Rent Wario Ware: Smooth Moves for Wii
view large frontback

Wario Ware: Smooth Moves

Not Rentable
GF Rating
7.2

4991 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Silly Fun

posted by CRileyLive (NEWBURYPORT, MA) Aug 14, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

You can't get more Japanese than this! Great party game with fun objectives that make you like stupid. Perfect utilization of the wii technology. 5 stars..or 10...whatever scale its on

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game for all ages

posted by auxlife (SAN DIEGO, CA) Aug 5, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

A friend recommended this game to me, and im glad he did!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun and Funny!!

posted by Novabrian (WESTMINSTER, CA) Mar 5, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

My wife turned me on to this game. It's really cool.I had a blast playing it.I recommend it to anyone who just wants to have fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Loved it!!

posted by sayandjohn (BESSEMER, AL) Feb 22, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

I actually ended up buying this game it was so fun. It's hilarious and will keep you playing for hours!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

the big way-too-easy

posted by thefrabs (JAMESTOWN, NY) Jan 23, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

far too quick to play through (about 2 hours), entertaining though it may be at times. little depth, and you may grow weary of seeing more of the same, only faster or bigger. the instructional videos get a 10, the rest of the game evens it out to a 5 overall; not terrible, but not amazing either.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

fun for everyone

posted by harrison9 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jan 23, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

it is a fast pace game so every time you play no matter what you will get into it you will start to play and play all day and relise that this is awsome lets do it agian!! the only thing i don't like is after you beat some of the story mode you earn mutiplayer. so have FUN!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

totallyfreakin awsome! :)

posted by bestieboy (HERNDON, VA) Dec 22, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

this game so beast. Its also good for people who just got a wii and want to know differnt ways to use the wii remote. to play you wait for the game to tell you how to hold it then they pull up a mini game that you play. my favorite way to hold the remote is the sketch artist ( you hold it like a pencil) .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

meh

posted by LNCrusader (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Nov 16, 2008

Member since May 2008

This game is ok. The lack of instructions for most games is annoying. The micro games are over before you know it. I like the way they do it in Mario Party with a practice round. I only played one player, group play might be more engaging. After a couple days it was back in the mail for a new game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

very fun, innovative, and short

posted by roundedup (ARLINGTON, TX) Oct 26, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

This game is definitely worth renting. It does more things with the wii remote than any other game I have seen so far, and the responses to your actions are perfect. It really has an original feel to it, and if you are a fan of other warioware games, you will thoroughly enjoy it.

The downfalls are simple, the multi-player uses only 1 controller. When you are playing certain multi-player stages it requires you to quickly give the controller to the other player. It can get annoying handing it off. The multi-player also feels limited and uninventive considering the rest of the game's innovation.

Also, the game feels far too short. If they had added in some more stages using the same ideas from the old stages I am sure no one would have minded. Some stages introduce you to 3 new moves in 5 minutes of playing. The programmers could have stretched out the single player to improve playability.

Even with these complaints I would still recommend this game. Even if it is far too short, it is just so much fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Wii Game

posted by wiifun2008 (SAINT CHARLES, MO) Oct 23, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

This is a game that I had hoped most Wii games would be like. The use of the controller is the most fun part of this game. You hold it in different ways to conplete a mini game and as you progess it gets faster and harder.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Good if your 12

posted by skleek (COOPER CITY, FL) Sep 9, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

Very kidish.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Can't skip the annoying intros.

posted by imburton (Fairview, NC) Sep 5, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

Awful game...

I hate that you can't skip the stories... When will Nintendo get a clue.

This game is full of annoying characters that you have to watch and can't skip. I could only stand to play till the second guys intro started, and then I turned it off.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun

posted by mehmeh (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Aug 21, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

Holy Smokes this is a fun game. It won't appeal to the FPS crowd, but it is a great party game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Wario Ware: smooth moves

posted by Xaurus (SANDSTON, VA) Aug 15, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

OMG this game is awesome. Addictive fun and totally enjoyable for the whole family. I didn't want to give it back. I recommend it to ANYONE.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great for groups- Just get it ahead of time.

posted by ortesc (GLENDALE, CA) Aug 4, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

This is a great game for groups, especially if you bring a little beer into the mix. The most important thing to remember - if you are going to rent it for a party - get it a week early so you can "unlock" the multi-player part.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pure Insanity

posted by sean794 (HOUSTON, TX) Jul 8, 2008

Member since May 2008

It would be very narrow minded for me to say that all WarioWare games are the same and for me to say that all TV original movies suck and all glam rockers (and Michael Jackson) are pedophiles. The series has been going on since 2003 and since then, the basic formula hasn't changed.

The every title in the WarioWare series has been just plain crazy... but in a good way. Every game after WarioWare, Inc.: Mega Party Game$! has been based off of a certain gimmick. WarioWare: Twisted! used a motion sensor within the cartridge to make you twist and turn your GBA. WarioWare: Touched!, on the other hand, was based off of the DS's abilities and used the touchscreen and the microphone. This entry in the series, as you may realize if you're not infected with a disease known as the stupid, features the Wii Remote almost exclusively, with one set of microgames featuring the nunchuck attachment.

The WarioWare series storyline revolves around Wario getting an idea to get rich quick by making lots of tiny minigames called microgames, to which he forms WarioWare, Inc. and uses his friends as his employees. Now, while the basic formula hasn't changed, the controls certainly have. In this entry, the spastic Wii-mote flailing is actually very intuitive, surprisingly. But then I realized this is a first-party game and therefore made by the guys who know the system best, thank god.

However, the game's main problem is that, despite having over 200, it starts to get really repetitive after a while. I mean sure, they up the difficulty and shorten the time limit, but the microgames are too few. It might have been a good idea for Nintendo to start offering microgames as download content.

Either way, I recommend this game if you enjoy flailing around like a maniac in your own living room or wherever. Just imagine what this game would be like if developed by a third party. Well, it would be more like a firm kick in the balls than a game. And now Yahtzee Croshaw is looking for me again...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Only one complaint - Multiplayer

posted by MotherHen (MAGNOLIA, TX) Jul 2, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

This game is the most popular one in our house. We have a 5 year old, a 6 year old, and two 7 year olds playing it daily for over a month for hours at a time and it still surprises them with new things. (It is currently way too hot to play outside and this gets them moving). Even the adults like to play it. The music is catchy and upbeat and the game is very humerous.
My only complaint is multiplayer. You have to beat the game to a certain level before it even unlocks it, and then all players have to use the same Wiimote and pass it around. We have had a terrible time with excited kids trying to quickly pass the wiimote to the next player and either dropping it (can't use the 'leash' because not enough time to remove it and put it on) or accidentally smacking them with it because their eyes have to stay on the game. We must have a least one incident a day with somebody getting accidentally smacked by a wiimote (usually in the face) because of this.
Otherwise it is a really great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good but flawed

posted by slycooper (PITTSBURG, CA) Jul 1, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

Let me get this out of the way. This game is very short. I beat it i n less than 2 hours. Multiplayer expands its replay value but I would only make it worth a rent. But this is a very fun game while it lasts and the microgames are extremely funny and exciting. I actually broke a sweat while playing some of them. All in all a decent game but its length hurts its long lasting value.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great but short

posted by Smashbro (ORLANDO, FL) Jun 13, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

The game had good picture and gameplay but some of the controls were not cooperative and some hard to understand. Also the big let down was that I beat the game in less than an hour.....
But on the lighter side it was funny entertaining and very well made!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Quick Doses of Fun

posted by DaMikeSC (COLUMBIA, SC) May 13, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

The classic Nintendo series of extremely short games --- literally 10 seconds in length --- manages to come to the Wii. And it is, as usual, an amazingly fun title in spite of itself.

The story...okay, let's be honest. The story is absolutely insane. It is extremely amusing, but insane nonetheless. I can't even begin to describe what the point of the story is. It's the closest to Amped 3, which is still the best funny story in a game that I can remember.

It does a really solid job of using the Wii-mote. You are required to handle it in a wide array of unusual manners (complete with funny explanations). There are references to older Nintendo properties.

You can't really use words to describe the game. I don't see how anybody can dislike it since you do something different every 10 seconds. You can't really get bored with anything. It's a game that has to be tried.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not bad, could've been better.

posted by d0l3m1t3 (SAINT LOUIS, MO) May 5, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

I've played through the GBA and DS WarioWare games, so I was looking forward to this one. The Wiimote is a great addition to the game series, the introduction to the different forms (ways to hold the Wiimote for games) is novel and very well done overall. The mini-games themselves were good and it's always refreshing to NOT see the same games not get copied or carried between the games for the most part so you're usually treated to new games.

My complaints with the game is that it IS the same old game. It's always good to see the characters carried through, but like most WarioWare games, once you've run through all the games once, the only incentive to go back and score the minimum on every game is Pyoro. Pyoro IS a cool perk and I unlocked it on the GBA and DS but without a separate screen showing the goals, it's like they left it out to keep people in the dark and playing.

Also, having to jump through hoops to unlock the multiplayer games sucks. Give something a little more substantial besides keeping EVERYTHING under locks. Another thing sadly missing are all the cool little toys and doodads from the DS version. While you don't need a Cooking Timer on your Wii, the little toys ARE a little fun.

That all said, it's a WarioWare game. It'll keep you busy for a few hours until you unlock the majority of stuff, but there's no reason to go back afterwards. Not worth the full price to buy, but definitely a good rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun!

posted by agonzalez2 (FORT WORTH, TX) Apr 25, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

Great game! We had lots of fun. Recommend if you have children over 5 yrs old.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

thi is neat

posted by RUNDAS (SAN DIEGO, CA) Apr 23, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

i like this game because it gives the use of the wii remote a new meaning to it its minigames are fun its forms are fun this is one worth renting

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Silly, goofy fun.

posted by rosierazor (SACO, ME) Apr 19, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

We enjoyed this game. It is quite fun, in a silly and goofy way. The only complaint we had was the fact that the little mini-movie clips that precede each level are a bit long and drawn out; we didn't like the fact that they couldn't be skipped. Otherwise, fun times.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

AWSOME GAME

posted by jkjhhc (CLOSPLINT, KY) Apr 10, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

wario ware smooth moves is avery unique game. it is very funny and the forms you have to do for some of the minnie games are hillarious.My favorite minnie games are 9 volts and 18 volts.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse