Rent Wario Ware: Smooth Moves for Wii
view large frontback

Wario Ware: Smooth Moves

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.2

4990 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun for a Little While

posted by TheDuke (CLARKSVILLE, TN) Feb 8, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

Pros: Very creative uses for the Wii remote. Fun for a wide variety of players. Great party game
Cons: Loses appeal quickly. Story mode is short. Animated sequences make no sense and add very little to gameplay.

Overall this is a good rental, but I wouldn't buy it. This could be a great drinking game, but I didn't come up with any rules. I only played it with my girlfriend, which was fun, but its true potential lies in playing with a group of friends.
The biggest shortcoming is that there aren't enough levels, and replaying the old levels becomes old quickly.
If you approach this game expecting a fun little party title to play with some friends over a weekend you won't be disappointed.

The Duke
26/M

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good game for the wii

posted by ff78cs (SAINT PETERSBURG, FL) Feb 8, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

its a fun non thinking game for the nintendo wii.i think this game has best use of what the wii can do so far out of any other game released for the wii .the best part of this game is the mulitplayer function. from bomb mode to survival it will get anyone ready to get up and move. bad part is the game is pretty short i mean i beat it in under 3 hours. so get this game to play with friends! not by yourself! then you'll love it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Needs more polish and multiplayer

posted by PeppAvenge (DENVER, CO) Feb 7, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

The game, for all intensive purposes, is a blast. It's quick, fun, and sure to put a smile on your face occasionally. However, there are many micro-games on here that do not work as well as I would like them to (the paper straightening game comes to mind), but I think my largest issue with this game is the multiplayer aspect: there is not enough to chew on. It feels tacked on as an afterthought when a game of this genre screams multiplayer. It would be a great party game if there weren't so few uninspired multiplayer games seemingly just tagged on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun but way to short

posted by ariteks (NOVATO, CA) Feb 7, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

Wario Wares was a lot of fun while it lasted. Unfortunately, the games didn't seem challenging enough so I only really got 4-5 hours of gameplay out of it before I had finished all the stages. The mini-games were interesting in terms of being cool tech demos on what the Wii-mote can do but none of them were great. The only way I could see any replay value from this game would be if you had a group of friends to play with.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Too fast

posted by foxfegogj (BRADENTON, FL) Feb 7, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

I was really looking forward to receiving this game, what a joke it turned out to be. Some fun multi-player games, but they're over so quick. All the rounds are over in 3 or so seconds and you spend more time waiting on the game or the menu. Save yourself time and rent that rabbid rabbit game instead, that's super fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Excellent...Only One Thing Missing

posted by Freeze17 (KUNA, ID) Feb 7, 2007

Member since Jan 2005

This game is great fun for the whole family. The only thing missing is online mode and it takes too long to get to where you can play multi-players. The mini-games are quick and easy to learn but still a challenge. I would rent it and then keep it if you can.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Itsa wii ... wario

posted by leetcharme (GRAPEVINE, TX) Feb 4, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

So, I expected something amazing -- looking at all the upper 9-10 ratings. Perhaps the hype has been too much.

The game is great for what it is, a bunch of mini-games. But it should have so much more. For a game to cost, retail ~$50; I expect there to be a lot more replay value -- with an inclusion of what feels like an unlimited set of games to play. Almost to where you would never run into the same one twice.

Unlocking everything is quick. One hour, max.

Controls are also not always as straight-forward as you'd think. I still haven't figured out how to 'catch the music note.'

The darts multiplayer game seems pretty solid, but other than that ... if someone didn't go through single player with you, or alone -- the 'main' multiplayer feature will be hard to get a handle on. It decreases the fun level very quickly with those that are 'non-gamers.'

For average player, I give it a 7 for what it is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game

posted by Airdude (HOLIDAY, FL) Jan 30, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

Great fun! Great drinking game too :) The only thing that upset me is you have to beat the game before it can be a multi-player game. Which took a very short time but just FYI. And there is stil new stuff after you beat it but there are quite a few levels to go thru first.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

EXSREMLY FUN!!!!!!!....but exstremly short

posted by strig9 (KINGWOOD, TX) Jan 30, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

this game is awsome but could be longer.....i give it a 10 cuz......i cant stop play :D my family plays in multi player with me, thats fun 2(but the multi player only uses on wii mote :( )

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game but lacks depth

posted by Sheeps (Menominee, MI) Jan 30, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

This game is both hilarious and fun in a very silly way. There are around 200 micro games to complete with each requiring a different grip on the Wiimote. As the games are roughly 5 seconds each, you complete a series of roughly 8-15 games non-stop in each level with the pace speeding up as you progress through the level.

The games themselves are very simple, and the only time the game gets difficult is when you don't have any clue as to what you need to do. However, after playing a game once or twice, it should become quite evident as to what you need to do. This is where I feel that the game falls short in the depth department. The difficulty lies in the surprise, and once that is gone, the only way to lose is for the Wiimote to not respond.

All in all, I think it's a very fun game, and worth your time as a rental, but I would only purchase it if you frequently have Wii parties and want another mini-game compilation with the likes of Rayman and Monkeyball.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty good

posted by liquid731 (CULVER CITY, CA) Jan 29, 2007

Member since Aug 2004

This game is entertaining to say the least. The quick, quirky, goofy gameplay from one of Nintendo’s newest IP’s is the perfect game for the Wii. The anti-Mario, “Wario,” has a bugger picking, gas passing attitude that 10 year old boys will love and girls will find disgusting, but fun will be had by all. This game will not make you look cool in front of your friends, however, as you will be putting the Wii remote on your nose, hip and other weird body parts and ask to gyrate then in a stupid manner all for the sake of having a good time. The only complaint I have about this game is that it is not as accurate as you’d like it to be. Maybe it will take some time to get use to, but the abstract nature of the wand feels weird, especially when playing microgames that last as up to only 2 seconds. Overall, a fun game to play and watch people make a fool of themselves.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun Factor Fades Quickly

posted by tcoop25 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Jan 29, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

I rented this game after putting in numerous hours with Rayman: Raving Rabids, and was expecting for another great mini-game experience. What I got was an annoyance for the 3 second mini-games. I found a few of the challenges that I really enjoyed, like bouncing a tennis ball on a racket, but just when you get into it, you beat it and move on to the next. The games are more like puzzles, where you need to figure out what to do and then do it in a short amount of time. It was fun for awhile, but I have had enough. Also, the fact that I couldn't bypass the stories before the games got annoying. On the other hand, this was a fantastic example of what the Wii Remote is capable of. Definitely rent Smooth Moves, but be careful of the hype.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Stylish and Unique

posted by conman (SOUTH BEND, IN) Jan 29, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

This is the best multi-player minigame offering on the system so far.

This game's greatest strength is its sense of style. In single-player story mode, each mini-story has its own intro and outro cartoon cinematic. These are a lot of fun and look great. The real strong-point, however, is the look of each of the individual minigames. I'm heavily reminded of the frenetic mix seen in the old-school Sesame Street format (pre-Elmo) that would jump between a wide variety of animation styles presented in very short segments.

In-game, the mini-games are by turns hilarious, beautiful, silly, psychedelic, and disturbing. The images and animations fly by so quickly that only over time does what you're seeing begin to sink in.

As much as it is edgy in its visuals, it's also edgy in its play-style. As you progress through the story-mode, you're introduced to new ways of holding and using the Wii remote. Half the time, you're asked to do things with the remote that you would never want to be seen doing. Amazingly, the sword-play minigame controls much better than in Red Steel. The driving controls are spot-on. This game shows so many amazing possibilities for the future of the system.

Overall, however, something is missing to bring it all together. In the Mario Party series, you have the board game to bring it all together. In New Super Mario Bros., you have the main platforming game. Smooth Moves, though, doesn't have anything of the sort to present the minigames in any cohesive way. You see a "city" map, but I'm not sure why. There's a loose story connecting the mini-stories, but it falls apart quickly.

Of course, this game is only about the minigames and multiplayer, so story and cohesion probably don't matter much. I, however, couldn't help but feel that these elements were sorely missing. This game feels a lot like a DS game (like some other great early games for the Wii like Trauma Center). It's polished and stylish, but a bit hollow.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Wario Smooth Moves

posted by Sargespam (NEWHALL, CA) Jan 29, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

The Wii proves to be the difference between a winner and loser, once again! This game would be just another boring game on another system, but on Wii it's great fun. Not really for adults, but my kids loved this game! Get it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I can't imagine mini-games without the Wii

posted by nintendo (BUTTE VALLEY, CA) Jan 28, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

Have you played Rayman: Raving Rabbids for the Wii, and loved the mini-games, well it has met its match. Warioware does what no other mini-game...game, has ever done before, make you look very stupid. No, no, no, I'm not insulting anyone, this game really does make you seem...odd. This game will make you put the Wii-mote in strange positions,you put it on your nose in an elephant position. Yeah, it is very wierd. But isn't that we al love the Wii. You'll holding it like a french fry, hula hoop, etc. You'll act like a waiter, and...a mohawk. Okay, so your thinking "Why would I want a game that makes me look stupid?" Its because that's what the Wii does best, and its fun. Even though the game will only take up an hour of your time you still won't be able to put the controller down for another hour or 2. The game is very simple so don't worry, just add it to your Q, or better yet, buy it. You'll be very happy with your results

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WHAT THE ??????????!!!!!!!!!!

posted by nytwolf (KANSAS CITY, KS) Jan 27, 2007

Member since Mar 2004

I just got done trying this game with my brother, and I have to say that this is single handedly the dumbest, most pointless game in history!!!!! For the love of god someone please smack the people who made this game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good but....

posted by zeldakix17 (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) Jan 25, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

childish... is for children the games fun if your under 12.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good Game

posted by OrcusHip (MILWAUKEE, WI) Jan 25, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

Fun game...but like some people said, it's really short. This is for sure a great game to rent. I like the dancing mini game the best, I just wished they had a multi player of that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

very good and fun fun fun game

posted by shorts1 (GIRARD, PA) Jan 24, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

ive liked this series and this game is as awesome. i just think tis game is too short to play and some of the controls are out of wack. theres no meaning to the game but i think thats great bc its way better that way. the minigames in this game are pointless but thats what makes it fun. i dont know why adults dont like this game, it really gets you active and you get exercise. so all the out of shape people reading this your time is now. so basically youve got to get this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fair game

posted by tiny41607 (PIKEVILLE, KY) Jan 24, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

This is an ok game. Mario party is a way better party game than this tho. The mini games don't even last long enough and some is difficult to figure out. The story line sucks and I beated it in a few hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game rules

posted by Jumpman (COTTAGE GROVE, OR) Jan 22, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

This game is awsome there are 200 new games on there they are all very funny and there are all of the charactors on all of them and new ones there is also MORE 9-volt the best charactor so if you like crazy,funny think fast games then rent or buy i did

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Frantic Fun

posted by RedShoe (REDWOOD CITY, CA) Jan 22, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

It's a bit 'crazy' and all-over-the-place. I bought this game. This could easily be considered a 'rental-only' type game - however - it is a game that any Wii Owner has to play because it is a Wii-specific game. Some games require that you ever-focused on the happenings of the game - in order to play the game. Not so with Wario Ware - just pick up the 'form baton' and go at it. Though the fun is short-lived - this is a game that shows off the 'fun' behind the Wii - to any whom are curious about buying a Wii for themselves. This game definitely brings the fun back to gaming.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Short, but Sweet

posted by Legion (CARROLLTON, GA) Jan 22, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

I knew what to expect before I started playing Smooth Moves. In the content and humor departments, this game exceeded my expectations. The only problem I had was the length of the single-player game. Just when I was starting to look forward to those new levels popping up out of the map, the game was over. Hopefully, Nintendo will release some expansion material in the near future.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Funny Stuff

posted by lovemycat (TACOMA, WA) Jan 21, 2007

Member since Oct 2003

This game is what you call a play with friends game. The Wii system is perfect for this game. The only bad thing is that it might take a while for you to know how to use the remote the right why for the mini games. But its still a good game. The best part is that you can play it again and again. If you have friends over you defiantly what to play this game with them. (except if your friends can't move wroth a lick) Right now though Smooth Moves is one of the best titles for the Wii. Its innovative, fun game play and silly at times. (I mean the dancing cats). If you have a Wii please rent this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Simply amazing, however...

posted by LiberalTom (COMMACK, NY) Jan 21, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

This game is fantastic. Let me just get that out of the way first. Definitely the most innovative game out for the Wii right now.
The only problem that I had with this game is that although the multiplayer is fun, it does not stand up to the Gamecube warioware in terms of multi player. The main thing is that you cannot have simultaneous play. The multiplayer modes are all pretty much variations on the Survival games in the gamecube one, but again, they are really fun.
I recommend this game to anyone. If you find a copy, buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse