Rent Way of the Samurai 3 for PS3
view large frontback

Way of the Samurai 3

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
4.8

1395 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Did I enjoy it? Yes. Yes I did.

posted by holyorda (HOUSTON, TX) Nov 20, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

35 out of 38 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

Way of the Samurai 3 is a Action RPG Adventure game that sets the players in Amana during Feudal Japan. You play as a Ronin Samurai as you try to make it in Amana.

Graphics: 8
The graphics are not the best they could possibly be but when I play a game, graphics are a distant third maybe fourth in the rank of importance. They are still very good and show exactly what they need to show.

Sound: 7
The sound is also pretty good but not the best. But as with the graphics, they portray what needs to be portrayed. Sword clashes and slashes etc.

Music: 7
Good enough. I found myself playing the songs in my head over and over but sometimes, it could get annoying. The soundtrack is unique though, especially the dramatic battles.

Controls: 9
I found it quite easy to control my character during battle and moving around. However, sometimes I wondered about the parrying aspect and how they made it analog. There's a slight lag that doesn't allow you to parry certain moves quickly. If you play the game, you'll understand but overall, the controls are tight.

Gameplay: 10
With so many different story arcs and endings to pursue, this game had me playing for hours on end. I just couldn't put it down. There were so many things to unlock after beating the game. Weapons to upgrade and so many different styles to master, this game had me wanting to master all the styles, upgrade the best weapons and just see all the endings. It was also hilarious in what you could dress your samurai in. He could either look like a certified samurai or a complete dork. Either way, he's your samurai and he owns.

Story: 6
Not a really original or compelling story but the fact remains that there's just so many story arcs that you want to see all of them. That's what makes it good, quantity not quality. The stories are interesting enough.

Overall: 8.3
This game is extremely enjoyable and addicting. At first it's tough and might seem like you can't win but later on you become AWESOME!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent

posted by Jokerly (KITTY HAWK, NC) Feb 7, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

A good game to kill a few days. Sometimes difficult and frustrating and other times very interesting and fun. Its a great game for the first few play throughs but will quickly become frustrating to do new things. No guide can be 100 % accurate, for every action in the game has a reaction. Which I believe makes it real and exciting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Way of the Samurai 3 'Ok For Rental'

posted by CixReviews (SOUTH GATE, CA) Dec 4, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

15 out of 20 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is... is.. well.. its fun.

..Sort of.

The Bad:
This game feels distinctly last gen. Bad graphics, lack of voice in most of the game, bad dialogue, bad translation of bad dialogue, bland constantly reused character models. The list goes on and on. They didn't even update the in game engine. This game is bad

The Good:
The fighting engine is pretty simple and easy to master. A simple counter and parry system will have you going against the masters in no time. Sword collecting can be addictive as well. The dialogue while horrible and full of bad translations and spelling/grammar errors, has a charm all its own and leaves you with a mystery of sorts about the samurai themselves (if you like this sort of game) that forces you to figure it all out.

Sum:
This is by no means a good game.. it's terrible. But, don't get me wrong, there is a distinct charm that will compel you to keep playing if you like this sort of game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Underdeveloped story branching

posted by DarkoHCP (CHICAGO, IL) Nov 3, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

17 out of 24 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

The whole point of this game is to experiment with different interactive cutscenes to uncover various endings. Unfortunately, more than 10 of the endings stem from the same dozen cutscenes. And, several mandatory cutscenes don't have any purpose within the current story arc. This makes discovering endings near impossible.

I'm actually a fan of the first 2 WOTS. This one provides a similar combat engine (which they simplified too far in my opinion), and added a twitch instant kill mode. However, I already unlocked all the extras before I had a chance to explore the combat and story fully. Now I find little reason to continue. But sadly, I'd be lying if I said I wasn't looking forward to a 4th. . .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It was good

posted by Gameman150 (LITTLETON, CO) Jan 13, 2010

Member since Jan 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The game was overall a alright game, i mean at first, 1 story with like a million diffrent ways to complete it sounds fun. but after my 3rd playthrough i was done completely, it was still a blast though i say its a 6

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Way of the Samurai 3

posted by leeox3 (GARLAND, TX) Feb 20, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This Game is beautiful to look at but not very exciting to play. I found the lack of instructions very fustrating even though i'm new to this series i expected to see some clue as to what does what. The fact that you are penalized for looking for items is also a downer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Confusing Mess of Potential

posted by KParrish (SAN JOSE, CA) Apr 4, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

"Way of the Samurai 3" has a 'weak' rating for a very good reason. This was the most confusing game I have ever played. I probably spent an hour just trying to figure out what I need to do before I gave up and looked up some walkthroughs online. Even then I was genuinely dumbfounded the entire length I played it.

The game starts you off at the ending of a battle. You're wounded, you need help. You run into some Peasants apparently scavenging the dead bodies. Then the game begins.. and you have no idea what to do. You're essentially left to run freely throughout the world with nothing telling you what to do or how you play. Talking to Peasants seems to be the only way to find out anything about this game. After talking to 10 or so random-babbling Peasants that looked exactly the same, I found my first calling. My first step to finding my purpose as a Samurai. Finding a nasty old ladies used panties on the very battlefield I was nearly killed on! What a game!

I quickly found out the type of budget "Way of the Samurai 3" was on. The gameplay has that all too familiar cheapness built into it. Bad camera angles, shoddy character movements, tacky controls and absolutely no dialogue from the main character sums up my experience. Discount graphics also plague this title if you care about that. The voice acting is terrible to point it's ridiculous. The music was probably the only moderate addition to the game. Although it's way too loud by default.

"Way of the Samurai 3" was a complete disappointment. Not implying Agetec's other titles consisted of greatness. But "Disaster Report" and "Raw Danger" were games actually worth renting and spending time playing. If you're considering renting this title, you'd might as well get into your car, cover your eyes, drive as far as you can until you crash and feel the disoriented concussion that is "Way of the Samurai 3".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Takes a special brand of gamer to enjoy...

posted by DeadCry (COPPELL, TX) Jan 24, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game receives alot of negative ratings, but those of us who enjoy japanese history, not perfect, but ok graphics, and extreme fighting this is for you, but most dont enjoy it, the first copy i rented was messed up, my blu ray laser went out, im gonna try and rent it again to play more, but this games worth playing, maybe not worth buying unless its -$40.00

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Try Again

posted by LoudDream (FORT WORTH, TX) Nov 3, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was all up for this game, the description read beautifully even the few cut scenes I glanced over had me curious, then it arrived and the game was a major let down. I must admit I’m one of those rare people that played the Sims … for more than a week and still like it, so u can imagine how shocked I was when I shipped this game out n 2 days I wasted 3hrs of my life I will never get back.
1. The graphics and text sucked, I even tried playing it on our projection screen … only enhanced the crapiness.
2. Instructions please, any good game gives u a small tutorial at the beginning… I ended up skipping my first cut scene w/the elder in the first part due to no instructions and I killed those two thugs harassing the guess who partial instructor person because I didn’t know I could reverse my sword…. I was going to go all Kenshin <3
3. No structure you just run around setting off random cut scenes… seriously cut scenes….
4. I’m a patient gamer, I never get angry at loading scenes are anything but this game didn’t even last 48hrs in my possession
5. Rent at your own risk, unless you’re a diehard fan, I really don’t see any use and sucking down all the wasted megabytes
I think they need to hook up w/the writers from KOTOR and come out with a good samurai game, fingers crossed
LOUD DREAMER OUT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

gameply

posted by xerail (MCKINNEY, TX) Feb 8, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

first off this game isent that bad. It was just a little frustraiting at times. i would get to a certain part and defeat one of a factions dude and id have one cent of life left and get hit by a stray guy. if anyone has ever played ninja gaiden, if you've played any of those and you loved them. you might not really get hooked or enjoy this game a lot. the world is a bit small. theres only nine parts to it. and there is no in between like other games where you can do stuff before you get to the next town. now you can create your own weapons from stuff you find after killing meaby someone. if its dropped. every now and then you might get the same mission over again. if you die you keep all your weapons and stuff you had. you just have to do the scenes over again. which makes this game a bit repetative. after about five times. if you leave amana you have to redu. some eimes for people who just love none stope killing. which i do. there might be a scene where you have to kill enemys that dont stop comeing. also if you are fighting a guy and you kill him and a guy from an opposing faction sees your sword out he automatically takes his sword out to fight.

in all the game was fun but dragged on as i was doing my 5th go around on the scenes

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not impressed

posted by Steugen (LOUISBURG, NC) Jan 17, 2010

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I had high hopes for this game. I liked Shogun and I always wanted a cool Samurai video game to come out. This one ain't it. Don't get me wrong. This game does have its charm in running around slashing people, collecting or forging swords, and making choices that affect the outcome of the game. There are a bunch of problems with it though. First of all, the graphics are mediocre at best. The map is too limited and small for a supposed "free-roam" style of game. Also, there's way too many areas where it looks like you should be able to walk or jump to, but an invisible forcefield blocks your path. The sound is kind of fake, and the story is weak. I can only hope that Bethesda(the makers of Oblivion and Fallout3) take it upon themselves to make an action/RPG epic set in feudal Japan, cause they know how to do it right.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Unplayable

posted by SurfFreak (LAGUNA BEACH, CA) Feb 22, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2004

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

Seriously, I only lasted 5 minutes and boxed it up and sent it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bout as good as a ps2 game...

posted by ginrosan (Whitewood, SD) Feb 23, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

I played both of the other WOTS games on ps2, and the gameplay is just about as good in this one, and the graphics aren't much better.

It feels like an eastern fable-ish game gone totally wrong...

I sent it back the next day....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Wasted Potential

posted by OutlawSoul (AUSTIN, TX) Sep 13, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

this game really does have all it needs to become a great franchise, i mean the basic idea behind it is KOTOR with samurai, who wouldnt want that?! but the game is just lacking soooo much. between the terrible missions, the lack of story, and limited outcomes from decisions, it just didnt meet my already low expectations. maybe next time...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

HORRIBLE GAME

posted by Jep3030 (MIDVALE, UT) Apr 30, 2010

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 12 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

DO NOT RENT!!!!!!!! THE GAME HAS NO STORY NO PLOT AND QUITE FRANKLY IS TERRIBLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! NO REAL FIGHING WITH ACTUAL GORE OF A NORMAL FIGHTING GAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! DO NOT RENT!!!!!!!!!! YOU'LL REGRET IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Awesome

posted by D10bear (FORT COLLINS, CO) Oct 26, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

5 out of 48 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

I loved the fact that i could kill anyone I pleased, and then bow to the honorable opponent. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Very Dated

posted by AceDoza (AKRON, OH) Mar 26, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

I was absolutely confused on what to do when starting this game. I got it because I love samurais and the japanese culture but this was terrible. I played for about 20 minutes then I put it back in the gamefly slip. I know 2008-2009 didnt seem so long ago, but I guess these games were that bad back then.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Way of the Samurai 3

posted by JamesGant (SHELBY, NC) Aug 26, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

This game is better than the GF review so I felt compelled to give one of my own. The original way of the samurai was really interesting in that you enter a small town during the Meiji reformation era which is when The Last Samurai with Tom Cruise is supposed to take place. The first game plays out very much like a classic american western does except with samurai- go figure since a good deal of westerns were based on classic Kurasawa samurai movies. But from the western cultural reference it plays very much like a western... there are something like 20-30 endings to the game depending on who you side with who you defend, who you spare or kill, who you talk to etc.

The 3rd installment of The Way of the Samurai takes place during an earlier period and the game is a lot larger in scale than the original Way of the Samurai. This may be daunting to those that never played the original or who have never played a choice based action adventure. At first you may just want to fight everyone you come across and this will likely get you killed. But in fact these games are the last few pure adventure games around in that the character drives the story based on choices they make, so if you run around and mindlessly attack everyone you will get a meaningless story in return. But if you do favors for people or hire yourself out to the lords and do missions in the area then you'll see a storyline, and what's great about this is the re-playability factor of the game. So for these reasons I give it a solid 8 out of 10. These are the kinds of games that should be made because they are more like interactive novels as opposed to a very linear action packed interactive throw away movie as some games are nowadays.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What?

posted by MiniDragon (MILWAUKEE, WI) Jun 25, 2013

Member since Jul 2010

Graphics are terrible and 30 seconds into the game I was prompted with a sidequest to like recover some old lady's stolen underwear or something (not even a joke). 30 seconds more was about all I could handle. Although not a samurai game, Summoner for PS2 is like 10 years older and still a far better choice for this style of game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

LAME

posted by MADGAMER13 (WAUSEON, OH) Oct 3, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

30 mins ill never get back

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

SOG8squirrel

posted by DumsterChild (GALLUP, NM) Sep 11, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

Way of the Samurai 3 is a fun game blood and humor..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game

posted by keshab (BRONX, NY) May 3, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

SUCKS DONT NOT RENT OR BUY NOT WORTH PLAYING IT DOESNT MAKE NO SENSE THE GAME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Weellllllllll

posted by Njnjnjm (MEDFORD, OR) Jan 12, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

While I did have fun with this game there are some thing I personally don't like about it.

I wish there had been more custimization options for outfits and heads There were seven heads to choose from and I only ended up using 3.

I would be doing a mission for a group and I would do one thing wrong and it would instantly make everyone in that group attack me.

The combat system could of been improved it was a little difficult for me to understand how to Push and Pull so I ended up dying a lot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst game ever

posted by mrxscarface (TUSTIN, CA) Oct 14, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

This has got to be one of the worst games I've ever played. The dialogue is terrible, the graphics are reprehensible, and the gameplay is rudimentary at best. The way the controls affect the camera angles are HORRIBLE, and I wish I never got this game. It made me lose faith in Gamefly, because the reviews on this weren't half bad. I played it for about an hour and could not get into, and I usually LOVE any video games. This game was beyond my worst expectations, and I will probably be canceling my Gamefly subscription based solely on this game and the obvious staged reviews for it. (By the way, I did try to cancel it before and was offered the "free" month...well after getting the free month it more than DOUBLED my delivery times). Thanks Gamefly... I'm done with you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Really short review?

posted by Kuro (LA GRANGE, NC) Aug 23, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

I was very sad when I realized I wasted about $35 on this. Sure, the reviews all warned me about how I would either hate it or love it.. I LOVE the first one, man. I did. That's why I took a chance and picked this up.

Mistake.

The graphics, especially in the menu, suck. When you're barely designing your character, he looks like a pix-elated gnome.

The sound sucks.. Music sucks.. just..

I can't even go through anymore detail. I wouldn't pay more than $15 for a new copy for this game. Please, people. Try it on Gamefly if you're bored and have nothing better on your Game Q.. but do NOT buy this game..
It, to me, is just that bad.

Concept is great! Execution? A bloody mess. And not in a good way.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse