Rent Wario: Master of Disguise for DS
view large frontback

Wario: Master of Disguise

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.4

543 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun for a bit, but impossible

posted by protox (LAKEWOOD, CO) Jun 29, 2007

Member since Mar 2005

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Impossible to withstand. It's repetitive, boring, complex, and without direction. I found myself wandering around levels having no clue where to go or what I'm supposed to do. There is a severe lack of direction in the game. Not only that, I can't beat it. The last part of the game gives you a complex nearly impossible situation you have to pass to win. I tried over a dozen times and can't.

The controls are annoying too. Sometimes you have to use the direction pad and the stylus at the same time. Playing this game will hurt your wrists. You have to hold your DS with one hand while controlling with it the whole time. Plus the drawing things to get your costume change to work, don't always work. The worst thing is the fact you have to do the same mini-games over and over again.

I wanted this game really bad. I loved the Wario games that imitated Mario, but this is far from SMB. I don't really like it, and I'm obviously not the only one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Wario: Master Of Lame

posted by Lindsey1 (PALATINE, IL) May 23, 2007

Member since May 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Being a Wario game owner (Warioware Touched) I thought this game was going to be at least decent, man was I wrong. Having to read (slowly) everything that was being said was annoying and having to draw everything that you wanted to get done got old real quick. The game would have been better with no back story and no dialog. Trust me when I tell you... Leave this out of your Q and rent Warioware Touched!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Don't waste your time..

posted by ChaoKai (EVERETT, WA) May 17, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When I first started it up I thought "Yes Another Wario game like the Original (for the Game boy) He gets forms and he has powers" However...I was very VERY Soon told otherwise. This game All around was not good at all. Sure He had forms But using them were next to impossible 8/10 Times When you drew the symbol it didn't take correctly. The story was Horrible at best and The game play was also fairly annoying to get used to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Skip this Wario title... they'll make another.

posted by cplgaming (EUGENE, OR) May 16, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The beginning starts out fair enough. You, Wario, fall asleep in front of the TV.. and are transported into some magicians TV show.. where you promptly steal his wand. The wand then talks to you & teaches you how to turn into a thief disguise, which helps you jump higher. Awesome!! This is off to a great start.

And then... that's where it drops you. It's like raising a child until they are 1, and then dropping them in the middle of a forest. "Good luck, kid!" it calls, laughing maniacally, while you sit there with tears in your eyes, asking "why?"

After banging my head against a table for 2 days, walking back and forth between the exact same 5 panels, I finally go to the Options screen.. where the wand had promised that if I forgot how to turn into a thief, I could go there to re-learn it. Right next to THIEF were 3 more options...

Whhhaaaa??? Why wasn't I even Notified of this?! What, I'm supposed to just GUESS that I automatically have other costumes?!

Of course.. once you figure that out, the game becomes infinitely more fun. Draw a bubble on your head to be an astronaut & shoot laser beams, make a box with a line through it to become an artist & create temporary blocks, or draw a lollipop to become a genius & see things that are otherwise..well.. obfuscated. (it says you can see things that aren't there, but you can. it doesn't actually take a ... .genius)

Long story short... perfect for someone that enjoys tiny little puzzles with little to no actual rewards... and possibly doing the same thing over & over & over.... or if you have a walk through handy, as some of the puzzles are fun to figure out.

(Entire review at Couplegaming)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Disappointingly Horrible

posted by nerevar08 (CHILLICOTHE, OH) Apr 7, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Wario Master of Disquise is a game with very few positive qualities. It's a 2-D platformer featuring a classic Nintendo character. That's about as positive as it can get. The graphics are horrible, Wario himself can barely be recognized and the backgrounds are straight outta 1995. Haven't games progressed even a little since then? The sound is annoying and also very dated. However, these aren't the worst features of this game. The controls are clearly the breaking point. You must move and jump with the d-pad, but tap the screen to attack... THIS MAKES NO SENSE! It is the opposite of intuitive. The one slightly innovative feature about this game is the ability to change costumes by drawing a shape on the screen, somewhat similar to Black and White. However, I hate to compare it to Molyneux's great god sim because this game can't even get that right! Most of the time, you draw a shape and nothing happens! Or the game registers it as something else, even more frustrating! The game isn't meant to be difficult by any means, but the horrible, unresponsive, unintuitive controls make it somewhat difficult to progress. I was only able to play for a few hours before I finally realized that the game is frustratingly pointless and not worth my time. I would encourage the reader to take my advice and not waste time with this abysmal piece of trash disguised as a game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Wario: Master of Disguise

posted by Trogador (Woods Cross, UT) Mar 15, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

Wario: Master of Disguise is a puzzle-platformer with a few flaws but ultimately ends up being a worthy addition to the DS line-up. The concept is awesome: you guide Wario through a TV world (which is beautifully animated, by the way), using the d-pad to move and the touch screen for just about everything else, from attacking enemies to swapping between wario's 8 different disguises. The disguises are the main concept behind the game, hence the title. It's actually really fun to use the disguises; each one is unique in it's own way and has special powers, such as Dragon Wario's fire breath and Sparky Wario's room-lighting ability. Unfortunately, this is where the games biggest flaw becomes apparent: the use of the touch screen to "draw" the disguises onto Wario. Don't get me wrong, this function is cool, but it doesn't always work. Turning into Arty Wario when you needed to be Spaceman Wario during a hectic boss fight is really frustrating. Actually, that's pretty much the game's only flaw, as everything else is great. The music is appropriate, the levels are well designed, the puzzles are entertaining, but the story, while well written, does seem to have a bit TOO much potty humor in it. Overall, this a great game, definitely worth at least a look if you have a Nintendo DS. Great stuff.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Solid platforming, HORRIBLE mini games.

posted by drunkyb (FORT WORTH, TX) Mar 17, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

11 out of 15 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

If you can count on Nintendo to always do one thing right, since the dawn of time they have done platforming to perfection. This continues with WARIO MASTER OF DISGUISE, an excellent way to combine classic platforming with nice touch-screen controls. More or less, this is a sort of PRINCESS PEACH 2. You use the stylus and arrows for all the controls (or the buttons if you are a lefty, like me) and it works really well. Drawing disguises on Wario, and learning which disguise works best for each situation is fun as well. Where this game suffers is the way actual disguises are found, with doofy minigames. If this was any character BUT Wario I would be even more disappointed with how dumb these games are, with how much they take away from the solid platforming - but thanks to WARIOWARE, it is a little understandable WHY theyre in here. But they still are bland and boring. The graphics are a tiny bit better than typical gba platformers, but who cares about great visuals when the platforming itself is as solid as this is. This is not WARIOLAND, this is also not anything near as fun as NEW SUPER MARIO BROTHERS, YOSHIS ISLAND DS, or SUPER PRINCESS PEACH. However, this is a very fun platforming game with dumb minigames and TERRIBLE "cut scenes". And you get to be WAH WAH WAHHHHRIO which is always fun. C +.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by GloryHog (BAMBERG, SC) Aug 1, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is a great game to own, it has puzzles that make you think, and is really fun. My 8 year old and 5 year old both loved playing this game.

Fun maze type game with awesome graphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

One word: YUK.

posted by UnityK (AKRON, OH) May 7, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2003

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

OK... I tried to like this game. I've read all sorts of great things about it, but I just couldn't get into it.

I liked the premise. I like the characters. I liked the storyline.

I hated trying to control Wario. The DS screen is too small. The stylus navigation on the screen is lousy. The music is irritating.

Wario, disguised or not, was not for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Virtually Unplayable

posted by Bryce1442 (BELLEVILLE, IL) Apr 1, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

I'll just rate in any order:

Story: Lacking. It would have done better without a backstory, honestly.

Controls: The makers of this game decided that in order to get more sales they would create the most awkward and clunky controls ever, with no way to change it.

Graphics: Sub-par. It's like four different sets of crappily drawn images rolled into one, really horid scene after the next.

Characters: Plain and plainer.

Concept: Okay, but poorly executed.

Dialogue: Boring and slow. Text goes by about 4x slower than a second grader can read. Really.

Explanation: You have to figure out a lot on your own because of how poorly explanations are written.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Wario So Sorrio

posted by DJCutman (WILMINGTON, DE) Apr 4, 2007

Member since Nov 2004

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz, Oh wait let me wipe the drool off my face. After playing or should I say reading the fist level I was very disappointed. I own every other Wario game, I love the franchise and hope for more too come. This installment was not even worth the rental.

That is why this game received a 2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excellent game

posted by Destroy (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Nov 15, 2007

Member since Oct 2004

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

The more I play this, the more I dig it. It keeps surprising me. The different costumes/disguises Wario changes into make the game really interesting. And the costumes get upgrades later so you can do even more with them later. The ingame story is kinda funny even if they are a little verbose. So what?

This game really reminds me of sort of a precursor to Super Paper Mario for the wii. It's got just as much adventure and story. I'm sure there can be comparisons to Super Princess Peach too, but from what I know about that one, this game has more complexity. 2d mario platformers never really died. They just got different names, in my opinion, and then of course we got the "new super mario bros" too, which is great.

The control for the game is sort of strange at first. The d-pad and the 4 buttons do the exact same functions and you use the stylus a lot. So mostly you hold the ds with your left or right hand and do things with the stylus. I tend to hold with my left and sometimes use the button on the right for jumping.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game is lame and boring!

posted by snake007 (OREGON CITY, OR) Apr 28, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This game is lame and boring! Wario is a boring character and doesn't do much. I didn't like the powers that I had to choose from and I didn't like the wand guy in the tutorial. It got real old drawing everything that he needed during the game. It was very repetitive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

another boring game

posted by dawinner (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Apr 6, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This is the worst game i ever played. The only good game is the wii one (smooth moves). They they to make better games but they all bet the dust. I just got it for the first day and it its teribal. Man its a waste of money. Other people might think that its good the only thing its good for is a 5 year old. If i were you I never in a billion years get this (and yes even you 5 year olds). Yes it is cool to change things you can do but its hard to draw the line. So this is the worst game EVER!!!!!.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Love it but...

posted by sammy21 (SATSUMA, FL) Mar 20, 2007

Member since Sep 2004

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

Really like this game but I am sooo stuck on level 6. I wish someone could come up with a walkthough for this game. May be returning without finishing due to the fact I cannot get through that level. Any help out there?
Thanks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Like Super Bad!

posted by knblouis (SAN LEANDRO, CA) Mar 24, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 12 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

This game is really like stupid. The only thing that i'm good at in this game is the minigames. And that's not even the actual game. I don't recomend this game for people that are hard on their self. I'm one of those people. This game is very,very,very,very,very,- very BAD! This game sucks!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

If only they would have dropped the stylus...

posted by LemmyKoopa (MADISON, WI) Jan 11, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2011

Master of Disguise has a great foundation to it, with clever level design, an original moveset for a platformer, and a solid soundtrack. It's certainly a game I wanted to like.

Unfortunately, the controls make this game very difficult to play, because both the buttons and stylus are used. You really need both hands to play the game, even though either the D-Pad or the letter buttons are theoretically enough, because to jump and steer with just one hand, as is often required, is very difficult. So you need two hands for that, but you also need to keep your stylus at the ready, because you must use it to switch costumers, launch most attacks, and even do simple things such as open doors. So I had to keep switching how I'm holding the stylus to accomodate. It kind of works most of the time, but it never gets past being annoying and it can get you in trouble in tense situations. Additionally, this game doesn't always register very well what you have drawn so you may have to try drawing what you want again and again. The controls work, but barely, and it keeps the game from being as fun as it could be.

The level design is nonlinear and there is an aspect of exploration, which I generally would like, but unfortunately with the controls being as they are, I wasn't very interested in trekking around longer than need be. That's a problem because sometimes you're going to miss something and then have to make your way all the way back to a certain room.

If you're looking for a nonlinear platformer that could occupy you for 15 hours to beat (longer if you're going for all the treasures and bonus content) and you can put up with the control issues or have a third hand, then this could be a good choice for you, if not then skip it. Without the control issues this would have easily scored an 8, maybe higher if I got invested in the extra content. If ever they rereleased this and you could change costumes with the R or L buttons, I would definitely pick this up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This Game Sucks...

posted by Gamers101 (CHARLOTTE, NC) Aug 29, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

This Game Is The Worst Game Ever Made. No Exaggeration. In This Game Wario Goes on TV Shows as a Master of Disguise. There is way to much talkin from characters along with even more instructions.
Waste of time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Yay. Another horrible Wario game.

posted by BULLY123 (PRATTVILLE, AL) May 30, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2008

Wario games stink. Don't waste your time! This one is the worst I've ever seen! You just wear your little masks and fight with your little fists! HORRIBLE! I've played this game once! I'll never play it again! I just talked and had sit through LONG words. Wario is the worst! That's why in Super Mario 64 he rarely appears!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

master of suck

posted by ArcadeGuy (BROOKLYN, NY) Mar 28, 2008

Member since Oct 2006

What you do in this game is draw on the stylus to change costumes, each with like, only one ability that you're supposed to use in specific instances. Other than that, you have to do lots of minigames for no reason, and find your way through the very confusing stages looking for the treasure chest with the item you need to beat the level.

This is not just a very grueling game, it's also poorly made and the presentation and graphics are very substandard. A big disappointment for a Nintendo franchise no matter what way you look at it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Wario Should Stick to the Wares

posted by AColema (NEW ORLEANS, LA) Feb 28, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

When this game got to my house I thought "awesome, this is going to be like Super Princess Peach but with Wario and more touchscreen action". How wrong I was. Wario: Master of Disguise is a clunky sidescroller that fails to capture the spirit of Mario like Super Princess Peach did. While I enjoyed drawing his various costumes on the touchscreen, I found myself really hating the gameplay and overall story. There is a plot in a Mario game? No and that is exactly my point. There was too much reading and it wasn't whimsical enough for my taste. When I play a Mario title I want fantasy and addictive platformer not a sad sidescroll with modern settings and an intensely dull story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

very borring game!

posted by geor2006 (SPRING HILL, FL) Aug 11, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

to rent this game for your first time it's fine,
'cause you are expecting to have fun and experience a new adventure,but it is just the opposited,this is a very borring game,you have to change characters constantly in order to go to a new level,it is stupid.Rent it for one time only,but do not buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Nice idea, bad execution

posted by Infinityma (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Jun 7, 2007

Member since May 2007

The game play is unique, but the controls are not very good. I think the back story could have been left out and the game gets pretty repetitive once you have all of the disguises.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game is lame!!

posted by Mech72 (SAN JUAN CAPISTRANO, CA) May 20, 2007

Member since May 2007

This game is lame and boring. I would not advise it. If you are looking for a fun game look again the wand guy bores me to tears. The costumes are really dumb. DON'T RENT THIS GAME!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

God it blows,it blows real hard!

posted by jrb9803 (MORROW, GA) Apr 20, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

one recomendation........dont play it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »