Rent Wanted: Weapons of Fate for PS3
view large frontback

Wanted: Weapons of Fate

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.3

3007 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

for those of you who loved wanted the movie!

posted by Ipwnzombie (MONTICELLO, MN) Jan 5, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I absolutely hate movie games because they never have any structure or story like the movie the game was made after, but I actually liked this one , it was made so it left off where the movie ended, it came from people who actually cared and was into Wanted so this game didnt sidetrack off the story. I didnt want to chew this game up like the other reviews, but the only bad things are no online, and some of the things you do such as mele attacks and slow mo shooting might get tedious or repeditive if your a person who lets those minor hic ups slide but if your not than it will get old to you. And lots of entertaining and worth while unlockables and secrets to get. overall this game is like a book you read it, put it back on the book shelf and some other time you will enjoy reading it again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun game, controls suck, ai sucks, lack of depth.

posted by Eisfeur (MACCLENNY, FL) Dec 22, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Its true the game is fun to play with all the slow-mo action, but with the same group of enemies recycled throughout each level you begin to feel a sense of repetitive play. It is also a bit short, I beat it on assassin in just a few short hours. The controls were mind numbing since I kept getting stuck on walls when going for cover, or when in close quarters with an enemy. Things just seemed to never move fluidly unless you were in slo-mo. All-in-all I would rent on a weekend and return by Monday.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great game.

posted by master1135 (HENRIETTA, TX) Jul 10, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

GOOD STUFF:

it has a good cover system

curving bullets is very cool

a pretty nice story line

very nice graphics.

NOT SO GOOD STUFF...

only 5 weapons you can get your hands on ( that includes weapons you cant carry around )

pretty short game

A.I a little shabby.

overall this game is a fantastic rent, it would be a fantastic buy if it was longer, with more weapons and improved A.I

a 9 out of 9

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

the game

posted by TREVERTHEM (WEST JORDAN, UT) Oct 23, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

ok look its a great game but i think it got way old a just no fun at the end

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

WANTED!!

posted by Jsouth89 (ALBANY, NY) Oct 6, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Simply put if you enjoyed the movie and/or comic then you will have a lot of fun with the game. The story is average but entertaining and the cut-scenes suck graphically. But the heart of the game is the shooting and here you feel like your in the world of Wanted. The game is short but lots of fun and in the end that is what matters. For most people this is a rent or a 30 dollar buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome....

posted by lilmafia (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Oct 3, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

the game is good but too short

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good, but way too short

posted by OkanBS1987 (NEWARK, DE) Sep 22, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Now I loved the cover system for this game and the basic gunplay. The main problem with this game is the length. I got through in 4 hours. Yes I said 4 HOURS!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Make the bullet curve

posted by itsamia (PORT ORCHARD, WA) Aug 20, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

All lot of people have said that this game is short...really short. And it is, with only 9 levels and each one of those short, it doesn't really take long to get through.

But I'm giving it a five, not because of how short it was. But rather that it became very repetitive. You enter an area and baddie after baddie runs through. At some point they do stop but still. The A.I. really sucks in that aspect also because their moves became predictable and few tried to move in closer for a cheap kill. If you stay behind cover your safe...most of the time. An annoying feature of this game is the camera. A few times I would run and hide behind cover only to find out the a baddie was against the wall. They would kill me before I could get off of cover. And so long as you kill people you have an unlimited amount of ammo.

There are a few good things about the game that would make it worth renting. It is cool to curve your bullets or go into slow motion (sounds like max payne I know, but it's still cool). The story does take place after the movie but it also has ties before the movie, kinda more explaining how his father turned against the Faternity.

Al in all, if you can get over it being so short it is worth the rent. Just keep an eye out for repetitive A.I. tactics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

why so short

posted by idk2222 (ANNISTON, AL) Aug 4, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

realy good game but its way to short.
i played for 3 hours and beat it on easy i mean cmon if your gonna make a game that good make it longer than that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

COOL GAME

posted by DarkDove (BRONX, NY) Jul 24, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Wanted: Weapons of Fate is basically the continuation of the movie. It pretty much starts off right after the end of the movie and takes us though the story of how Wesley came to be in the center of a load of problems. The game allows you to play both Wesley and his father(known mainly as The Killer) and you just pretty much kill everyone that gets in your way. You get to learn how to curve a bullet(which is very cool, easy way to get those guys who almost never wanna come out of hiding), you get to slow down time which is done in other games so it's not that impressive, and you also get to take down people with some hand to hand combat(though its not much of a hand to hand combat when most of the guys can't defend themselves against you). The graphics were good but that very cutting edge. Gameplay was pretty simple so anyone can play without much problems. The hards part of the game was really the slow motion aiming part where you have to take out an on coming bullet(or bullets) and the shooter. Now the part its hard itself its more of annoying because sometimes its hard to see where the shooter is and the aiming can be slow at times. But overall I enjoyed the smart remarks of the characters and the cinamtic movies were nicely done. And for those trophy seekers, the game has those. I think that most people would enjoy the game for what it is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Game

posted by CustomSyst (UPPER CHICHESTER, PA) Jul 18, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Fast pace game, but will make you mad in a few sections of the game. The scenes where your shooting the machine gun with a metal shield. If your stuck on that part, you have to stop shooting and guard yourself against the enemy. I must have had played one scene like 50 times trying to get passed it. By you stop shooting, the shield goes up and blocks some of the bullets but you have to be quick add kill all the enemies or they will kill you. This game is very challenging and once you get the hang of how the weapons work, I promise you the game will begin to move faster and the scenes will look very dramatic like the action pack movie.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Wanted?--- Maybe for about an hour

posted by alec9922 (STATE COLLEGE, PA) Jul 17, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Wanted is a better than average movie game that is really only fair when compared to shooters as a whole....

Based entirely around a cover system that lets you dart between hiding spots, you are not giving the ability to jump or sprint. The cover system is actually very well done and would be great if it werent the focus of the game, but just an aspect of it. When used as a gimmick which every level and every second of play revolves around, it becomes stale after an hour or so.

The other really cool gimmick in Wanted is the ability to curve bullets. Again, I found it instantly unique and fun but given your ability to overuse the skill, it also was a novelty that became eventually became stale.

Overall, it felt like part of a game. A couple of levels stretched out to be a whole gaming experience that could have been much more if they had built on the foundation they laid with the cover system and bullet curving.

I was looking forward to it being over as i neared the final levels. It only took about 4 hours to finish, which was good because any longer and i may have become to tired of the repetitious play to reach the end.

A LOT of swearing and R rated humor make it not one for the kiddies, but is good for a laugh if you saw and enjoyed the movies humor.

PROS-- Cover system, Bullet curving, movie atmosphere,

CONS-- Very repetitious, Very short,

A decent weekend renter but not much more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Okay EEEEHHHHH

posted by gamingkid (INGLEWOOD, CA) Jul 14, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is okay. I see why it is 6.5. I mean getting aim on your enemy takes a whole lot of time and u have a short amount of life. Overall the game is okay. Also the game is pretty short.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty good

posted by Zennshi (AUGUSTA, GA) Jul 14, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Because I am not a fan of FPS in general I already assumed I wouldn't like a spiffy strategy FPS with a linear storyline, and also what game based off of a movie has ever been good?

That aside I was really suprised at a few things. For one the graphics arn't absolutely terrible, and the gameplay isn't over complicated like something you would see out of a JRPG(yes that is a shot at cross edge). Overall the controls are very simple and it is anything that someone who likes to shoot lots and lots and lots of bullets with no actual time contraints, which is good because if it did have time constraints I would have started rating the game with a 3.

I haven't seen the movie so I have no idea if this is a side story or the actual story, but even if you did know the story you would still probably enjoy the game as it is very little story and mostly shootemup yippie do.

So in this case it is a FPS shooters baby steps into something more of a tactical strategy with guns instead of running jumping and mashing your trigger buttons. You will need to advocate using cover, or you will die very quickly, which is a bit awkward at first but once you get used to it you will be hopping over boxes and stabbing people in the chest like a newly embodied chucky.

While I did enjoy the little time I actually did play it, some things just got on my nerves. For one the main character seems to be a supernerd who happens to be the offspring of an actual french(????) assassin seems a bit farfetched, it is just going to give the advocates of mothers against video games another reason to enforce it and their impressionable sons and daughters to actually believe them. The fact that they are taking someone who was incredibly bad at everything before someone told him he was something special just fed that ego and somehow granted him superpowers reminds me of something I heard on dragonball Z ( worst anime of all time past the age of 5). And the gameplay was extremely unvaried... word count end

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

not worth the time

posted by jyster0321 (LUFKIN, TX) Jul 14, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

While the curving bullet was neat, and the slow motion option a little cool, over all it was not worth the 4 hours it took me to beat this game... then another 3 to beat it in killer mode... I thought there might be something else to it but nah... it was a let down... game play was easy but ultimately too short. it had the potential to be a great game... just needed more levels or longer levels. My advice, if you are a fan of shooter games dont waste your time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Fun!!!

posted by Gf1fr3ak (MIDLAND CITY, AL) Jul 13, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Rental for sure! You'll play thru this one more than once if not twice, I was well pleased with this game.Lots of achievments to go for, and fun obtaining them.The "catch fraises" Wesley uses are hilarious.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

SHORT

posted by kris0310 (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Jul 10, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I found Wanted to be pretty fun, but am very thankful it was just a rental and i didn't pay full retail price seeing as how i finished the game in one short afternoon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Generic movie cash-in 3ps

posted by DC2009 (GRETNA, NE) Jul 8, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It has some nice twirks about it that make it stand out, like moving from cover to cover or the slowed down quick-time-event-like shooting scenes. But the game gets a little stale over time and the screen is filled with an annoying view blocking blood splatter that is supposed to represent your health draining. Oh yeah it has regenerative health meaning the games pacing is shot to heck (hah! I can't write the other 4 letter word for the opposite of heaven - funny that isn't filtered) every time you get hit.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A spectacular shooter

posted by knifeguy (WINCHESTER, VA) Jun 21, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Wanted: Weapons of Fate is a superb shooter with a lot to offer. A great cover system keeps you out of the open almost the entire time. This is not another lame movie licenced game but a greatly planned story all on its own with plenty of enemie variation from snipers to crazy knife wielders. Also options of killing such as "Curving the Bullet" keep the blood coming in this must try shooter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun but short. Good game bad cutscene graphics????

posted by Mgs4fan1 (ELKHART, IN) Jun 18, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I like the graphics except for when you choose a different character besides the storymode 1 then the cutscenes will stay as it was before so that should be updated. Also, i like the whole curving bullets and quick enhanced movements stuff but i still think they could have done better with the game itself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Dissapointing

posted by mstrshtr (TACOMA, WA) May 25, 2009

Member since May 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game is huge dissapointment to the movie. if for some reason they decide to make a part two to this game they better add some more close combat opportunities and less predictability.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

too short

posted by sfournier (SILVERDALE, WA) May 22, 2009

Member since May 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i was actually surprise for the first time ever about how short this game was, ive played short games before but never in one sitting after breakfast and done before lunch, game as good just too short

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Slow Paced

posted by hardtosayx (COATESVILLE, PA) May 14, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I played the demo from the Playstation Store, and it didn't seem like it was going to be slow, so I rented it. But I really feel like the game had great concept. I like the whole curving the bullet and all of the skills you learn, but the gameplay is too slow. The gun sho ts single bullets, so that alone is pretty boring. The storyline is ok, I started to skip through after a while. There's a lot of cursing, I don't have a problem with that, but it can get pretty annoying after a while.

I for one would rather play the game than watch the movie because it's horrible. So I guess that's why there's so much unnecasary cursing that it got annoying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

weapons of fate

posted by tokinroo42 (HOLT, MO) May 14, 2009

Member since May 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

game was pretty fun and cool at first but it got repetitive

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Alright Game

posted by FPStinger (GROVETOWN, GA) May 13, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

All in all i think the game alright. The dialogue was OK and the story was fine. But the game detail wasn't that great and the graphics were not using the full capacity of the system. I think there should have been other ideas thrown into the game such as bonus games and the ability to use other weapons.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse