Rent We Ski & Snowboard for Wii
view large frontback

We Ski & Snowboard

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.6

640 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game! Snowboarding RULES!

posted by Drezaric (WAUKESHA, WI) Feb 15, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you're looking for a game that uses the Wii fit board, this is the one!
Game play is good, using the remote and nunchuk is a little awkward, the wire keeps getting in the way, though it gives me more incentive to try out one of those wireless setups for the game. It might just be my wiimote and nun, though sometimes the nun would be unresponsive during the play, unplugging and replugging it would make it work again.

There's so much to explore in this game, hidden rails and secret spots! You can enjoy the mountain trails or resort trails, there's even a great spot in the resort called Kangaroo that has tons of rails, jumps and even a halfpipe to enjoy, I've been spending a lot of time in that area, it's a fun area!

I do think they could have improved the controls on the wiimote, for some reason it seems a little slow to react to what you want it to do. some tricks are harder to pull off then others and learning the combo's of tricks can be a pain, spend lots of time in the school until you get them pounded into your head and you'll do great on the slopes!

You get 'points' for every heli ride, gondola ride, lift ride, times you fall, times you hit someone, it tracks your speed, you can keep track of almost everything within the game. There's a competition area where you can try your luck at beating other boarders, the first few are pretty easy, after that they get harder! You'll need lots of practice to beat some of them.

Fun part of the mountain is you can cause avalanches and try to out run them! Hopefully you don't fall while trying to keep ahead of it! hehehehe

I haven't tried the Skiing part yet, as I like snowboard so much more, so I can't really say much on that, though I'm sure it's just as much fun for someone who likes to ski.

All in all, a great game, just what I've wanted for my Wii fit board! This one goes on the list of must buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good Sequel

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Mar 9, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

I remember last year when We Ski came out and it was pretty cool. It had a few maps that you could ride on and a few other small things that were kind of cool. It didnt have snowboarding though. From the title you can notice that this one has both which is really nice. Some other things this has is a School mode which basically tells you the controls and everything. It has some new things you can do as side missions which is nice since the last game had pretty boring side missions. The graphics are pretty basic Wii graphics. The controls are good and identical to the last game besides the snowboard addition. You can now listen to some songs while snowboarding down the mountain which is really nice since you cant play music while in everything like the Xbox. But the music is, well, not the typical music you would listen to, but i guess its better than nothing. This still doesnt have online for some reason which doesnt make sense, but you can still play with somebody else on the same TV. So overall this game is really good sequel to the last one and is a good buy. If you already have the last one, unless you have some extra spending money, i suggest you dont get this one and just rent it. Try it out today.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

a blast to play!

posted by hobieone (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Apr 26, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this game was a lot of fun to play! especially down the mountain with no trails and you had cut your own trail make for an exciting run.

the game has average graphics but what really makes it stand out is the support for the balance board the controls being easy to get a hang of. this is one game that needs to be played with the balance board which lets you get immersed in game play. Also the incorporation of the mi's and all the fun mini games make this tittle very fun and gives it re playability.

it definitely a game to have in your library if you have the balance board or like games with some freestyle fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

We Ski and Snowboard

posted by jocko99 (CAMAS, WA) Mar 4, 2009

Member since Oct 2006

5 out of 12 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

This game really lacks graphics and textures, but the stunning gameplay and awesome new courses help the game really show it's true colors. The game itself is overall a decent game, but for more mature audiences (ages 10-13). The last game in the series "We Ski" is for the more youth audiences (8-9). We ski and Snowboard is a very good game, but needs a little more t it. It needs something more than the last game, (this game is almost the exact same as the last game, We Ski). If you want to really get the most of this game, than don't play the last game in the series. It will be boring if you do so. Overall, I have decided to give We Ski and Snowboard a 7 which is, you know, a pretty good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good for kids

posted by ctripp (TROUTMAN, NC) Oct 10, 2009

Member since Apr 2007

Ok, as an adult i really didn't get much out of this game, but my kids loved it! It entertained them for hours at a time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great

posted by Pviper (JARRETTSVILLE, MD) Aug 25, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

All i need is a big fan an to crank my ac down and its all good i feel as im there (I have a wii balance board!!!!!!!!!!!!!!)It is Great!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Don't rent it

posted by masmas (PACIFIC PALISADES, CA) Aug 21, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

It's okay, but they need more moutians. They need to have it so there are better graphics too. What does the Skull mean any ways?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THIS GAME IS THE BOMB

posted by aswomedue (JACKSONVILLE, AR) Jul 24, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

THIS GAME IS THE ASWOMEST

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Good pick up and play game

posted by Endgamer77 (DEER RIVER, MN) Jul 17, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

I rented this on accident but decided to give it a try. i didnt think it would be good without the balence board. it turned out to be quite fun. it is just like skiing except you dont feel the air rushing past.

it doesnt have many flaws. It is a fun game for all ages and something one could play for a few hours. a definite rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THIS GAME IS THE BOMB

posted by katie1097 (LINCOLN, RI) May 29, 2009

Member since Jun 2004

i have to say of all the games i have and that ive rented this one is another one of my favorite.....in this game you get to make your own character and can pick either ski's or snowboard and lets say that after a while u want to switch to a different one u can..... tthis game is the BBBBBBBBBBBBBBOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBB

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

We Ski Rocks!

posted by Maxattaxs (RIDGEWOOD, NJ) May 23, 2009

Member since May 2009

This game is for the relaxed gamers, not very intense, although that is how I am. It is a free form game that allows you to go wherever you want, whenever you want. You can characterize your picture, and tons of unlockables, goals, and other fun stuff. A perfect game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

fun

posted by integrity1 (ANGOLA, IN) Apr 7, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

I love the integration of the wii characters. The person playing can find other mii characters you have and you can ask them to join you. They will follow you as you ski or snow board. There are places you can get your pictures taken on the slopes. My son played for the first 2 hours and still has not gotten to half the slope choices. He has found this game to be very fun and is looking forward to getting on again tomorrow. I love the scenery and the playability with the other mii's. I would buy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun with friends

posted by Rampage3 (CREST HILL, IL) Mar 31, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

This game is fun but gets boring because although you can choose different points to start on the mountain the tricks are hard to figure out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun for the family

posted by xcarlson (FRISCO, TX) Mar 25, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

Myself and my 6 year old enjoyed playing this game. Lots of new enhancements from the previous wii ski.

Good rental for a couple of days.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

"Snowboard" doesn't add enough

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Mar 24, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

When We Ski came out, one of the biggest complaints was that the game makers could've added snowboarding and made a much better game.
Well, they did just that with We Ski and Snowboard, and I'm not sure where that improvement is.
True, skiing and snowboarding down the mountain is a lot of fun, and there's the same speed, mogul and gate racing as in the original, but there's nothing here that I haven't seen in We Ski.
In Enjoy the Resort mode, you ski or snowboard around a mountain. You also meet up with several people at the bottom of the mountain.
Some of them have tasks for you to perform. From delivering food to picking things up to stopping within a circle. Each task has ten stages in it.
Problem is, once I finished Stage One of particular task, I had no inclination to move on to Stage Two - no matter what the task was.
Even after finishing all ten stages of a task, I felt the reward was flat an uninspired.
You can also compete against the AI in Competition Mode, but this is exactly the same as We Ski.
A saving grace is that you can do all these modes using multiplayer. It's always more fun to have other players (up to four) to tag along on the ski trip.
But the presentation of We Ski leaves a lot to be desired. RENT IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fixes many issues with We Ski

posted by oldcrab (NEWTON CENTER, MA) Mar 22, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

This is a much needed update to the original We Ski. First, the balance board can be used in multi-player modes with one user getting to use the balance board. Second, the allow jumping all the time, not just off ramps. Third, they've added more terrain park features like half pipes, ramps, rails, and you can jump off and over lots of other terrain. There are many more aerial tricks available as well. They have also added snowboarding and there are two mountains. Skip the original and try this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »