Rent Watchmen: The End is Nigh - Part 1 & 2 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Watchmen: The End is Nigh - Part 1 & 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.2

905 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Good old fashioned beat'em up

posted by HippyVock (FITCHBURG, WI) Jul 21, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2006

47 out of 51 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

I am a Watchman fan, so when the game came out for download all those months ago, I played the first part and liked what they did with the story. It's a very simple game where you play as either Rorshach or Night Owl before gov't legislation has banned masked heroes as they beat up scum and try to solve a mystery that's deeper than they realize.

Again, this is a very simple game where you walk forward, beat some guys up, repeat ad nauseum. The brutal Rorshach animations and electrical fun of Night Owl just doesn't get old tho as you're smashing anything that moves, almost always several up to many enemies at a time. The controls seems simple but take a measure of control as there are VERY important counters to be done along with earned combo moves you can unlock thru minor collecting, usually just slightly off the main path. Not too serious. The characters play fairly differently so it comes down to style as to which you like better. Rorshach is more about starting slow and finishing brutal where Night Owl is about tactical strikes and immobilizing your foes.

I enjoyed the game. It reminded me of the old side scrolling beat em ups on the 8 and 16-bit systems that were usually a lot of fun. You have to like the style, but the license is handled intelligently, the voice acting is good, and the fun lasts a good 8 hours or more (I'm guessing with the addition of Part II). Co-op wasn't online before and it should have been. Other than that, good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Watch me beat em up!

posted by aroness26 (FRESNO, CA) Sep 30, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Watchmen is one of my favorite stories of all time, the movie was fantastic but does that mean the game is? Simply put its a good old fashioned beat em up game.
The story taking place before the Watchmen were banned I thought was a great idea. During this period of time their is a huge area that you can explore and see when these heroes were in their prime. If they had based it off the film it would of been a failure I believe.
What I loved was that the story was both different and very similar to watchmen still having that same rugged theme but telling a new story but keeping familiar characters from the comic.
When I saw the film my favorite character was Nite Owl and my best friends favorite was Rorschach. When we started playing we were so excited to be playing those characters in this game!
Each has their own different unique style of combat,Nite Owl having a martial arts meets gadgets to Rorschach using a more brutal beat the heck out of your opponents style.
However in this game all you can really do is beat people up and continue down the story. Yes I wish they had added more but myself personally I found it to still be very satisfying and a lot of fun nonetheless.
The art style of it and graphics fit the concept of Watchmen perfectly, people mite say they could of been better but they fit the mood and style in a great way.
Overall I really enjoyed this game. Some times you want a game that is just a good beat em up type of game and that's what this is. Its not a game where you have millions of things to do and you do very little fighting, fighting is the heart of this game.
This game stays true to its roots, for that I respect it and will always enjoy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Worth the rent, give it a shot.

posted by vonAwesome (MILFORD, MI) Apr 3, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you love the Watchmen universe it's definitely worth the rent. It's not incredibly in-depth but it's a fun brawler that definitely makes you feel like you're in the world.

The cut-scenes are brilliant motion comics that in any other game would have been cheesy, but were perfect for the world of Watchmen.

Nite Owl and Rorschach both had incredibly different feels and both were a thrill to play as (but, naturally, I preferred Rorschach.) The different abilities and combinations were fantastic, and the way you could string together different combinations was unique.

But if you're not much of a Watchmen fanatic then I'm afraid to say this game might not be for you. Stripped down it's really a very basic brawler. All of the enemies are essentially the same and there is only one boss per Part and the bosses are not much harder than regular enemies.

The achievements are very annoying if you like to have an even Gamerscore. They distribute points in 2s and 8s and 11s. Which can get very frustrating.

Another issue is the sparse checkpoints. It's infuriating to fights of waves of weak enemies but end up getting overwhelmed by a whole army of thugs and are forced to fight the same weak waves of enemies all over again.

With that being said, it's an above average game. Don't buy it by any means, but it is definitely worth trying out and feeling nostalgia with the characters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Watchmen

posted by ebook32 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Aug 7, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

If you already downloaded part 1 on XBOX live, I don't recommend buying this game because there are only 3 levels on part 2. Overall it's a fun arcade game. You'll have fun playing the game as both, CO-OP is good too. I didn't like the ending for part 2, but other than that I recommend renting the game and save your money for something better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

amazing for an arcade game...and then some

posted by cernunnos (GAINESVILLE, FL) Aug 5, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Originally being an Arcade download title, the Watchmen game was amazing in that respect. Heck, this game even runs circles around many of the true 60 dollar Xbox 360 games ( I won't name names but you guys know what I'm saying). I had a Gamestop gift card and recently picked the game up virtually for free. I'm not sure I need to own this game (ie: play in again and again) but seeing as how this game has been on my Q since it came out and I have yet to see it in my mailbox, figured I might as well blow a free gift card on it. Part 1 was alot of fun to coop and I suspect part 2 to be more of the same. I like how visceral the combat is and not much in the gaming world can compare to filling Rorschach's shoes for a few hours of mayhem. Wish it had online coop but eh, can't get it all.

In all, alot of fun, can get repetitive but honestly now, what games don't get that way, 30 dollar games especially. I'm not the biggest fan of beat em ups, or hack n slash's or those old school side scrolling shoot em ups, which this game has been compared to all of those, but Watchmen keeps my interest and isn't overly frustrating to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Boring!

posted by ironfist18 (BREA, CA) Sep 10, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The first few levels are pretty cool, but after the 3rd chapter (the game is in chapters, not levels) it is so freaking repetitive. It's the same guys, it's the same weapons, and it's the same fight as the last fight.
The graphics are pretty good. So no complaining there.
Like a few other reviews said, it's a fight, walk, fight, walk, fight, ect.. kind of game. If you like it that is cool, it just got way too boring for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Watchmen

posted by Filmmaker (CANONSBURG, PA) Aug 21, 2009

Member since Feb 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I have to say this game is very cool and the graphics are good. It's a lot of fun to play over and over again. What are you waiting for rent this game and have some fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

bloody and brutal.

posted by emile (SANDIA PARK, NM) Apr 18, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I liked this game its simple and the graphics are tiny bit sketchy. but its a very good brawler old fashioned game, with a very detective noir feel to it. i'm a personal fan of roarshach with his brutal fighting form but nite owl is fun to. overall its a real fun game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fail....

posted by DennisT93 (FORT WORTH, TX) Jul 27, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

9 out of 28 gamers (32%) found this review helpful

This game is just as bad as the movie. All you do is run around like a dumbass and beat people up. It sounds cool but when your doing the same thing over and over it gets real old and boring.

This game is not worth buying or renting

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

lock picking is not the best

posted by whopoo777 (AMARILLO, TX) Sep 22, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

well i got stuck on this 1 lock on the 2nd chapeter

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

2 thumbs down

posted by flygame (HIGHLAND, IL) Aug 1, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

6-Presentation
7.5-Graphics
4.5-Lasting Appeal
6-Sound
6-Gameplay
6-Singleplayer
0.1-Multiplayer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

wow

posted by tylerdruss (MELBOURNE, FL) Jul 28, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

3 out of 13 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

ya kinda repetative and boring but if you like the movie you might like the game in my opinion

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

who watches...

posted by beruzeruku (WOODBRIDGE, VA) Aug 28, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

break this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Watchmen: The End is Nigh - Part 1 & 2

posted by venom106 (CANONSBURG, PA) Jul 22, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

5 out of 82 gamers (6%) found this review helpful

This game has to be so fun that i rented on the movie and it has to be so good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

About what I expected

posted by my_2_cents (SOUTH PORTLAND, ME) Nov 5, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

This game is repetitive, drawn out, and relatively easy. Most of the achieves are easy, but I did need to look up how to get one of them, and it was easier than I thought it was going to be.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

bad

posted by Fabiocrow1983 (COVINGTON TOWNSHIP, PA) May 26, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

Just a bad game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

It's okay

posted by Xman245 (LORTON, VA) Mar 10, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

This game is a good game but it's the same thing over and over again. Just fighting a bunch of bad guys every 5 minutes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Poor Fan Service and a Wasted Oppurtunity

posted by Rapture (EDINBURGH, IN) Feb 17, 2011

Member since Oct 2009

"Watchmen: The End is Nigh - Parts 1 & 2" would initially appear to pay proper homage to what is widely considered the "Citizen Kane" of graphic novels. I'm usually skeptical when it comes to comic book/movie licensed games, but I was willing to set aside my frequently biased perceptions of games like this so that I would rent the game and try to enjoy it. To put it simply, I did enjoy it; that is, at first.

The first half-hour of gameplay consists of a few decent thrills, and the utter brutality in the attack combos of Nite Owl and Rorschach manages to evoke a sadistic joy from its players (this is one of the reasons why I and many other "Watchmen" fans enjoyed the graphic novel and the film so thoroughlly). The presentation is relatively so-so, pitting your character amidst the more atypical environments seen in video games, such as: dank dirty sewers, cold claustrophobic city streets, and (more importantly) the shady and violent prison backdrop we've come to expect from so many action games. Don't get me wrong, I think the levels have a good variety of these backdrops, but their graphical presentation is far from stellar. There is hardly anything intuitive about these environments, and the opponent A.I. only feel the least bit threatening when they're shouting blatantly cruel obscenities. They are excruciatingly clumsy and repetitive in their dialogue and movements.

As for Nite Owl and Rorschach, there are very few characteristics separating these two iconic characters, aside from their voicework and art design (both very well done in my opinion). Oh, and as for the mild excitement felt during the first half-hour of play, that quickly fades into several hours of recycled and repetitive gameplay.

I was quite disappointed by the turnout of this game, but I do not wish to dissuade the countless other "Watchmen" fans and fans of action games in general from playing this game. Just be warned, for it probably won't live up to your expectations.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

WASTE!!!!

posted by RTRDMayhem (CRANBERRY TWP, PA) Jul 20, 2010

Member since May 2010

this game had 1/10 for fun factor, 0/10 for achievements and 7/10 for being Watchmen.

first of all, the fighting was horrid. if you ever get jumped by 10+ guys at once, just turn off your xbox and give up. this was one of the more difficult XBLA games ever in my opinion (not even coming close to Megaman 9 though.) the games had difficult achievements and which made it worse was that they were in odd point increments like 8, 11, and 36. luckily before these games, my gamerscore was 84,444; but with all these oddly-pointed achievo's i was able to even out my score at 84,530. meaning i got a 75/200 on W1 and 11/200 on W2. a total of only 86/400.

The only good thing about these games was that W2 was a lot smoother, cleaner, and faster than W1. and the graphics are on the higher end of XBLA games. But still wasn't worth making my gamerscore uneven again.

all in all, i rate this game a 2/10. Not worth a rental, and DEFINITLY not worth a purchase. may god have mercy on your soul if you purchased them on XBLA for the total of $35. Ridiculous.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ouch

posted by jaguar7676 (TITUSVILLE, FL) May 17, 2010

Member since Nov 2004

My hand is killing me after this button mash fest...not much fun and is way to linear..plus the characters are just not interesting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Don't Play With a Friend

posted by ThePhoenix (PROCTORVILLE, OH) Apr 8, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

For a game that is geared towards co op, this game is very unfriendly to the second player. I played this split screen with my g/f and she didn't get any of the achievements. All of her kills went towards my score. Needless to say she was a little upset that she slogged through this game and didn't even have a few points on her gamerscore to show as a badge of courage. The graphics are last gen and the gameplay is sluggish and cheap. I gave it a 3 because I'm a Watchmen fan but the franchise deserves better. Play this by yourself if you must. Don't put anyone else through it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It was nice to beat stuff up.

posted by Kanetsv (YUBA CITY, CA) Mar 1, 2010

Member since Sep 2007

This game is what I thought it would be. If you want to turn your brain off this play this game and punch and kick stuff for a few hours.
Control: Is what I thought it would be, close to the Warriors if you have played that on the original Xbox.
Storyline: Not much there, but it was not bad for punching and kicking stuff.
Graphics: I was surprise with the environmental graphics where pretty good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Watchmen the end is nigh part one and two

posted by tuckerbcbw (WALKERSVILLE, MD) Feb 13, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

this game is beyond measure it is one of the greatest DC enterprise games. Rorschach's counters and finishing moves are face busting and amazing. nite owl's couters and finishers are almost text book to the movie. the story line shows what the graphic novel could not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun but filled with glitches

posted by emptyeyes (VANCOUVER, WA) Nov 30, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

Its a blast to play through this game with a friend. My friend played as night owl and had a lot of problems blocking hits in the second episode. Still, this game was a fun playthrough, and the ending is one of the best.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »