Rent Watch Dogs for Xbox One
view large frontback

Watch Dogs

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $59.99

Also on:Wii U, PS4, Xbox 360, PS3
GF Rating
7.3

1766 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better As you Go

posted by Lucky715 (SANTA MARIA, CA) May 29, 2014

Member since Sep 2011

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Great Game. Really Gets better the longer you play it. Takes a lil getting use to but definitely worth your time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great great game, But has little issues

posted by DJMoney2001 (GLEN ALLEN, VA) Jun 4, 2014

Member since Mar 2012

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've been looking forward to this game since it announced at E3 2012 and bugging my mom and dad about it too. Don't get me wrong, it is a absolutely fantastic game, but there are some small things that I though Ubisoft would grasp.

1. I understand that this is the first game in the series, but how could you forget SHOOTING FROM A FREAKING CAR.

2. Although I haven't played the free roam bit, but from gameplay, it looks like GTA V online taken down a notch.

3. 3rd person view seems zoomed in a little too much. I would like this to be a bit zoomed out. Who knows maybe it is to in force the stealth in the game.

4. a bug in the X-box one version where if you trigger a blackout, the moment when it comes back on, the traffic aren't hackable anymore.

5. Aiden Pearce's voice is a copy of batman :). I know you all are laughing at this, but it true. I laughed my butt off when in the trailer and in the game when Aiden said, "Where are they". :)

Overall this game is so far the best game I have played in a long long time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Starts slow, ends well.

posted by 1up_Gamer (SPRING, TX) Jul 7, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game took me a bit to get into. At first it seemed really slow, the driving felt weird, and the story was meh. However, as I continued to play and unlocked new skills, the game play kept getting better an better. It's a solid fun game worth playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Worth the wait

posted by RogueWRX (LONE TREE, CO) May 28, 2014

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When it was announced that the release date for Watchdogs was pushed back, it made me a little nervous. Now that the game is finally here, I'm ok with having to wait, because it is an incredibly well done game. I went ahead and bought the game and I'm happy I did.

The Good:
- Immersive gameplay
- Hacking the world around you is a lot of fun (messing with traffic lights to create accidents, etc)
- Can either do missions stealthy or run in guns blazing
- Combat is well done, both shooting and melee
- Weapon selections
- Incredibly detailed open world
- Plenty of things to keep you occupied outside of the main campaign
- Little details, such as being able to hack road signs to make them say different things. Adds nothing to the story, but is a fun detail

The Meh:
- Graphics aren't the best I've seen on the XboxOne
- Driving takes a bit to get used to, the handling is odd at first
- Can freerun, but can't jump

The Bad:
- Run into a couple of glitches in missions where the checkpoint was there, but was not interactive. Not a game ruining issue, but still frustrating having to start a mission over

Long Story Short:
If you're a fan of games such as Assassins Creed, and cover based shooters, you will like this game. The city they created is detailed and fun to explore the different districts, and the storyline seems interesting so far (not incredibly original, but not overly cliche either). I'm happy having bought the game, but for those who don't want to buy, make a point to at least try it, as it is a great new game that you'll have a lot of fun with.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome!

posted by ozzman3283 (PONCHATOULA, LA) Sep 14, 2014

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Couldn't bring myself to return it so I ended up buying it. Need I say more?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Solid game... Just not groundbreaking

posted by bblack300 (LAFAYETTE, IN) May 28, 2014

Member since Feb 2011

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Once again I got my hopes up for a true next-gen caliber game that would be so fun I'd lose track of time, but alas my hopes were not quite met.

The Xbox 1 and PS4 version of watchdogs are basically just a texture, and frame rate upgrade.

This is no doubt a "good game" but once again the game developers are catering to the old consoles, after spending $500 on a new system I don't think it's right to get nearly the same version of the game as what is played on $100 old POS system. Not to be elitist, the 360 was a fine system a few years ago. In my opinion the 360 and PS3 versions should be a different version of the game- like 2006-2011 Wii games of the same name were not even the same game as their PS3, or 360 versions.

I find the game fun, better than most. Objectively as a game it is definitely a very good title. If you enjoy open world/sandbox type of games then you will definitely enjoy!
I am somewhat biased since I got both a PS4, and an Xbox1 upon release.... And I'm just not getting the caliber of games that we were promised when spending all that money

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

does this really "define" next-gen gaming?

posted by DoktorNein (PORTLAND, OR) May 27, 2014

Member since Aug 2005

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Not saying this game is bad. In fact, it's pretty cool. It's frustrating, at times... but it's not bad. It's just that for something that "defines" next-gen (as the ad campaign claims) the game is missing something. It's missing some grit, or some polish, or something that I can't put my finger on as a gamer. It feels... a little half-hearted, maybe, is the thing.

Now don't get me wrong. I've played a couple hours of it, and I'm having fun wasting time (and occasionally people) in virtual Chicago, driving a stolen Challenger clone with my foot to the floor. But therein is another issue. The car physics are cartoony at best, and they lack the solid feel of Grand Theft Auto, which is what people will inevitably draw a comparison with.

And on the subject of driving, getting away from the cops is absolutely a pain, more so than it needs to be (especially in early 'fixer' missions where you're given a sports car and told to ditch the cops before driving it back to a set location.)

This game will do fine until there is a Rockstar title with the same mechanics to play with. Until then, we'll always have Chicago.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

OVER-HYPED LACKLUSTER TITLE

posted by xFIELDxMARSHALx (WARWICK, RI) Jun 13, 2014

Member since May 2014

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

-Poor A.I.
-Horrendous Driving Mechanics
-Last Generation Graphics
-Unlikable (stale) Main Character, supporting characters
under utilized to full potential.

This title has potential but, unfortunately, Ubisoft failed to deliver on the next generation experience that was promised.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible. Overrated. Done before. GETTING OLD!

posted by StyleGamer (FOUNTAIN, CO) Jun 26, 2014

Member since Sep 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I honestly could not even finish the game. Boring visuals, uninspired story, terrible driving, confusing multiplayer, subpar combat, TERRIBLE soundtrack.

The hype behind this game was LAUGHABLE

Listen to other users when they say it feels VERY last gen...because it is. This particular style of game has been done a million times over. They just added a new coat of paint but its still the same vehicle along the lines of infamous, HUD (hulk ultimate destruct), and the million other free roam skill point type games that have come out. There is nothing new or innovative about this game AT ALL.

I had NO fun with this game despite the hype. 1/10. TRASH.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Underwhelming

posted by FreeBagel (HEMET, CA) Jun 24, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Could not get in to this game. For as hyped as it was, it really just didn't deliver for me. Last gen graphics, clunky controls, and boring characters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Too much HYPE!

posted by No7oriousDuke (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jul 14, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Oh WATCHDOGS... Just because you add some fancy cell phone hackage, poor driving physics, and an extremely lazy crafting system (laziness...) to a cookie-cutter, open world, GTA-like experience, doesn't mean that people are going to pay you $60. Ill give you this though, decent storyline with decent graphics (couldve done a better job guys, cmon). Also the online is pretty glitchy and boring. Beat the storyline in like 3 days. NEXT!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Agree with the disappointment, Plus.....

posted by Pazzo718 (BRONX, NY) Jul 9, 2014

Member since Mar 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

1. You can be driving completely normal and people scream and run like your driving crazy.

2. Motorcycles are in the game but no one drives one. So you can't jack one. You steal and order one.

3. Why should I care about Aiden. There is no affinity to care about him whether good or bad like most characters you spend 15-30 hours with.

4. Least they can do is give a shout out to the FDIC and NCUA. You know, for all the hard work they are doing in this 235 square mile radius of people losing money every day every week and all the time, because I'm not going to stop stealing money.

5. Don't write reviews on an iPad it's very annoying

6. This game is lazy and I'm surprised by ubisoft maybe they will fix it like they did after the first assassin creed. But this product right here is lazy. I gave it a 5 because I don't know how to make video games, and I know the people without a voice tried. But the decision makers should be ashamed for overhyping this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

ridiculous

posted by splibby (WINDHAM, NH) Aug 12, 2014

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I don't mind challenges but this game is a bit much. You can't shoot while driving yet ever moron and his cousin can at you. The missions towards the end is completely ridiculous. .. your expected to upload a virus three times while avoiding an endless amount of police who if you shoot you lose status. Also the hack points disappear on you thanks to the bad guy so it only adds to your frustration. Jam coms is useless as well as black out because the police find you right away. I liked the game but they failed epically on several points.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This is a train wreck

posted by shaynnon (ATLANTA, GA) Nov 25, 2014

Member since Nov 2014

What could be an amazingly complex storyline in well-thought out mechanics, is actually an infuriatingly frustrating pile of poor physics and near impossible challenges.
The driving physics and controls alone makes this game intollerable, but add the fact that the police are ridiculously destructive to you and there seems to be no rhyme or reason as to how you're supposed to complete a task, and this just turns into a game you'll want to rage quit.
Somehow, through this, I managed to make it to the fourth chapter, hoping it would improve so I could see to the completion of the game, but after the 7th attempt to complete a driving mission failed, I can't do it anymore.
I love Ubisoft, but it seems like they let their interns make this game.
If I could rate it lower than 1, I would.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome

posted by Masmoney27 (LOCH SHELDRAKE, NY) Nov 22, 2014

Member since Jun 2010

I only focused on the story but it was a great story. The graphics were great even though at times during driving the screen would freeze temporarily. The story however did seem short and kind of rushed at the end. It just seemed to end abruptly. The game play was smooth and controls were easy to get. I didn't like the reload button being L3 but with X being the profiler button they had to change it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Punisher With Tech

posted by lordyosh (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Nov 18, 2014

Member since Nov 2014

I didn't dive too much into the online play just so you know upfront. I played thru the story in about 3 days of playing while doing side missions and and I admit it's fun game, but for me once the story was done and I finished the side missions I didn't see much replay value to this game. The story wasn't half bad, way better than the commercials let on. The game does feel like Punisher with technology tho.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

good

posted by Jtrain2384 (COVINGTON, GA) Nov 18, 2014

Member since Nov 2014

This is a great game i highly recommend that you grab it for xbox one and play the graphics are amazing i think it coupd be as good a gta v if they added an expansion

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Most underrated game of the year!

posted by Ramdadof3 (LANSING, MI) Nov 18, 2014

Member since Nov 2014

Seriously, this game is a GREAT break from the shooter monotony that has saturated the market the last few years.

The story is as deep as any out there. The gameplay is unique in that objects are manipulated/hacked via your smartphone. Open world environment provides a number of activities to choose from. I especially enjoy the seamless online interaction when another player is attempting to hack your phone for information and you have a certain amount of time to fined them. Plenty of action on foot and in vehicles. The multiplayer shooting is a little weak and predictable, but has enough variety to be enjoyable.

The ending leaves plenty of room for sequels be it to a different city and/or with the same character(s). Same can be said of the expansion. Can't wait to see where They take this story!

Overall a game that kept me busy for months. Worth a rent. This is one of a few games I've rented and decided to buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Watch Dogs Review

posted by RMKelly (HOUSTON, TX) Nov 9, 2014

Member since Jun 2012

The gameplay was exciting and there was plenty of things to explore and do. The story, on the other hand, was kinda lame! The gameplay for missions really starts getting intense and exciting around act 3 and 4. It's definitely a good step into a new gaming franchise when they decide to do sequels. The game took me maybe around 40-50 hours to complete. Overall, I give it a 7/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game, got impossible at one point.

posted by Robin_H (LA JOLLA, CA) Nov 7, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

Okay, this game was great, but I got to the part where Iraq was with his enforcer trying to kill me and it was basically impossible. I had two friends try it (both beat the game) but they couldn't do it. I watched multiple walkthroughs and such but I still couldn't do it. It might be that I am not very good at the game, but it was really hard for all of us. What really got me was the long dialogue after you die you have to go over it again and again and I just got sick of it. I might try renting the game again to see if I can do it on a fresh mind. Also, the multiplayer was great, I was able to play with a couple xbox live friends and we all had a blast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Game.

posted by semajsniksah (MCALESTER, OK) Nov 6, 2014

Member since Nov 2014

This was an overall fun game. I do think its very GTAVish but the hacking you can do around the city to (spy, escape police, steal, etc.) makes it really enjoyable. The story line was pretty good. It kept me wanting to play main missions instead of the side missions anyway. I guess the only thing that I have issue with is how absolutely repetitive the side missions can get. Replay value for me is not very high, but for the 30 or so hours it occupied me it was definitely worth checking out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Why So Much Hate?

posted by Psycho_Delicate (AUSTIN, TX) Nov 3, 2014

Member since Nov 2014

I waited to get this game because I read the reviews early on about how people hated it for being 'too gta like.' I found it to be a really good game with a pretty solid story. Mind you, I just came off of Destiny's story, or lack thereof, so cut me some slack. Watch_Dogs isn't the first game to be 'gta like' i.e., crackdown, so I don't know why everyone was hating it so much. Worth the play through now if you've been waiting to play it like I have.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Lots of fun

posted by HKKLUCKY (LANCASTER, TX) Oct 30, 2014

Member since Oct 2014

This game was very much like GTA but with hacking abilities. The story line was cool and well played out. Lots of things to do other than the campaign. HINT... To get away from police, go to the shore or a dock and get in a boat. As long as you can disable the chopper. EASY ESCAPE!!!! LOL 8 out or 10 for me

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

cheap made game

posted by dirtydangf (LONG BEACH, CA) Oct 26, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

WASTE OF MONEY

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A classic Ubisoft game, just updated

posted by hallowsDAYsaint (ROSWELL, GA) Oct 24, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

It feels like Assassin's creed with a cell phone. Many of the same mission feel, and a sandbox world that doesn't do anything really different for me. It looks good, but the gameplay has been tried before. It just feels like a shiny new coating to an old game. Nothing ground breaking, but enjoyable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse