Rent We Love Golf! for Wii
view large frontback

We Love Golf!

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
3.9

576 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

"We Love Golf"? I just like it a lot

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Jul 22, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Love Golf? Maybe not. But there are several things that I like a lot out of We Love Golf.
First off, the controls are easy to use. Are they intuitive? No. But it was easy for me to find out how they work, and once I did, I was hitting the ball like a pro.
The courses have good variety in them, and there are plenty to unlock in Tournament Mode.
But that's not the only mode available. You can practice, go one on one against the AI to unlock more players, take on the ring challenge, the target challenge or the near pin contest.
If you're tired of playing against the AI, you can go off line multiplayer or on line multiplayer.
So is everything perfect in We Love Golf? Of course not.
During matches, while I'm trying to line up my shots, the Wiimote repeatedly says "Point me down." This gets on my nerves; I wanted the voice in the Wiimote to just shut up.
Also, there's a icon of the Wiimote on screen with a dialogue bubble that blocks out important information (how far am I from the pin). The icon doesn't help me at all, it's just a distraction and should be taken off the screen.
And lastly, the game can get monotonous; unlocking new characters or new outfits doesn't thrill me much - unlike unlocking a new course.
Despite these flaws, We Love Golf is a solid golf simulator with a learning curve for the controls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Do we love golf that much?

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Sep 16, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

We Love Golf! is very optimistic about golf. But the question is: does it do anything different from the WiiSports golf we're accustomed too? Well, yes... for better or worse.
Let's start with the better. This game gives you lots of content. In tournament, you get eight courses, which also have a pro tournament mode upon completing all courses. You also get a bunch of mini-games, like getting the ball through rings, hitting it close to a target or the pin, etc. You can also unlock new players by doing well in the game.
Now the worse. While WiiSports have you fluid and realistic motion controls to swing a golf club, We Love Golf! relies on accurate timing and correct power. It's sort of set up for you, so you can get a good shot if you follow the game's instruction. I'd much rather just swing naturally and let the ball fall where it will. The game even maps out the course of the ball, which wouldn't be too bad if it were half-way accurate. Sometimes a perfect swing based on their calculation will cause you to overshoot the hole by 50 feet or more. Sometimes you won't even get it off the fairway. You can adjust your angles and clubs, but the mapped trajectory is still often wrong.
Even so, tournament is generally easy, with only the pro tournaments being a real challenge. And in general, the amount of play you get from the game is highly dependent on how much golf you want to play on your Wii. It's worth trying and has some nice features, but the casual gamer could easily get by with WiiSports golf.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent Wii Golf game

posted by shinboy (SANTA CLARA, CA) Sep 8, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a good game for the Wii. Great game for novices to the game of golf, but if you are a hard core video game golfer, you might want to try another game. The controls are a hybrid between wii sports - golf and the conventional 3 button gameplay that has been used in golf games since golf games first hit the video market. The controls are not 1:1 and can take a little time to get used to them. But once mastered, you can be just as good as Tiger Woods himself because the game is very easy. I was under par and had a hole in one on my first round. The graphics are very anime (i.e hot shots or Albatross). Another thing I noticed is that the load times are very quick and the animations were very smooth. Overall, still a good game, I just wished the controls were more realistic (1:1).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Wii golf games are getting closer, but not fast

posted by RichScarry (MISSOULA, MT) Aug 30, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Camelot games are known for their quality and style when making games for Nintendo's consoles. This one may be the only exception. While the root of the game is better than almost all other Wii golf games (Perhaps Tiger 09 is best, but haven't played it yet) but it still falls short.

The game is easy to navigate through, and has a fair amount of game modes including online. The online is a big draw to this game as it's done very well, and finding players is, for the most part, quick. The other modes are variations of mini games we've all seen before (Closest to the pin, target driving, etc.) but nothing stands out. In fact, some are annoying enough to want to just turn it off. Tournament play and online play are enough to satisfy most, at least for a little while.

The control set up is done well, but at best just a replacement for button pressing by swing the WiiMote. Just like Hot Shots Golf, you time your power, then your accuracy by pulling the Wiimote up, then swinging it at the right time. The speed or length of which you do it is irrelevant.

With a fair amount of unlockables, and the easy pick up and play game style makes this game attractive for some. The game is certainly easy to master, but only minor challenges outside online play will keep you going. Graphically speaking, it's nice and smooth, but nothing that will draw your attention to.

I enjoyed the four or five hours I put into the game, although I couldn't justify must more than that. Good game for parties, but I'm waiting for a game closer to a true golf simulator, and takes advantage of the Wii more properly. It's worth a try, but if you're Q is full, keep this at the bottom.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

FOUR!!!

posted by Pasero (AUSTIN, TX) Aug 9, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is so far one of the better golf games i have played on the Wii.

The controls are very easy to use the key is to go slow.
To hit the ball you have to swing back at a steady pace hold at where you want your power to be and when the meter catches up swing.
If you put spin on the ball pointing the remote at the screen it will give you an idea of how it will fall and roll. There is a line after impact just line it up with the hole and most of the time it's dead on.

There is a little wiimote guy you'll get sick of after a minute just point at the screen and in the upper left corner is a menu option where you can turn it off.

If you unlock all the golfers you can play with your mii's in single player. You can unlock them in multiplayer as well. I played one round with friends and by the end it was unlocked.

On the whole there isn't much to this game you can get more golfers, courses, and clothing. There are your usual golf sub-games. But that's what makes this game better than most. They focused more on the game aspects and not flair.
I can see children getting bored with it quickly. It's more of a (20's-30's) social hanging out with friends game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Awful

posted by Coaster (EAU CLAIRE, WI) Jul 19, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I did not like this game at all. I found the control system unintuitive, inaccurate, tiring, grueling and nearly impossible to perfect.

Gosh darn it! Where's my full blown Wii Sports Golf game!? This isn't it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I Hate Golf! (at least from this game)

posted by hocky98 (MILPITAS, CA) Jul 20, 2008

Member since May 2007

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

Lame.

Did someone forget to turn off the tutorial in tournament mode? Why does the game still try to tell you how to control every move in tournament mode?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

We Hate Golf

posted by psychorho (SHERMAN, TX) Jul 8, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

This is a game that will waste your time with bad controls bad charactors and bad cameras. don't get this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

That's right!!! We love Golf

posted by mscyndia (ATLANTA, GA) Dec 20, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

My boyfriend loved playing through rounds during hours of play. I just wished we could have used our custom Miis. But overall, this game is great!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not worth more than 15 minutes of play

posted by maplebob (MADISON, WI) Jun 23, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

I love the golf game in Wii Sports and after renting Tiger Woods 09 and finding it somewhat fun except for the putting but still too serious, I decided to give this a try hoping it would be fun like Wii Sports Golf.

Unfortunately, this game is unplayable. After you pick your player there is this Wiimote constantly telling you to point your Wiimote down and then constantly telling you how to swing.

While the Wiimote is talking there is a balloon telling you what it is saying obstructing the view of the course. I played one course and then stopped and tried to find the config to turn off the nagging Wiimote but couldn't find one so I took the game out and put it back in the envelope and mailed it back and then went and had a game of Wii Sports Golf which is the best golf game I have found so far for the Wii, I just wish it had more courses.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Something to be desired....

posted by Sariebear2 (MACKINAW CITY, MI) May 3, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

The game was okay but the little guy at the top right of the screen got really annoying. I know it was trying to be helpful but still.
The game itself was hard and didn't really show you how to use the other controls (as far as I could see). Also the characters sayings at the end of the hole was kinda annoying as well. More so when they repeated the same thing over and over again.

I gave this game a 3/5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

dont buy this game

posted by kayakbabe (RALEIGH, NC) Apr 27, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

this game is very hard to play. also it it not any better than the golf that comes witht the wii system. I am so glad that I returned my new copy and decided to join gamefly and rent it from gamefly. Do not buy this game it is a waste of time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

So Bad

posted by NoeyTheToa (MANCHESTER, CT) Apr 10, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

I just got this game and its almost unplayable. I'm glad I rented instead of bought. I'll make sure to send it back ASAP. BAD BAD BAD!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Game is god awful

posted by zer081101 (NEW BRITAIN, CT) Apr 4, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

The controls are very very terrible. Too much going on the screen at times makes it very hard to see the flag. Cannot turn off the tutorial in tournament mode....(not that you could really stomach playing this past the 3rd hole). Dont waste time on this game I am sending it back the same day i got it, its just that bad

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Game totally sucks !

posted by NJmario (CARTERET, NJ) Apr 2, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

Rented this game cause my son loves golf, turned out to be a horrible mistake. The game totally sucks !

The sounds and music are loud and irritating, the controls are a really bad, we could not play this game for more than 5 mins. The golf game that comes with Wii sports is much better than this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Games toughness

posted by brandyWII (PHOENIX, AZ) Jan 11, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

This game was a very hard game for me to learn,and/or how to understand it....... I like the idea, but its too hard....You need more of an instruction... Too much stuff on the screen gets confussing...
Thanks for letting me try it!!
Brandy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Anime on Acid!

posted by wsmcbrc (BELLA VISTA, AR) Jan 5, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

This game is so lound and busy and annoying, I don't see how anyone could enjoy it! Not to mention the fact that the interface is horrible. You have to time your swing based on some weird graphic along the bottom. The screen is full of weird symbols and animations. It's like trying to play golf while watching an episode of Pokemon or something. Don't waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

We Love Golf

posted by Gelli74 (SEATTLE, WA) Dec 24, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

I didn't like the graphics, because I couldn't see where the flag was.I knew the direction that I was hitting the ball, but a little right or left I had no clue. That's because I couldn't see where the fraking flag was. The controls were hard to manage so either my shot was to short or hard the characters were supremely annoying, especially the females. When the women would make a mistake, she will say got to try harder, however when the men screw up they are like how could this happen to me. What's up with that?Glad it was a rental

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

It's ok

posted by thebreeze (EASTSOUND, WA) Dec 7, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

I purchased this game on a whim because I was bored with the wii sports golf. It was pretty entertain as far as graphics and courses however the controls were not overly responsive thus making for a bad shot and the little helper guy well I couldn't figure out how to shut him off. This purchase then prompted my husband to get game fly for me so that we can test a game before we purchase to make sure we're happy. So thanks game fly for being here for us.Wii love golf is fun but not worth personally owning.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

no control

posted by Hexagon (AUSTIN, TX) Nov 9, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

This game is horrible - no control at all - ends up just being frustrating and not fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst. Game. Ever.

posted by r0manz (BOTHELL, WA) Oct 13, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

I loved Wii Sports, and I still do. It has that undeniable charm while at the same time being quite simple yet fun.
We Love Golf! is probably the worst game I have ever played. Starting a game of golf covers the screen with random stuff that you will never ever want to use. Including annoying kid voices that say "Point down" every 5 seconds.
Worst game ever, don't waste your time on it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

We love Golf

posted by nando2471 (NORTH BERGEN, NJ) Oct 10, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

I was very excited to have received the title two days ago. I popped the CD in the system and tried the game for only several minutes. I was very disappointed with the frustrating swing mechanics. Why make a wii golf game and not take advantage of what the system has to offer. I removed the game and popped in Wii sports. Wii golf is a way better game despite its limitations.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Its just ok

posted by SurfFreak (LAGUNA BEACH, CA) Sep 29, 2008

Member since Jun 2004

This game was pretty fun and provided a little variety from the Wii Sports golf which by the way is alot better but playing the same course over and over gets old. Anyway the controls are not good at all, it is difficult to hit the ball consistantly in fact hitting the ball in this game is harder than in real life because there is no control. I liked the graphics when driving the ball. Putting is difficult because its not easy to tell how much slope there is. Its worth a rental but not a keeper.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

The name should be We Don't Like Golf That Much...

posted by moviegeek5 (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Sep 23, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

If you want an enjoyable Wii golf game, stick with the disk that originally came with your system. It takes quite a while to get a hang of the controller, but then, when you do, this game doesn't offer very much. It would be nice to actually do a golf swing, but that's not the case here: doing any kind of follow-through seems to mess things up. The characters are cute, but they get old after a while. Any golf score that isn't perfect, they throw perfectionists' tantrums and only have two or three responses to any given thing.

I'd say, don't bother with this one. It might be okay, but you're not going to miss it at all once you send it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not so great

posted by Energyvet (ATLANTIC HIGHLANDS, NJ) Sep 15, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

The only thing really good about this game is that you can use your wii characters. otherwise controls were difficult to use and too much anime. Not fun. The best golf game is Wii Golf that came with the system. Tiger Woods would be second. This game is just not very good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse