Rent Warriors: Orochi 3 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Warriors: Orochi 3

Rent

Keep for: $19.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $19.99

GF Rating
7.7

912 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

For the fans

posted by ScottP (NOTTINGHAM, MD) Mar 28, 2012

Member since Aug 2008

30 out of 32 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

Warriors Orochi 3 is a game that won't receive mainstream praise. The reasons are varied, but among them are the fact that the voice tracks are only in Japanese and the combat is mainly just hack and slash to a dark world filled with demons. To fans of the series, this is just what the doctor ordered. This being my first Orochi game (I'm a big Dynasty Warriors fan though) I am pleasantly surprised by the enemy types and the similarities to the other series. I wish there was an English track because it can get hard reading subtitles and knowing where you are on the battlefield but it's not so bad. The graphics are what you would expect and the enemies are awesomely demonic.

If you are new to the series and love hack and slash games, this is a good game to rent. Fans will have to compare the previous version of the game to this one and see if it's worth a purchase. For everyone else, you might want to look elsewhere because if you didn't like these types of games in the past, you most likely won't like this one or have your mind changed anytime soon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

UNLOCKS! YAAAAAAAAY!

posted by Celor997 (FREDERICK, MD) May 29, 2012

Member since Jan 2009

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm serious when I say that this is one of the most time-consuming games I've ever played. I'm also serious when I say I've enjoyed every minute of it thus far.

Now, Warriors Orochi 3 continues the storyline from Warriors Orochi 2. Haven't played Warriors Orochi 2? Me neither! And I've managed to figure out the storyline just fine. Essentially, the Japanese snake/demon Orochi (the snake), has brought together the heroes of the Three Kingdoms era of China (Dynasty Warriors) and heroes of the Sengoku Era of Japan (Samurai Warriors) and... I dunno. He basically wants all-power or something; I can't recall the plots from the previous games.

This one has to do with time travel. Don't worry, it works fairly well as a plot device, and takes a more Back To The Future way of altering the past to change the future. (Though, not quite as humorous or epic.)

So, the game's a hack-n-slasher, all about annihilating vast quantities of enemies. That's about it. There isn't a great deal of strategy involved in this game aside from kill this guy, THEN kill that guy.

Still, this game's a good rental when you've got nothing else to do. The graphics are passable, the character interactions are amusing, and the controls are tight. The game does have Japanese-only voice acting, so if you've an issue with it, look elsewhere.

So, here's my final words:

Pros:
+Entertaining gameplay
+120 characters to unlock and upgrade (and each of them has several weapon variants, meaning if you want each.. it's gonna take a while.)
+Great character interactions (characters have loads of unique dialogue to exchange, and the vast majority of it is voiced)
+Megaboss battles (huge monster bosses are in certain stages)

Cons:
-Weak story (though, did we really expect a grand story from Tecmo-Koei?)
-No English voice track (nitpicking, I know)

Overall:
This game's a great rent, or even a decent buy. Loads of content for the price, and the local co-op is always entertaining.

I l

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Orochi 3 Good and the bad

posted by JincKs (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Mar 31, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

13 out of 14 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

The Game it self is beautiful being able to play as 120+ characters is a 1st for W-Force. The way the story plays out its fun and interesting kept me busy trying to get rare items and weapons. But some levels may seem like they are the same and can get boring to some. Game play is smooth except the jumping... but each character has his/her own unique moves and movements and special moves. To all the true Dynasty Warrior/Samurai Warrior fans this game is a must have. New character interactions you get to play as Ryu Hayabusa with his moves from the Ninja Gaiden series. Plus there are a few endings good/bad/and true getting all of the people necessary for the true ending is time consuming and may turn into a bit of a grind fest. but the characters you get after getting the true ending are insane. If You love a hack and slash video game this game is it, Tons of characters to choose from and hours of gameplay plus you are also able to create your own map and make it how you like it. also there is 2 player online co-op as well as offline co-op. This game is a awesome edition to the Franchise

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game for fans of DW/SW

posted by James5955 (FALL CITY, WA) Jun 11, 2012

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I got this game for my GF and we've been playing it over the last couple of days.. it's pretty awesome, we're both fans of the Dynasty Warriors series and we had never played a Warriors Orochi game. Over the course of the last couple of months we've been playing Samurai Warriors. When I saw that this game had DW, SW AND other misc. characters from other games like Ryu (Ninja Gaiden) I had to check it out.

At first I was a bit thrown off by there being no English voice acting but it had English titles and I can read so all is good.

The gameplay itself is great, one thing that has been annoying me about DW/SW lately is that I usually only find a few weapons that I enjoy using and the rest are "meh" which means out of the fairly low character count to choose from I only actually want to play a small percentage. However in Warriors Orochi 3 I find myself enjoying a lot of these characters because they all seem to have different move sets (so far anyway, having played ~18 different people now). Some of the characters (like Ryu) seemed to be a bit bland with their move sets at first but as they grow stronger it gets much more interesting and fun.

There are so many characters to choose from it's insane, some matches we unlock like 4 people and I enjoy checking them all out so it's always something new.

The graphics are great and overall I only have 2 bad things to say about this game...

1. Playing split screen sucks, at least for player 2 because the dialogue blocks a huge portion of your half of the screen, you can see through it but it's really annoying considering how much talking there is.

2. A lot of demon officers have the same skin (costume, sprite, whatever) but with slightly different names. Not that big of a deal since there are usually DW/SW/Other officers in the mix that you run into.

I recommend it to any Koei hack and slash lovers! A lot of enemies, a lot of characters, big maps, lots of weapons, fun gameplay, good times to be had!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The Best Orochi Yet

posted by GameboyID (HOSCHTON, GA) Jul 9, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

5 different franchises add together with 3 others to create the biggest Warriors game ever. I would've rated it higher, but after story mode, nothing else is worth playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Wonderful game

posted by MarcoPR1 (ORANGE PARK, FL) Jun 30, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is an exceptional game... there is nothing more to say... this game is tremendous.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Well I mean much better than the others

posted by popokata (PACIFIC PALISADES, CA) Apr 29, 2012

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If your a fan of Dynasty Warriors or anything hack n slash then stop reading this and rent it already. But if your NOT a fan of any of those things and have never played a Dynasty Warriors or anything hack n slash then keep reading. First thing you will notice is that this is the only KOEI game that got over 70 on Metacritic or by any game critic. Then if you see the back it will say 120 playable characters, and yes this is true. You will play as every character when you play the story mode, (which is insanely long) so if you like a lot of content you should have more interest in this title now. And again this is a KOEI title so if you hate hack n slashes then you should never look at this title again because this is A VERY HARDCORE ONE. Graphics are okay, not that great but acceptable. Then there are all of the modes, there is over 5 and can keep fans of this game occupied for many months. The AI are very stupid, (Like any other KOEI titles) and are very easy to kill. Now I feel like I have covered everything you need to know accept for this. This game includes characters from other franchises besides Samurai Warriors and Dynasty Warriors it includes Ryu from Ninja Gaiden and also a girl from DOA. Fun fact, that is actually the reason why I rented it just to play as Ryu and this is also good to know, that he is the best character in the game BY FAR for me.
anyway this title gets a 7.5/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A long grind, but one well worth it

posted by DaBeast_xGDx (PEORIA, AZ) Apr 12, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I can honestly say that out of the three Orochi games, 3 will most definitely be known as the best one. With over 120 characters to play as made up of Dynasty Warriors and Samurai Warriors characters, both transferred from DW7/SW3 and brought back from previous titles, you will be having quite a bit of fun. Also, for the first time, the game will feature characters from other Tecmo/Koei games such as Bladestorm, Warriors of Troy, and even Dead or Alive (yes the fighting game Dead or Alive). The story has more depth to it compared to the other two games and unlike the others, is not totally linear. There is some grinding in the game, but no where nearly as bad as WO2.

Like playing co-op? You can play with your friends, whether they are next to you on the couch or at their house online.

If you are a fan of either series, this game is a must have. There are months upon months of replay value. You will not regret purchasing this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

If your a DW/SW fan, this is a must

posted by Beau9488 (NEW BEDFORD, MA) Apr 8, 2012

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Speaking as a die hard fan of Dynasty Warriors, and having played the PS2 Samurai Warriors games, I might go as far as to say this could be one of the best, funnest additions to the series.

The storyline takes a new crazy turn, time travel. It can get pretty confusing, and your going to be revisiting levels A LOT to recruit officers, but overall it's kind of interesting. Like the previous 2 Orochi games they do a good job of blending the characters together. There are still a couple challenge levels, mainly to just recruit hidden officers and cool cut-scenes. And with over 120 unique officers, most enhanced or brand new to the game, you can't go wrong. A few special appearances too, that's a first for these games. You are going to be putting a lot of hours in if you want them all!

Only thing more fun than killing 1000's of warriors is doing it with a friend in 2p co-op, which has online play. Split screen couch co-op is still there for the old school fans

The stages are crafted excellently, some of which were directly taken from the latest installments in the franchise. The music/sounds are good, after a while the grunts and music sort of just tunes out :b There is even "Musuo Mode" where you can customize the levels yourself, adding in pre written dialogue, officers, sound, and enemy variants.

As far as the negatives, there are no English voice-overs. It's not a huge deal, you just have to do a lot of reading and you might miss hearing objectives now and then. But Koei is usually good with that stuff so I wouldn't be surprised to see English dubs DLC in the future.

If you want my honest opinion, if you are brand new to this series (Dynasty Warriors/Samurai Warriors), this is not the game to start with. Too confusing for new players and the Japanese voices can throw you off. But for true fans, this is a must play. I think it is well worth the $60, but if your skeptical about it than rent it. You won't regret it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

You're in for a treat

posted by VagabondKing (CLEVELAND, OH) Apr 1, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Koei really went back to what the warriors games used to be. The controls and gameplay are improved even more than in dynasty warriors 7. Battles in this game are much more large scale, and in my opinion that's awesome. There is as well a lot more strategy because of the super large scale battles. The new characters are very well done as well; adding actual "new" unheard of characters, and characters like Ryun hayabusa(ninja garden), Joan of arc, Achilles, ayane(dead or alive 4), and Nemea(trinity).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

This is awesome!... I guess... Kind of...

posted by angryarmytony (FAIR OAKS, CA) Sep 30, 2013

Member since Sep 2013

This is a game a very few amount of people will hear about, and even fewer play this game which is disappointing because these games are great! I strongly suggest before playing this game, play the latest Dynasty Warriors, Samurai Warriors, and both Orochi games before this game it will help you understand these characters more and feel for them. This game allows the you to use 3 characters at the same time and has over 120 playable characters which allows great replayability to find the best 3 you can get and each has their own special attacks and combos. Where this game fails in all of its goodness without English speakers most players will most likely skip through before and after dialogue. Also, this game adds additional characters from outside of its series however not doing much with them at least not as much as they could have. One of the biggest problems I had with this game is that you have to defeat a commander or 2 in order to pass through a gate which wont open until the battle log says it is opening which becomes very annoying. The ending (which I will not reveal) was not as epic or mind blowing I was hoping it would be. Despite its downfalls, I spent over 20 hours on this game and still have not started on the map maker yet. This game is a great game it could just use some polishing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Perfect Ommage for Warriors Fans

posted by JDracovia129 (MISHAWAKA, IN) May 21, 2013

Member since Aug 2012

For the common people who know about Koei's game play, they might think this as just an average hack n slash, which to them, is boring. BUT, if you really engage yourself into this game, this game is helluva good time.

The story is actually really good. Here's the gist without spoilers. Some time after Warriors Orochi 2, a giant Hydra comes out of nowhere, and starts killing everyone. Orochi's previous lackey, Kiyomori Taira, is also mind controlling some of the named (playable) officers, and add them to his ranks. There are three survivors, Hanbei Takenaka, Sima Zhao, and Ma Chao who decide a last ditch effort. They fail however, and are rescued by the time traveler Kaguya. Now they are traveling through time, undoing the spell of Kiyomori, and saving people who originally died.

The game play is the regular hack n slash that fans will love, but others will not. The game play is pressing X over and over, then the occasional Y. At VERY rare times you need the Musou attack, which is either crowd clearing, or owns a single enemy. This formula is somewhat changed with the 3 character teams. With 120 characters available, and 4 different types, there are tons of teams. These teammates can save you for when you're knocked back, you can switch with them to continue a combo, and they can do a collaboration attack. The 4 types are Technique, Speed, Power, and Wonder. Techniques can sidestep, Speed can double jump, Power can beast through attacks, and Wonder can break guards.

The music is also really good, with remixes of the original stages from the Dynasty and Samurai Warriors games.

I mentioned that this game involved time traveling, but some people are just destined to die not matter what. Now the redux stages are the stages that allow that character to not get injured, and that causes them to join.

My only complaint is the peons are too weak, and the officers are too strong. 9.5/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

YES!!!!!

posted by x8Infinite8x (DECATUR, GA) May 10, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

THIS GAME IS BEAST. The only thing missing is some kinda vs mode. Over 100 characters and each has their own original moveset my fav Yoshitsune Minamoto is the best and i have MANY more. You start out gettin smashed by the hydra then a mystic take you back in time to rescue and recruit lots of characters so much you wont get to use all in one gameplay-im serious. With thousands to mow down this game is the best for takin on numerous armies and ownin officers by the end of the game youll be smashin the hydra...and whats to come!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

More Hit than Miss

posted by joex1977 (LAREDO, TX) Dec 30, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

First off, I am a fan of this franchise so I look at every detail of these games. Some were good and some were bad over the years. I like this game becuase it has nice graphics and the audio is just awesome. The game mechanics are easy to pick up and the different combos most of the characters have keep this game from being a repetitive hack and clash where all the characters do the same actions. I would have given this game a higher score if it weren't for the lack of having the option to switch from Japanese to English voices. I don't have any problem with the Japanese language (I am trying to learn it) but when I am playing a game that usually requires me to be looking at the screen so I don't get mauled by a barrage of enemies, I prefer to hear what I have to do, who I have to save, or where I have to go to advance in the story. Bottom line, If this game is priced lower than $40 then I would recommend it for everyone. If you are not a Hack n Slash fan, then rent it and give it a whirl. One note to people who are not familiar with this game, if you play it for the first time, then don't freak out if there is a giant Hydra in the first stage of story and can't seem to beat it, that's part of the story. You are not meant to "beat" the Hydra.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Warriors Orochi 3

posted by YakuzaShiro (BLACKSBURG, VA) Nov 17, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

Other reviews have already mentioned this and this goes for all Dynasty Warriors-style games, you're either going to like the hack and slash or you're going to find it too repetitive to handle. Orochi 3 brings a huge cast of characters to a time traveling plotline and for completionists that also happen to be fans of the series Orochi 3 is actually worth buying. For everyone else rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Awesome for Established Fans

posted by Prisoner_No_6 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Oct 8, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

I'll come right out here and save people some time: This game will not change any opinions if you have negative feelings about the Dynasty Warrior series. It's the same mechanics, it's the same horrible menu system, and every other stereotype its earned over the years.

For fans of the series, there's not much it can do to make you happier.

The key things missing that people may indeed miss are the Renbu system being absent. However, the three-team system has been tweaked to the best its ever been. On-the-fly member swapping on a horse is possible, characters you've bonded with will save you from a potentially bad combo, and the Triple super-attack will clear just about anything off of your screen. The other missing feature is create-a-character, but with the entire roster from both DW and Samurai, you'll have plenty of time on your hands even unlocking everyone, nevermind mastering them.

The aspects of time travel in the story make progressing the plot have the most 'interaction' outside of the Empires series (though it still pales in comparison), but you'll be picking if you go back in time to help save an ally that would have been injured and thus die in a future battle, or focus on charging through the main plot instead.

The cinematics are as clunky as they've ever been, and they didn't even bother to dub the game in English... but if the atrocious menu system of the game gives you more of a sense of nostalgia than inspiring rage, and the repetitive combat still holds sway over you, than this is definitely a Warriors pick-up worth your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

baest game ever

posted by 2_vizion_2 (BALTIMORE, MD) Aug 31, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

this was the beast game i ever played

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Horrible game

posted by mirza456 (CHICAGO, IL) Aug 8, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

after 2nd stage i took it back to the post office

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

great game

posted by xOmegaAngelx (VANCOUVER, WA) Aug 6, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

The game is fun to play and the amount of characters you get to choose from is awsome if you dont like how the play stlye for 1 character is there is 119 more to choose from. some of the mission are kind of annoying to unlock but when you do it was worth it i gave it a 7 becuase it kept me hooked for a while. this was one of the most addicting warriors orochi i have played so try it out and enjoy :).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Keoi What They Do Best

posted by veasnachan (PLANO, TX) Jul 30, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

If you are a fan of KEOI's style of gameplay, then you will enjoy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

warriors orochi 3

posted by jerryhayes321 (DOUGLASVILLE, GA) May 15, 2012

Member since May 2012

has too be one of the greatest action games i have played i would suggest this game to everyone

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Wouldn't waste my money

posted by Trafalgar (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Apr 19, 2012

Member since Oct 2010

Just got the game in and was very interested on on how the 3rd "Orchi" game would be like. I was disappointed to find there is no english voice overs and that the game play is not as smooth as dynasty warriors, it looks great but im not like everyone on gamefly and liek every game that comes out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »