Rent Warship Gunner 2 for PS2
view large frontback

Warship Gunner 2

Not Rentable
GF Rating
6.4

407 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Worth Looking at Without a Doubt

posted by Darfix (MENASHA, WI) Apr 14, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

10 out of 10 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you were a fan of Koei's Naval Ops Commander or Warship Gunner 1 for PS2, passing up this game would be a sin in the Gamer's dictionary.

Warship Gunner 2 doesn't do a GREAT deal to improve on the original, but the slightly improved graphics coupled by the new in-game engine is definitely worth honorable mention at the very least. The game still goes off on the same path the previous titles did, start with a pretty basic story and a basic destroyer, play missions to make money and research better technology to build custom ships or buy your own.

Some things I did like about this new Warship Gunner, is you no longer are looking at your ship from a "helicopter" point of view in the game. You have a camera you can adjust in, out, left, right, in any direction that would be fitting to a sphere around your vessel, which makes combat much more enjoyable if you ask me. The story is pretty bland, but I do like how they go on real countries (aside from your Wilkia) instead of the nameless ones in the previous titles (despite using Japanese, German, UK, and US ships). The new research and development is rather useful as well. You no longer have to dump a crazy sum of funds into a technology and then buy the parts you just researched. Instead, you spend a fair sum of funds, and a few turns go by before you finish the research. After doing so, you don't have to buy the parts, they are unlimited, a nice addition.

Some misses, however, are the lack of voice acting and great deal of reading. The voice acting in Warship Gunner 1 left much to be desired, but at least it was there. I am also rather disappointed with the recycling of the superships (bosses) from the first, but...

All in all, if you love naval combat, designing weapons of mass destruction, or any good simulator/strategy game, do yourself a favor and rent it from Gamefly now. I don't have intentions of returning my copy anytime soon ;)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Koei Strikes Again

posted by Evilpoptrt (WYANDOTTE, MI) May 10, 2006

Member since May 2006

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Naval Ops.....how do I love thee? Let me count the ways....1001...1002....

Warship Gunner 2 is everything that the original was, and 100x more. More stages, branching story lines, more boats, and of course most importantly, more parts to design your ships. Naval Ops fans will find themselves right at home.

With 100+ stages and tons of extras, this game will keep you occupied for hours on end. If you're one of those who play a game until it's 100% completed...it's going to be a while. With 1500 parts to develop and 4 extra modes of play, there is enough for any would be admiral.

My only major gripe would be the fact it takes 3+ trips through the game to complete your parts lists. It's time consuming for sure.

If you like games developed by Koei, you can't go wrong with Warship Gunner 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better than the first

posted by Greg1980 (CANDLER, NC) Jan 26, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I am a big fan of the first Warship Gunner, even though it did have a few faults. It seems that most of the problems with the first installment were fixed in the second. The massively expanded R&D section was pretty cool. Also, the fact that you can use the components from different countries on one ship definitely makes each ship you design unique. It would've been kinda cool to have some kind of multi-player system, kind of like Aces High but on the high seas.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A better sequel.

posted by GooberOT (BREMERTON, WA) Apr 23, 2006

Member since Jul 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Warship Gunner 2 is a great step up from the first one. It has a good replay value with different story lines. Play it through afew times to completely unlock all the weapons, ship hulls, and items. If your short on cash you can replay the training missions over and over to build up your cash fund. All in all it is a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fantastic

posted by Turtleman (CRANSTON, RI) May 10, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I think Warship Gunner 2 is Fantastic. Gameplay is fun, graphic are great sound quality is beatiful. The only problem I have, is that the characters don't talk, and that's it, the captions are ok, but voice would be great. Other than that, it's awsome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Warship Gunner2

posted by jcsmith34 (MOUNT PLEASANT, SC) Apr 24, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This is a great game. You can move the warship around and elminate targets. There is even a sub
that goes under water. I think it is a great game because there are many different levels.
Iyou are a gamer like me , make sure you rent this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

This Game Is Lame

posted by jesus0 (WACCABUC, NY) Jun 15, 2006

Member since Mar 2005

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game is fine if you like sitting on a boat and waiting for things to happen. If you like FPS or any other action oriented games, this game is not for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not Really A Strategic Game

posted by Nameless (SAN JOSE, CA) Jun 19, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2005

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Warship Gunner 2 didn't seem much as a strategy/sim game, it seemed more like a shooter. There's really no strategy because they put you in the middle of a battle by yourself in most of the missions, which there is tons of enemies. So all you can really do is blow everything up and run strait through them. Also you should know there is a lot of missions, over 100. The missions aren't short either, a lot of them are over an hour. The graphics for this are ok, the water and sky are detailed pretty good. The gameplay is pretty hard to get used to, there's a lot of training sequences just for the controls. I would say that's the only thing that is strategic about this game. Overall this game isn't very good, mostly because it's so long. I didn't even bother beating it. So I would only recommend this to someone who doesn't have a life.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

multi-tasking wonder

posted by lildawg (IDA GROVE, IA) Oct 21, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

Excellent multi-tasking game. Attack from the air, surface, or underwater without changing modes.
Loved it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

insanely great

posted by taconater (MAMMOTH, AZ) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Jun 2006

great game i recommend it to anyone who enjoyed "naval ops warshipgunner" which I also recommend be warned because if you save on your regular file while playing survival you may have to start your game all over again i did
p.s. remember kids underage cigar
smoking is against the law so smoke
salami or nothing at all! if you play the secret missions youll know what i'm talking about

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty fun, lots of waiting for combat

posted by bigdog63 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Dec 29, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

It was quite an intense game at times and really fun. There were a lot of options to arm your ship. There were countless options for propulsion and systems. It seems overwhelming at times but it leads to different ways to defeat your enemies. If you did what i did and repeat a lot of the previous levels to get money for weapons you won't have a problem with the bosses at the beginning. However they quickly gain outside help from other units as well as their weapons getting stronger. One of the major flaws though is that you have to wait for a few minutes at times to fire a single shot. But at times the waiting is worth it because it gives you time to grab health and ammo as well as decide which enemies to engage. The storyline has three paths, I was only able to unlock two and the third one I have yet to start. The storyline doesn't distinguish itself but it does provide some entertainment as you complete the missions. Overall though it is a fun game with numerous ways to finish missions. I would recommend it to those who are willing to wait for intense battles as well as good water physics. Have fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

If you really want to know what this game is like.

posted by thebob (SHAKOPEE, MN) Oct 30, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

I feel like this game has been poorly created. U have to read what the character is saying in a Anime style that gets old after a while. It only took me an hour and half of mind melting reading before I had a chance to actually steer a ship. The control setup was very complex and hard to coordinate. I paid more attention on remembering witch button did what, than I did on the hoards of apposing gunner ships shooting at me. After two and a half hours of finger cramping button pushing, I finally got to build my own ship. Just when I thought it was getting interesting, I got struck with a ship building tutorial that took forever. After starring blankly I felt like I kept playing just to see if it got better. After doing twenty minutes of more mind melting reading, I had to figure out how to build the ship myself. I think the ship building process is too complex. Too complex in fact a brain Surgent would start crying because he couldn't figure it out. Just to give you an idea on how I feel about this game, the only fun part of this game is the game play and that had finger cramping button pushing. This game could have been put together better by a autistic person with the brain capacity of a tree year old. I would rather play dance dance revolution than war ship gunner. It should have been called bore ship gunner. I wish I could get that six hours of my life back. It's simply too complex for it's own good. They could have cut down on the complexity of it and thrown in a narrator so my eyes wouldn't bleed from all the reading. Maybe even some characters who had more than two facial expressions and actually spoke for them selves. I want a war game the grabs me by the short hairs. Not one that makes me push my imagination to the limit. I didn't feel like I was steering a floating messenger of death. I felt like I was steering an r/c boat in a puddle at best.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Warship Gunner, What the tarnation?!

posted by MrHater (ACWORTH, GA) Jul 10, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

I know i didnt play this game through the first level, but what the tarnation is the big idea with all the japp and nassi bs? starting you out in 1939 asia and friends with the japs and the "German Republic" or freakin Nazis and all the japanamation nonsense. I dont care where that crazy game was going, I am not freakin going to be friends with WWII japs and ESPECIALLY NAZIS!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty good, woth a try.

posted by buffit02 (PORT ORANGE, FL) Jun 27, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

Plenty of stages, the story scenes are cheesey, but other than that I liket it more than the first one and I own that one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Bad game

posted by wicca40379 (HANCOCK, MI) Jun 23, 2006

Member since May 2006

oh my god this game was the worse thought the first install ment was dumb, I played it for like 10 mins and i got bored the game is horrible graphics are not that good either and you think that they would have a better story line, but hey cant dis everything some things were cool in the game but that was it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »