Rent Warhammer 40,000: Space Marine for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Warhammer 40,000: Space Marine

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.8

4820 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Couldve been better

posted by Surprising (BRONX, NY) Sep 10, 2011

Member since Dec 2008

20 out of 22 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

This is a pretty good game for a 3rd person shooter. Very huge detailed environments that really bring the story to life, which is a good story by the way. The gameplay would seem like gears of war since it looks similar but its not exactly the same, There isnt a cover system really you just fight hordes of enemies at a time which is pretty fun for one main flaw, you have to execute an enemy to regain health. I didnt really mind this at first til i realized you are open to all enemy attacks while doing this which becomes rather annoying and abundant at the same time. Instead of enjoying watching some poor sap get ripped apart it becomes a liabilty and you will die a lot with difficulty set on hard, its very annoying. This just made me wanna hurry and finish the game before i took a hammer and smashed it to bits.

Besides that it becomes rather repetitive after a few chapters, not really much exploration to be had with this one and extremely few bosses.

This game couldve won me over with a few changes but its just a 6-7 hour campaign and im not even gonna bother with multiplayer since i need to buy an online pass

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent Warhammer 40K shooter/hack'n'slash

posted by gestapoid (RICHMOND, TX) Jul 12, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a very good and very under appreciated third person shooter/slasher. I think it got branded as a Gears of War knock-off, which is amusing in itself since Warhammer 40k has been doing big armor and chainswords since the 1980s.

Regardless, while you could be forgiven for thinking this is a GoW clone from watching videos, playing the game proves otherwise. Cover is important, but there isn't a cover system that sucks you up against a barrier. Rather, it's more of an old school type system where you hide behind environmental objects.

Besides cover, the main area that distinguishes SM from GoW is the much more robust melee combat in SM. The melee is just as fun as the shooting and the combination of the two really makes for some interesting scenarios.

If you are a Warhammer 40k fan, you should be pleased. It has all the things people like about the series and even some light references to the Dawn of War series. If you aren't familiar with W40K, the story is still entertaining and it might make you want to learn more about the rich universe.

The multiplayer is surprisingly fun and fresh, primarily because of the different style the melee adds. I find the Horde mode (Exterminatus) to be more fun than GoW's, though to be fair, it doesn't have the strategy of placing obstacles. It's more about the unbridled joy of smashing through hordes of Orks with 3 other people.

There were a few things I don't like about the game. The graphics are quite good, especially most of the player models and lighting. Particle effects are good too. The problem is that the game takes place on an industrial world so the palette is heavily oriented towards greys and browns. Areas can get repetitive.

Also, there are only two ways to recover health. One of which, executing an enemy, is actually dangerous as the horde surrounding you you usually beat the pulp out of you during the execution. It would have been better to pause the game during the executions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The Warhammer 40k Universe came first, guys.

posted by CommonWraith (GRAFTON, NH) Jul 2, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is NOT trying to be like Gears of War. At all. In fact, Gears of War could be considered to copy a lot of the aspects for the original table top game by Games Workshop.

This is a fairly decent game in itself. I, for one, was delighted to see the world come to life in a third person shooter. Definitely worth a rent.

Maybe next time they will include all of the races of the Warhammer 40k universe. I would definitely enjoy that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Average Action Experience

posted by NextIINothing (CINCINNATI, OH) Mar 7, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Warhammer 40,000: Space Marine places players in the huge metal boots of Captain Titus, a space marine. The story, which is decent (and will not be explained here), forces players to slaughter hundreds of enemies in a bloody fashion and will last roughly eight hours. The combat system functions well enough, and revolves around up close melee combat, and mid-to-long range gunplay. All of the weapons feel and sound very powerful, making them a joy to use and establishing them as one of Space Marine's strong points. Headshots make enemies explode; melee attacks shower the battlefield with blood and the stylized finishing moves earn players health. As mentioned, it is a very functional system, but it is unfortunately shallow. The basic mechanics begin to wear out their welcome roughly half way through the campaign. Combine that with some serious pacing issues and the latter half of the game feels like somewhat of a grind.

Visually, Space Marine never shines, nor will it burn your eyes. The amount of action on screen is respectable, and the scale of the game is noteworthy. However, drab/repetitive environments and stiff/lifeless facial animation do little to sell the story or build any real tension.

Overall Warhammer 40,000: Space Marine is an average action experience. Its weapons are fun to use and the cool finishing moves are bloody and satisfying. Unfortunately, these elements never evolve into anything that really helps Space Marine stand out in a genre that has no shortage of blockbusters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun!

posted by Maddhatter1 (DERIDDER, LA) Sep 7, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

13 out of 15 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

Im a pretty big fan of the PC series and this console version wasnt a disappointment. Granted I love the orks on the PC this makes you appreciate the space marines a little more. I dont play online so i wont comment on that but the single player is definitely fun. It has a gritty war feel to it and it feels a bit like gears of war to me in some places. It does get somewhat frustrating in parts when you die while in rage but you cant just run into a horde swinging and expect to survive every single time (learned that within the first 5 mins). Executions are nice but not enough variety for the animations. There's a nice selection of weapons and plenty of blood and gore to go along with them. The single player campaign is about 6 or 7 hours there's not much exploring to do and its pretty straight forward. There are no other single player modes other than the campaign that ive seen so replayability is low. If you're a fan of the PC series or a fan of third person shooters you should definitely check it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Rent

posted by Shadowkarm (KILLEEN, TX) Sep 6, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

23 out of 28 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

You are a captain of the Ultramarine's sent to a planet to stop the Orks from stealing a Super weapon.

This is a 3rd person shooter, has some elements that will remind you of gears of war. Plenty of weapons to choose from to kill hords of orks.

THE GOOD:
- Graphics are beautiful
- Voice acting is good
- Plenty of weapons to choose from melee and range
- Story is well told and immersive
- Hords of Orks to slay

THE BAD:
- Gets repetitive after a few hours
- Not much exploring to do
- Multi-player is dull and boring. Maps are not though out very well.

VERDICT: This game is a rent for the sheer fact that it has no replay-ability. You should definitely play it though its a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

beautiful environments!

posted by chillwell (OAKDALE, CT) Sep 9, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

Let me first say I'm 47 and my opinion might not matter to the younger folks, That said, let me say, I'm really impressed by this game.
I found the graphics to be absolutely stunning first of all. The environments are very detailed in a good way. It's obvious a lot of work went into this game. What impressed me the most is how the game never bogs down during even the most intense fighting sequences. And it looks so pretty the whole time. There can be a dozen or more enemies out there at once that I have engaged and I've yet to see the action stutter in any way. That is very impressive as far as I'm concerned.
But that's not all: the weapons are awesome as is the hand to hand combat. And although it's a very linear experience, the campaign stays fresh with the addition of new weapons AND enemies.
I should add that this game is no walk in the park either. I tried it on normal and got stuck and frustrated at one point and ended up dropping down to "easy" which is still a bit challenging if you ask me. But then, I'm no pro so that's not saying much. Still, I would recommend the "easy" setting for casual gamers who just want to blow through it.(If you start on medium(Normal) and decide to drop down to easy, you'll have to restart the whole game--which sucks-you've been warned).
Anyway, I give this game a 9 based on its fun factor, its beautiful graphics, its voice talent, its great weapons, and the fact that it just "works" the whole way through(no bogging down and no glitches that I've encountered).
It's definitely a rental for FPS fans, if not a purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not as I Expected

posted by KiiNGxKiiller (BLOOMINGTON, IN) Oct 25, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

When i got Space Marine in the mail, i was really excited. I went to my xbox, popped it in, and started playing. After a while of playing, i was totaly shocked! When i rented this game, i thought it was going to be a gory bloodbath based on the Chainsword and other weapons, but the most gore was a head popping off and some blood flying out. Also, the Orks you fight in the game are very cartoony and are no where near as defined as i hoped.
But through all the things i didnt like, i did like the gameplay. Sure, maybe it wasnt as bloody and gory as i hoped, but at some points, your fighting dozens of enemies and you feel like you could be overrun. This is one thing that i absolutely love about games! Also, it wasnt a feeling like "Oh god! theres dozens of enemies! Here, ill just blow them all up!"
It was more of a "OH GOD!!! THATS A LOT OF GUYS!"

All in all, this was a pretty average game. If your going into it expecting a gory game like Gears Of War like me, then your going to be dissapointed. But what it lacks in looks, it makes up for in some fun gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Decidedly Average

posted by Zombies (PLEASANT VALLEY, MO) Oct 25, 2011

Member since Aug 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

If you've played the demo, you've played the entire game. There are no epic battles, no amazing boss fights, no cool cutscenes or interesting dialogues/ in depth explanations of what's going on.

The novelty of the violence and execution for health wears off after a couple hours, and the simplistic button masher melee combat can't carry the game. The guns are boring, merely sci-fi takes on standard staples like pistol, semi auto rifle, sniper, shotgun, blah blah.

The worst part is the wasted potential. I did a little research on Warhammer after playing this game and the world holds a ton of interesting lore that is simply not taken advantage of here.

At least it's okay, not just miserable junk.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Boring...

posted by Adriana (RIVERSIDE, CA) Sep 27, 2011

Member since Nov 2005

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Boring, that's pretty much it. This game does what a thousand others have already done, and not even as well. Rent it only if you have nothing else in your queue.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Fairly Boring

posted by Squidterm (BROOKLYN, NY) Oct 24, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Not much new in this 3rd person shooter. If you like Gears of War, well... you'll probably hate this because it's not nearly as good. There are too many similarities to not compare the two.

Space Marine's seemingly plot-less killfrenzy is basically all that this game is. A straight walk through of killing hordes of orcs. Surely not the worse game of it's kind to ever exist. But the fact that these types of walk through trigger happy mind numbers are still made give this one no excuse for ever being spawned. I give it a 4 only because the graphics aren't vomit inducing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not perfect, but certainly more than expected.

posted by Gamefreak6 (ALBANY, NY) Sep 10, 2011

Member since Oct 2005

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I rented Space Marine, mostly because of the fact that it was the next big WarHammer 40K game, but on the consoles. I didn't really have any expectations as for the story, and I didn't even know about the multiplayer until after it shipped. The story turned out to be very well done, if a bit predictable in certain points. I went in expecting a shorter, Call of Duty length story, and beat it in one night. I was pleasantly surprised to find that not only did it last longer than that, but it made me want to go back and replay some of my favorite parts. The combat wasn't "Epic," full of super awesome things to write home about, but it had its fair share of unique and awesome moments. Keeping me going through the story was easy, since I wasn't terribly sure what they would throw out of left field. (The Warhammer universe has a habit of twisting things like that.)

I tried the multiplayer with one of my friends after going a ways through the story. While it wasn't perfect either, and in some places could really use a few fixes, I found myself enjoying it quite a bit, despite being restricted to level five until I buy the online pass. Mainly the weapons and a few pieces of customizable armor are restricted by level, but the various perks and weapon abilities are restricted by kills and other feats. Making my own space marine for my use in multiplayer was enjoyable (Who wouldn't find going around as an 8 foot tall pink marine turning people to mulch with a heavy bolter hilarious?) My only gripe was the lack of a cooperative mode, similar to(But not the same as) Horde mode in Gears of War, which this game could pull off wonderfully.

Overall, the game felt very well made, and of course, I'm sure the developers can only improve in the sequel. (At least I hope they do.) I recommend it to anyone who wants to play a really good third person shooter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Too simple, Too boring.

posted by Vahn32 (SACRAMENTO, CA) Nov 4, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

This game was way to simple for my own good. While not a Warhammer fan myself I have friends who freakishly love it, so naturally I decided to play the game.

First off the melee weapon system is extremely limited, the choices are a combat knife, Chainsaw Sword, Battle Axe. and Thunder hammer which prevents you from using two handed weapons.

The Melee combo's are weak, not even in the button mashing way, its just Attack Attack Attack heavy swing.

No enemy variety: All the enemies are the same after the first few chapters, its not till near the end of the game do you start fighting Chaos marines

Kills: When attack an enemy there are times when you can perform a instant kill...all the actions are the same, no variety deaths from different weapons or angles.

Storyline: The Storyline was decent enough, good if your a fan of the series.

Trivia: I got bored alot playing this game because of how everything got repetitive, I barely had the strength to finish the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Based on demo: A game worth serious consideration

posted by DroidsRule (ABILENE, TX) Sep 4, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

The demo for Space Marine has guaranteed that this will be a day-one purchase for me, skipping the rental.

I'll admit that at first, I was more than a little skeptical. I'm a fan of the 40k universe, a gamer myself, but I know that, outside of the Dawn of War franchise, the IP hasn't exactly spawned a lot of fantastic games. Furthermore, though Relic Entertainment has established themselves as a phenomenal, groundbreaking RTS developer - Company of Heroes remains the highest-rated RTS of all time - their only foray into action games was The Outfit which was decidedly meh.

After the demo, I can say my worries have been almost completely ameliorated.

The visuals are solid. They're not Crysis or anything, but everyone knows how subpar visuals can sully a gaming experience - no need to worry about that here. The sound is equally solid. Any fan of 40k will appreciate the care put into the bolters, and less informed players will still enjoy the loud booms. The voice acting is great, nothing amazing but more than sufficient.

But really, the most important thing here is gameplay, and let me say, the gameplay is pitch perfect. A beautiful blend of melee and ranged combat, the game gives players the option to switch between the two with absolute ease. If you are a hack and slasher or gun-nut at heart, you can stick to those play-styles easily, but to get the full experience you really have to just switch it up as the combat ebbs and flows around you. The game makes you feel astonishingly powerful - the tagline 'I am war' really wasn't exaggerating.

My main worry for the full release is not the single player experience. Even if the campaign ends up being the demo stretched across 8+ hours, I will be enormously satisfied. No, I'm concerned about multiplayer. The armour customization looks amazing, but the gameplay MIGHT get stale. Only time will tell if this game is worth playing for weeks and months, or purely a single-player experience. Either way, try it out!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Kind of Boring''

posted by mars188 (BRISTOW, OK) Sep 12, 2011

Member since Dec 2003

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

At frist you think this is going to be a Awsome Game. But after a few hrs of play its the samething over and over . How many Doors can one game have to open up??? Every 20 ft you have a door to open. Not many boss fights Levels are kind of a bore. The blood and the guns are great alot of things to kill on the screen but its the samething over and over wave after wave. I think its worth a Rent if noo other good games out, about a 15.00 dollar game. Sorry Fans of Space Marine's how i see it just my views thanks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Gears of War and Devil May Cry

posted by Mario11168 (RIO RANCHO, NM) Dec 7, 2011

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is... Not good. It seems like it's fun, but that's about all it is, fun. Not good, just fun for a couple of minutes then it gets so boring.

When I started, I was slashing my way through enemies having to use combos and what-not, thinking "great another one of THESE games." Then I picked up a better gun, and started shooting a bunch of Orcs which heavily reminded me of Gears of War.

The animations are terrible, everyone moves like a stick, even regular marines without a 800 pound armor on. The graphics are bland and boring, especially when you've played games like Battlefield 3 and Skyrim recently. As for the story, it's about as memorable as Modern Warfare's.

If this game were co-op, it'd be a great hilarious family game. And of course, before you call me stupid inside your heads, I know Warhammer was out years and years before everything else, but this game is an insult to the series. Don't bother, you won't be missing anything.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Could have been so much better.

posted by Jameson12 (NOBLESVILLE, IN) Nov 15, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was severely underdeveloped, there is no leveling up or character progression what so ever, just slay your way through. All the melee weapons have the same button combinations, and the gun are simply not diverse enough. If they were to make another Warhammer 40k game, perhaps more similar to the actual table top strategy game, i would be willing to give it another chance provided they put considerable more thought into developing the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Gota try this game, VARY COOL.

posted by fuzzy1877 (KNOX, IN) Jan 16, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Im not a vary good speller so just sound it out.
This game is varry cool. If u like blowing stuff up, shooting green bad guys, and kicking some MAJOR BUT(can't say donkie, it was highlighted) this games for u. The pic on the box is spot on, exept for the jumping. But you get a jump jet pack in the game when you need it. The story is good and it has a decent twist, witch ain't bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BROKEN GAME HACK N SLASH

posted by Smokedd (FAIRFIELD, OH) Dec 13, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

DONT WASTE YOUR TIME ON THIS GAME. I love the 40k genre and i have played the rpg witht the miniatures but this game is a disaster. You cannot heal, jump, or survive any large battles in this game. When huge mobs of enemies are not killing you, certain enemies will come out with unlimited health and kill you. Played the game on the medium-normal difficulty and gave up once i got to the chaos part of the campaign. The multiplayer is locked and you dont get the code with your gamefly rental. RIPOFF...The Game developers totally disgraced a very cool genre, i hope the 40k people never hire them for another game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Space Marine: or should I say Gears of War??

posted by KCdubblife816 (INDEPENDENCE, MO) Nov 10, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I've always been a fan of the Warhammer 40,000 titles but from the moment i put this game in I felt like I was playing Gears of War, everything from the way the characters looked, to the cut scenes, and even the multiplayer just screamed Gears of War, this being said...I wouldn't say I didn't enjoy my experience playing the game but I can't honestly say I would recommend it to others.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

dont rent

posted by Gunner54 (HARTFORD, WI) Oct 28, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the campain for this game gets old quick and the online just sucks. dont get

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Problems with the controls

posted by tabula (CONCORD, MA) Sep 20, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I don't know why the controls are so poorly designed. Camera and movement are not integrated properly so moving requires adjusting the camera to view where you;re going. Targeting is even worse. I just threw up my hands in frustration after a few hous and move on to the next game Gears of War 3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Bland.

posted by RAMBOSOTE (TAMPA, FL) Sep 19, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Seen it done it nothing new basic 3rd person shooter with Melee involved story line is bland the control layout is lame and the game just becomes repetitive and doesn't make me want to see it tru :(
All around pretty bland game with no replay and lack of excitement.

Rent only if you feel like trying it out for a few hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Another surprise from THQ

posted by TheGangsta (MILWAUKEE, WI) Sep 12, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

We all know THQ for its annual WWE titles that has really seen few improvements in gameplay and graphics, but this is a new day for THQ one which the space marine comes to the rescue.

Warhammer 40'000 Space Marine is a third person action/shooter that takes place inside the Warhammer 40,000 universe on a forge world for the Imperial Army.

You take the role of Captain Titus of the UltraMarines on a mission to protect a powerful weapon from the Orks. As, you progress this mission evolves from what should have been a milk run into a battle that could plunge all of humanity into darkness.

This sends you on a gory and bloody quest for vengence that leaves even the most blood-thirsty gamers in awe. The amount of punishment you can deliver to your foes is an instant keeper for most from blowing away enemies,to getting in close for a devastating melee finisher the intense action keeps you on your toes.

Last, but not least is the online multiplayer which feature team-based death matches and king of the hill mode.

Overall space Marine is a good game but aside from multiplayer its replay value is low, despite this the title is almost a must play from anyone familiar with the Warhammer universe to anyone just looking for a good acton game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Purge the Unclean with Space Marine

posted by MadCat360 (WALNUT CREEK, CA) Sep 7, 2011

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Space Marine is one of those rare games that combines wonderful graphics, engaging story, and slick gameplay into one un-put-downable title.

The visual style is strictly usual. You won't find lights bloomed to within an inch of their lives or set pieces that reflect and refract in ways that blow your mind even without drugs. Instead, you will find a barebones visual style with an incredible emphasis on the fantastic style of the pieces in the game, from the Space Marine and Chaos armors, to the ships and vehicles, and also the massive and wonderous buildings. This combines to make the game feel very much like being transported to a far distant future.

The sound design in the game is also very good, though there are also problems. The weapons, voices, and music are all very well done, but inconsistencies in volume are jarring - some scenes are fine, some are low and hard to hear. Some of the audio journals in the game are whisper-quiet.

The gameplay, though, is where Space Marine really shines. The weapons and combat feel incredibly responsive and powerful. The armory is varied and there are many upgrades and alternate versions of weapons to acquire through the game. You can vary your play style quite a bit, and you can usually find ways to make various approaches work in each encounter, from grenades to sniping to flat out melees.

The only real sticking point with the game is the multiplayer code that comes with all new copies. Since you need this code to get the 6th level and above in multiplayer, renting will limit your MP experience somewhat. If you choose to keep the game from GameFly, you will get that code, or you can buy it for 800 MSP.

However, Space Marine is still a title that action game fans should have as a piece of their wargear. Whether you like hack and slash or shooters, Space Marine will easily satisfy you on both fronts in addition to offering a rich experience in the world of Warhammer 40k.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse