Rent Wario Ware: Smooth Moves for Wii
view large frontback

Wario Ware: Smooth Moves

Not Rentable
GF Rating
7.2

4989 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A ton of fun!

posted by Laredo (CHICAGO, IL) Oct 2, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

17 out of 17 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is absolutely hilariously fun! Some friends and i (in our 30's keep in mind) were amazed at how fun and easy this game was to pick up! We spent hours on it and ended up beating the entire shebang in one evening. A couple weeks later and we're still trying to be as awesome as we can using the insanely fast challenge mode. This game is totally family oriented and awesome. A must rent!

Additionally, listening to how you are supposed to use the wii remote or 'form baton' is hilarious. The voice makes me burst into laughter every time!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfect Game to show off the Wii remote

posted by GoCards311 (BALLWIN, MO) Jul 5, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

These micro games perfectly display why the Wii is more than just a traditional gaming system. It is entertaining for anybody, and immediately playable due to its simplicity (although it IS very fast-paced) and mimicking of normal everyday tasks (for the most part). It doesnt take any explanation, really, and offers tons of replay value. The graphics and sound aren't "next gen quality", but they are the best that they could possibly be and are VVVERY entertaining to say the least. The visual/aural styling of this game is incredible and is unlike anything that I've ever experienced.

This is great for kids and adults. My only gripe is that the Multiplayer mode requires everyone to share one wii remote, which does not make any sense to me. This requires passing the remote around (between-round times are often only 5 seconds or so) without being able to secure the wrist strap in time, which makes it fairly dangerous, in my mind.

This game offers tons of replay value, but rent it to make sure you can handle the "different-ness" of this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Party Game

posted by punkrockin (SAINT PAUL, MN) Feb 14, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

15 out of 16 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

This game is great. It throws a bunch of micro games at you and you have to complete them in a matter of seconds to move on to the next one. After you get through 13 or 14 of them you get a boss stage that is usually longer and harder than the rest. They have these things called forms. There's over 25 to 30 of these. They are all the different ways you can hold the controller. Great explanation of all this forms are in the game. Pretty funny stuff. Tons and Tons of side games, like darts. You have to be on your toes if your about to put this game in. You'll be standing, sitting, running, pushing, pulling, swatting, anything and everything you can think of. There's about 200 micro games in this and a bunch of other mini games you can unlock. The game gets old after a couple of times playing it but it will always be fun to watch somone else try it. Great drinking game too. You have to try this one out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

By Far the Best in the Series

posted by Fusiliryan (PHOENIXVILLE, PA) Feb 24, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you have ever played a Wario Ware game, you know how ridiculously fun they can be. Smooth Moves is no different. ALthough it is not very necessary to enjoy the game, Smooth Moves has a very good and crisp presentation. There are hundreds of "micro-games" to play, all of which keep you guessing what strange or bizarre task you will have to complete next. The fun you have playing this game with friends or even alone adds a lot of replay value to Smooth Moves. This is good, since you will probably "beat" the game on the first day you receive your copy. Multiplayer is where Smooth Moves really shines. It consists of four modes all of which are great. One of the modes even allows up to 12 players at once, using only one controller, making it a perfect party game. Ultimately, Smooth Moves is a definite buy. Renting this games isn't such a great idea since you will beat it very quickly and probably not get as much use from the multiplayer modes. So just buy Smooth Moves from GameFly, it will be cheaper. AS long as you don't mind looking a little silly, you will have so much fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good But Short

posted by Dargo (BOUNTIFUL, UT) Aug 12, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed this game quite a bit and my kids did too. But it was a short game and I was disappointed when I finished it. However, the games are easily playable again and again, so it is worth it. As long as you won't get bored with it because you can't unlock anything anymor, you will be ok. My rating would be higher if the game had more than one map.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good addition to your wii library.

posted by Paradise23 (OXNARD, CA) Feb 18, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love this game because it is wacky, entertaining, and just fun. Though in a way the game is indeed short, there are still things you can do to keep you from getting bored. Lots of unlockables, fun multiplayer (even though it sounds lame to use one controller), i ended up buying this game for it's simplicity and unique gameplay. Fun, you should at least check it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Solid game!!

posted by Juice21 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Feb 15, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I pretty much rented this game because it was one of the highest rated Wii games and i really didnt expect much and to be honest it seemed way to childish and boring in the first half hour-to hour i played it but darn this game is a surprise! Im real excited to get a few friends over here and watch this turn into a real fav, 100% worth checking out if you need a good party game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

fun fun fun

posted by tobias007 (COLUMBIA, MD) Feb 12, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Really fun game. If you dont like fast games this game isnt for you. I enjoyed this game but only one dissapointment was i beat it in about 4 hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game

posted by gamedad (WALDORF, MD) Feb 20, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

I rented this game based on the reviews. I wasn't initially impressed with the game, but as you start playing all these micro games you get addicted. Everyone who came over....children and adults....immediately got addicted. The game had everyone laughing. This a great game that gets everyone involved because everyone takes turns while everyone is watch to see if they mess up. This game offers a lot of interaction and variety of the Wii controller. A must rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Smooth Moves: Hula till your hips fall off

posted by GannonMT (BOZEMAN, MT) Jan 17, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

22 out of 26 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

I purchased Wario Ware: Smooth Moves the day it was released not knowing what to expect. I am in my twenties and I bought a Wii for the fact that I am not a button masher and I don't play video games all that often.

Smooth moves has you putting the Wiimote in different positions, like on your nose or on your hips and you are thrown into a whirlwind of fast paced 5 second mini-games where in each game you have to use the Wiimote in a different "form" and figure out what to do. Like pick someone's nose or swat a fly. Haha. As you progress the games get faster and you have to use different forms for each one ultimately getting to a boss stage and completing that area. With about 200 mini-games you are not in short supply of silliness.

This game is definitely colorful and hokey, yet, surprisingly enough... a lot of fun. Definitely would be a great party game with 3 or more friends where you pass the wiimote off and try not to mess up as the games get insanely fast and you are laughing at your friends who are trying to hula a thousand miles an hour. :) My one beef with this game is sometimes you just don't know what you need to do with some of the games. Has anyone figured out the table tap game yet?

All in all. If you lack a sense of humor and don't like to do silly things in front of your friends, then this is definitely not for you. I love this game and I am still finding new ways to embarrass my friends when they come over and play the Wii. haha.

I say buy this game and keep it around for parties and when Grandma comes over. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fast paced fun multiplayer Wii game

posted by RichScarry (MISSOULA, MT) Mar 12, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2006

20 out of 25 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Warioware has always been multiplayer friendly, and Smooth Moves does not let down. This game has a ton of personality with its off beat humor. There are so uses of the Wii-mote in this game, and the tutorial that it gives you the first time is just hilarious.

This game is very short overall. In order to have multiplayer, you also need to finish the entire game in single player mode. This is not to hard, and till take you at most an afternoon. Single player mode is enjoyable, so beating the game is easy on the mind.

The Wii-mote in this game can take a little getting used to. The games start and are over within 3 seconds many times, so positioning yourself with the Wii-mote can be hard. And there are sometimes that the remote just doesn't to cooperate with the player.

Overall, this game is worth a play through. The different modes will keep you busy, and obtain high scores against your buddies will be worth the money you spent on it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game

posted by escher (PINE BLUFF, AR) Jan 16, 2007

Member since Dec 2004

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Started to play this game and my first thought was amazing. This game fully utilizes the Wii and warioware. The mini games are crazy addictive and the multiplayer is fun with a big crowd(up to 12 on a certain minigame). It has a classic warioware touch and feel except that now you have forms(poses). I can't find anything wrong with it yet. It just seems like a great random game videogame.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Lots of fun, but then what?

posted by MrWorkrate (RALEIGH, NC) Feb 25, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Wario, upon first play, is an action packed, fun paced game. It's got a great sense of humor, and leaves you laughing just following the "plotline", between the ministories at each level to the Jack Handey-esque instructions when you have to use the controller in a new way. Fans of Japanese pop culture will give bonus points here as well.

As for the actual play, it's a lot of fun, especially playing with a friend. The various movements leave you looking like a moron as you try to replicate the motions (use it like an elephant trunk!), which is what the Wii is all about. Although the game doesn't start with a multi-player mode, you find yourself taking turns with a friend trying to move to the next level without feeling left out. Not really knowing what you're "supposed to do" in the minigames is part of the fun too - everything comes at you 100 miles an hour, so by the time you figure out what you're supposed to do, you've already failed (but you know for the next time).

The #1 issue that holds this from being a top-tier game is the next day. Once you beat the game, there's nowhere else to go. No secret boards, no real "different" levels - just back to square one again. Again, with the games being relatively simple enough that a little practice will allow you to get through each level, it's not too hard to get through all the levels in a day, and then you're left with a game that's going to collect dust until you have a few friends over.

It's a 10 for a rental (which is why you're here) and maybe a 6.5 for a $50 purchase. Definately rent it and let the others buy it, and maybe late on down the line pick it up as a pre-played game or on the discount rack for $20-30, especially if you like to play with friends.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Wario ware is good hit

posted by hihayato (HONOLULU, HI) Jan 31, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The game Wario ware: smooth moves for the wii is a good hit. Even though it may have some flaws such as reading a fast hit with the remote. it is still good. the things you do in this game are fun and different from any wii games. you may have to get up and dance a little at time but its worth it for some fun. The game play is simple, you use the wii remote in different poses to do certain tasks such as cut a log or even shave a dog. there really isn't much of a story to this game but it does show some interesting figures. the design is not to great for the wii but mainly focus on what you have to do in the game. but to average it out, its mostly a fun game to play with friends then to play alone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

rent me dont buy me...

posted by jrb9803 (MORROW, GA) Jan 31, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Wario Ware shows the power and just how far the Wiimote can go..but this game severely lacked in length and multiplayer modes..i was hoping to turn it on play with all my friends but nope just single player modes..which dont get me wrong are very very fun!! But the single player mode can be beaten in one day..just rent it..dont spend 50 bucks on this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Short, But Oh So Sweet

posted by Wendigo17 (DACULA, GA) Jan 20, 2007

Member since Nov 2004

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I'd like to mention that I beat this game in one night with a couple of my friends; it's very short even after you've unlocked everything. The play control is responsive, and just watching other people spaz out never seems to get old. The soundtrack doesn't quite compare to Warioware: Touched, and the addition of voice acting would have provided some extra personality for the eccentric cast of characters. A few of the multiplayer modes sound cool in theory, but they're mildly entertaining at best. The unlockable single player games were pretty fun (including a 2-player hurdle-jumping event); they definately exude that arcade feel. I would normally have a difficult time justifying the purchase of a game that I gave a 7.5, but since some of the better Wii titles aren't due till later this year, I couldn't blame you for buyin' it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It was OK.

posted by Jessefizzo (GOLDEN, CO) Feb 23, 2007

Member since Jul 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game was fun but a little strange for my taste. If you don't mind strange Wario then you will love this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Don't buy, rent

posted by jkiddfan (SYRACUSE, NY) Feb 14, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is a very good game. The mini games are awesome and it's interactive. You have tons of hand motions with the wii remote like The dumbbell and the Waiter. This game has everything except a long story mode. When i received this game at my house I started to play it and the next I played it still. I beat every person and There was nothing else to do except unlock more mini games. I was disappointed that it wasn't a long story mode. But don't get me wrong it's an excellent game. Don't buy this but rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

fun fun fun fun fun fun fun fun fun fun fun fun !!

posted by naruto12 (DUMFRIES, VA) Jan 22, 2007

Member since Aug 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is anime (surprisingly). But this game is really easy and fun.

by
naruto

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The better yet same WarioWare we all grew to love.

posted by 360player (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Jan 16, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

WarioWare : Smooth Moves is the Wii installment of the WarioWare series. It uses all of the aspects of the Wii remotes which makes it an all around good and fun games.
With all of the crazy and bizarre mini games, you'll want to play for many many hours. I definitely recomend this game if your a fan on the WarioWare gmaes, and if your not familiar with WarioWare, try it out, I'm sure you'll love it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Another hit!

posted by PhillipV (ALPHARETTA, GA) Jan 23, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

So i come home 5ish and warioware is waiting for me in my mailbox. I pop it in and find myself immersed in this fantastic game. I loved how almost everything in the game as a trademark has Wario's shnoz and mustache. I didn't like how i had to sit through the story without any way to skip it as it isn't really that enticing. Around 9ish (I also made breaks to eat and do homework) i beat the main game. There was ALOT more to do (mini games, harder levels...etc) but i just felt like returning it. Overall this game is a 9. The game itself it fun. The graphics aren't really that great even for a wii game (You know when you have a solid color .jpg and you can see the splotches, well i noticed quite a few splotches throughout the game... didn't bother me though). The mini games are all fun and unique and i defiantly recommend this to at least rent for any wii owner

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Excellent but not prefect

posted by RobMaster (BRONX, NY) Jan 20, 2007

Member since Feb 2004

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

there's only about 200 mini games, which is not that bad. good for your friends to come over and play, get 4 wii remotes and have a blast.Story mode ends to fast for me. But it gets a 9 cause what else is there to get for the wii?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Too Short! and weird.

posted by Plue15 (GALVESTON, IN) Feb 25, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This was very fun and used the Wii's Wiimote like it should be used. theres over 200 mini games of fun! I liked em all! And plus theres a awesome multiplayer place were you play mini games with people using the Numchuas and wiimote one have the Wiimote one has the Numchuas, like one mini game one have the Wiimote one has the Numchuas and you have to jump when its your turn.

There is over 25 stances like some are: The Mohawk, The Finger Food, The Umbrella, The Elephant, The Remote, The Handle Bar, The Chauffeur, The Big Cheese, The Samarai,The Waiter, and many more! In all these stances you have to use one of them in a certain mini game witch can be fun!

But the bad things were that it was really short, it made you look very ridiculous when you played it.

So Overall It is very fun the stances are interesting. It was a 3 hour game and makes you look dumb while playing it. That's why I give it a 8 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Disappointing.

posted by SuperMatt (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jan 17, 2007

Member since Jan 2004

7 out of 19 gamers (37%) found this review helpful

This was my first time playing a WarioWare game and I was really excited to finally get a chance to check it out. Being a Nintendo game, I thought it would be a game that was fun, with great design.

I was wrong.

Maybe it's just my taste, but the majority of the minigames are boring, too quick and seem more based on quickly guessing what you need to do, rather than skill. The games are given to you in a rapid-fire mode, but with almost no instruction. The controls are only intuitive about half the time.

The story itself was quite bizarre, and you can't skip through the cuts.

My cousin and I played all the way through single player tonight, and checked out all of the multiplayer options. I will be sending it back tomorrow.

If you're looking for a game with some fun minis, try Rayman's Raving Rabbids. The mini games on that disc are much more thought-out and polished.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Seems like their testing software

posted by marclar (BROOKLYN, NY) Jan 25, 2007

Member since Mar 2005

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I was excited for this game, but it seemed thrown together -- like maybe these are the games that developers used as they finalized the Wii controls before launch. I laughed at the first couple of games (in a good way), but wasn't impressed and wasn't entertained after that. I returned it the next day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse