Rent Warhawk for PS3
view large frontback

Warhawk

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.2

4791 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Battle Galore

posted by Seanto (DANIEL ISLAND, SC) Nov 17, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

14 out of 14 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

For a first timer to the world of online play... watch out! Great fun and great introduction to playing endless opponents or fighting side by side with allies.

The fact that play is so variable makes this game addicting. Depending on your opponent, depending on your skills and ranking, depending on the game set... play time is never the same. I find this to be awesome where a lot of shooter games are structured. With a few exceptions and earned add-ons (in addition to ones you can purchase), you literally can go anywhere and do anything.

The only warning I have for you is beware of the hardcore Warhawkers... It's a game all but if you keep the mute off (enabling you to listen to other players) you'll discover the enthusiast. Be prepared for "sailor mouth"... not for the young who you do not want to expose to the violence of war and the harsh tongue. Play by the rules and you'll have a great time.

Not that I have any real time experience in the field I can certainly say that as time goes on in the game(which this game keeps track of every minute, every game... statistics galore) you learn the in & outs of survival and the perfect kill.

Play hard and score high!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

"Give me some air cover!"

posted by sin2sin (HENDERSON, NV) Feb 22, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When I first played the demo I experienced the same steep learning curve other reviews have mentioned. However, I was compelled to play on by the interesting balance of all the weapons and vehicles. A handgun might just be your best defense against a foe bearing down on you with a flamethrower? A field wrench can bring down a lumbering tank? Before long I'd stayed up all night playing.... Playing the demo..... On several nights.

The play options and strategies are endless. Stay and defend the flag in a homing missile or flak turret. Scout out mines and stealthily plant them within your enemies home base. Lay down a barrage of tank artillery to cover an escaping team mate with the flag. Capture critical zones for your team such as a bridge and hold a line against crashing wave upon wave of enemies. It all makes for some epic moments.

The graphics are good. The audio is good. The design is impeccable. The controls come. Before long you'll be stealing the flag, leaping off a platform, knifing a defender mid air, and stealing the jeep with the 20 cal turret he was manning in the hopes of stopping you....as you make your sweet escape.

Hearing the panicked voice of a flag carrier over your headset calling out "I'm pinned down by a swarm of warhawks" is something else. Whether you arrive in the nick time to fire one desperate rocket at the last persistant warhawk saving the day, or suffer the bitter sacrifice of placing yourself in between the assailants and their target; the experience shouldn't be missed. The only thing that keeps me from giving this game a 10 is the lack of a solo campaign which I can easily overlook.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome! Go PS3 Exclusives!

posted by gewehr43 (DALLAS, OR) Feb 23, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Awesome Graphics, great combat, and insane explosions and rag doll deaths make Warhawk one of the best games for PS3. Plus getting the expansion packs really add to the fun with the jet packs, and the air and ground troop transports. Hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Warhawk=Perfect online

posted by WARHAWKGOD (HOUSTON, TX) Jun 11, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this is the most fun game ever! anyone can jump in and have fun. plus there are plenty of servers with tons of people! so you never have to play alone. also the explostions are amazing! THIS IS A MUST BUY

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Absolutely amazing

posted by WhoKnows (AVON, IN) Mar 2, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is the ultimate online experience for PS3! Most bad reviews are from people who rate it on the first day. I have to be honest the first time I played Warhawk I thought I wasted my money. It just takes a little getting used to but you'll love it. Just buy it though. You don't want to get an all online game to rent. Trust me its worth it!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Smooth Online Play

posted by PghMonahan (PITTSBURGH, PA) Aug 31, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

16 out of 21 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

Warhawk is by far one of the smoothest running games I have played on any Playstation platform. The PS3 really shows it potential with this title. I have yet to experience any lag or drop in frame rate, this game runs smoothly at all times, even amidst the chaos of tanks, jeeps, planes, missiles, and flak exploding everywhere. The graphics are suitable for this game type, colorful with a touch of realism, but the lighting is absolutely amazing, real time shadowing and some nice textures add to the eye candy. This game is as frantic as it is fun, those of you that remember how great Twisted Metal II was back in the day will absolutely love this game. Same feel with more vehicles, more weapons and on foot action to boot, no pun intended. The variety of weapons stand up to the variety found in Twisted Metal games as well. Old favorites like Homing and Swarm Missiles return with some new friends like the Camera Guided Toe Missile and the Cluster Bomb. There are 5 expansive Maps that accommodate all game modes and game sized from 8 to 32 players. The usual Death match, team Death match and Capture the Flag are game modes along with Zones.(Think Control Points from Socom)Add to this great package a nice fresh coat of that next-gen PS3 shine and you have an amazing title that stands it's ground even though it is an online only title. That's the big warning folks, those of you looking for a one player experience need to look elsewhere, WarHawk is an ONLINE ONLY TITLE! So be warned. This game is by far one of the most fun for the PS3, and yet still remains challenging due to the human competition you face. So if you are looking for an engaging, multi-tiered, adaptive shooter, WarHawk is your game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Are you serious

posted by Detroit313 (WESTLAND, MI) Oct 27, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME IS THE GREATEST! PERIOD! This is better than that damned Halo! I own a XBOX 360, and I play Halo, and I play this, this is better for MANY reasons! First the gameplay is REALLY smooth, and flying the planes is simple, even though you can it is simple, you have to be able to dodge missles. The ground game is great too, no matter what weapon you have, you can possilby run the table if you know what you are doing. Clan play is fun too! I bought this as my FIRST GAME and I still play this every day. Most Def a must have to any PS3 collection!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best on the PS3 (so far)

posted by SmileyDude (MOUNTAIN VIEW, CA) Sep 2, 2007

Member since Jun 2005

38 out of 53 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

Well, let me start off by saying that this is one of, if not the most enjoyable game on the Playstation 3. If you doubted this game for a second, then shame on you. Graphics are excellent, and the sound is loud(not too loud) enough to make it feel like a real war. On ground, you can access almost any area, except the warning zone(out of the map) which will either warn you or kill you slowly, depending on the server. Combat is hard and fast, and there is plenty of ammunition and weapons for everyone, with fast re spawns and easy to see weapons. In air, it's fast, intense, and....well, fun! You can pull off spins and flips by moving the right analogue stick, and speed up and down with L2 and R2. L1 and R1 are your fire buttons, and triangle is toggle between hover and flight. Hover is exactly like a helicopter, and is best for picking off ground units. Finally, the ground vehicles. Jeeps and tanks. That simple. Jeep has 3 spots, driver, passenger, and turret person thingy. Tanks have a driver and a passenger, who can pop the top of the tank and fire guns, throw grenades, etc. There are a total of 4 modes, death match, team death match, zones, and capture the flag. I won't go into the modes, because they're the same as any other zone or death match you've ever played. The ranking system is not completely set up yet, but it was the same with RFOM, and now that game is perfect. My only complaint, was that it is almost impossible to get onto a server! I spend about 1 out of 3 hours trying to get in a game every time I play. You join a game that has about 7 spots, and it says joining game for about 30 seconds, then a pop up comes up and says "game is full", though it has 7 spots! They need to fix this soon, and I'm sure they will, but this could just be me. DO NOT, LET THIS DISCOURAGE YOU!! this game is a must buy! I highly recommend getting this game! if you own a PS3, BUY IT! BUY IT NOW!! unless of course you don't like futuristic war games.

SmileyDude

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Something for everyone

posted by ih8myusrnm (MESA, AZ) Jul 16, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

If you enjoy a social life that requires physical presence then do not buy/rent this game. This thing is amazing. Never has a game been able to suck me in as much as this. I've survived Diablo 2, I've survived WoW, but there is no cure for Warhawk Syndrome (or WHS to fellow sufferers).

You Like to run and gun, it's got it. You like to fly devastating jets of the future, check. You like to blow hapless troops into smitherines with a tank, double check. This game has all of that AND you can actually have a chance at winning doing any of it.

That is a key part of the WH genius, balance. You would think that a tank would completely dominate a lowly ground troop. But tanks are slow in movement and canon reloading giving you the chance to take it out with a flame thrower or take it apart with a wrench ( the latter thanks to the most recent update).

I can't do this game enough justice. It will provide hours upon days upon weeks of entertainment. After you beat GTA 4 you will come back to WH. After you tire of COD4, you will come back to WH. And after your girl(or boy)friend leaves you for playing it so much, you will come back to WH.

Just buy it already!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game but...

posted by bigdog0587 (GRAYSON, GA) Sep 14, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I really think this is a very good game but...
I think it suffers for the lack of a single player mode. The lack of this mode can be extremely frustrating if your not a hardcore gamer, or someone the actually has to work for a living and can't spend every waking moment practicing. Once you get online the game is simple enough to pick up but mastering is a whole other issue. Hence the problem. I get home from work, sign in, and I'm normally forced to play against users that are spending upwards of 8hrs a day playing the game. I can't compete an in turn get frustrated and cut the game off prematurely.
Just a thought.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The best multiplayer next gen game on a console.

posted by Hexpane (Daly City, CA) Aug 29, 2007

Member since Jan 2004

16 out of 24 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The best multiplayer next gen game on a console.

I had the sound cranked and its like total chaotic war going on. My heart was racing every time I was looking to board a warhawk and forgot about the missile launchers behind me, when one of those pops off in the real speakers of a 5.1 holy poopies I lost years of my life.

Its sort of a Battlefield type game but IMO way more fun and intuitive. Its 3rd person/over the shoulder view. Its another example of taking a time trusted mechanic and perfecting it. They use the semi rock/paper/scissors model for balance.

There are ground vehicles, air vehicles, foot soldiers and turrets. Turrets trump Warhawks, warhawks trump tanks/jeeps, foot soldiers trump turrets.

The turrets come in missile launchers w/ lock on (deadly but slow) or my personal fav the AA flak guns, very WWII style. You can just pound the sky w/ these AA guns and reduce any warhawk to nothing in less than 10 seconds. It works great tho as they are positioned in places so you cant just camp a turret and pwn the map, it has limited but deadly range.

Flying the warhawks is more fun than it seems at first. It feels a lot like Crimson Skies from the XBOX1 days, arcadey yet still has some flight sim stuff like stalls. The right analog stick is like Crimson Skies in that it executes loops/rolls etc...

Very easy to control, dog fighting is intense and avoiding lock ons is balanced well. You can avoid many missiles but you have to time it right.

The on foot soldier stuff is the weakest aspect of the game. The graphics of the foot soldiers are very cartoony and generic, and the weapons seem pointless. Its all about grenade tossing as those will destroy turrets, tanks and other foot soldiers. Gun battles rarely happen as someone will just spam grenades if you try and circle strafe. Its really my main gripe about the game in that its just not nearly as fun as the other methods of play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Quantum leap

posted by mastaisac (WOODLAND HILLS, CA) Aug 29, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

18 out of 29 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

This game in my opinion revolutinizes online play for future games. You step on to the game with a pistol and a couple of grenades. You soon realize that the maps are huge!! Even though there are only 5 maps the maps themselves are humongus and definately feel more like 10 levels. You have four options to choose from when the server list comes down. Zones, Capture the flag, Team death match, (Forgot the other one). This leaves plenty of action and gunfight to put you in love with this game.

1.Graphics - 10
2.Gameplay - 10
3.Loading - 10
4.Overall - 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A Realistic Review

posted by gaminglife (SAN JOSE, CA) Sep 5, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

16 out of 26 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

This game is quite fun and enjoyable. The learning curve for this game is quite large in itself and you may become frustrated at points.

The graphics really shine in this game and make up for lack of single player mode.

Here's the reason this game gets a 7 and not anything higher:

1. CTF, TDM and all other game modes that are not Dog Fight mode are very frustrating. The game is plagued by spawn campers with no way to stop them.

2. The ranked servers are full all of the time and make it hard to get into any game. Even when the game server says 31/32, 28/32 or anything like that it will still be full. Look for games that have 25 or less and you can get it.

3. The game freezes during play. Not often or a lot, but I have been playing for 2 weeks and had 3 freezes in this time during matches. Coupled with the problem of #2 this can be real frustrating and will make you turn the game off. No patch has been issued for these fixes as of today Sept. 5.

4. No single player. You pay full price for half a game. Buy this in store and get the head set. it evens out the price of what you would pay which is 30 bucks because the headset, which isn't great is only 30 in stores.

If you do play this game I suggest you stick to the Dogfight maps which is really this games bread and butter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

WARHAWK

posted by GAMCritic2 (SAINT PETERSBURG, FL) Aug 28, 2008

Member since May 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I played the game WARHAWK. POSITIVE: this is the BEST multiplayer game ever!!! The graphics are REDICULOUSLY AWSOME!!! You can fly an aircraft or jump in a vehicle or go on foot. It is really INTENSE and LOUD!!!!! The weapons are cool but you cant just choose one, you have go search for them on your own. The weapons include a KNIFE, PISTOL GUN, AUTOMATIC RIFLE, RADAR HOMING MISSILE LAUNCHER, SNIPER RIFLE, FLAMETHROWER, LASER TAERGET DESIGNATING BINOCULARS & FRAGMENTATION GRENADE. You could also costomize your character. The modes that you can play are DEATHMATCH, TEAM DEATHMATCH, CAPTURE THE FLAG, ZONES, DOGFIGHT(just flying the aircraft), HEROES & COLLECTING. This game also features other NEW stuff to buy & download which includes BOOSTER MIRROR PACK & OMEGA DAWN. You also earn ribbons & medals if your good at playing it & you can talk to your friends online by using headsets. I really dont aything negative to say about this game. This is the BEST MultiPlayer GAME EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game

posted by BlooDleter (OCALA, FL) Apr 15, 2008

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is sick lots of fun graphics are crisp all the way up to 1080p its so much fun you forget what time it is when you play so try not to playit if you are working the next morning lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

simply perfect

posted by bigbadben (EL SOBRANTE, CA) Nov 18, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i love this game, and play it everyday. i'm currently a sergeant, and need to get more points to rank up (to rank up, you have to earn badges, metals, as well as points.) every facet of this game is well thought out. i love the execution, and can't wait for more DLC to come our way via PSN! buy this game already!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game, don't worry about no single player

posted by detucks (AUSTIN, TX) Sep 13, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Honestly, without any reservations i must say that this game is fantastic. I honestly used to not really like games like this or Battlefield, but now it makes me really want to go out and give those games another shot.

Yes, you'll hear that "oh no, there's no single player!" I say, so what! This game is fantastic as it is. I bought it with the hopes that this would be my first PS3 purchase and that i wouldn't regret my system, and I really have to say, 'Wow'. All the reviews say about being able to truly use a sniper rifle from a distance are true. Plus, coming from someone who does not like flying games, the fighter plane aspect of the game is definitely not a deterrent. In fact, I really like how they make it easy enough to use it just like you would a jeep or other vehicle, something to get you from point A to point B and quickly get out to get to the action. And if you are stuck in a situation that plots you in aircraft battle, the controls are easy enough that piloting the thing and shooting are a breeze.

In all honesty, i ramble, but really give this game a good chance. I wasn't disappointed, and hopefully neither will you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The most fun you can have with your clothes on

posted by HotJohnny (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Aug 31, 2007

Member since Mar 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Warhawk is perfect. If you look at it as it is. Some people gripe that there is no single player mode. It was made to be an online game, if you want to be upset that there is no story mode, you might as well be upset that you can't plug a freaking guitar into it and kick out the jams. Don't even bother with the sixaxis control, they are not responsive enough. Otherwise, it's just plain fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excellent game

posted by Aeroangel (LONGVIEW, WA) Mar 14, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Warhawk may be online only, but this game can be extremely fun, challenging, and addictive. For such a small game (memory wise) it really packs a punch!

In Warhawk you can run around and shoot other players with a nice variety of weapons, lay down land mines, call in explosions with binoculars, drive around in a 4x4 or tank, or fly in a Warhawk with plenty of bombs at your disposal and the ability to do some tricky air maneuvers. You can join a clan or go solo, and you can communicate with other players via a USB or Bluetooth headset.

Play by yourself or with up to 4 people split screen, and play with up to 32 people online, or play a LAN match.

The best part about the game that makes me keep coming back is just playing it against other people and other clans. There is a rewards system in the game and I believe with each new rank it let's you change the paint job of your character and your Warhawk + you can get medals in the game, but even if they took that part out- I still would love playing this game.

There are 5 maps (6 if you get the booster pack) and a couple different game modes, but even though you can learn the maps fairly quick the challenge of playing against other players plus whatever strategy they create never gets old.

Also I read another post here that mentioned the problem where you would try to join a room that wasn't full, wait a minute, and then it would tell you it was full. I've had the game since it was released and they came out with a patch that obliterated that problem and pretty much all the other ones.

Pros:
Great graphics
Fluent controls
Very stable online experience
Great sound effects, and nice soundtrack
Huge replay value
Multi player
Fun, exciting, and challenging

Cons:
None

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

war squawk

posted by Gibmaker (GREEN BAY, WI) Sep 21, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

11 out of 27 gamers (41%) found this review helpful

The game all in all is not that bad. The thing that bothered me was that there was no tutorial which made it really frustrating to learn controls while you are getting owned. There is also no single player game. I played this game for about 1 hour, put it in the envelope, and sent it back. It seems pretty dumb to me that you have to learn the controls and get used to everything while you are getting shot at from 10 different directions.....bogus. I still got a descent amount of kills in but it did not grab me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I would love to play this game.

posted by ericwaddin (HONOLULU, HI) Sep 16, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

7 out of 18 gamers (39%) found this review helpful

No, seriously, I paid good money. I'd like to play the game.

As was adequately forewarned, this game is online only. Unfortunately, your PS3 must be brought to a local shrine and blessed by at least three gods in order to successfully link to a ranked server. I've spent a great deal of time choosing random servers from the list provided, only to be denied time and time again. A notice is displayed when choosing online play acknowledging this problem, but that doesn't get me behind the controls of a Warhawk.

Aside from this most glaring difficulty, the game has gorgeous graphics. The maps are huge, and the character and vehicle controls are fairly smooth and easy to use. However, Warhawk is a little shallow. The five maps don't provide much variety, and only three different vehicles types are provided. The choice of weapons also gets boring rather quickly. The unlockables (which require extended play on the illusive ranked server) are only small variants to clothes and Warhawk paint schemes, making no difference in game play.

Overall, I was disappointed with the game. I wouldn't suggest purchasing it at full price, and only at reduced price if you have a group of friends to link systems with.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game

posted by LogKenosha (KENOSHA, WI) Aug 30, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game is a great one. Tanks , jeeps and planes...... o my. The controls are difficult to get use to. once u r able to manage the controls the game gets better. ranking up is difficult. u have to play certain games to rank up and it is hard to distinguish what games are the ones to rank or to just play. very fun game. u r able to talk to each of the players but u have push to talk. wish u didn't have to do that, but it is nice to talk to each other.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A Little Disappointing

posted by beefytee (NEW YORK, NY) Sep 20, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

The action and graphics were all above par, but the lack of story or any single or co-op player mode is a serious drawdown for this game.

At best this would be that game that stays in my closet that I pop in to blow off some steam after completeing a difficult level in another game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best games I've ever played

posted by RedStorm (MORRIS PLAINS, NJ) Sep 19, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Personally, I think WarHawk is the best game out there on the PS3 right now. Playing online is a blast, absolutely no lag whatsoever. Yeah, there are some issues with stats and all, but nothing too major.

I was a little skeptical about getting this game, but after playing it for a couple days, it was definately worth the money. If you haven't played it yet, go out and give it a try. You won't be dissappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Absolute Garbage.

posted by AutoBlast (MEDFORD, WI) Nov 26, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

5 out of 22 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

Yes I Read Some Of The Reviews And On The Ones That Give This Game A Ten, You Either Gotta Be Stoned Or Stupid Or Both. Horrible, The Controls Were All Screwed Up And Sloppy, And What's Up With The Single Player Mode? That's Just It, There Isn't One. At Least Let Us Get A Feel For The Game Instead Of Throwing Us To The Slaughter In Online. I Love My Games Just As Much As the Rest But This Game Just Sucked. I Am Glad That It Was A Rental, I Got It Today (An Hour Ago) And It Will Be Back In The Mailbox Tonight. Shame On You PS3, I Sure Hope Pro Street Isn't Like This Waste.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse