Rent Way of the Samurai 3 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Way of the Samurai 3

Not Rentable
Also on:PS3
GF Rating
4.8

1898 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

An accurate review

posted by DailyOD (URBANDALE, IA) Oct 25, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

106 out of 113 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

Intro:

First off, Way of The Samurai 3 is not as bad as some people are making it out to be. The people who don't like this game either haven't played the others in the series, or don't have an appreciation for Japanese games.

Gameplay:

If you have played one of the earlier games, it's for the most part, the same. For those new to the series, let me explain. You play as a lone samurai trying to find a purpose to fight for. In the game there are different factions to chose from which all have a different view on how things should be handled. Once you decide who to align yourself with, you complete various jobs for that faction to earn trust and move up in rank. Some missions are very repetitive, but they usually don't take to long to complete.

Each mission you complete, and the method in which you complete it, all effect the how NPCs treat you and how the game will end, so be careful what you do.

My Rating- 6/10
Comments- I love the concept and always have, but I wish they would change things up a bit.

Combat:

The combat system is pretty straight forward, X for quick attacks, and Y for strong attacks. It may seem a bit bland, but each weapon has a different style which allows you to learn unique skills that will come in handy in some of those tough fights.

My Rating- 4/10
Comments- As I said before, the combat is very bland. I wish there was more depth to it besides the skill system.

Graphics:

Overall I would give the graphics a five. I am playing in 1080p and to me it looks close to the PS2 versions when I play them upscaled. However, they are not unbearable. The environments, I thought, were pretty nice, the colors were vary vibrant and the textures were nice. As far as the characters, their movements are very fluid, but they could have used some work in the cosmetics department.

My Rating- 5/10
Comments- Graphics aren't a deciding factor for me, but if you're not up for an upscaled PS2 look, then this game is not for you.

This game is worth: RENTING

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Hello Mr. Samurai

posted by Shakeness (SAVANNAH, TN) Apr 5, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

11 out of 11 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a game that doesn't reach out to a lot of people. You will either either love it or hate it. I'm a fan of the WoTS series, but I'm aware that it is for a particular bunch. The graphics are poor for a 360 title. Character models are below average and the environment is bland. For an open world game, the world you play in is very small. There are only a handful of places you will travel to and you will travel to these same locations often. The jobs that are offered may be my least liked feature of the game. You will be stuck doing the same kinds of jobs over and over again and it becomes very repetitive and boring after awhile. I completely avoided doing any jobs in my last few playthroughs.

But beyond the graphical and environmental limitations, there is a pretty deep game. How many games will you find with over 20 different endings? The difference between this and other open ended games is that in WoTS3, you create your own story. It's like one of those choose your own adventure books you read as a kid. Pretty much every decision you make can impact the ending. Some endings will have you living happily ever after and in others you will be cut down like a dog. And you wont know which till you get there.

The combat in this game is good after you get used to it. You have light and hard attacks and many different combinations depending on the sword and stance. You can kill any character you encounter and pick up their sword, but you may rather build your own sword from the ground up using a countless combination of blades, grips, pommels, and stances. My favorite feature in this game was being able to reuse my character with all weapons, money, and items from a previous game to start a new game.

This is a game that takes a little bit of patience to get into. If you like open ended games where your decisions can lead to many different endings, this game may be for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game

posted by Zilego (CONCORD, NC) Nov 9, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

24 out of 26 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed this game, and to keep it short, the game's greatest pro is its great detail. From sword styles like ninja stance to the games detailed story where the story changes completely depending on your choices. The customizable character models and accessories is a wonderful bonus. This game is by far the greatest in making the world change by your choices.
The only downside for me was the fact, while combat was very fun, I found enemies less than plentiful. You end up most of the time watching cut-scenes and making choices. There are certain moments where you fight never-ending waves of enemies, but they are usually only at a few key moments.
This game is probably not for someone who only has an hour or two to play, but for a hardcore gamer, I definitely recommend a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Graphics don't make the game.

posted by PowerDyne (MUNCIE, IN) Mar 27, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I see a lot of people dogging the graphics of this title. This is a shame really, because there is a gem of a game hidden behind the graphical shortcomings. One must remember that this game was originally slated to be released on the PS2, but delays in production pushed it on to the next generation of systems.

The amount of replay value is extremely high because this game has over 20 endings, hundreds of weapons (you can build your own, and customize them with parts you find), and lots of humor interleaved into the story. This game has a PLUS version available in Japan that actually has a lot of content that was cut from the North American release.

Sure, the graphics aren't up to snuff to today's standards, and the voice acting for the English dub is suspect at best, but the game really is FUN to play. However, some of the humor in the game may not be understood by western culture, because this game was intended for Japanese players.

A lot of the bad reviews for this come from people who just did not take the time to get into the game. The bottom line is that this game is definitely not for everyone, but I urge everyone to at least give it it's fair time in the system to learn its intricacies before slamming it with a "1".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I hope this helps

posted by Sniperboy (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) Nov 5, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

8 out of 15 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

After you start the game (prefereably on easy) choose one of the first two responces. Then after you wake up and chat with the old guy you will see a woman harrassed by two guys beat them up, push select to switch between dull and regullar). She will give you all the story info and some basic controlls.
After that you need to go to the Gate place. On your map it should be the far left city region. Use quick travel by pressing A on the map and moving the yellow flag. When you get there go right then you will see a large wooden building. Each floor contains a master. He will give you combat info. In order to go to the next floor you must beat the master there. There are a totall of 3 masters but only 2 will give you info.

When you look at your map and see the black cloud looking things they are cinemas that you can avtivate by talking to the people there and choosing the right responce/ some are activated by just being in the area.

Sorry for the breifness i typed a much btter version but my connection fizzled and it was earased. I cant type that much again...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Dont listen

posted by poptartbl (SHELBY TOWNSHIP, MI) Nov 22, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

8 out of 16 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

dont listen to the people who gave it a 1 this game is pretty good so rent it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

NO WAY of the Samurai 3

posted by kmess17 (SAUGUS, MA) Oct 28, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

7 out of 22 gamers (32%) found this review helpful

This game was HORRIBLE, not at all what i expected. After the beginning i was lost, no sense of direction of what to do next. After prancing around aimlessly i gave up and put this worthless drink coaster back in it's envelope and sent it back to beloved gamefly, if i owned the game it would definitely make a detour to the bottom of my trash can.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

it's ok i guess

posted by icyurges87 (COLUMBUS, NE) Oct 27, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

when i got this game in the mail i was excited 2 play it because i used to play way of the samurai 2 on Ps2 and I loved it even though it was short. Well I started playing it and I got bored. haha The story is strung together so weakly when you play it you loose interest in it almost easily. The combat scheme is a little fun but it gets very repetitive. Now I'm not one of those people that talk alot of smack about a game I don't like. But I will say when I sent this one back it felt like I wasted a rent honestly. If your into these kinda games though I say go for it. Another man's or woman's trash is someone elses treasure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Do you to have the power of clairvoyance?

posted by Xsalot (OSSEO, MN) Oct 27, 2009

Member since Dec 2004

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I am still wondering if I am just missing something here, I really enjoyed the first game and was thinking this one would be a good too. When you start the game there's no real emphasis on anything it's just... mess around until you stumble onto something to do, and then choose to brandish your sword at inappropriate times if you feel like it. Chop people into tiny bits of the mood should strike or just listen to them yammer on about nothing in particular.

What a snore-fest!

I did end up joining with the ousted Clan and from there I was able to use the map to discern where the heck I was supposed to go... but once the conversation was had they just kept repeating themselves. Yup, I'm a member of this clan now, cool, so what should I do? The game expects you to know, it doesn't tell you, there no prompting you, it's just nose around until finally you discover the dude who doles out the quests.

This game is clunky and cumbersome and it doesn't have even close to the same sort of dramatic content as the first game. Even when I did find some sort of purpose it's just not as fun as it was on PS2, which is really too bad because it had huge potential. I think it's one of those games that you might like after putting a bunch of time into it and understanding the over-all mission of the game. Knowing where to go, and how to approach it is key and I think the developer expects you to have the power of clairvoyance or the patience of a elder monk meditating on a mountain peak.

it's like a 6/10, if that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Shiiiiiiiiiz Weeeeeak!

posted by Tyrant80 (RIVERVIEW, FL) Oct 25, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

8 out of 35 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

Really guys? They kept the same release date as BORDERLANDS? Got both games on the same day right....yea....one is sick....the other is FAIL. PS2 graphics are just the begining. After running around a cheap starting village for 20 min looking for any signs of SOMETHING to peak my interest I came across my first quest....to go and find this nasty old ladys underwhere that she just happened to drop on the way to another village. Thats about the time my buddy got home and saw the lazy pile of frog poo i was playing. We quickly removed the spinning disk of potential hours wasted and put in BORDERLANDS for some co-op destruction....seriously though....if your thinking about renting this heaping pile of fail for your self because of the Samurai....dont....you may be haunted by spirits of angry Ronin looking for any dolt who rents this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Way of Samurai 3 Review

posted by Dbox1477 (ANAHEIM, CA) Oct 23, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

6 out of 32 gamers (19%) found this review helpful

The graphic of this game is really just alright. The English Voice is completely fail. The combat system is not enjoyable at all, The character is so hard to move when is locked in with enemy with or without RB+B, besides using the instand kill,chain kills or tap RT to runaway.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Meh. Liked the older ones better

posted by lark2003 (SILVER SPRING, MD) Oct 23, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

5 out of 27 gamers (19%) found this review helpful

This game lacks a lot of elements. In this, just like previous versions, you control where you go and what your "destiny" is to be. I found all of this pretty lame so I pretty much just ran around killing people for the fun of it. Unless you have a big screen tv, this is pretty lame since the text is so small it's almost unreadable. Don't think there's really much to this game unless you have ample time, a big tv and calloused thumbs. If you do then this game might be ok for awhile but eventually you'll get bored of it. I had this game for all of twenty minutes before putting it back in the case and sending it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Renter BEWARE!

posted by Thr33strip (MARSHFIELD, MA) Nov 3, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

3 out of 16 gamers (19%) found this review helpful

Honestly this game is horrible as fast as I got it I'm sending it back.The game starts off with a cool cgi cutscene,but then your thinking when did my 360 turn into a PS2,Graphics horrible,Gameplay Horrible.Samurai is pretty much a good game If it was for PS2 and you never played a game that was good.I'm pretty disappointed overall.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Boring, Lame, Same as the Prequels

posted by cerealkell (EMPORIUM, PA) Nov 14, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 13 gamers (15%) found this review helpful

First off, the graphics are absolutely horrible. It looks like it's meant for the PSP or something. There's no anti aliasing at all. This game is exactly like the first 2 Way of the Samurai games with hardly any improvements. I couldn't get into it. You might like it if you like to run around blabbing to random people standing on the street corner with no map to tell you where to go. Nothing special about the combat system either. Come to think of it, I can't remember what it was I saw in the first Way of the Samurai.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Just bad

posted by DoneDirty (SANTA MONICA, CA) Oct 22, 2009

Member since Nov 2005

4 out of 28 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

If you dont have an HD T.V dont bother.... Cant even read the text on the screen... come on now, I really wanted to like this game, but no go. Dont people play the game before they put it out.... Just trash!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

trash!!!!!

posted by bakomcbuff (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Oct 23, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

5 out of 37 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

This is one of the worst games i have ever played.......
the voice acting is terrible, the graphics suck, the combat is boring and frustrating, the story is trash, there is not one good thing to say about this game.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Lack luster

posted by schiz0h (LANCASTER, CA) Oct 23, 2009

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

The game can be fun if you ever find out how to play the game. you spend most of the time running around talking to people trying to find missions which will prove to be a pain even thoe their is lots to do their is little information on how to get places and where to find people i played the game for three hours now im sending it back not satisfied it would be much better with a game guide

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

way of the sammuri3 review...

posted by xbox36fan (PUEBLO, CO) Oct 24, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

2 out of 19 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

I was so excited to play thiis game. I got it in the mail, took it out of the case and popped it in. It was clear to me by the look of the title screen, that this was not what I expected. I really wanted to get into this game but with a lack of action, cutscenes, and good graphics its hard for any Halo fan to enjoy. The game starts your character that you made (awefull selection of customization) out on a battlefeild after a war. It leaves u to decide what to do, with no direction. The most action i've gotten after 30 minutes of play from this game was a fight with 1 enemy (which ended quicker than unsheathing my sword, and a rediculous mini game where I had to fillet a fish with no instructions which I failed misserably. All in all, do not rent or even buy this game, which has all the essential rpg elements of a turn-of-the century computer game , with graphics rivaling windows 95, and NO open ended gamplay and a map that is just shamefull with only 6 areas to explore. If you enjoy running around in circles

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst game 2009!

posted by P3RF3CTiON (SPRING LAKE, NC) Oct 31, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 12 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

I think the concept of this game is the only appealing part of it, the game sounds appealing at first until u put it in. The fighting controls are off, the game doesn't even have advanced dialog, and the graphics are questionable at times. The work put into this game is bare minimum.. If you are a fan of samurai, ninja games this isn't for you. I've seen better games on Sega Genesis..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What was this suppose to be???

posted by D1rtyyyy (METAIRIE, LA) Nov 13, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 14 gamers (7%) found this review helpful

I can't believe that they got to a third installment in this series! This game was pathetic! I can't believe they are selling this!
Whatever.

-d1rtyyyy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

lame...!

posted by staten2589 (PIQUA, OH) Nov 8, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 14 gamers (7%) found this review helpful

game has nothing good to give poor everything worst game ive ever played in my life

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

are you kidding me?!?!

posted by JacObSayz (SENECA, SC) Nov 2, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 14 gamers (7%) found this review helpful

Ok first off let me start by saying this game is the most horrible game i have ever played. The graphics look like a ps2 game. It shoves you in the game with no help on how to do anything. It gives you a sub-par map that doesent even show you what to do or where to go. Hardly no character detail..I could go on and on. DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME RENTING THIS GAME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Way of the Samurai 3 lacks a lot.

posted by Facetious (LAHAINA, HI) Oct 24, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 15 gamers (7%) found this review helpful

If this game cam out 6 years ago it would have been mediocre even then.

Gameplay: Bad
Graphics: Ok
Dialogue: Terrible
Overall: Don't waste your valuable Game Q slot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Way of the samurai

posted by rhb325 (DECATUR, GA) Oct 25, 2011

Member since Dec 2008

First off when I loaded the game it ask for a save game and then purchase microsoft points and could not play it. So a rental version does not even let you play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Disapointed

posted by xXSupermanXxLC (ELK GROVE, CA) Aug 1, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

I have waited and wanted to play this game for over a year and now that ive finnaly got my hands on it, i am very disapointed. I love how they did the fighting system, allam the styles and moves and the fact that you learn skills by fighting, and not buying them with skill points gave something new and interesting to look further into but,.... the world is small the game is short, and even though you get to make decisions in the game, you only get that opportunity a few times. it could have been so much better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse