Rent Watch Dogs for Xbox One
view large frontback

Watch Dogs

Rent

Keep for: $19.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $59.99

Used: $19.99

Also on:Wii U, PS4, PS3, Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.4

1541 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better As you Go

posted by Lucky715 (SANTA MARIA, CA) May 29, 2014

Member since Sep 2011

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Great Game. Really Gets better the longer you play it. Takes a lil getting use to but definitely worth your time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great great game, But has little issues

posted by DJMoney2001 (GLEN ALLEN, VA) Jun 4, 2014

Member since Mar 2012

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've been looking forward to this game since it announced at E3 2012 and bugging my mom and dad about it too. Don't get me wrong, it is a absolutely fantastic game, but there are some small things that I though Ubisoft would grasp.

1. I understand that this is the first game in the series, but how could you forget SHOOTING FROM A FREAKING CAR.

2. Although I haven't played the free roam bit, but from gameplay, it looks like GTA V online taken down a notch.

3. 3rd person view seems zoomed in a little too much. I would like this to be a bit zoomed out. Who knows maybe it is to in force the stealth in the game.

4. a bug in the X-box one version where if you trigger a blackout, the moment when it comes back on, the traffic aren't hackable anymore.

5. Aiden Pearce's voice is a copy of batman :). I know you all are laughing at this, but it true. I laughed my butt off when in the trailer and in the game when Aiden said, "Where are they". :)

Overall this game is so far the best game I have played in a long long time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Starts slow, ends well.

posted by 1up_Gamer (SPRING, TX) Jul 7, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game took me a bit to get into. At first it seemed really slow, the driving felt weird, and the story was meh. However, as I continued to play and unlocked new skills, the game play kept getting better an better. It's a solid fun game worth playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Worth the wait

posted by RogueWRX (LONE TREE, CO) May 28, 2014

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When it was announced that the release date for Watchdogs was pushed back, it made me a little nervous. Now that the game is finally here, I'm ok with having to wait, because it is an incredibly well done game. I went ahead and bought the game and I'm happy I did.

The Good:
- Immersive gameplay
- Hacking the world around you is a lot of fun (messing with traffic lights to create accidents, etc)
- Can either do missions stealthy or run in guns blazing
- Combat is well done, both shooting and melee
- Weapon selections
- Incredibly detailed open world
- Plenty of things to keep you occupied outside of the main campaign
- Little details, such as being able to hack road signs to make them say different things. Adds nothing to the story, but is a fun detail

The Meh:
- Graphics aren't the best I've seen on the XboxOne
- Driving takes a bit to get used to, the handling is odd at first
- Can freerun, but can't jump

The Bad:
- Run into a couple of glitches in missions where the checkpoint was there, but was not interactive. Not a game ruining issue, but still frustrating having to start a mission over

Long Story Short:
If you're a fan of games such as Assassins Creed, and cover based shooters, you will like this game. The city they created is detailed and fun to explore the different districts, and the storyline seems interesting so far (not incredibly original, but not overly cliche either). I'm happy having bought the game, but for those who don't want to buy, make a point to at least try it, as it is a great new game that you'll have a lot of fun with.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome!

posted by ozzman3283 (PONCHATOULA, LA) Sep 14, 2014

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Couldn't bring myself to return it so I ended up buying it. Need I say more?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Solid game... Just not groundbreaking

posted by bblack300 (LAFAYETTE, IN) May 28, 2014

Member since Feb 2011

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Once again I got my hopes up for a true next-gen caliber game that would be so fun I'd lose track of time, but alas my hopes were not quite met.

The Xbox 1 and PS4 version of watchdogs are basically just a texture, and frame rate upgrade.

This is no doubt a "good game" but once again the game developers are catering to the old consoles, after spending $500 on a new system I don't think it's right to get nearly the same version of the game as what is played on $100 old POS system. Not to be elitist, the 360 was a fine system a few years ago. In my opinion the 360 and PS3 versions should be a different version of the game- like 2006-2011 Wii games of the same name were not even the same game as their PS3, or 360 versions.

I find the game fun, better than most. Objectively as a game it is definitely a very good title. If you enjoy open world/sandbox type of games then you will definitely enjoy!
I am somewhat biased since I got both a PS4, and an Xbox1 upon release.... And I'm just not getting the caliber of games that we were promised when spending all that money

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

does this really "define" next-gen gaming?

posted by DoktorNein (PORTLAND, OR) May 27, 2014

Member since Aug 2005

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Not saying this game is bad. In fact, it's pretty cool. It's frustrating, at times... but it's not bad. It's just that for something that "defines" next-gen (as the ad campaign claims) the game is missing something. It's missing some grit, or some polish, or something that I can't put my finger on as a gamer. It feels... a little half-hearted, maybe, is the thing.

Now don't get me wrong. I've played a couple hours of it, and I'm having fun wasting time (and occasionally people) in virtual Chicago, driving a stolen Challenger clone with my foot to the floor. But therein is another issue. The car physics are cartoony at best, and they lack the solid feel of Grand Theft Auto, which is what people will inevitably draw a comparison with.

And on the subject of driving, getting away from the cops is absolutely a pain, more so than it needs to be (especially in early 'fixer' missions where you're given a sports car and told to ditch the cops before driving it back to a set location.)

This game will do fine until there is a Rockstar title with the same mechanics to play with. Until then, we'll always have Chicago.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

OVER-HYPED LACKLUSTER TITLE

posted by xFIELDxMARSHALx (WARWICK, RI) Jun 13, 2014

Member since May 2014

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

-Poor A.I.
-Horrendous Driving Mechanics
-Last Generation Graphics
-Unlikable (stale) Main Character, supporting characters
under utilized to full potential.

This title has potential but, unfortunately, Ubisoft failed to deliver on the next generation experience that was promised.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible. Overrated. Done before. GETTING OLD!

posted by StyleGamer (FOUNTAIN, CO) Jun 26, 2014

Member since Sep 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I honestly could not even finish the game. Boring visuals, uninspired story, terrible driving, confusing multiplayer, subpar combat, TERRIBLE soundtrack.

The hype behind this game was LAUGHABLE

Listen to other users when they say it feels VERY last gen...because it is. This particular style of game has been done a million times over. They just added a new coat of paint but its still the same vehicle along the lines of infamous, HUD (hulk ultimate destruct), and the million other free roam skill point type games that have come out. There is nothing new or innovative about this game AT ALL.

I had NO fun with this game despite the hype. 1/10. TRASH.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Underwhelming

posted by FreeBagel (HEMET, CA) Jun 24, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Could not get in to this game. For as hyped as it was, it really just didn't deliver for me. Last gen graphics, clunky controls, and boring characters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Too much HYPE!

posted by No7oriousDuke (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jul 14, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Oh WATCHDOGS... Just because you add some fancy cell phone hackage, poor driving physics, and an extremely lazy crafting system (laziness...) to a cookie-cutter, open world, GTA-like experience, doesn't mean that people are going to pay you $60. Ill give you this though, decent storyline with decent graphics (couldve done a better job guys, cmon). Also the online is pretty glitchy and boring. Beat the storyline in like 3 days. NEXT!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Agree with the disappointment, Plus.....

posted by Pazzo718 (BRONX, NY) Jul 9, 2014

Member since Mar 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

1. You can be driving completely normal and people scream and run like your driving crazy.

2. Motorcycles are in the game but no one drives one. So you can't jack one. You steal and order one.

3. Why should I care about Aiden. There is no affinity to care about him whether good or bad like most characters you spend 15-30 hours with.

4. Least they can do is give a shout out to the FDIC and NCUA. You know, for all the hard work they are doing in this 235 square mile radius of people losing money every day every week and all the time, because I'm not going to stop stealing money.

5. Don't write reviews on an iPad it's very annoying

6. This game is lazy and I'm surprised by ubisoft maybe they will fix it like they did after the first assassin creed. But this product right here is lazy. I gave it a 5 because I don't know how to make video games, and I know the people without a voice tried. But the decision makers should be ashamed for overhyping this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

ridiculous

posted by splibby (WINDHAM, NH) Aug 12, 2014

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I don't mind challenges but this game is a bit much. You can't shoot while driving yet ever moron and his cousin can at you. The missions towards the end is completely ridiculous. .. your expected to upload a virus three times while avoiding an endless amount of police who if you shoot you lose status. Also the hack points disappear on you thanks to the bad guy so it only adds to your frustration. Jam coms is useless as well as black out because the police find you right away. I liked the game but they failed epically on several points.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Fake GTA

posted by Finessa2207 (HITCHCOCK, TX) Oct 23, 2014

Member since Oct 2014

After exactly 16 days of me starting my account dis imposter came n da mail...thought i wuz finna have a blast...three thumbs down.SENDIN BACK ASAP

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Half a$$ed gta wantabe

posted by shakezula25 (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Oct 22, 2014

Member since Jun 2012

Boring missions, bad game play, even worse driving mechanics. This game sucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by cyberblitzx (NIAGARA FALLS, NY) Oct 12, 2014

Member since Oct 2014

Game was absolutely amazing, I really enjoyed the story and felt very motivated to continue in the main story. Kind of difficult to get through the game with a positive reputation, due to the fact that you have to rescue one civilian for everyone killed, including ones you ran over. Still an amazing game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

ITS NOT GTA BUT ITS STILL A GREAT GAME

posted by consoleteller (MILNESVILLE, PA) Oct 6, 2014

Member since Nov 2011

THIS GAME HAS TO BE ONE OF THE BEST OPEN WORLD GAMES I HAVE PLAYED IN AWHILE AND ITS THE FIRST OPEN WORLD GAME I PLAYED ON THE XBOX 1 AND GRAPHICS LOOK AMAZING THIS GAME HAS MOST OF THE STUFF YOU WOULD GET IN GTA BUT ITS ALSO KIND OF A DIFFERENT STORY YOU ARE THIS HACKER KNOWN AS AIDEN PEARCE AND SOMETHING HAPPENS TO YOU WHERE YOU HAVE TO TAKE THINGS INTO YOUR OWN HANDS AND FIGURE OUT HOW THIS HAPPENED AND WHO IS RESPONSIBLE FOR IT ALONG THE WAY YOU GET HELP FROM OTHER HACKERS AND ALSO RUN INTO AN OLD FRIEND OF YOURS THIS GAME IS DIFFERENT AND SIMILAR TO GTA IN A COUPLE WAYS ITS OPEN WORLD YOU CAN DRIVE ANY CAR,TRUCK,BOAT,BIKE OR SUBWAY TRAIN YOU WANT YOU CAN SWIM YOU CAN HACK ALMOST ANYTHING IN THE GAME PEOPLES PHONES TRAFFIC LIGHTS STEAM PIPES YOU CAN CAUSE BLACK OUTS RAISE AND LOWER BRIDGES ACTIVATE STEEL BLOCKERS OPEN CLOSE METAL GATES AND SHUTTERS PARKING LOT SPIKES BUT YOU CANT FLY AND HONESTLY THATS OKAY YOU CAN STILL USE DIFFERENT GUNS GO ON A RAMPAGE KILL COPS CIVILIANS BAD GUYS WHATEVER ITS UP TO YOU THE WAY YOU PLAY AND A COUPLE NEW THINGS IS THAT YOU CAN PLAY MUSIC WHILE DRIVING OR WALKING DONT HAVE TO KILL PEOPLE FOR MONEY THATS WHAT SIDE MISSIONS AND USING YOUR PHONE TO HACK ARE FOR AND YOU ARE SEEN DIFFERENTLY IN THE PUBLICS EYE IN ONE OF TWO WAYS KILL INNOCENT PEOPLE AND COPS PUBLIC FEARS YOU AND CALLS THE COPS ANYTIME YOUR WALKING AROUND IF YOU TAKE DOWN BAD GUYS AND OBEY THE LAW PEOPLE WILL SAY THINGS LIKE OMG THATS THE VIGILANTE OR THE GOOD GUY PEOPLE WILL NOT CALL THE COPS WHEN YOUR AROUND THEY WILL FEEL SAFE ANYWAY IF YOU HAVENT PLAYED IT YET I WOULD DEFINITLY GO CHECK IT OUT EVEN THOUGH GTA 5 COMES OUT ON NEXT GEN CONSOLES IN NOVEMBER HOPEFULLY THEY DONT PUSH IT BACK THIS IS STILL A GREAT GAME IN THE MEANTIME AND AFTER GTA ITS OUT STILL A PRETTY GOOD GAME TO PLAY

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

i dont like it

posted by jamesblock (DARBY, PA) Oct 2, 2014

Member since Oct 2014

This is just not my type of game it got boring after the first mission

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Lots of content, little quality

posted by angryarmytony (FAIR OAKS, CA) Oct 1, 2014

Member since Sep 2013

Watchdogs has a huge amount of content there is so much to do on this game and you are never fully done with it. At the start of the game you will have fun messing around with all of the hacking stuff that you can do and by the end it will be very useful to you for every mission that you do. At the same time though this makes missions way too easy sometimes and the hardest missions you will have are the ones where you can't hack into stuff. Story in this game is predictable, there is hardly anything in it that keeps you on the edge of your seat and the end is just gearing up for a sequel. Driving mechanics are fine but running into things can be a tad over dramatic. Mini games are very fun, you can be stuck playing a poker game for hours and it'll be more enjoyable than the story. Graphics look amazing but facial designs up close look funky and disfigured. The main character is not very enjoyable and even most of the stock characters are boring you will have a hard time remembering names of main people. The crime detection system is an interesting idea but sure enough it becomes boring repetitive side missions that do not vary. Other missions like criminal convoys, gang hideouts, and certain fixer contracts can be fun but there are so many that they also become repetitive. Overall this game is a solid game just not amazing like everyone had hoped.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I'm WATCHING this Dog game kill my expectations on

posted by KrayzieTAZ (INGLEWOOD, CA) Sep 30, 2014

Member since Aug 2013

The game is good but what kills this game is that GTA came out before it ad that made the game look worse then what it was. The biggest thing I don't like about WatchDogs is you can't hit random people walking down the street. Sometimes you just want to see how high your wanted level can get and you can't hit the NPC's that are around. the only way you can do anything to them is if you hack them. basically take money from there bank account and that gets old pretty quick. The multiplayer is pretty good once you get the hang of it. Oh and if you want to just play a online game with your friends you cat setup a private lobby to do so. If you want to but the game wait til it is under $20. That will be really soon if not already.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome-GTA w/ ON STEROIDS!

posted by Raldog1984 (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Sep 27, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

I'm not sure how the new GTA will be but this game was pretty cool. It could definitely keep you busy for a while. Lots of different types of missions and stuff. I really liked it. The past GTA games seemed to have certain missions that were nearly impossible for me to complete, or took sooooo many attempts. Watch Dogs didn't have too many of these. I thought the cars handled a lot better too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Assassins Creed IV combined with GTA V

posted by micdanchris Sep 17, 2014

When this first arrived at E3 everyone was excited for this new title: Watch Dogs. It may not lived up to its full hype but still a great new IP from Ubisoft. Graphics: Meh Gameplay: Epic Characters: Great except Aiden Story: Not bad

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by lethal_3ffect (PALACIOS, TX) Sep 17, 2014

Member since May 2011

I M O. Better than expected. The only thing I found truly missing from the game was a SILENT SNIPER RIFLE.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It's okey

posted by SgttTrey904 (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Sep 16, 2014

Member since Jan 2013

It's okay but it gets boring

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I had fun

posted by DaemonEA (DAVIS, CA) Sep 13, 2014

Member since Jun 2007

I really had fun with this game. I would say it is similar to grand theft auto and assassins creed. The end if the game is a bummer as they don't make it complex, they just throw cops at you and that means you just end up running from them. The general concern that hacking / stealth is not rewarded as you can usually just run and gun through a task is valid. But to be honest, had they fixed that I think they would have just thrown cops at you and the cops are the worst part of the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse