Rent Warriors: Legends of Troy for PS3
view large frontback

Warriors: Legends of Troy

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.8

1423 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very fun Game

posted by Achilles0311 (CROWN POINT, IN) Mar 21, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

24 out of 28 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I am a HUGE fan of the Illiad, Troy, and the Story of Achilles. (can you tell by my username, lol) When I heard they were coming out with a game based on the Trojan war I couldnt be happier! Getting to play as Achilles with his signature moves from the movies. Then the game unfolded even more. You get to play BOTH sides. to top it off it Narrates between levels giving you a "somewhat" accurate story behind it all. The gameplay is fun. I especially love targeting someone from far away, doing a roll and chucking a spear. (it does a slow mo from the spear hitting its target) There are things that could be better (you cant jump, but you can roll) You cant explore much (but when you do go off path you find your secondary objectives, and sometimes more orbs of xp) I am only about 5 chapters in (Paris just fought the king to stop the invasion, and we all know how that ends) I CANT wait for the battle between Achilles and Hector. If you like games where the odds are 30 against you (kind of like god of war but easier) Then you may like this. If you are a fan of the story of the Greek/Trojan war.... you will LOVE IT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

WARRIORS: LEGENDS OF TROY

posted by jacksrmd (WASHINGTON, DC) Sep 6, 2011

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

It's like Dynasty Warriors (DW) but Mature & more in-depth. If you're used to DW you may think this is lacking due to experience points (KLEOS) earned to UPGRADE (increase health/quick hits/focus[strong hits]/stun) etc. vs leveling up or finding items like DW.

For everyone that thinks this & DW are button mashers/random things happen - U would pretty much rate it 5 & below. If you play this game (like you should play ALL other games) - EXPERIMENT Square, Triangle / X, Triangle / Square, Square, Triangle / Square, Square, X / Triangle, Triangle, Triangle you would KNOW combos are in the game. Mortal Kombat, Street Fighter & any game could be considered a BUTTON MASHER if all you do is hit 1 or 2 buttons & don't try anything else. LOL -- Advanced combos are earned through gameplay & UPGRADES. BUTTON MASHERS will DIE & complain, but it's your FAULT :( Health is regained by GOOD/GREAT Fighting!

UPGRADE system uses purchase/puzzle piece strategy pieces. A thinking man's game. But u don't have to be Einstein. Save your KLEOS for better items / bigger grid for pieces to maximize your health/damage/etc. There are some GOD of WAR button interactions in the game too. Perfectly-timed hits do MASSIVE damage vs Button Mashing.

This game has lots of strategy & gameplay - u don't have to kill every character. Complete primary and/OR 2ndary objectives to earn more KLEOS - UNLOCK items - UPGRADE.

Game has 3-5 finishers per playable character you can do vs ANY enemies you fight / 1-on-1 duels. This is the bloody/mature/more in-depth gameplay DYNASTY WARRIORS.

As far as voicing of names being wrong - that's incorrect. Depending on accents and regions of the world TOMATOE / TOMAHTOE = the same thing - It's just accent/dialect. ZEUS pronounced ZEYUS etc.

This game has SERIOUS replay - Play it on Easy / Normal / Hard / Expert; each mode has certain upgrades that can be unlocked from that mode but used throughout. I'm BUYING this from GAMEFLY!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not that fun....

posted by damianrock (DULUTH, GA) Apr 24, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2007

13 out of 22 gamers (59%) found this review helpful

I am a HUGE fan of the Dynasty Warriors (DW) games, and I really enjoyed Koei's other DW-like game that just came-out (Trinity Souls or something like that). However, this game does not match the gameplay of the others. In a comparison...

In DW you went for the boss while the squad fought the little guys, however in Troy you have to kill every single enemy in a section to progress. You cannot expect your squad to kill anything.

In DW, the story was clear and connected. In Troy you are seemingly playing different "hero's" who may or may not eventually connect.

In DW, the characters are fun and over the top. In Troy they are bland.

In DW, you are a superhuman who knocks down waves of enemies. In Troy 4 guys with shields will keep you trying to beat them for a good 5 minutes.

In DW, health is found. In Troy health is magically gained by... well IDK.. it just kind of happens occasionally.

Also, Troy features a fill-in the block with what upgrades you want (if they fit), instead of a leveling system... it sucks.

If I didn't compare it to DW and the expections from Koei... then I say this game is kinda slow, and lacks the "gods" interacting with the hero's as we've seen in other game, like Jason and the Argonauts.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Some Nice Touches That Make it Rent Worthy

posted by RomanJorJor (ARGYLE, TX) Apr 11, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I am not sure if my opinion is biased (since I am a classics major), but I will give my 2 cents anyways.

The game is able to tell the story of the Trojan War quite solidly and the game play is not bad. It is on par with your average Dynasty Warriors or other hack and slash type game. If you have played any other hack and slash game, you have played this game; however, the story and atmosphere is quite refreshing and makes the repetitiveness of the game quite tolerable.

The voice acting is not bad and the cinematics are actually really good. I saw that other people were noting that the pronunciations of some of the names were weird (e.g. Zeus, Odysseus, and others being pronounced odd). That is because the voice over is actually using the Ancient Greek pronunciations (Classics Major). I give the game extra kudos for doing that.

Overall, this game is worth the rent for the story alone and the game play is a nice add-on :).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Low Budget Game, but True to the Mythos

posted by CrisPBacon (CARSON CITY, NV) Mar 24, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

Graphics 5, Controls 5, Sound 5, Story 10, Overall Gameplay 6.5

There is no one piece of literature that tells the entire story of the Trojan War, in fact archaeologist estimate that we have less than 3% of ancient stories about the war. With this in mind, the developers did an amazing job compiling the story and developing gameplay around that story. In fact, this may be the most complete and accurate telling of the Trojan War I've ever seen in pop culture, although there are a few minor discrepancies. But, don't expect any grand cenimatics.

The game itself is weak. The graphics are below par and there is some frame rate issues at certain points. The godly boss fights are God Awful and more closely resemble "PS2" style. This is where the game falls flat and you see why Koei canceled the Xbox version and refused fill some pre-orders or even send out advance copies for review. This game is obviously a [failed] low budget production.

The sound is terrible and seems like they used just a few voice actors to play all the characters. However, the sound track is good and you can listen to from Extras menu. I've seen lots of movies and sat through hundreds of hours of lectures on the Trojan war and I've never once heard Zues pronounced as Zaius, like Dr. Zaius from Planet of the Apes. Dramatic license I guess.

The controls are limited, several of the buttons are unused or are simply useless. Targeting is broken and not very useful until boss fights.

Overall, I like the game and purchased it, however I must add that it's not worthy of a $60 price tag. I like to see how the story was developed, what changes were made and how true it stays to the mythos. People take for granted how extremely difficult it is to recreate the world of the Trojan War, this is probably why all modern movies and TV series about the war have been failures. In this sense, Koei nailed it, they nailed the story and for that reason I highly recommend playing the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Next Frontier of Dynasty Warriors? Not Really.....

posted by Raidose (BELINGTON, WV) Apr 17, 2011

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Don't get me wrong, it's an okay game. But as it was introduced as the next Dynasty (or warriors, if you prefer) game, it had a standard it had to meet. While most would say that the franchise features little more than replays of the same war over and over and how the combat was beyond repetitive, fans will still agree that those standards exist.

While the ally A.I. has been made drastically smarter (I actually saw one kill a couple guys, and if you've ever player a Dynasty game you know how big a deal that is) and while they feel much more useful as they actually follow you (unlike the previous games where all but the player "officer" had a unit), the game stills falls a little short. Most of the time you only have one ally group, which makes this feel less like a warriors game and more like a mosterless version of Beo Wolfe. You know? With the hero and a squad of super tough soldiers against a boatload of enemies? Take that, now minus the "super tough" bit.

Without bigger maps, a bit of free roam, choosing your hero, and the free play function this game goes from next Dynasty game to the missing 300 game for the PS3. Which isn't bad, but not what was expected. A sequel is needed here and in it Koei should take some of the things from DW5 and stuff them in this game. Why 5? Cause I want my bodyguard back, thats why. I MISS MY ARCHER GUY!

But enough about that. The game is fair enough. The controls are a little clunky, the voice-overs are a bit off, the pronunciations are REALLY off (never heard Hades called Hydis before), doubtful on much replay value (haven't beat the game yet, so I'm still hopeful), you'll hit square A LOT, and sometimes you get in your own personal little war with the camera.

On the other hand it has good graphics, nice scenery, and a good story, especially if your a fan of the mythos. And the blood. Can't forget the blood. Hooray Mature Rating! Hooray Violence!

The Moral of this story? Good for renting (and violence =3), and thats it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Taking it back

posted by Aotey (ASBURY PARK, NJ) Mar 28, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

5 out of 14 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

I was honestly siked about this game and could no longer wait for gamelfy to send it, so I purchased it instead. Now I wish I hadn't. The game is nothing more than walk and slice, roll and stab. The story is narrated nicely and gives the historical account of Troy, but that's about it. Perhaps if the game had a GTA feel or even Red Dead: Redemption. But it doesn't.,it's sorely lacking. There is no exploring, simply kill these amount of people in this amount and switch heroes, it's very repetitive and boring. The fighting is redunent, the highlight is a fleeing enemy that you can hit with a spear. The lock on target feature is horrible, very limited sword-play, and same kill scenes. The moment Game Stop opens up today, I'm taking this game back without hesitation. This game precisely is why Gamefly is such a power house and why i should've waited for them to send me the game. I am sorely disappointed.The End.......................Rent!!!! Don't Buy!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Interesting story but nothing great.

posted by Buck22184 (COLUMBIA, MS) Mar 27, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I don't know how well this game follows the story of Troy but it is interesting to see the story throughout the game but thats about it. If you have seen the movie Troy then expect characters to look very similar to the ones in the movie, some in-game video is very similar to the movie also. The action is very similar to Dynasty Warriors earlier games. Like Square, Square, triangle type combos. Graphics are good and gameplay like I said is very similar to DW. Enemies don't fade out like DW6 does with many men around you. Power ups are earned by beating levels and other objectives in the levels and by combos, which is called kleos so every hit is earning points for power ups but it takes a while to get the power ups and many will stay locked through the fist time playing the game. I have to say unless there is nothing else you are intersted in this is one to pass up unless you are really interested in how the story goes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

GAMEFLY IS SLOW

posted by MrKENNEDY (GOSHEN, IN) Jul 15, 2011

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

I PAY FOR 2 games out at a time....for 3 days they havent even sent out a thing, though theyve had my return... Then when they do send something, it will take 3 more days to get here... Im being ripped off, and Im not going to pay for this garbage anymore.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

hm?

posted by Dre077 (AINSWORTH, NE) Oct 1, 2014

Member since Jun 2008

Not sure how it was seen as a good game. I am a fan of Greek mythology but dang this game is boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

not even good

posted by Le22az (PHOENIX, AZ) Apr 16, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

play it only cuz it look like DW but no it suck there no sound n i had everything max out just a fail game that should have never made it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game

posted by GreatForger47 (FORT BRAGG, CA) Dec 30, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

I loved it. More interactive than the Dynasty/Samurai games. Boss fights are hard but learn the attacks and it can be done. I had no major complaints about this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun Game, not as good as Dynasty Warriors series

posted by Adamilius (LAS VEGAS, NV) Dec 7, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

I had been looking forward to playing this game for a while and wasn't let down when I got it. The game plays very similiar to Dynasty Warriors in setup and most of the button scheme. It is a bit slower in movements and attacks, however there is a notch more of violence in this game. It lacks game modes, but the story mode is interesting. A feautre I really enjoyed is the ability to roll towards/away from an enemy. Also you can pickup the weapon of the enemy you just killed (swords, spears etc) and either wield it and/or throw it. Overall this game mostly met my expectations to it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

boring

posted by Frosty2300 (WILLOW SPRINGS, MO) Aug 4, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

this game was good yet it got boring after sometime felt exactly like DW

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

sweet

posted by sickjayman28 (GROVE CITY, OH) Jul 16, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

sweet game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great history game!!!

posted by Achilles2324 (KNOXVILLE, TN) Jul 13, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

Legends of Troy, I thought, was a great game. I am always into the Greek history battle tactics. Troy was one of the greatest battles in the history of ever....or something like that. This game is about the different characters n the story, Achilles, Hector and more!! The fighting was good except it would have been better if it were made by the creators of God of War 3. Each character has its own signature moves that are awesome! There are countless men to fight and its all the old style of fighting...swords and shields. It also has an arena challenge where you can pick a character and put them into the arena to see how you do as a gladiator!!! How cool is that. The down side is, the graphics are not quite to where they should have been and it would have been nice to play as a character and attack a single guy rather than hit multiple guys at the same time. All in all it was a great game!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Legends of Troy... boring

posted by FartMonkeyFever (MERIDIAN, ID) Jul 3, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

immediately repetitive same combat, same moves over and over I only played it for 15 minutes I received it today and it is being returned today disappointing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Carnage at Priam's Gate

posted by Vhashaar (Puyallup, WA) Jun 3, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

A slightly clunky action brawler retelling the Illiad.

I have a soft spot for the Warriors games, but no problems admitting when problems crop up within. The premise for this installment is tweaking core mechanics for a narrowed-down, story-driven experience.

The action is divided between the Greek and Trojan forces. The player takes control of a (sincerely) Epic hero and undertakes a mission to beat up masses of dudes - also rescue allies, defeat generals and reach cutscene events. Each level is presented with a story tidbit to explain why you'll be in a given area wailing on enemies.

The action itself is built upon a fairly simple attack system that gets more intricate as the character abilities are expanded. Basic troops fall to quick attacks, blockers are softened by heavy attacks, rolling and bashing shields also helps set up finishers. The game's most appealing (and frequent) one-hit kills are showcased with camera pans and bonus currency.

The currency is awarded to the player during missions and used in-between to expand and stock a character-shared inventory of stat boosts and ability unlocks.

Fans of the DW series may note that the character variety is largely cosmetic. Most of your protagonists fight with a sword and shield with only minor mechanic variations. The differences are more stylistic. Achilles is suitably lithe and impressive, Ajax is a bruiser muscle mountain, Hector is staunch and hard-hitting, etc.

The campaign takes between 6 and 10 hours for a normal playthrough, longer on harder difficulties - but mid-level checkpoints (with healing!) help.

There is also a challenge mode and extra galleries with artwork, cinematics and in-game soundtracks. Repeated play heavily depends on whether the game's fighting appeals to the player. Also, no free stage select for different characters.

This is an interesting, cinematic take on the Warriors franchise. It lacks some polish and feels a tad repetitive. Looks better than it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

GREAT GAME

posted by umad22 (RIO RANCHO, NM) May 30, 2012

Member since May 2012

first off ill say this i have played every single dynasty warriors samurai warriors dw gundam etc i got this game expecting it to be like that and i was dissapointed BUT if you stop trying to act like its dynasty warriors and treat it as a seperate game its awesome i do think that the voice overs could have been better but overall i really enjoyed this game its not your typical hack and slash if your too lazy to figure out how to beat the bosses u shouldnt play games at all. this game calls for different strategies i loved it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Simply horrible game play

posted by MrGelowe (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Apr 5, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

This is basically a dynasty warriors game. You get to fight hundreds and hundreds of enemies. The problem is that fighting is extreme simplistic, to the extent that it is mind numbing boring. Most dynasty warrior games have flashy attacks which makes the game actually fun to watch while playing.

I was so bored that I could not get past 45 minutes. I finished the Spartan side of 1st chapter/part and not a single truly exciting fight.

On the other hand, cinematic is done very well and I would love to simply watch all of them without playing the game. Even though I know the story and I actually watched the movie Troy couple of days before playing this game, I think it would still be pretty cool to watch the.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game is for true warriors!

posted by Legend5000 (MEMPHIS, TN) Feb 12, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

First I like the simple controls and rugged type game play, like DW it really puts you right there on the battlefield. It lets you play with almost every character who can fight and the arena battles are great! I just wish it was more blood and guts when fighting but besides that, this game is one of my favorites!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Very Boring

posted by edaley2007 (BURLINGTON, NJ) Jan 18, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

Very repititive and the same game with different characters. Graphics and artwork were fantastic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Warriors Legends of Troy

posted by boss5starg (AUGUSTA, GA) Jan 14, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

Great historical gameplay of the famous and legendary Spartan battles. Its like Dynasty Warriors in Greece instead of China.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Warriors Legends of Troy

posted by cheeko2222 (MIFFLINTOWN, PA) Dec 29, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

Warriors Legends of Troy is fun. It is what everyone has always wanted to do in a game. Just go into war button mashing and slaughtering at any angle. This game is interesting and quite new and original. The only downfall and mistake of this game is that ALL YOU DO is go into war and slash any enemy in your way which would make it less time that you would spend on it in the future. I could care less about the story because I just wanted to play it for the non stop slaughtering, but don't buy this if you are looking for story, replayability, or even online.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Disappointing

posted by goraiders1919 (ANKENY, IA) Sep 25, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

Should have been a game about what made them famous before Troy instead of playing out the battle of the infamous Illiad. Anybody who played this game knows the outcome and the gameplay wasn't that great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse