Rent Watch Dogs for PS3
view large frontback

Watch Dogs

Rent

Keep for: $34.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.2

883 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

not what we saw

posted by junaid_aljunaid Sep 12, 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

In e3 it was supercool but now its not that good ;(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A solid title.. if uninspired. (No spoilers)

posted by Celor997 (FREDERICK, MD) Jun 5, 2014

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Okay, first off, I wasn't actually looking forward to this game really; it had been off my radar for a while. A friend recently linked me loads of content, so I added it to my game queue, and gave it a shot, and after about ten hours of playing the game, it's a solid title.. but it's just solidly average.

And, frankly, the reason I feel it's only average is due to the fact that mechanics are nothing we haven't seen before--the shooting works, the open-world is alright if somewhat dull and lackluster, but the world itself is AMAZING. I really want more on the history of the world, aside from fan rumors saying "this is what happened when Abstergo took over Chicago!!!" (Wouldn't shock me if that were the case, though.)

Overall, this is not the killer-app everyone said it was going to be, but it's a solid title, and not a bad game at all. It's a lot of fun to play, the online mechanics are fairly average, but do the job, and that's really all I can say about the game: it does what it was made to do.

Overall, give it a go if you want a semi-futuristic sandbox and to feel like a 'hacking genius.' Otherwise, honestly.. GTA V is the more solid title.

The good:
Visuals (even on PS3) are superb!
Atmosphere is amazing!
The game is responsive and controls well.

The bad:
The soundtrack (this is my personal opinion) only had a few good songs.
The main character and his story are dull, and the character motivation is somewhat weak.

The ehhhh...:
The game is pretty gray (though, it IS an accurate depiction of Chicago..)
The hacking is somewhat weak; it's generally "hold Square to make something happen"

Again, this isn't a bad game, but it is not a must-buy; I'd give it a rating of: "Rent it and give it a go; there are worse ways to spend time."

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Big disappointment

posted by Longtimegamer (BELOIT, WI) Jun 4, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I have been looking forward to playing this for months, what a let down. Hacking is meh, single button press, that's it. The driving is beyond awful, terrible arcade type driving with lame button presses to create obstacles. Graphics on ps3 are no better than okay. Go back to playing Gta 5 if you want fun driving action. The extra development time didn't really do much from what I see. This is okay for a rental, but there are much better games out there for your money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The hype is justified

posted by Arshus (GREENWOOD, IN) May 29, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

Watchdogs is the one game from E3 that was talked about over and over. Finally, after a few minor setbacks its here. That being said lets get to it.
Aiden Pearce is our main character. He is solid as a front man to this title that most will undoubtedly connect with. Utilizing a smartphone to hack almost any and everything connected to the net is impressive and very rewarding. From residents dirty little secrets, to camera systems, bank accounts, ATMs, car alarms, communication systems, the Chicago transit systems including bridge control, traffic lights, and many more.
Granted all of these wonderful abilities are not yours to start off with. There are skill trees (hacking, combat, driving, crafting) skill points, and a leveling system.
There are plenty of things to do to acquire SP. Scanning for crimes, hacking net towers, PvP online (getting to that) is most rewarding. There is plenty of content. To attempt to cover it all cannot be done in this review. Rest assured that you will find plenty to do.
Online is much like cat and mouse. Either your being hacked or your doing the hacking. Their are races as well but the cat and mouse games are where its at. Again to much content to cover. One more thing. PS3 will not have a free roam or the 8 vs 8 Decryption modes. That is for the PS4 and Xbox 1
Graphics are stellar. Tons of eye candy. Detail, detail, and detail. The effort to put Watchdogs together needs to be studied and duplicated for all other games. Anything less is just unacceptable for my $60.
Sound FX. Again, detail, effort, professionalism. Cut scenes are spot on. Music, across the board is decent. Wish I could upload my own but I'm satisfied.
Story is good. Not to cliche. Kind of felt a Batman element here but I'm good with that. Characters are involving gripping, and solid.
Game play is good. The city is your playground.
Out of room. Good, fun, original. Rent it, love it, buy it. Thanks for your time. Hack on!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

10 stars

posted by Mr_Sato (MANNINGTON, WV) May 31, 2014

Member since May 2014

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

A lot of people have compared this game to GTA5 and give there reviews based off of what they think it should be like. The truth is its not GTA 5 so stop treating it like it is. This is watchdogs an excellent game where you can do your own thing you can be a vigilante or a menace to society. Though people say the driving is cartoonish I feel its better this way makes it easier to handle the car and to use you hacking ability on the move. The story line is only 5 acts long and is based on revenge but the overall gameplay takes far more than a couple of hours you can unlock new missions by finding the collectibles such as shutting down kidnapping and prostitution rings, as well as finding a serial killer. There is a lot more to this game than merely playing the story.

Also for those of you that want to know more about the music its just like a playlist off your iphone or whatever you skip songs and edit your playlist and it carries over to your cars as well. you can find new music by hacking into phones on the street or stereos in some stores. They have a lot of old but good songs.

This game also has hidden easter-eggs of other games. A couple I found were references to Assasins Creed and Raving Rabids. I'm sure there are more as well.

for my ratings I give graphics a 9.5
story 10
controls 8.5

My advice to you all who want to enjoy this game as it was meant to be enjoyed, Stop comparing it to other titles and play this game. Judge for yourselves if its as good as GTA 5 or whatever in my opinion its way better than GTA 5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Just Another Bad Ripoff

posted by Leo_Bottoms (LA HABRA, CA) Jul 8, 2014

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Grand Theft Auto 4 appears to be popular during the game's production, or at least that's what I can surmise from the boring and outright lifted gameplay that pales in comparison. The control scheme is quite different, in that the controls are not conducive to shooting which is approximately 60 percent of the game and the driving mechanics are like every road is paved with ice which is another 30 percent. Want to reload? Click the left stick. And you'll need to reload a lot because bullets aren't very effective against guys wearing hoodies. Want to powerslide? Don't try, you're going to spin out of control and probably flip your car. The last 10 percent is hacking minigames, which are by far as simple as pressing the square button to do an action that has very limited effects, in that they are limited to scripting events where the game mandates you press the square button to continue.

As for the story, it is boring, convoluted, filled with characters who are stereotypes of what is popular of the current age such as the Lisbeth character from Girl With The Dragon Tattoo shoehorned in for a few bit pieces and the handicapable hacker.

The game essentially goes out of it's way to not be fun. It's not just that they aren't trying to make the game fun, the developers actively made the game less fun. It's very advisable to play offline to make the game less annoyingly because if you do not then other "hackers" will intrude into the game to interrupt your commute to the next mission and force a 5-10 minute search for them before they can get points at no cost to yourself. This system is not fun for the player as the winning or losing grants no long-term benefits. The game may be a "sandbox" in that you can travel anywhere on the streets in the game world but that sandbox has nothing much to do in it.

In short: Don't buy the game or play it. It's sub-standard and actively goes out of its way to be not fun and not enjoyable. The game developers don't WANT you to hav

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Poorly done clone

posted by Love4Games (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jun 8, 2014

Member since May 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

No real character development. Everything (including the story) feels clunky. If you feel like playing a really poorly done grand theft auto that stole ideas from batman and others then have at it. I beat this game because I finish what I start but I wouldn't suggest it or play it again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Hugely disappointing

posted by SonnyBone (CARNESVILLE, GA) Jun 6, 2014

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is probably the biggest letdown of the entire PS3/360 generation, and one of the worst examples of a developer cutting corners after a publisher sets unrealistic goals. Bugs and glitches, poor pacing, illogical scenarios, inconsistent characters, and an insulting amount of handholding plague what could've been a great experience. While Watch Dogs does have a great 'wanted' system with multiple stages of alert, evasion, and escape, it is unfortunately far too easy to bypass due to the JamComs being an overpowered and easily obtainable item. In this case, the game's greatest strength serves as a reminder that the rest of the game just isn't very well pieced together, which makes the game resemble a patchwork quilt of mechanics ripped from other Ubisoft open world games, all held together by an incredibly flimsy story with far too many inconsistencies. Hacking is merely a series of environmental triggers attached to a single button press, and the unimportant 'reputation' system exists for almost no reason as karma plays no true role in the progression of the story or a player's personal progress. The biggest offender, as usual in Ubisoft games, is the predictable story with huge plot holes, cliche characters, illogical scenarios, and a complete lack of attention to detail that makes the Watch Dogs world feel as believable as the Mushroom Kingdom. If you love Assassin's Creed and GTA-style open world games that feature less than half the polish of those franchises, then Watch Dogs is the game for you. Everyone else... stay away.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

GTA minus the fun

posted by FitzMadrid (TEMPE, AZ) May 30, 2014

Member since Aug 2008

6 out of 14 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

The best way to explain Watch Dogs is this: you cant shoot from a moving car but you can text while driving.

Watch Dogs is to GTA5 as Mumford and Sons is to Slayer. The have so much in common (guys with guitars making music, play big shows, sell lots of albums, many many fans, ect ect) but its in their differences that they are defined.

Watch Dogs is just awful.

Not awful like a suicide bomber or like how genocide is awful. But awful in a 'first world problems' way sort of awful. And video games are first world entertainment so its fails terribly.

Egads it sucks. Its a bad game and the guys who made it should feel bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Grand Theft Auto 5.5

posted by UFAME (LOCKHART, TX) May 30, 2014

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

It's a dumbed down version of GTA. The cars feel more sluggish, the online multiplayer isn't to fun, hacking isn't as great as it was made out to be(control the city my ¤bleep¤, story is just one of revenge(nothing special), the graphics are meh, seen a lot better for what the PS3 can do and they spent such a long time to release this game. Let's go back to the story, it's short, very short. This game is fun to play I definitely recommend renting it but also definitely overhyped.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This game for the PS3 depends on the gamer.

posted by bob226 (GREENSBORO, NC) Jun 2, 2014

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Now first off I have played the game on the PS4 and I highly prefer that version. But saying that this version is not terrible. It is still very fun, and enjoyable. Now we have all heard that the graphics are terrible on the PS3, but if you can get past them being just okay it is not horrible. The gameplay is what makes this game great! The hacking and coding, and overall just feeling like a boss from the start of the game really makes you love the game.

Looking back at the game the gameplay is really the only thing that goes well on this game the main character is kind of boring (Batman type we see everywhere now), and the plot is very predictable. The driving is not as bad as everyone says although not the best.

PROS

AMAZING gameplay
Fun
A lot to do you can probably play this game for a very long time if you dont go from main mission to main mission which I find hard to do anyway.
Sneaking around
AI is great but could be improved
Multiplayer!

CONS
Graphics
Driving
Lack of personality in many characters
predicable plot
Would love to see more things be more realistic in both versions
Developers pride their AI systems, but there is still SOOOO much more that can be done.
Multiplayer is fun for maybe an hour, but I got bored with it playing AI characters are more fun with side missions etc.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

pretty good not great

posted by gatorchron (LAS VEGAS, NV) May 30, 2014

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game it's fun I guess if you like games driving shooting and racing and stuff this game it's like GTA and Saint row games mostly feel like Saint row more less they have some activity side mission like there is theif vehicle like saint row 3 but this one you have cop chase you when you loose it there these yellow bubbles on your map try to get together when they do cops will find you and stuff don't really like it. Also dont like about this game is that the vehicles is really slippery it's like all over the place it's hard to turn you pretty much crash everything try to get away from cops they need to make easy to drive. But other then that this game it's good for rent or buy I haven't beat this game because I just don't like this game has much but it's really good tho like you can hack every machine like hack people cell and get money from ther bank and go to atm and take there money. And also what so cool you can hack cameras and trafflic lights and blockage if a cop it's chasein you also the aim it's pretty bad but after you upgrade the aim and stuff it's good I guess. If you like Saint row or GTA rent this game or buy better rent it first.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Watch Dogs

posted by GAMESRAWESOME (APACHE JUNCTION, AZ) May 28, 2014

Member since May 2014

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Really good game, the hacking is a really good add.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

watch dogs

posted by nrajput (FORT WORTH, TX) Sep 21, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

The game watch dogs was OK but I wouldn't but it for my self

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

to this site

posted by JoeA03 (WOODSIDE, NY) Sep 20, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

Didn't get to play it because it doesn't work.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Watch Dogs

posted by Erix (NEW CASTLE, IN) Sep 19, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

Not sure why but it never got past the load screen. Even called sony who didnt have good things to say about the game either. We let it load for 90 minutes and never saw anything but that load screen. Thats not normal. I thought Ubisoft was better than that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

hopefull yet fuuuuuuuukkkkdddd

posted by aliceirishxn7 (EL MIRAGE, AZ) Sep 15, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

Glichhhhh&hhhhhhjjjjjjjjjjjjjj gggggggliichhhhhh dum more x lagged on me missions & erased me save file 9time s

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Wasn't worth the hype.

posted by Wickid (HAMMOND, IN) Sep 13, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

Loved that it was in Chicago but the graphics and gameplay wasn't the best. Storyline was ohk that's why I gave it a six but the way it looked when driving was pretty lame.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible!!!!

posted by Nickjohnson159 (STUART, FL) Aug 31, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

this is one of the worst games i ever played, sure the graphics are good, and the control layout is ok, but the game play is horrible, the story line is very poor, and very repetitive. Anticipated this game for a while and i am so glad i didn't purchase it. rented for 2 days and returned.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Extremely Glitchy (Watch out I'll cover you)

posted by VentusWW2 (HENDERSON, NV) Aug 29, 2014

Member since Jan 2012

This game, while backed by a huge amount of hype, hardly met the standards of the "superb, innovative, and promising," title that we got back at E3. We were promised a fun, hacking themed 3rd person game. And while we did get the game it was hardly any fun. The gameplay is fine for the most part other than the weird control choices, and the story is whatever. But, where this game falls short is it's glitches, OH MAN THE GLITCHES. I had to reset my checkpoint many times due to glitches that didn't allow me to continue. And the audio at times would either clip or repeat itself to the point to where I received a migraine. At one point I had to turn off my game because the audio from my game kept saying: "WATCH OUT I'LL COVER YOU," which is a default saying from the enemy AI. Overall, I wasn't impressed in fact I was sad because I too was behind the hype train.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Waste of time

posted by nephilimx23 (MIAMI, FL) Aug 29, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

The game was damaged. I wasted my time installing it to tell me the game is damaged.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I enjoyed the heck out of this game

posted by NuttyCracker (CAMARILLO, CA) Aug 28, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

Get it. When the credits rolled I sat in my chair and said "That was so sic." You'll like it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

damaged

posted by roachboy740 (WOODSFIELD, OH) Aug 20, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

the game didn't work

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Excessive loading times.

posted by Joshua3886 (ARCADIA, CA) Aug 15, 2014

Member since Oct 2009

A good minute and a half to load the game between missions. It makes redoing a failed mission a huge chore because you are sitting there looking at a loading screen for several minutes and the same hassle goes for fast travel.
The driving mechanics are worse than Saints Row, very unrealistic and the cars have a tendency to jerk around unexpectedly.
The shooting ability is okay, but not great.
The best thing I can say about this game is that it has a great idea. This is definitely worth renting if you've been looking for something new, but the innovative idea is executed poorly. So make sure you rent before you buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Assassin's Creed on steroids

posted by QOG89 (DAVIE, FL) Aug 13, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

The way I describe this game to my friends: “Its like Assassin’s Creed on steroids!” This game has great detail so any gamer can play their own way. What I mean: if you prefer to hide and stalk, you can; if you prefer to storm through guns-a-blazing, you CAN; if you prefer to whiz through the main missions/storyline only, YOU CAN. This game explores the ever growing hacker concept that allows “joe-schmo” to become important and, if he/she wishes, to be a hero. Similar to Fable, the gamer can choose the vigilante path or the self-interested rogue path. I loved how the missions could be completed in different ways with alternative point-of-attack methods. Overall excellent visual and audio graphics with smooth gameplay. The only thing that annoyed me was the long load time after dying during a mission, which may have something to do with my older PS3 model.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse