inducing but quite necessary pun to start off my review:

Wet is dripping with personality. Ha.

Unfortunately the characters in it aren't dripping so much. The game is fun in a repetitive actiony kind of way that will appeal to many people. There is much more variety in the gameplay than some action games I've played in the last year or so. Here, most of the combat is acrobatic, so the game slows down to a "bullet time" mode while you are sliding or in the air or wall running to give you a few seconds to take aim. Your sword is quite powerful though, so I like to slide to get in close and then slice and dice.

The nod to Kill Bill and the grainy 70's retro style of recent Tarrentino films is obvious here and only adds to the appeal. My only beef is how long it takes for me to care about Ruby or anything that's going on. They just throw you in and teach you some killin' controls and hope you have a good time with that.

The game wins points with me for style. If I didn't love me some Tarrentino films, I wouldn't have rated this game quite as high. But it does look pretty good, camera controls are good unless you happen to be in a very tight corridor (which isn't common), and the action is bloody and relentless. I guess I wouldn't buy it, but it looks to keep my hard drive warm for a while as a good rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Decent Game

posted by drumgod (TONEY, AL) Sep 23, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Wet is a decent shooter with cool Quinton Tarrentino type film reels. The game does get a bit redundant after a while. Also, the end comes too soon and in a very anti-climatic way. I would recommed renting instead of buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

More like a drizzle...

posted by vallon (GEORGETOWN, TX) Sep 16, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

The premise of this game is a good one, but it really fails on a bunch of points. This game is the misbegotten child of Prince of Persia, Kill Bill: the video game, and Lara Croft: Tomb Raider. If you like tons of blood and a slew of slow motion affects then this is your game. The game has a few strong points, but it has more flaws which hurts it overall. The story is pretty predictable from the beginning and continues that way all the way to the end. The scratchy old film motion is enjoyable for all of ten seconds and then starts to give to a headache, but thankfully you can turn it off in the options. The part that was the most enjoyable was the old intermission clips and messages. Another point was having a bad to the bone femme fatale as the main character. There are times when Rubi, the female protagonist, goes into a rage mode which turns the screen red, with the colors back and white thrown in to mark the buddies. While this is semi-fun the 1st time you will start to curse it by the time you have to do a whole chase scene this way. The devs should have taken more time to really work on this game and fix it flaws. Not the worst game out there but hardly the best.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Just Meh...

posted by fr0znX (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Sep 21, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

"Wet" is a decent game with pretty good graphics, lots of violence and enough shooting to satisfy, but the game overall is just MEH.

Not too great, not terrible.... just in-the-middle, MEH.

Rent at your own risk. 5/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Wet: One thing it did not do to me.

posted by Jerikko (TULSA, OK) Dec 10, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

First off. This title is simply a rental, not a keeper. I was impressed with the game for the first 5 minutes and then the novelty wore off. I was happy that I did not force myself through till the game as the story's plot kept me interested. Had it not been for that I would have stopped playing after the first level. I found no reply value in this game and did not even bother to try the challenge stages; once was enough.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Part Fun, Part Steaming Pile

posted by Wakefield (MILFORD, PA) Sep 19, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

At first, this game is incredibly fun, your doing all sorts of cool dives and slidinging around in slow motion to take your enemies and that part of the game is done really well. The other part of the game that is awful is all of the annoying platforming. Many times you will need to climb walls and jump accross huge platforms and the sort, and just before your about to complete the incredibly frustrating sequence, when you land on that final platform, the game just kills you for no apparent reason and you are forced to do the entire section over again. This game would be a fantastic game if the platforming had been either removed, or done correctly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Lots of highs that run dry quickly

posted by Broon43 (NAPLES, FL) Jan 4, 2010

Member since May 2009

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I was excited to try the full version of this game after playing the demo. I'm really glad that I did. It was definitely worth the rental.
I played this game for about 2 days worth and racked up about 800 Gamerscore before I got tired of it, however.

I really love the Grindhouse feel of the game. If you're a fan of those old school drive-in movies, or more recently, films such as Kill Bill and Planet Terror, you'll dig this game for sure. I love the added touch of putting in the old drive-in style commercials for the concessions, et al. The grainy film feature during in-game play was also a nice touch, and glad that they have the option to turn it off if it annoys the player.

The gameplay is pretty straightforward. It's a little Tomb Raider with the shimmying, jumping and climbing, and a little bit Stranglehold with the slow mo kills. It's a good mix of the two. Plus, it's got some arcade style action with the multiplier bonuses during certain events in the game. And some of the craziest action scenes ever in a game! Wow.

Nice transitions between chapters and decent hidden items and upgrades throughout the game. The achievements rack up quickly, too, so the rewards keep you coming back for more and more.

Overall, not a bad game to rent. The graphics weren't top notch, but I thought that overall they were great. I love the choice of acting talent for the main characters including Eliza Dushku for Rubi and Malcolm MacDowell for the main antagonist. Choice.

After playing through the game a few times, however, it gets boring with the same old jumping, sliding, shooting slow mo and slashing your way through all the levels. Ho hum. Even the higher difficulty levels became extremely frustrating b/c the upgrades don't match the enemies you face, no matter how skilled a player you are. So, with that, it could've been better.

Again, give it a rent, rack up some points and body counts and have some laughs along the way as well. Brilliant dialogue and voice acting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

boring

posted by mechman226 (ROCK HILL, SC) Dec 8, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

most repetitive game ever, walk down a hall kill some bad guys, get to a big open area kill lots of bad guys,swing on a pole kill bad guys...etc...etc...etc.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great for what it is.

posted by Aradace (LANSING, MI) Sep 17, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

As the title implies, this game is great at what it does. So, let's just skip all the hooplah and get right to my analysis eh?

Graphics: I'd give about an 8. They're not bad, but they arent on par with some of Bethesda's best work either. (Oblivion) However, it works pretty well for what it wants to accomplish.

Story: I'm giving a 4. Overall, it was pretty bland and once again, VERY predictable. As I've stated in other reviews of other games that were exceptionally weak in this area; "I like to be thrown a curve ball and not see the outcome coming a mile a way." Then again, some folks may like that kind of thing and are also the same minds I lump together with this kind of story; "Uncreative" and "Boring"

Controls/Engine: I'm giving a 9. Reason being: The entire time I felt like I was playing Prince of Persia what with all the wall running and acrobatics going on. Everything seemed to flow together rather well and again, served it's purpose exceedingly well in this department. My only complaint is that there wasn't enough balance between swordplay and guns. As it stands, there's no real way to transition "smoothly" between the two. You're either, blowing away the enemy with your pistols, or hacking them up with your sword with no way to implement a combo between them.

Replay: I'm giving a 2. Reason being: You're ONLY motivation for playing through again is A.) Higher difficulties (which is fine if your I.Q. is smaller than your shoe size) and B.) Golden Bullets mode which is the only reason replay got a 2 instead of a 1. Much like another person posted; I played through my first time (very short game btw...A total over about 6-7hrs TOPS) and stopped right in the middle of my next playthrough already bored.

Overall, a great shooter, and a great rent but you'd be foolish to actually buy it unless you WANT to waste 60 bucks heh. In the end IMO, Bethesda should just stick to RPG's in the future.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Keep your day job...

posted by zzzmon (NORTH LITTLE ROCK, AR) Oct 7, 2009

Member since Apr 2005

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Bethesda can NOT be serious. Stick to the RPG business. My apologies to those who ranked this game above a 5, but this is a clown game. maybe for 6-yr olds if it wasn't for the language. Clown AI, clown Rubi, poor graphics, no plot. No real objectives that I saw after getting through half the game. Folks say I saved 60 bucks. Well, I say a wasted rental. Being a fan of Oblivion and Fallout 3 I might of got suckered. So thanks anyway gamefly!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

excellent

posted by pappy1965 (SCHENECTADY, NY) Oct 9, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this was a very good game just wish it was longer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Tarantino meets Video Game

posted by cmaster3 (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Jun 18, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I think that any Quentin Tarantino movie fan would love this game. It has the essence of Kill Bill and Death Proof, with great music! Some feel that it may be repetitive, but it's still a great game to play. You play as Rubi, who basically is a hired assassin that is extremely acrobatic, with an arsenal of guns, swords and cross bows, on a mission to find a client that has wronged her. There's nothing like this woman scorned!
You get to have plenty of slow motion, Matrix-like fighting scenes as you jump through the air, slide on the floor, run on or up the walls, swing around poles (not that kind of pole), and slide down ladders to kill who ever gets in your way.

The ending itself is pretty anti climatic with all the action you go through to get there, but still, doesn't discredit that the game has great action. It took a couple days (not non-stop, but when I wasn't playing other games with friends) of playing to beat the normal difficulty. If you're one of those people who just likes to beat the game and put it off to the side, just rent it. If you like to try all of the different modes, difficulties and challenges, I suggest buying it (the keep it price looks great here).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse