Rent Warhammer 40,000: Space Marine for PS3
view large frontback

Warhammer 40,000: Space Marine

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $29.99

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.7

2147 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Space Marine 40k Review

posted by Ducksqb2 (ELLSWORTH AFB, SD) Sep 29, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The campaign was very linear, however, it was very entertaining. The environments were large and the graphics were great, but i thought that it underachieved in the sense of exploring. There were plenty of open areas slightly off the beaten path that were empty. Adding more things to it, like the audio logs or more weapons/rage/armor upgrades would have been nice. Anything the game wanted to give you was right in front of you so there was a lot of empty space. Another annoying but minor aspect was when you do executions. I thought it was annoying sometimes when you do you executions, especially when you have to tap O, that you could still get hurt while doing it. I was killed about 7-8 times this way. Overall a very good game, but it was more along the lines of a rent, do not buy game. i was unable to play multiplayer due to no online code.

PROS: Graphics (should be expected for any game by now), plenty of monsters to slay but didn't feel overwhelming, clear objectives and controls.

CONS: Content (not enough stuff to find considering how big the environments were) VERY linear.

OVERALL: Decent game to rent but i wouldn't buy it. (Multiplayer not included.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

SP Fun, MP Broken

posted by Ganster (WESTMINSTER, MD) Sep 7, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The SP campaign is fairly decent and is about average for a more recent FPS. The graphics are decent as are the controls. The story is intriguing and allows for some fun progression through Ork country with tons of ranged and melee combat. Overall the game is a decent FPS game even though it doesn't do anything that previous FPS haven't already done....which isn't necessarily a bad thing.

MP is broken, plain and simple! I have yet to join ONE MP session. The MP section reports that 20 potential games are found, but I have yet to join one. In my attempts to join a MP session, my PS3 has frozen multiple timesl

If you like the Warhammer series (Orks, Space Marines, etc.) you will have a decent time playing the single player campaign. Unless something is fixed, the broken MP reduces the re-playability of the game substantially.

Be aware that without the "online code" you are limited to the level of your online character....but that assumes you can get online in the first place.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome Game

posted by kbodin1 (LYNN, MA) Sep 12, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2006

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I have to say i was totally surprised with this game, i read so many reviews about the MP not working. If you follow the storyline it's a great game. I love all the weapons and the ease of use of them. I like there is ammo and grenade refills all over the place. I have been playing the game for a total of about 3 hours now and i'm loving it. The graphics are good, the game play is good and i like the chainsaw sword alot. Of course the fact that it's 3rd person makes it that much better. If i wouldnt have recently purchased Infamous 2 and College football i would purchase this game. It's a fun rent and when the price lowers i will buy it for sure.
Space Marines!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

THQ CURSE STRIKES AGAIN

posted by VINCE47 (Terrell, TX) Sep 10, 2011

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

as a gamer who has been with GAMEFLY on and off for 6 years I have come to realize that when i see THQ on the label it almost is gonna be less than expected.. sorry THQ but facts is fact ,, research for yourself... WARHAMMER was fun but flawed. broken but not unplayable.. and will be forgotten by christmas.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good campaign.

posted by adman3344 (DEWITT, MI) Sep 21, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you like warhammer the campaign is great.

Im sure the online would be fun but you can only level to 6.

KINDA SICK OF THIS PAY TO PLAY MULTIPLAYER.
we all dont support it so dont buy this game.

good rent, wouldnt buy for the sheer fact this trend is catching on with companies.

BOYCOTT I SAY!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Okay campaign, multiplayer has issues

posted by Redlegparatroop (LAWTON, OK) Sep 6, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The single player campaign immediately puts you into action and can be pretty fun, but does nothing to put it above any other third person shooter. That being said, the close quarters combat is easy to switch to and I enjoyed switching back and forth between ranged and close combat. Multiplayer was less fun. There are only two game types, siege which is similar to Black Ops' Domination, and Annialation, which is basically Team Death match. Siege should be fun. There are four control points to fight overnand combat is fast paced. However, the key to winning is your team must be first to 1000 points. You have to control all four control points to get any score. If no one has all four, the match just keeps going and going with no countdown timer. Annialation I can't tell you about because every time I tried to play it, my PS3 froze up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Had So Much Promise.....

posted by Gobind05 (CITRUS HEIGHTS, CA) Sep 9, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

While Space Marine is a good game, it is an unfinished game. As if, the play through is only a part of a game. Yes, the campaign is around 6-7 hours but it felt those 6-7 hours should be only PART 1 or something. I'm not talking about a sequel or a prequel but part 1 of the same game. I would give the SP a 7.5 and the MP a 4.

Anyways, here are my pros and cons

Pros:

-Extremely fun gameplay. I very much enjoyed the mixture of hack and slash with third person shooter. The combos could've been more fleshed out but again. This game feels super uncompleted.
- Great main character. Very BA in a classy way.
- The Multiplayer Customizer let's you make some pretty interesting combinations of armor
- Pretty Detailed Perk system (Yet, kinda feels bleh still)

Cons:

- Weak Story. I'm not a huge Warhammer person. I played Dawn of War 1 so I kinda know what's going on but the story is kind of bland, predictable, and very forgettable. The ending had me going "Eh, that's it? So stupid..."
- Lack of variety in enemies. This is a minor con though. The main problem I felt was there wasn't a true difference between Chaos marines and Orks when fighitng them. Ya, they look different but do the same exact thing.
- Multiplayer Blows. Online for this game is horrible imo. I hopped on after playing the SP and was hit hard with lag. I've played a lot of games online just fine with very low MS (Black Ops, Killzone 3, Mortal Kombat, MvC3) but this game has a very noticeable lag. Also, The MP feels unbalanced to me. There are so many issues between the 3 classes that it's more a chore to play a game.
- Online Pass. This game should not have a online pass period. It takes roughly 30 mins to connect to a server and with the problems stated above it's trash.

Ending notes.
This game was worth a rent but not a buy. Okay, maybe a buy if your REALLY into Warhammer. The gameplay is awesome but that can only cover the other problems so long. Kind of a letdown but with hope for the future.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Game overview

posted by WxIxLxSxOxN (OCEAN VIEW, NJ) Sep 9, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have to say, I'm quite dissapointed in this game. The graphics are, ehhh average, the story line doesn't make anysense, & the font size is WAY TOO SMALL (even with my glasses on it's hard to read) overall this game is pretty bad, (in my oppinion) but with all this said: I do have to give some credit. After a while, you stop caring about all the BAD quality's of the game, & you just simple enjoy blowing stuff up! Overall: I give this a game 5 out of 10 points.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Waste of Time

posted by pswilliams986 (ROCKY POINT, NC) Jun 12, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

There are so many great games this generation that middle of the road games like this aren't even worth the time it takes to play them. It's a decent game, but just decent. I feel that there's a new standard for quality in games since none of the one's I've played this generation are truly awful but many of them, like this, are average. It may be that game developers are learning to keep their games from becoming completely abysmal. Younger gamers will probably see games like the "bad games" while those of us who grew up with the games like Superman 64 will think of it as decent. My point: There is a new standard for quality and games like this just aren't worth playing even if we think of them as decent games. There are so many games in the third-person action genre that do a better job of it than Space Marine.

Graphics:
They're standard but it's the levels that really killed it for me. Every room of a level looks almost exactly the same as the last. And to top it off the levels are extremely generic looking. In close-quarter fights the camera tends to jump into first-person view for a few seconds accidentally.

Gameplay:
The only unique part about this game is that it tries to mix a hack n slash game like God of War with a third-person shooter like Gears of War. It fails at both and only manages to be a novelty for the attempt. The hack n slash parts are dulled by a lack of combos, you're basically just doing the same attacks over and over. And there's no cover system so the shooting aspect feels a little tacked on. The character feels clunky and slow which almost makes me think the developers intended him to feel like a tank. There are some good parts to the gameplay too; the brutal kills are actually pretty cool and there will be an entire army of enemies to fight in some portions of the game.

Story:
Generic and boring. The characters never say anything interesting and the enemies say the same things over and over. "Humans to kill!" Boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

40,000 WarHammer Space Marine

posted by BlackScythe (AURORA, CO) Sep 13, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I liked the overall plot in this game. The story line had its ups and downs but overall not bad. The misson idea was great hopefully the next one they make ( if they make one ) will have all of the WarHammer characters.
The online was terrible. It took awhile to get into a match and there is people flying around with jetpacks swinging thier sword at you. They should have made it a little better maybe some more game variety.

Great story line terrible online

Story line [8]
Online[4]
Overall [6.5]

!_!BlackScythe!_!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Sent this back early

posted by WisePapaSmurf (CASSVILLE, MO) Sep 10, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game was a total disappointment. The graphics were good, but that was about it. The gameplay gets really tired - and I used to play tabletop Warhammer so I was pretty excited for it.

The addition of health drops would have helped this game tremendously. To only get health through fatality made this game suffer considering the fatality animations were 4-5 seconds long and you were totally vulnerable throughout the duration of the animation. Because of this, it is hard to actually use 1 of 2 health regens in the game. The other is based on a "rage" bar... which I can tell you sucks to have to burn just to heal prior to the next encounter.

There was no plot to this game, and I played for about 4 hours. It is linear run to this, run to that, now run over here. It feels like you're just constantly running with direction (there is only one direction) but no purpose.

I actually sent this back almost immediately - which I never do. I don't know who rated this game a 8 or 9 of 10, but they're crazy. I wish people would adequately review games instead of just giving out 1's and 10's, I rented this on the 10's I saw... seriously, this game is no better than a 6... I give it a 4.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great Game

posted by codkilla1 (NORTH HOLLYWOOD, CA) Oct 25, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

But kinda short, beat it in less than 8 hours total on normal difficulty.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

standard FPS fare

posted by chuck74 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Sep 14, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Overview
=====================
This game is a pretty standard FPS. The main difference is the hack'n'slash feature with chain saws, axes, etc. The story is decent. The biggest shining star for me was the weapons had a sense of power and weight to them (not pop-gun feel). I think it is a good rent and possible buy.

Pros
=====================
1) fun weapons
2) hack/slash feature provides something different to FPS

Cons
=====================
1) still felt like been there/done that (got bored)
2) graphics are decent (not great)
3) not much variety in multiplayer modes or maps
4) it is by design, but feel like you are a mech when you move so slow

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

And they shall know no fear

posted by Captainzilla (NEW RIVER, AZ) Sep 7, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

Spacemarine is an engaging game that puts you right into the action as the most elite solider of the games background, a genetically enhanced super-solider with the best weapons available.

As far as atmosphere goes, the game firmly plants it’s the player within the gameworld.
The gameplay is unique to most shooters in that melee is a major component of the action. You pepper the enemies as they approach before you smash them or slash them with your equipped melee weapon. You can also stun the enemies when they are weakened either from gunfire or close combat allowing you to execute them which is how you restore your health. Now, this is unique as the game will require you to get into the fray to get your health back. Some may find that annoying, but once you’ve tasted close combat, you’ll find yourself charging into it with wanton abandon more often than not as the finishers are awesome to watch as you curb stomp your enemy to death. You also have a regenerating armor/shield which seems to be all the rage since halo. There are also several ranged weapons, that include a mine layer, sniper rifle, and several upgrades to the guns.

Multi-player so far is split between team frag-fest and a hold ground mission. Teams are 8 vs.8 and the gameplay is fast-paced and really fun. All the gameplay elements from the campaign mode are available right down to jump-pack stomping your bestfriend as he tries to hold the line. Players choose a class to play which is either tactical marine (a balanced character with a lot of options) assault marine (jump pack and close combat fighter), and Devastator (Range specialist with all the big guns). As you rank up, you gain access to lots of perks for the classes and access to better toys to torment your fellow players with as well as the ability to customize your avatar.

Co-op mode is also forthcoming.

All and all, if you want something new and inventive to play, check this out. You won’t be disappointed

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fair

posted by aldams_gene2000 (JONESBORO, AR) Sep 8, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

This is a fair game. However, too basic and not enough depth in the gameplay or story line.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game

posted by riki1227 (MIAMI, FL) Sep 12, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

nice

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Boring game

posted by gbFox1 (PEORIA, AZ) Sep 16, 2011

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

This game had alot going for it. BUT it SUUUUUCKS!
Slow Slow Slow and gameplay is hard to use.

As a gameplayer with over 1600 trophies (which means I play all games) I could not even get through the first level, trophies or not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Poorly made game I've played in decades!

posted by Zeldax73 (LITTLE FALLS, MN) Apr 21, 2014

Member since Dec 2002

Bad cheating A.I. Stupid clumsy glitches etc what more do you want?? boring sound track what this no custom sound tracks this game needed it bad! THQ should've never made this poorly developed game for the PS3!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

"Space Marines!"

posted by donomanx (LAWRENCE, MA) Aug 14, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

If you play through this, Orcs screaming "Space Marines!" will forever be stuck in your head. The VO plays over and over again..

Other than that the game is a decent shooter/brawler. Its different in that you occasionally find yourself just smacking enemies up close.

The gameplay feels a bit generic but the world has character. I'm not a Warhammer guy so the universe was all new to me. I imagine fans of warhammer will dig seeing environments and characters.

Might be worth the rental if you're kinda curious about it or if you're a warhammer fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Nothing new, but still fun

posted by Ronpthompson (NEWARK, NJ) Aug 11, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

title says all I wanted to say

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Could have been awesome

posted by upgrayyyedout (MAGNOLIA, NJ) Jul 9, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

There is so much potential for awesomeness in the warhammer 40k universe. Unfortunately, this game does not capitilze on that potential.

I don't understand the decision to go with a third-person platformer focusing on melee tactics.

Also, the characters were a little stiff. I imagine imperial space marines behaving something like the colonial space marines in the Aliens universe. These guys sounded like the type of guys that break combat for tea time.

The controls felt a little wonky too. This really felt like a PS1 game.

If you love warhammer 40k, you'll probably rent it anyway, hoping that you won't feel the same way about it that I do. Good luck with that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

UltraMarines

posted by hybris14 (TUSTIN, CA) Jun 23, 2012

Member since May 2012

This is a very epic game! it takes a little getting used to the controls if your normally a player of shooting games such as Battlefield or MW3. The graphics are really the best part in the movies. Has an interesting story though it is a bit confusing at first it when you get into it the story is fun. The fury ability is very cool and it makes you the ultimate killing machine. Interesting weapons for use. The Chainsaw sword really is just to freaking awesome to pass up! It can be silly in fighting greenmen but hey its still fun! i am sure i rated it a bit high but it was loads of fun. I did not play the multiplayer online due to I rented only this game but if you want a couple of hours fun and laughs this game is perfect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun romp

posted by DeadBob67 (SPENCER, MA) May 4, 2012

Member since May 2011

Decent and clean shooter/smasher. Good fun, decent story, and good length of play/

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Came a long way from a table top game

posted by Semaj_83 (AMBOY, IN) Apr 29, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

First impressions of the game were considerably high with my lack of knowledge on the background or history of the game, the concept of huge Space Marines slashing and shooting their way through crowds of orcs sounded pretty cool.There are a few downfalls as well as highpoints in the game that make it an all- around good game. With great lighting and environment graphics the game looks great, easy- to- understand controls the game plays well. With plenty of bad guys and no cover system (it was intended that way) there's only one option left. KILL!! But everything good must come to an end with constant pushing of buttons and a few cutscenes that were almost pointless, the game is more rent worthy rather than a buy the campaign is short for sure and very one pointed. This game is good for anyone looking for something different to play with a lot of "shoot em' up in it."

Pros: Great graphics, Cool weapons, Neat opponents, and Well put together characters this game is about an 8 or 9.

Cons: Brief campaign, holding down the tigger for a while (a lot of battles) and finally a lot of on -your- own missions is the only thing stopping this game from a 9

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Blood and Gore

posted by MrGelowe (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Apr 18, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

If you like God of War and Darksiders games, you will totally like this game.

Combat is fun. Story is good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse