Rent Watch Dogs for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Watch Dogs

Rent

Keep for: $39.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $59.99

Also on:Wii U, PS3, PS4, Xbox One
GF Rating
7.6

724 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DO NOT RENT OR BUY

posted by HIGHStasis (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jul 18, 2014

Member since Oct 2013

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was insanely boring! Missions are the same, gameplay sucks, graphics are okay but really.. The only thing interesting was the chess game and find the ball game. Other than that you have lame assss driving controls, shitttty music except kid cudi, and the police chases are annoying as fuuuck! If you have the patience and time to play a lame version of gta and retardedddd reoccurring missions with the same purpose than get this. By the way wtffff is up with the hide and seek online gameplay like seriously," oh someones hacking you. better go to this location and find them before they get your info.. " wow. Fuuuck this game, fuuuck all the hype, if you see reviews with a rating of 10? Seriously ignore those reviews because this game sucks. Fuuuck you to everyone who created this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Watch your dog eat 60 bucks

posted by z99 (BROCKTON, MA) Jul 18, 2014

Member since Apr 2013

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Haven't played this game? Yes you have. If GTA and bat man had a dumb kid, this would be it. The driving was awful ( stop lying to yourself) The only thing that blew me away with this game, was the graphics, which were incredible even on 360. The hacking which was the main focus of the game, requires no skill or strategy. If you can press x you can hack. I really thought this game was going to evolve the GTA style games.

This might seem unfair, but the hype, and the wait not to mention the cost and space requirements that come with these newer games, I think I have a right to be disappointed.. and I am.

If you're thinking of buying this at full price, don't. Wait for it to drop.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Cant drive 55

posted by N2388 (PHOENIX, AZ) Jul 20, 2014

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Great concept with the hacking mechanic, but driving (which was about 50% of the game) felt like trying to drive a yacht in an ice rink .... Lets leave the open world driving part to RockStar, they know how to do it right.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Agree with the disappointment, Plus....

posted by Pazzo718 (BRONX, NY) Jul 9, 2014

Member since Mar 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

1. You can be driving completely normal and people scream and run like your driving crazy.

2. Motorcycles are in the game but no one drives one. So you can't jack one. You steal and order one.

3. Why should I care about Aiden. There is no affinity to care about him whether good or bad like most characters you spend 15-30 hours with.

4. Least they can do is give a shout out to the FDIC and NCUA. You know, for all the hard work they are doing in this 235 square mile radius of people losing money every day every week and all the time, because I'm not going to stop stealing money.

5. Don't write reviews on an iPad it's very annoying

6. This game is lazy and I'm surprised by ubisoft maybe they will fix it like they did after the first assassin creed. But this product right here is lazy. I gave it a 5 because I don't know how to make video games, and I know the people without a voice tried. But the decision makers should be ashamed for overhyping this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

So Bad I Returned It Within 2 Hours

posted by SLAPaHOE (BARTLETT, IL) Jun 21, 2014

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

WAYYY to overhyped. There is a lot of information put into the game with profiling people and stuff but my god is it bad and boring gameplay. If this came out for the Playstation 2 (yes PS2) it would be considered a DECENT game. It is seriously lacking in almost every department of a sandbox game. Very lame and repetitive hacking and skill tree. thank you, that is all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This will be Game Of The Year!

posted by Jman121 (SALEM, OR) May 25, 2014

Member since May 2012

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

This is, by far, the one of the world's greatest games ever made. The power and being a badasss hacker is an absolutely amazing experience. I swear...this game is one of the best games ever. GO GET IT!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

GTA Clone With A Big Gimmick

posted by Thanatos522 (DENNIS PORT, MA) Jun 3, 2014

Member since Feb 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

First off the game plays a lot like any other open-world game. I.E. Shooting and driving are more of how you will end up playing other than any other way.

The story is some pretty hollow tripe and I will admit that the beginning kind of looked like it could turn in a good direction but it starts to spew out some weak cliche stuff very early too.

The actual game play like I said is more of a GTA clone than anything really original, but it feels like it's hamstringing you into using the hacking mechanics more than they are useful for.

You cannot shoot and drive at the same time so you have to really just chase them until you have an opportunity to activate some sort of block or traffic light which doesn't happen as quickly as I would like. And every enemy car acts like its 10 tons when you ram it and it pushes you anywhere it wants. Cops have all that plus they are always faster.

And the bottom line on the hacking is that you may only really use it on one out of six bad guys if you feel like constantly moving forward instead of playing Splinter Cell with the game. The stealth and hacking feel so laborious when you have a silenced pistol from the absolute outset of the game and it apparently makes no sound what so ever, oh and there's bullet time, yeah.
So you can either slo-mo pop out of cover and drill guys or ping-pong between city building wall cameras for minutes waiting for guys to walk by random steam pipes.
Its fun when it works and to thin out a bunch of guys before you engage but when your forced to do it, it slows the game down because there are some strict ways that 70% of missions play out.

There is skill and progression but it is filled with a good amount of unfulfilling upgrades and hacks that never come into use for as cool as they sound. You check it out like "That's going to be a game changing Hack. Now I'm really going to be the BA hacker!" and it never happens.
Bottom line GTA clone with bad driving and a semi fun gimmick.

Re

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

game of year candidate!

posted by DBURROWN (NORTH CHARLESTON, SC) May 27, 2014

Member since May 2014

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

i only had this game for about 4 hours in im already loving it its so realistic gameplay is cool with the hacking driving could be better but graphics are gorgeous its fun to play my first review ever! but go get it i promise u wont be disapointed!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Nothing "special"

posted by bruinswin (GARDNER, MA) May 30, 2014

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I will start by saying the obvious, Watch_Dogs is overhyped. Underline, circle, and highlight that last part. Watch_Dogs feels as bland as white bread toast, from its extremely troop-y, and uninspired story, to your open-world. Watch_Dogs main mechanic, hacking can get old, and repative fast, since you will start having similar situations where the hacking must be used, and firstly hilarious NPC info turns into bland, and repative sayings. Watch_Dogs (on the XB360 at least) dabbles in false marketing. Remember Watch_Dogs at E3? Well the game looks nothing like that, the game looks like it was released in 2009, the textures can be very undetiled, and lifeless. This, for me at least, is no issue, but, others might think differently.
It is important to note that Watch_Dogs still offers a lot of open-world fun, from exploring Chicago and stopping crimes, to fighting off seemingly endless streams of police. Watch_Dogs is still a fun & rewarding game.

Watch_Dogs gets a 6.4/10 for it's fun, and thrilling gameplay, but, its extremely bland and cheesey other features. It is worth a pick-up if you find under $15-$20.

-BenThatOneGuy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not bad, could be better

posted by Generias (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) May 28, 2014

Member since Jun 2012

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Watch Dogs is a great game, if you can get past the loading screens, and I mean that both figuratively and literally. I like the game, but it loads so much, so often, for so long, it's pitiful. One moment I'm driving on a high speed chase, barreling through the city, and then the game seemingly freezes because... Why? I'm driving a motorcycle, about to go through a barrier, with plans to slow time, look back, and activate a barrier to stop a cop car so I can make my grand escape. But I'm on a road, and bam, frozen, or so I think until I see the loading icon.

Why did it load? It's an open world, so it occasionally needs to slow down and render for a few seconds, or minutes, or half an hour, or a day and a half to add and render a pedestrian five miles from where I am. Death and failure come at a painful cost, because if you fail, it's back to a loading screen for a couple of minutes.

I'm sure this issue is fixed in the other versions, but the 360, at least, needs some work. Maybe break the island up into sections and load them individually instead of all at once. I had to stop the game twice, and the second time, I put it out in the mail.

On the plus side, my first attempt lasted about four hours of driving around, stopping gangs, and doing occasional story missions when I'm not powering up my hacking abilities. But I finally unlocked Blackout, and boom, I'm suddenly stuck with the loading screen of Damocles.

The shooting was good, for what few shooting parts I went through.

The stealth was my bread and butter. In the tradition of modern games, you don't get a lot of health, or visible hit points, so if you get into a firefight, duck behind cover or you're dead in just a few short moments.

The hacks, awesome, I used them all the time, to stop the police, and steal money from bank accounts. You'll use them often.

All in all, a great game potential-wise. But the loading screens killed my experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It's alright.

posted by Engage (EL CERRITO, CA) Jul 26, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

The game is alright. The driving system is really messed up , and it kind of gets boring after a while. I already got bored of the campaign, and I am not even done halfway with Act 2. I would not recommend keeping the game, just try it out for a week or two.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The game is amazing in almost every way

posted by FiniteGamer (GLENDALE, AZ) Jul 16, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

When playing as Aiden Pierce, you get an in depth look at what it is like to be a professional hacker. You can hack almost everything, and it is such a joy to look at. Mix this with the excellent gunplay and stealth, and this is one of the most engaging games I have played. The graphics are good, but next gen consoles are superior in the visuals. The story is average, but it will keep you wanting more. Once you get into the open world, Watch Dogs offers plenty to do in the state of Chicago. Online mode is somewhat challenging, but fun once you give it a try. Overall, Watch Dogs delivers a fun experience to anyone who wants to hack like a pro. 8/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

hackers beware

posted by huckleberr (SOUTH BEND, IN) Jul 14, 2014

Member since Nov 2010

starts slow and almost feels awkward, story not good enough to keep me interested, mini-games kind of lame. expected more but did not get it maybe second one will be more of a challenge.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing game.

posted by coolcat2999 (BUCKHANNON, WV) Jul 11, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

I usually don't give a perfect 10, and in this case not full 10, but a 9.8 would be my over all rating for this game, but this site doesn't do points. I do think that this game has the makings of a possible future IP for Ubisoft to keep going. Feels smother than GTA V, and the game has a lot of options, but there is a few bugs, not sure if intuitional or not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

about game

posted by terilllittle2 (EAST SAINT LOUIS, IL) Jul 10, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

i love this game and the features that is in it. it's fun me and my fam play it all the time..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

sure it got hyped but...

posted by Tommy062870 (VERSAILLES, KY) Jul 2, 2014

Member since Nov 2011

well sure it got hyped but most games now do its not the next big thing but its still pretty solid and fun ( worth a rent )

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Blah

posted by Pcattache21 (EDGEWOOD, MD) Jun 26, 2014

Member since Oct 2011

It's basically GTA with the ability to hack stuff like street lights and cameras

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Falls Just Short

posted by theraptor2002 (CONOWINGO, MD) Jun 26, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

Falls just a bit short off ten out of ten. Gameplay is great.
Good backstory. Graphics are OK. The only problem is that they should have had the online taling and decryption feature in along with last-gen consoles Xbox 360 and PS3, and not just New-gen consoles like the Xbox One and PS4, and maybe the Wii U. Other than that, perfect game.

-made in 1597, transported in time to 2014

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Gets better as you play through.

posted by SliceNDiceOG (ATLANTA, GA) Jun 19, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

I was disappointed when I first began playing; however, as I've progressed through, it's grown on me. There are definitely some difficult challenges and missions, but nothing too over the top. At first I couldn't stand when I got hacked by other players, but now it's my favorite part of the game. In my opinion it doesn't (fully) live up to the hype, but it's still a ton of fun and I'd give it an 8.5... if I could.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Nothing to like

posted by temak82 (SCHENECTADY, NY) Jun 19, 2014

Member since Aug 2007

I will say that I am generally not a huge open world game enthusiast, but I played all GTAs and I thought they were decent, well made. This game, on the other hand, is complete waste of time. I am honestly not sure how anyone can give it anything higher than a 5.

As others have pointed out, the store is weak, graphics are so so, characters are bland. The worst thing is the repetitive gameplay.

I would not recommend this game to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game,Good story line,Just..Addicting

posted by jacpbitaylor (ORLANDO, FL) Jun 18, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

Watch_Dogs is a more of a GTA game but you get a sweet phone that hacks most everything and you bust criminals or take the other way around and ignore the crime and go your own way or choose to become a hero and stop the criminal with features such as Take downs,Road blocks,Black outs,Focus mode,and all other abilities. This is a open world game that you can use to your advantage with phone hacks you get like BlackOut:Which disables power to the whole city for a limited time,Jam scanners:It jams scanners so police cannot find you and but must use it quick. The game gives you the ability to choose your own reputation as a criminal..Or a good person..Trust me..You don't wan't your face on the t.v....gun shops don't seem to want to sell you anything if they see your face on tv! But in other things This game is great with it's storyline of a tragic back story and Aiden Pierce wanting to find the culprit who killed his niece and risks his life to find out this information... I couldn't stop playing until I fell asleep drooling on the controller... 10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Watch_Dogs : The Hyped Game of 2014

posted by Akron (NAPLES, FL) Jun 18, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

Watch_Dogs was one of the hyped games of this year. It was delayed to May 27, 2014, which made people get even excited and eager to get their hands on this game. Was the hype worth it? No, this game doesn't really deserve all the hype it got.

When I first played it, it was fun running around, hacking people, traffic lights, and stealing cars in this world. The first missions showed a lot of promise, because it had a stealth like gameplay in it, which I liked because it was all about hacking. But as I kept going through, it was the same thing over and over again. As Aiden Pearce, you also have weapons such as shotguns, pistols, and grenades. If you get caught by your enemy, it's impossible to kill them without using your guns. It's like any other 3rd person game if you have guns, which I felt Watch_Dogs shouldn't be. Being in a car chase isn't anything great either, as the driving in this game is horrible. The only way I got to get around in the game, was by using motorcycles, as they were easier to handle. Also, there are these quick time events to just press X and you get rid of those people chasing you. Where is the fun in that? Overall, the first 2 hours are fun, but it's just like an AC games, do the mission, kill people, hack the tower, and repeat, plus chase missions.

The story is alright, it's not that interesting as Aiden is trying to stop crime, but as you play as him, you yourself are doing crimes by stealing cars and killing police. But oh well, he's doing it for a reason, right?

The Xbox 360 version's presentation is not appealing. During day, the city doesn't look that great and it just doesn't appeal to me. At night is looks better, but the 360 can't do much as it's not capable of doing much better. Ubisoft most likely just made downgraded the graphics and didn't bother to optimize it.

Is the game worth buying? No, it's not much different than any other game of this genre. It's worth a rent as the game is fun, but not much else to do after

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

This is Watch Dogs not GTA

posted by Arshus (GREENWOOD, IN) Jun 17, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

E3 last year. Thats where Watch Dogs got the hype goin. That being said I think Ubi got it right here. With some setbacks its here and this is what I gotta say.
Aiden is the front man. He's tech savy. Which is cool. From his cell phone, hacking other peoples bank accounts, personal files and the like is rewarding and fun. Aiden can also manipulate the Chicago transit system which includes bridge operations, traffic lights and many more. Aiden has no problems using firepower to assist him where his cell phone fails. Automatic rifles, hand guns with silencers, you get a variety to say the least. Aidens' driving skills are solid as well. From deactivating car alarms to making a vehicle more impervious are just some of his skills. All the categories I mentioned have a skill tree(hacking, combat, driving, and crafting). Skill points are earned to increase abilities. There are plenty of ways to earn sp. From stopping crimes, to hacking cell phone towers, to invading another players game and hacking their stuff too.
The PvP (player vs player) aspect of the game is cat and mouse. There are competitive race games to but the cat and mouse games are fun and can earn you extra sp in large amounts as well as extra skills. Also the free roaming and the 8vs8 Decryption mode are for the Xbox 1 and PS4.
Game play is fun. Simple take downs or guns blazing. Hacking peoples dirty little secrets, playlists, car tags, gun shops all to add to your own is just plain fun.
Graphics are good. Not spectacular.
Sound fx are spot on. Voice acting is good not great but good.
Story has a Batman feel to it but I'm cool with that. I enjoyed it overall. Nothing thats goin to stand the test of time but enjoyable.
Out of room. Look its easy to compare a game to a triple A title. There is good stuff happening here. Judge for yourself. Rent it, like it, buy it if you like. Thanks for your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Watch Dogs (CONTAINS SPOILERS!)

posted by Noobcake55 (SOMERSWORTH, NH) Jun 17, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

So, first when I put the download disc in I was so surprised! My internet is slow, so my downloads are too. GTA 5 took me a hour and a half to download. Watch Dogs took a half hour if that! When I started playing I wasn't interested in story, but it grew on me. THIS SENTENCE CONTAINS A SPOILER: The way you kill some people is AMAZING! Like, Mr. Quinn! (Why is a pacemaker connected to CT0S though? lol) Then I was half expecting Jody (If that's how you spell his name) to turn on you, but I didn't think it would happen litterly 30 seconds before credits. (SPOILERS DONE NOW) Over all this was an amazing game, and not even The Walking Dead was as sad as this got at one point. This was an amazing game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great

posted by theman4156 (SCHENECTADY, NY) Jun 16, 2014

Member since Nov 2013

ai have to say is watch dogs was wat better then granleft auto,you can do so much in this game its craz.alsome game beat it already but still playing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse