Rent Wario Land: Shake It! for Wii
view large frontback

Wario Land: Shake It!

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.2

2726 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

OK, but frustrating

posted by super10man (CHARLOTTE, NC) Mar 9, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

11 out of 11 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game itself is fun, but you have to repeat certain sections over and over to beat them. It was VERY hard to beat the last boss - too hard and frustrating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Wario Land Shake It

posted by 32clay32 (HUGOTON, KS) Aug 11, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Wario land shake it is a game that you will play and wonder if it will get any better does it? No not really this game is seems to really repetive. The game does have some changes in game play later like swinging on ropes balancing his way in a barrel thing, controlling a rocket ship barrel, and a submarine. They all use the Wii remote but they just truely arent that fun. It took me about 5 hours to beat this wasnt that fun, story was stupid, music was annoying, game play was ok, and after I beat i didnt feel like playinging any of the levels again to to get 100%. The only hard thing was the bosses at the end of each area, but truely only to where hard kind of the last was hard for sure which was way different then the whole game. Skip this Game!!!!!! Dont buy it, dont rent it, Dont even look at it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Entertaining but gets old fast

posted by Mocker (KINGWOOD, TX) Feb 4, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is game is different from a lot of games and its fun for a while but it gets old fast

Younger viewers will like it more

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The best sequel a Wario Land fan could ask for!!!

posted by g4m3rM (DES MOINES, IA) Oct 1, 2008

Member since Apr 2005

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

This is almost like an interactive saturday morning cartoon (a good one)! I had trouble putting it down. It has a well balanced control set-up that is very easy to learn and execute. The detailed environments are a welcome change to the traditional side-scroller. I would recommend this to any fan of the Mario and/or Wario series of side-scrollers; a definite good choice for a rental and worthy of a purchase to add to anyone's Wii library.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Shake It A Baby Now

posted by IllogicalJ (BROOKLYN, NY) Apr 28, 2009

Member since May 2005

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

When it grew harder to find original concepts for a 2D platformer, developers either went 3D or turned their platformers into hybrids like Viewtiful Joe. Leave it to Nintendo to go back to their retro roots and to publish a real winner--Wario Land: Shake It. Not only are the 30+ levels all hand-drawn (including monsters, bosses, and Wario), but the designs are hand-crafted, too. Each level has two paths (not counting the nooks for hidden treasures or bonus level maps): the one you take to get to the imprisoned sprite, and the one you use to race back to the start with your freed prisoner. In addition, each level sports 3-7 missions, from time trials to platform tweaking skills like "Don't Kill Any Enemies."

Some people have complained that they find this repetitive--these people just don't like platformers. You WILL need to memorize jumps and paths, you will need to follow patterns precisely, and you will need to be clever to make it through some of the levels (though you'll never have to worry about dying--there are no insta-kills, and you'll always have plenty of health). Furthermore, many of the levels are unique, from water and ice environmental effects (not to mention the wind of a speeding train) to special gadgets, like a "miniaturizing" machine or a guy-eating plant.

The one valid complaint is that the use of motion in the game does make your arm a little sore: you'll have to shake poles to spin on them, shake enemies to get health, and--most importantly--shake bags of money in order to reach your treasure-collecting quota. It's not nearly annoying as people say it is (not even in the awkward "subwarine" levels), but it IS tiring. What's not tiring is the joy of exploring new worlds--and if you really explore this game (i.e., don't just try to get through it quickly), you'll find upward of 20 hours here.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Wario's 1st Wii Title Has Some Flaws: Worth A Rent

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Sep 26, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

13 out of 16 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

This game is very fun and it has great level design with awsome music and good puzzles. The style of the game is like a cartoon ; which has a good story and the transition from one level to another is good. However; the levels are short, there need to be more checkpoints in later levels because it does get frustrating (especially when you are in the unicyclebarrel), and the bosses are way to difficult. It is fun for a while and it is a great one to play a few times a year; so rent it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Wario Land Shake It

posted by NicoBellic (CARVER, MA) Apr 12, 2009

Member since Jun 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Wario Land Shake It was pretty fun the thing that I didnt like about it was that it was a really quick game and if I were to buy it I wouldve gone crazy!The thing I liked about this game was that they let you use the Wii motes instead of using the tiny little buttons on the DS or the Gameboy.Besides that this is one of those games you would like to play on A school night when you are done with your homework.If you would like to know what its about then I would be glad to tell you. The game starts out with the king shake it capturing the princess as well as her minions but one of her minions manages to escape and jump off the ship their on.Oviously he goes seeking for help and he finds Wario(I dont know why he didnt get Mario or Luigi)he tells Wario the problem and oviously he doesnt care but then he tells Wario the part about the gold and I think Wario changed his mind as quick as you could say OK.I would tell you more but the rest is mostly gameplay and the end and I dont wanna ruin that for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Give this game a good "Shake" before you buy it

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Oct 27, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Bowser has kidnapped Peach and taken her to another dimension, and it's up to Mario to save her...
Oops, wrong game. In Warioware: Shake it, the alternate dimension is named the Shake Dimension which lies in a miniature globe.
Here, the evil Shake King holds the queen of the land and her people prisoner. Since Mario is occupied in space, Wario is asked to save the queen. In return, he will get lots and lots of gold and gems.
Nintendo sure needs to have new writers: the save the damsel in distress is getting real old. Wario isn't Mario!
It would've been better off if this was a simple treasure hunt. That will get Wario going.
What also hurts this game is Super Mario Galaxy. Shake it just doesn't have the level design, the content or the looks to match. Playing the levels over again to get enough money to get to the next set of levels is an annoyance. It's a bad way the designers use to try to stretch out the meager content. Shake it is not worth $50; it's better off with a $30 price tag.
Even the strong points, namely the shaking, feels like a gimmick. You find a sack, shake it and get coins. That's all there is to shaking.
Still, this is a very strong 2D platformer and those who love the Super Mario side scrollers will find lots to love about this game.
And the boss battles are challenging and somewhat fun.
Rent Shake It and give it a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

old school fun

posted by radf03v3r1 (WOODBURY, NJ) Feb 15, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you love the old super Mario games you'll love this one. It takes it back to side scroll with way better graphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

2D beauty

posted by Ifnotos (FORT PIERCE, FL) Jan 23, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I rented this game from this site and it's really awesome. It is a good enough game that when I sent it back I regreted it. I want to buy it now. It's a really good 2D platformer and anyone who likes 2D platformers should get it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Wario Greatness, Tons of Shaking FUN!!

posted by Cnart216 (CLEVELAND, OH) Sep 27, 2008

Member since May 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

What a Great Platformer,

This must easily be one of the best games I have played on the WII. The Controls are Easy But Unique at the same time. The Pretty graphics and variety in the levels keeps this game fresh to the END. In almost every level Wario will have something new up his sleeve and the Controls never let down even when your only using the WII remote tilted sideways. A simple shake, twist of the remote, or a 1,2 button combination is basically the control sheame but the game keeps bringing new ideas in different levels. Swinging, underwater, flying, all mixed with Pretty Graphics, Good sound and crystal smooth animations bring this platformer to Life on the WII. This is must have, the game is SHORT but the challenges should add some must needed replay value, But anyway the first time through is a GREAT experience and JOYFUL to the fullest

Graphics 8/10
Control 10/10
Sound 7/10
Funfactor 10/10
Replay 6/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Meh

posted by gamefag (OAKLAND, MD) Oct 26, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I always wanted to see a 2d platform game made in the most modern graphics and sound and I guess this is it, but somehow I feel not enough attention went into the game play. It's kind of boring and way too easy. Even my 6 year old had no trouble beating these levels.

Kinda sucks. I think the idea of Wario the master jewel thief has good potential if applied to the correct game, such as a game where he has to actually steal things instead of just finding money laying around.

Wario should be the best character in the Mario world but somehow they just can't figure out what to do with him.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Lacking!!!! Much

posted by growe7 (IRVINE, CA) Oct 8, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you like non 3-D games, Flat Boards, Moving to left to right on the screen or vise versa Only, you love this Game.

Not as good as Old Atari Pong.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Bright and Boring!

posted by RobNessa (JACKSONVILLE, NC) Aug 1, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Hold the Wii remote sideways? Really? Why develop a game for the Wii and only utilize technology and a control scheme rivaled by the original NES and out done by the SNES?

The colors are bright, the music is classic nintendo, but, it's repetitive and anything but challenging. I know it's a game for kids but then again so is Pokemon and the Mario series.

It's and alright game but I wouldn't recommend it over anything made during the N64 or Gamecube days. Sad!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Wario Land Shake It-Not What I expected

posted by MrMister (BEULAVILLE, NC) Jan 11, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

First off I am a sony fan, so this review may be somewhat biased. This game seemed to be more of a download than a first party release. The side-scrolling aspect and uneventful storyline left a lot to be desired. The animations were beautiful but hardly made up for the repetive gameplay. I felt like I had played this game before. By that I mean it feels just like a ds game on the big screen. With all the great games out there this is barely a rental and should never be purchased.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Wario

posted by Rich0270 (NEW CASTLE, PA) Dec 9, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I dont know where to start! The game started out slow n ended fast! I think it would be better to watch grama clean her dentures. Great anamation though but good drawing doesnt make it good .....at ALL!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very fun

posted by sayandjohn (BESSEMER, AL) Feb 22, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed this game. My mother REALLY enjoyed this game. It was really funny and fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Rarely been so bored

posted by protox (LAKEWOOD, CO) Oct 14, 2008

Member since Mar 2005

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

I have played every Wario Land that came out, even the somewhat bad Gamecube one. I have the DS wario land and thought that piddled out near the end of the game. This one lost my interest right away. Between the stupid story with nothing but grunts and text and the 4:3 framing, I hated it.

It seems Nintendo is too cheap to actually make full games. This seemed like a port from the DS version but lacking all the fun. The graphics aren't even decent like reviewers say. Sure it makes you waggle the controller like every other Wii game ever made, but it doesn't do anything new. The formula is simple and follows every other Nintendo game, and I'm sick of it. You have a guy, he has a mission. On the way you save people, do fetch quests and find treasure. The ending is always a letdown.

So if you're sick of waggle waggle waggle and you're sick of the same old boring Nintendo game with only 5 levels that takes like 4 hours to beat... then skip this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

suuuuucks

posted by acuellar44 (MIAMI, FL) Jul 11, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

it sucks

bad

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Mario Shake it

posted by thaxnjr (DELAWARE, OH) Oct 2, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 22 gamers (5%) found this review helpful

I was not impressed with this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I enjoyed this game.

posted by nnseabourn (SOCIAL CIRCLE, GA) Jun 15, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

I really enjoyed this game. Some of the levels are a little tough but I'd rather them be tough than too easy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Nice!

posted by Luigi221 (PLYMOUTH, MA) Mar 23, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

This is a really good game anybody should get it. You don't need a nunchuck to go with it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

ok game

posted by papabear76 (WOODRUFF, SC) Jun 14, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

this game is fun but also kind of slow. its an easy game to play. my kids love it though but easy for my 10 yr old to play also.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Nyah!

posted by DharmaBum (LAGUNA HILLS, CA) May 28, 2010

Member since Dec 2006

This game was not necessarily bad, it just wasn't particularly great. After playing NSMB Wii, SMG and SMG2, an old school 2D platformer with frustrating and unnecessary waggle controls does not impress. Gamefly has so many better games to offer - spend a day or two getting as far as you can in this, and then move on to the next thing in your queue.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Love it or Hate it

posted by Butsco87 (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) May 21, 2010

Member since May 2010

This is the kind of game you'll either love or hate. It has a very retro feel to it, but not in that good ol' way in my opinion. I am a male aged 23 and speaking from my viewpoint, it seemed rather childish. Granted, I have not played any other Wario games besides this one.

The graphics and plot were both very shallow at first impression, and I couldn't push myself to play past the 6th level as it quickly became apparent that the enemies I would encounter and the puzzles I would be challenged to solve would be highly repetitive and relatively predictable.
It definitely missed the mark if the aim was to create a modern and entertaining side-scroller.

Normally I don't write reviews about games I've played but I felt obligated to warn other players about this waste of 6 days worth of shipping and 3 hours played time. To sum it all up, I would've been embarrassed to be seen playing this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse