Rent Wet for PS3
view large frontback

Wet

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
5.3

5895 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

WET: A good, fun RENTAL. Definitely do not buy.

posted by WhiteTiger (RENO, NV) Oct 2, 2009

Member since May 2008

70 out of 75 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

Overview:
In WET, you play as 'Rubi', a gun-toting, sword-swinging mercenary with a chip on her shoulder. The game seems to be an amalgamation of the Kill Bill series, various John Woo titles, and the Max Payne series. It's 3rd person action, starring a tough female character. It uses slo-mo/bullet time effects, akimbo gun play, brutal sword play, a 'Rage Mode', and 'Acrobatic Combat' to mow down hordes of thugs.

Pros:
It's a non-stop roller coaster ride of bloody violence. High action, very fun, and fairly fluid. The grainy film effect adds a little something, if you like that sort of thing. The soundtrack fits very well. The multi-targeting system works pretty well. It's a lot of fun cutting guys down with a big sword. Some of the advanced 'upgrade' techniques add a lot of fun flair to the action. The car chases can be cool.

Cons:
Very, very repetitive. I can't stress this enough. Run through corridors killing mooks until you get to a final showdown where you're in an area where you need to kill massive amounts of bad guys while attempting to cut off their entry points. Lather, rinse, repeat. This is about 90% of the game.

Besides sword and pistols, Rubi gets access to a small arsenal, including a shotgun, a pair of SMG's, and an explosive crossbow. This would be cool, except her pistols have unlimited ammo, and these other weapons don't really add anything to the game.

Timed button pressing action. Too many of the would-be cool scenes rely on pressing various buttons at specific times... or Rubi dies. This can be cool if properly executed, but it really was not.

Boss villains. Pretty much EVERY boss fight in this game utilizes the cut-scene, timed button press approach. And some of them you don't even get to fight AT ALL! This was extremely disappointing.

Result:
WET had potential, but feels like a rush job. I recommend considering this title as a rental, but do not suggest owning. It's very short, and has little to no replay value.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

stop your QQing!

posted by das99 (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Dec 19, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i don't understand why so many pansies are crying about this game being bad and all. oh it's really repetitive... really?! 80% of the games out there are too. there's timed button scenes or else you die... for real?! you die? O.O i never would have guessed that you DIE because you FAILED to hit the button at the proper moment. the levels are hard to figure out where to go?! are you serious? there's only two ways - the way you came from and the way you have to go. how is THAT hard to figure out?! even the BOX tells you what to expect...

"OVER THE TOP acrobatics with a unique 360' gun targeting system, sword fighting, and acrobatic ability"

you QQers understand what "over the top" means? wacky, unconventional, unrealistic. l2read.

okay, enough of the sarcasm. the game isn't perfect, but it's hella fun. just watch a gameplay video. you slide down ladders upsidedown, guns firing, you can wallrun, flip off poles, slide, and other things while shooting... i mean, the game is fun. as far as ppl telling you NOT to buy it, i say BUY IT. it's LESS than $10. 5 different difficulty settings, the story mode, challenges, a killer soundtrack. it's worth that.

i would say this game's closest counterpart, minus the overtop gameplay, would be Dead to Rights. nonstop, repetitive firing and you know what? even Dead to Rights was an amazing game. repetition is only bad if the overall feel of the game sucks, and this one does NOT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

rediculously underrated!!!!

posted by jdel1972 (KENNER, LA) Nov 7, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Is it the best game ever produced? no....Is it extremely entertaining with an amazing musical soundtrack? You bet it is!! i mainly rent games now, but out of all the games that i actually purchased, including la noire,heavy rain, red dead, drake's franchise and mass effect franchise, this is one of the few games that i just couldn't sell back. At the very least, rent it and see if it is worth it to you. If you decide that it's a" blank in a punch bowl"(line from the game), then my apologies, but i believe you will feel like it's 10-12 hours of your life that you won't need to try to get back....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

good game ruined by controls and camera

posted by MrOrange54 (RUTHERFORD, NJ) Sep 16, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

47 out of 56 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

The game idea is kind of cool, the style is a mix of Kill Bill 1+2. I never really watched any spaghetti western/samurai movies other than KB so thats the only thing I can relate it to. The game does rip off KB when you enter Rage mode and the screen turns red/black...similar to the black/white of KB 1.
It is relatively short. The first day I had it, I finished 7 of 12 missions and started up the 8th in about 3 hours of total time playing the game.
The mechanics of the game was a great idea. You can dive, slide, or wall run while shooting. Doing this slows down the game, allowing you to aim at an enemy with the right analog stick. Since your character has two weapons at all times, the computer automatically targets an enemy with your characters opposite hand. This was a fun feature, and necessary to help you avoid the many bullets that will be shot at you throughout the game, but even with the slowing of the camera, you will find yourself being unpredictably shot.

There are so many enemies on the screen, yet you cant block. You can upgrade to the ability to dodge, but you can't shoot while dodging and you'll end up coming out of the dodge being hit by someone else.

The controls are very frustrating. You can climb many objects,walk on walls,swing on poles. Many times you find yourself wanting to do something and not be able to, while there will be other times when you don't want to do something and she will do it. The game included a way to see what items you can grab, so that you can jump to and from objects easily. This only works part of the time because the camera is sometimes just completely terrible. It doesn't help that your character moves so swiftly that the slightest movement has her falling off ledges or running into danger.

It could have been great if it weren't for the controls/camera. It isn't difficult, but you may end up dying a lot due to these problems.Then you have to load the checkpoint again, which is longer than it should.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Garbage

posted by Maevid (ATLANTA, GA) Jun 18, 2010

Member since Jan 2007

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Neat idea, terrible execution. Levels are linear, full of visual noise, and frequently hard to figure out. Go play Stranglehold instead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Much potential, weak execution

posted by keiyume (MELBOURNE, FL) Oct 23, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

WET had a lot of potential. Ultimately, though, the game fell short in many areas.

The controls for the game were awkward. They were similar enough to games in the same vein, yet different enough to make it feel clumsy. The graphics were definitely weak for this generation and the storyline was lacking.

WET proved disappointing from the beginning. After dying, the game sends the player back to the beginning of the checkpoint. The game refused to let me skip early videos, but occasionally let me skip them later. The corny "commercials" were simply obnoxious and the sometimes overly cheesy bad film strip feel of the game occasionally left me feeling dizzy (although I've been known to experience simulator sickness when gaming before).

I found many glitches in the game, falling through doors to previous areas, freezing at loading screens, blanking out completely in game, etc. The game felt poorly tested from both a playability and human factors standpoint.

I finally got into the game over halfway through and found myself enjoying the experience up until the last chapter where everything felt hastily thrown together to fit too much in to too little time.

A big dislike of mine is quick time events, of which WET had plenty. Boss fights consisted entirely of QTEs.

Overall, I enjoyed the soundtrack and the voice acting provided by Eliza Dushku. WET did have some fun times (rage mode was excellent), but the overall experience was less than desirable. The best way I can describe this game is as a jumbled mix of Mirror's Edge and Kill Bill. If you like the shoot 'em up type of games and have nothing else to play, feel free to give it a try. Otherwise, I wouldn't recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

stay away

posted by kidd76 (COLUMBIA, MS) Jul 9, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Controls sucked, very frustrating. Good concept, poor execution.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Wet sucks

posted by Rupert (CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA) Apr 21, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

The shooting is boring and the same. Jumping has to be annoyingly precise. On one level I got stuck trying a simple jump. Didn't require anything other than jumping up and grabbing, nothing else, and could not do it. At that point I was disgusted and quit. Horrible monotonous game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

WET Review!

posted by IrishNinja (WINTER SPRINGS, FL) Sep 19, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

12 out of 17 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I've been following this game with eager anticipation for over a year now and here's my review after I beaten the game.

Story - 7 out of 10. (Been there, done that. A simple revenge game. Reminds me of a cross between 'The Matrix' and 'Kill Bill')
Controls - 6 out of 10 (It's a bit clunky at times and they could have work on it more)
Music - 10 out of 10 (Best part of the game. Great selection and makes the action scenes more exciting and memorable)
Visuals - 9 out of 10 (I actually like the Quentin Tarantino style film grain they used in WET and the short 50's style clips)

Overall - 8 out of 10

Bottom line - RENT IT! This game is worth a rent not a buy. It's a good game that I thought before it came out was going be great. If nothing else it's mindless over the top action, with great music, and a Tarantino nod off that he would smile at.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

TWO WORDS: NOT FUN!!!

posted by pain11906 (HOUSTON, TX) Feb 2, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

NOT FUN

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Hard to get a grip

posted by honestly (YANKTON, SD) Jun 30, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I did somewhat enjoy this game. I thought it was really cool to play a bad girl who didnt really care just doing her job for the green. I liked the different elements they added to the levels altho they repeat like most other games. The part I didnt like was dying so much from trying to get from point A to point B. Overall I'd say this game is ok.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Wet- Good Concept, Boring Gameplay !!!

posted by sefquin (HOUSTON, TX) May 10, 2010

Member since May 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The Gameplay is fun for about 5 min.... Ruby has nice moves, jumping, shooting, and sliding... but that gets old too quick... It's a bad mix of Tomb Raider and Max Payne. The shooting is mostly on auto-lock and when it's not, the crosshair is a simple dot (not fun), the bad guys are on a stand still AI, you can circle them around the room and not get shot or hit... The sword has only three simple slash moves(left, right, across)... Apparently the makers are big Tarantino and Rob Rodriguez fans. The whole thing is a rip-off of Kill Bill, Sin City, and Grindhouse. This game varies visually, Some of the art and stages are real cool, bloody, and detailed.... But then you take a look at some of the bad guys and it seems like they came straight out of PS One, WTH !!! The Story is something that has been way overdone. Over all, The game has a good concept, I think this character has staying power, Some of the visuals are nice, I think they should make a part 2, just fix all of the above... Looking forward to it .

Recommended: Army of Two : 40th Day (5 Stars)

-SEF

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

TOTAL GARBAGE

posted by baldassbat (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Apr 7, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I give most games a fair shake. I've even been known to boost a score based on a concept, even if it doesn't work quite right. This game gets nothing for that.

Which is sad, because the entire thing is a great concept. It's just ruined by being completely unplayable. This is basically a '70s grindhouse blood and kung fu movie put into game form. Except games are supposed to be fun and this isn't.

The controls are loose and unresponsive. The only way to kill your enemies is to jump up and down or slide while shooting, causing you to enter overly dramatic slow motion sequences. Despite being a shooter I had much more success running around wildly and slashing with my katana. Standing there with a gun in your hand results with you shooting heads 10-15 times before the opponent even reacts. Even with a shotgun!

Basic shoot and slash sequences get broken up by timed button presses for battles. You also are forced to shoot people hanging out of car windows while speeding down the freeway. Make sure your timing is good though. If you're off by a split second you replay the whole level.

Between outlandish action scenes you are treated to a nonsensical story featuring trite and hackneyed characters with terrible voice acting (sorry Eliza Dushku, I still love you). Other break up scenes serve only to rip you completely out of the experience to annoy you with stupid animated characters advertising food available at the refreshment stand. Really. That's not a joke. The grindhouse concept goes that far.

In all fariness I didn't finish the game. I got about halfway before deciding I don't hate myself enough to play the rest of it. Might as well return it for a good game. The level I stopped at was the third ridiculously over difficult sequence in a row. After a freefall firefight at 30,000 feet you have to dodge the pieces of the plane breaking up while fighting your way to the one parachute. I can't emphasize enough how stupid this is despite how cool it sounds.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Swing!!! ...and a miss...

posted by chrisross (ORLANDO, FL) Sep 18, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

25 out of 38 gamers (66%) found this review helpful

I usually decide not to write reviews, despite how much I enjoyed or disliked a game. This title, however, was so exceptionally mundane, boring, and redundant, that I just had to find the time out of my busy day to offer a few words of advice.

Point 1 - do not, by any means available to you in this universe, purchase this game. If the trailer looks overwhelmingly appealing to you (granted there is about 2 seconds of actual game play in the trailer) please do not waste the effort by doing anything more than hypothesizing the idea that you may rent this game some time in the future.

Point 2 - this game is such a blatant rip off of Quentin Tarantino's 2 part Kill Bill series (specifically the scene where Uma Therman fights the crazy 88 in hong kong) that I honestly think he could make a case for copyright infringement. It's not cool, hip, or a respectable adaptation. It shows a complete lack of originality and dedication; Bethesda Softworks should be ashamed.

Point 3 - the only reason I didn't give this game a 1 is that I can't deny the fact that I wasted a couple hours of my life enjoying hacking people with a sword and taking out six opponents while sliding on my knees. These small and distant shining stars, nevertheless, are very difficult to see through the storm of programing flaws and ridiculous plot attempts known as "Wet"

Point 4 - the upgrading system is downright laughable. "Upgrading" the protagonist means nothing more than spending style points to purchase abilities that should have been there in the first place to make it a half decent game. For example: I had to play through 2 boring hours before I could purchase the ability to shoot someone while hanging on a ledge.

I could go on....for 243 characters exactly...but I've already wasted enough time and brain cells thinking about this game that I might as well have taken that extra hit of LCD freshman year...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Derivitive Fun

posted by Dexter00 (BRISTOL, VA) Sep 16, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

17 out of 26 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

Wet isn't exactly shifting any paradigms or breaking any molds, but what it lacks in originality it makes up with pure fun. Ultimately, isn't that why we play video games?

Taking a page directly out of the playbook of Kill Bill, Max Payne and even The Matrix, Wet does have a bit of a "been there, done that" feel to it. However, it takes those overplayed elements and wraps them up in a very slick, brutal, stylish package that almost makes them seem fresh again. Sure, we've all ran on walls and killed bad guys in bullet time before, but have we done it while playing a character like Rubi that swears, talks trash, and refills her health bar with whiskey?

I doubt Wet will be up for many game of the year awards or anything, but it's still worth a rent for a few hours of mindless, bloody fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

SEIZURE TIME

posted by BLINDSDOWN (WILTON MANORS, FL) Jan 23, 2010

Member since Aug 2008

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

IT HAD POTENTIAL. FEELING A BIT LIKE BEING IN KILL BILL BUT MY HOW THE STROBE EFFECT MESSED WITH MY HEAD AND NOT IN A GOOD WAY. RUBY WAS ALSO VERY VERY CLUMSY, VERY OFTEN AND RAN LIKE A MOOSE IN HEAT...NOT PRETTY OR SEXY IN THE LEAST!

FUN AND BLOODY AND SOMETIMES FUNNY BUT NOT A KEEPER.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

horrible

posted by timandjamiehall (KISSIMMEE, FL) Apr 26, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

i was expecting a matrix-esk type game considering the previews. but this has got to be one of the worst games i have ever played ...i should have known after the first 5 minutes how repetative this game was going to be but i allowed myself to waste an hour of my life playing this game with the same moves over and over with no real plot to game ....in my point of view don't even waste the 5 minutes don't bother renting

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

wet ps3

posted by wynbj05 (GRANTS PASS, OR) Mar 30, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

game is the samething over and over and.................. if i hear that gun shoot sound agian i'll shoot myself!!!!! =)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

This game SUCKS!!

posted by erikskin (SOUTH SETAUKET, NY) Apr 13, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I didnt like this game period! I hate these stupid little side games that you are forced to have to go through! Graphics were WACK! Gameplay was slow and stagered! I had expectations and they were shot down! P.O.S!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Bethesda needs to just hang it up....

posted by Paladin76 (MALAKOFF, TX) Oct 13, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Bethesda has to be one of the WORST game developers in history. They have some great ideas but they ALWAYS fail to delever.

I do not understand why they only use brown.......or a version of brown. Throw some color in there guys, it's not going to hurt anything I promise.

Now one thing they did do right in this game was hire good voice acting, and were able to give a bit of personality to the various different characters in this game. In all the other games made by Bethesda this simply did not happen.

Also the music is awesome, this soundtrack is right up there with Afro Samuri, and adds a lot to this game.

I do not like the old movie grainy effects that they added to the graphics, it makes the game look last gen and dated.

The way comabt is handled is a great idea, and can be fun at times, but this game becomes nothing more than jumping or sliding in the exact same way over and over doing the exact same attacked, with the exact same weapons over and over and over. Also having to do the training mode in order to advance the game is just annoying.

The save points or at strange places, forcing you to repeat some very hard and frustrating moments.

I HATE!!!!!! having to play a game that just requires you to push a certain button at a certain time. It's a way to add "content" to games from lazy developers and takes no skill at all to pull off. The driving scense and boss battles could have been awesome but all you do is wait for the game to play itself and puch a button when the game tells you to. This is not what I call content or fun, it's lazy game design.

Another glaring issue is at times there is a complete lack of direction, some edges that you need to jumnp to are just out of reach, awhile others that appear to be out of reach are the ones that you are only allowed to jump to. It's frustraiting at best.

Despite all that, the game has some charm, the main charcater is VERY likable, so rent it and curse Bethesda like I did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Wets all right...

posted by Sonicjin (CENTRAL ISLIP, NY) Oct 2, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I think a better title for wet would have been slow motion shoting the game.

If your playing the game and your not in slow motion, then your doing something wrong. As a matter of fact, the game is unplayable unless your in slow motion. This isn't really such a bad thing however, but I wish the game did have other tricks up its sleeve.

Over all everything else is pretty average from the graphics, platforming to combat. The story is probably the best part but thats not really saying much. I really like the main character Ruby, she is the most kickass female character ever without showing a rediculas amount of skin like most vidio game female characters, however the story is full of holes. Some characters completely vanish through out the story. It also ended on a bit of a cliff hanger witch I hate because chances are they're never gonna make a sequal.

In the end I'd say rent it, wich is probably what your gonna do seeing's how your on this site.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Lots of Potential, but filled with bugs.

posted by WildCardZ (AYNOR, SC) Oct 14, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Anyone who loves the Quentin Tarantino "Grindhouse" or "Kill Bill" movies will love this game. The controls blend what we are use to seeing in 3rd next-gen person platforms today, with the "God of War" button prompts, "Tomb Raider" jumps and wall shimmeys, and some Max Paine or Matrix slow-mo gun battles. This game tries its best to combine all of those in a very stylish '70's drive in movie theme. The controls are sometimes frustrating, and do require a bit of a learning curve, but manage to get the job done.

Unfortunately, this game is also filled with bugs and glitches. The most notable one is the "That Dirty Rat" chapter, where I (and other players I've conversed with on the internet) get stuck in the either the cage battle or on Rat Boy's Gatling Gun. Supposedly, once you beat all the enemies in the cage, the next cut scene starts, and you advance to the Gatling gun. My first problem - I kill everyone, and nothing happens. I stand in the cage for half an hour with nothing to do but shoot at the audience and the graffitti, then get frustrated and reload the checkpoint and try again. After about three tries, I get to the Gatling Gun, kill all the enemies, and then get stuck - unable to get off the gun to continue on. Supposedly, there's another enemy to kill that stays out of range of the gun and exploding barrels - preventing you to move on to the next chapter. The only recourse at this point is - reload the last checkpoint and try again. Sadly, the checkpoint makes you replay the cage match - starting the whole problem over again.

These two main bugs are a game killer. If Bethesda addresses this problem with a patch, then I would definitely give this game another shot. But until then, it's luck of the draw to even complete the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Darn

posted by MrDanTheo (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Sep 24, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Way to boring for a 2009 game.

The most frustrating part of the game is when a button icon pops up warning you to press it and you press it and it doesnt work. So you think your ready for it and you push it knowing it will be there again and somehow you still messed up somehow. Then you plan out to just push the button as many times as possible when it comes up and that doesnt work. Next time you decide maybe its a timing issue and you still get it wrong. After going through the same 2 minutes 6-7 times of checkpoints you finally get it right and you dont know what you did different from before. And this comes up many times throughout the game.

Besides that graphics are lame, camera is annoying, upgrading guns and moves suck.

The only thing cool about the game is the trailer to it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

"Wet" is pretty decent

posted by PloKoonDS (SACRAMENTO, CA) Oct 28, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

If you're a fan of any Quentin Tarantino or Robert Rodriguez films then you will more than likely enjoy this game.

All in all, it's a fun game to play through. There really isn't any replay value because you don't get to keep any of the upgrades you purchase from game to game.

The controls are alright. They feel a little odd because of the way Rubi jumps and reacts to the environment but the button lay out feels really natural and easy to pick up on.

The camera is actually really, really good.

If I had a complaint about this game is that the combat is cool but extremely repetitive. The only way you can fight effectively is when you're jumping through the air or sliding on the ground which, normally, is very cool but, when it's your only form of effective combat, extremely tiresome and somewhat annoying.

Anyways, fun game. Very B movie feel to it. I enjoyed playing through it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible game, stay away from this.

posted by opuskk (BELLINGHAM, WA) Nov 18, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I only begrudingly played this game through to the end, thinking that something would change and it would gain some depth, realism or just anything that is fun but it was a sore disappointment in the end. The only bright spot of this title is Bethesda's name on it and the music. If you want a long and painful game with many poorly designed encounters then this is great for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse