Rent We Ski for Wii
view large frontback

We Ski

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.8

1058 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME!!!

posted by hunthog (OGDEN, UT) Jul 12, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

this is game is the best skiing game ever! It is fairly challanging and very fun! Recomemded!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

My son & his friend loved it so much, we bought it

posted by GrandeMoch (WATERFORD, MI) Apr 13, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

My son & my husband are avid downhill skiers & they enjoy playing this. I was hoping they would use the Wii fit board but they like the remote & numchuck combo so they can race against each other.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Addicting at First, but Novelty Wears Off

posted by johnsrevie (CUPERTINO, CA) Feb 22, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

I rented this game because I was inspired by the Winter Olympics. My first thought about this game was the relatively simple gameplay, but I was hooked for a few good hours.
Surprisingly, there aren't very many interesting modes in this game. Multiplayer is pretty fun at first, you can race down 20 different courses with up to four players, and slalom, which is basically racing except you have to go through poles, and moguls, which is basically you jumping off hills and then doing tricks to earn points. I tried all of the events with my brother. My brother is not an avid gamer, but did surprisingly well. We were really intrigued by the game for about half an hour, but after that, my brother and I agreed that the game really wasn't too interesting anymore.
The other mode is freestyle mode, where basically you just rush down hills as fast as you can. Sometimes, you can do tasks for people by basically just finding other people, and talking to them. But, this part of the game isn't interesting, because there are so many random people in the game that it's really hard to find them all. The whole ski resort where the setting of this game is is pretty small. I can get from the top to bottom in about 3 minutes. However, I like the design of the different slopes. Some have lots of hills, some have lots of drops to make you go fast, and some have lots of trees to dodge and are really bumpy. But, after playing for a little while, the game just doesn't seem that interesting anymore.
With the Wii balance board, control is greatly enhanced. However, it doesn't totally change this game.
I suggest a definite rent; this game is cool enough for you to try out, and is really fun at first, especially playing against other people. However, maybe after a few hours of gaming, you will want to return the game, unless for some reason you're just really hooked.
Rent the game, just don't keep it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Very realistic

posted by Tracie331 (CASSELBERRY, FL) Jul 16, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

I have never been actual snow skiing before but this games seems very realistic. The training section is a little tedious but it teaches you everything you need to know to use the game.

Once I first got into the game (using the board) it was alot fun. I did get a little board with it after a while but others in my household loved it and had a blast from start to finish.

The challenges you come across range from very easy to difficult and each one is teaching you how to use the game a little better.

I would defianlty recommend to others.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

We Ski on the Wii!

posted by 3859rl (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Jun 5, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

Hum.......... what to write about this game is rather hard. See, it is a very fun game, but some of the controls are kind of harder than they could be. It has some fun activities to do though. Freestyle is the most fun. Most of my friends love this game, and are really good at it too, but I dont really get the hang of it though. But, having said that, I can easily see that if you are good at the controls, and like this type of game, your rating would be a 10. Its definetly worth trying and fooling around with.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Exhausting!

posted by breath4sou (HOWARD, OH) Jun 3, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

We played this game without the fit board. It takes a lot of energy to continually move the remote and nun chuck in the way you need to just to move your toon. We never got to the point of learning tricks. My husband and I played it once, tried most of the hills, talked to a hand full of the in-game characters and were pretty much over it. My nephews are 8 and 12. The older one liked it a little more than the younger one, who seemed frustrated with it. They played it twice while they were here but preferred the racing and Lego games instead.

Pros: physical activity, fun to try to ski, try to figure out tasks given to you by characters in the game, multiplayer, tutorials, moguls are fun

Cons: too physical, movements don't always work to get your toon going, complicated, repetitive movements make you sore.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Wii Ski

posted by Kev1Duck (PORTLAND, OR) Mar 25, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

It was hard remembering all the moves in this game. The Ski School helped somewhat. The graphics are so-so at best. The Wii controls didn't respond to well to trying to get the character to "skate" and increase speed. It's a good rental but not worth buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I like it

posted by spitfire2 (SIOUX FALLS, SD) Mar 7, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

This is actually a 9.5, but I can't do that, so I rounded up. Contrary to most people's opinions, I really loved this game. It is pretty realistic, and I like the looks of the slopes at night. It gets boring if you play it too long, but only after about 2 hours.

Graphics: 9
Gameplay: 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun at First

posted by nunckuk34 (WEST CHESTER, PA) Mar 5, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

We Ski takes you to the slopes, where you can ski and participate in other activities, such as rescues and deliveries. This game is fun at first, but bores after a while. The controls are hard to grasp and to memorize. Overall though, the skiing experience is very realistic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

My Mii can skii!

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Feb 27, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

Yes, We Ski is like Wii Play or Wii Sports, but with skiing. It's hard to elaborate on that concept, but let's try.
The Happy Ski Resort is the site of your skiing adventure. Several courses twist, turn and merge on the mountain. Each one of the courses has it's own personality. Some want you to go fast, some want you to keep your balance over difficult terrain, some want you to turn beyond all reason. Doing well on these courses gives you a grade, which earns you stars. Loading up on stars will give you new and special gear to put on your pint-size skier.
There are also a host of special missions along these courses which give you stars. These include pulling off specific tricks, racing, stopping in a circle, slalom, finding the lost kid in a crowd of snot-nosed skiers, etc.
In all there are 160 stars to collect, so completionists will have plenty to do. But what about the casual gamer? Well, you'll likely get bored with the game much sooner. Besides being a one-note kind of game (keep skiing down hills), it has a few technical flaws.
For instance, while the motion controls work alright while skiing, traversing level terrain is awkward and turning around seems more trial and error than anything. Also, the game will occasionally tell you that you didn't do any turns or pull off any tricks during a run, when you clearly remember doing such things.
Also, the rating system is dependent upon you doing well in all applicable categories. If you get an S+ in speed, time and balance, but get a D in turning, your overall score is a D. That kind of sucks.
It's a harmless little diversion with a simple learning curve, but has little else to offer. It's doubtful you'll care about getting all the stars and the rewards for doing so don't really help your performance. Rent this one first, see before you ski.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

The game was okay

posted by Amanda1212 (LUTHERVILLE TIMONIUM, MD) Jan 24, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

When i got this game i played it for maybe one hour then got bored of it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

We Ski

posted by Bagman4477 (LAURENS, SC) Dec 22, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is amazing in that it is as close as you can get to really skiing. I go skiing 2-3 times a year and this is close. If you want to learn the basics before you hit the slopes this game combined with the Wii Board will do it for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

fun for about 30 min

posted by mets4life (FREDERICKSBURG, VA) Dec 11, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

good game for relizing the potentiel in sking games for the wii. fun for a min or two then you wish for more mountains, more control and better speeds, but game was fun for alittle while. like i said its a start of hopefully real life ski games for the wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

We Yawn

posted by moviegeek5 (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Nov 11, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

This is an okay little game. The controls are easy enough, and it is novel on the Wii Fit board. Other than that, there's not really much to hold you to it. I had more fun making up my character than anything else, and that's not saying much. Overall, it's really just kind of...bland.

Better luck next time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

TRy it if you have Wii FIT.

posted by smcpartlin (KELLER, TX) Sep 23, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

IT was a novel game if used with the Wii FIT balance board. That's about it. I would not reccomend this game without the board.

My biggest complaint was that the slopes were two short. You can go from the top of the mountain to the bottom in less then 2 mins.... This game is really geared for little kids.

I don't ski... this game if it was done on a larger scale could have been a lot more fun.

If you have a Balance board you should at least put an hour in with this game. Rent... do not buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bor

posted by mikennikki (GREENSBORO, NC) Sep 20, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

ing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

We Ski

posted by Zachior (YORK, PA) Aug 15, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

The Wrap - Decent game, fun controls! Much to simplistic with WAY to many different moves to remember! And unresponsive to controls to often!

It's worth a try! :D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Virtual skiing can be fun!

posted by Malkier (APEX, NC) Jul 16, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

There are mixed reviews of this game on various websites, so I wasn't sure what to expect when I rented this game. Within 15mins of playing the game though, I was hooked!

First I went through a few training classes which helped me learn how to use the controls. It only took about 5mins to learn some basics. The controls felt quite natural and it really felt like I was skiing on a slope.

Next I went out onto the Happy Mountain Ski Slopes. I really wasn't sure what to do at this point, so I did what I usually do when I go skiing... go on a ski lift! After getting off the ski lift, I found people with bubbles on their heads. The first person wanted to race me, so I had to politely decline. Next I went to one with an information bubble over there head. Here is where they describe the trails. I soon discovered there are a lot of different trails - some trails have moguls, some have jumps, some have really steep slopes for speed, and others have slaloms. Other people talk to you as well - sometimes a bit too much :). As I mentioned some will want to race you, or some will give you challenges. I thought the orienteering challenge was rather unique. Basically you are given a clue to find the next person in the challenge.

It's been a couple weeks since I first got the game, so I've gone through the advanced training courses to learn moguls and some tricks. Theres a lot of tricks you can accomplish, so this can get really fun. Doing tricks involves using the wiimote and the controls together. It's all still pretty natural, such as spreading your arms wide to do a spread eagle.

All in all, my wife and I have a lot fun playing the game. We are both casual skiers who used to go several times a year to mountains in the Northeast, so it was nice to play a game like this. As I said, I was skeptical; but I liked it so much I bought the game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A good game to rent!

posted by tropical (MC ARTHUR, OH) Jul 14, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

If you are someone who likes to ski, you should really like this game. It gets you up and moving and it is like really skiing. I am not someone who skies, but I liked it well enough. Although there really is not much to the game, it is what it is SKIING!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

LOVED IT!!!

posted by Bdogdog (HAMPSTEAD, NH) Jun 10, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

i loved this game so much i boght it!!
Probly the funnest game for the wii!!!
with the wii ballance bord it is helping me be a better skier in real life!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Waiting for Extreme Wii Ski

posted by otterpuffs (JOHNSON CITY, NY) Jun 3, 2008

Member since May 2008

The game was fun at first when I was learning how to use the controls and exploring all the trails. Later I got disappointed at the short length of the faster trails and the terrain park. The hidden trail past the broken orange fence was cool but I was unable to find it again.

Talking with the different characters got annoying with the background sound. I guess this game pales in comparison with the acceleration I got playing Excite Truck. If you like this game, don't play Excite Truck.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THIS GAME IS AWESOME

posted by DEVILDEREK (Hadley, NY) May 20, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 14 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME IS SO AWESOME ITS SO LIFE LIKE AND ITS FUN AND YOU HAVE TO MOVE AND EVERYTHING

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It should be called "We Ski"

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) May 18, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

21 out of 23 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

Wii Ski takes the Mii people out of Wii Sports and puts them on a snowy mountain resort.
You play as either a Mii you made, or you can select a Mii from the game. Then, you select your gear. After that, you hit the slopes.
Learning the controls wasn't hard for me, and in about twenty minutes, I was shooting the slopes and performing tricks all about the mountain. The controls are very intuitive and make the game fun.
But after another twenty minutes of play, the biggest problem in Wii Ski shows up - the presentation is bland; the graphics are dull. Talking with people wasn't a thrill, and performing the tricks for points didn't hold my interest.
What did hold my interest was racing. One to four players race against each other (and/or AI) over several tracks. There's a choice between downhill, slalom, and mogul.
I can see Wii Ski as a fun party game where players challenge each other to contests, like they did in Wii Sports.
If you have friends and like to race them, then Wii Ski is for you. It's not for the soloists, through.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A fun wii game

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) May 16, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

We ski is very fun with races and free modes and many challenges to do. Even with the wiimote and nunchuck it is fun and you use it as you are using skis. If you get the balance board later when it comes out with wii fit then i think it'll be really fun. But you can get it from here for like $20 so i think its worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »