Rent Walk it Out for Wii
view large frontback

Walk it Out

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.2

304 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty decent game if...

posted by ericsignal (TONAWANDA, NY) Jan 22, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

16 out of 16 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

You use the Wii balance board. The controller and nunchuck do not register your steps very accurately. The game play is pretty good. You start off with a empty city and each step you take earns you points to buy songs to walk to, alternate routes and other objects to bring the routes to life. The songs you walk to vary in beat, you'll walk to a faster paced song then follow it up with a slower pace. Song lists are customizable and there are licensed songs to walk to. Overall a fun game but rather limited in scope. There are thousands of things to buy with your steps and if keeping moving is your goal, this game will not disappoint. If your looking for varying minigames, stick with the wii fit.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fun!

posted by Castles88 (CRESWELL, OR) Feb 15, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

11 out of 11 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

All i can say is i HATE to excercise and I didn't even want to stop after 45 minutes! I used the nunchuk and remote which gives you more freedom to move around the room! Great game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

fun game

posted by Elaine (BRADFORD, RI) Jan 27, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game can be alot of fun, I use it as a great light work out when I do not feel like doing the wii fit. The board does not always pick your steps however which can be anyoning. I do not like that you have to walk the whole route all over again once you fill your steps to make events happen. It can be tricky as well to hit those event capsules as well. but over all it is fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

An enjoyable way to exercise

posted by kevins (HAYWARD, CA) Feb 26, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Adding a character is painfully bad, and the in game trainers prattle on endlessly with their moronic advice and over the top encouragement. I would rather have just been dropped in to the game with my Mii, to figure it out as I went along.

That said, the game itself is fun. Having been over the whole of the Wii-Fit island many times on the virtual bicycling game, I was looking for an alternate venue, and Walk It Out does that and a bit more.

The game world is revealed progressively by clicking on bubbles as you walk in place accumulating points. Revealed features include most of the in game scenery, the in game music, the pathways that you can turn down, and a few game changing elements like magic clock pieces that can change the simulated time of day so that you can pick up the last few pieces you are missing or just dance beneath a midnight sky.

The music is a mixed bag, but I've become fond of several of the unlocked tracks. Not being a fan of the Black Eyed Peas "Boom Boom Pow", I quickly started buying new tracks to listen to. Each song is unlocked by finding four matching song icons (each costing between 50 and 150 steps). The icons are labeled with the song number not the track name, so I find it easiest just to buy every song icon in sight and get rid of any I'm not enjoying after a few listens in the game settings menu.

To count as a point each step has to be taken in beat with the music. I find the default settings to be overly tight when used with the balance board, but they are easily changed to drop the penalty for a missed beat, and widen the acceptance window to a usable range. A DDR dance mat might improve the timing accuracy, but I don't own one to test.

Despite its shortcomings, "Walk It Out" has been an enjoyable diversion. Don't expect to build a sweat quickly though, the beat of most songs is barely enough to warm you up until you've been at it for half an hour or so.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Entertaining and fun, but with a few flaws...

posted by JNF247 (WALTHAM, MA) Mar 2, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Pros:
-->It does make time go by much faster than most other step exercises and you may end up exercising for longer than you think.
-->the competitive aspect of collecting things or building items also distracts you from realizing just how long you've been playing.
-->The majority of the music is fairly current and fun to keep up with.

Cons:
-->It is slightly annoying that in order to actually listen to more music during gameplay you have to first find, then unlock it to access it if you don't want to just have "walking on sunshine" on repeat for the entire time which quickly becomes annoying.
-->My biggest complaint with this game is that the controls leave something to be desired.
-When moving it is much more difficult than you would think to select any of them items in your path with the remote.
-If you use the wii board you are not supposed to actually lift your feet, but merely your heels off the board so your feet must always be in contact with the board and your not really stepping anywhere, more like just shifting your weight from one leg to the other.
-I did find that using the dance pad was the easiest method and the most fun although I ended up using the top two squares ( A and the North Arrow) because for me using the arrows on the mat was kind of akward trying to walk/step normally with my feet so far apart.

Overall I did enjoy the game and would recommend it to others as a fun game for some low impact exercise to get you started especially if you are not starting out in great shape to begin with as this is definately a way to help you get started if you are not in good enough shape to jump straight into some of the more heart-pumping exercise type games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

This game could be fun!

posted by Drezaric (WAUKESHA, WI) Mar 12, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I thought this game was interesting, in the fact that you can click on things and make the world 'grow' and earn more music to walk to.
Though, I found the walking very awkward with only lifting your heals. Wii Fit you step on and off the board like your walking normally, why couldn't they do that with this game? As far as registering the amount of steps it wasn't to bad for me, a few missed steps though it counted probably 95% or more of them.

It was pretty easy to just keep walking without realizing how much time you'd spent walking! You get engrossed in trying to click all the things on the path and don't even realize how many steps you've taken.

Would be a great game if you could walk normally, maybe in their next game they'll find a way to count the steps better and you'll be able to actually walk!

I don't have the DDR pad so I can't say how it works with that, and I didn't even think of checking the Active Life pad to see if it works with that, I wish I would have thought of that before I sent it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

So Fun!

posted by IXRAYU1004 (PORT SAINT LUCIE, FL) Sep 16, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I loved this game! It is an easy game to make sure you and your family take at least 10000 steps a day! We were all logging several miles every time we popped this game in! The music is wonderfully motivating and it really feels like you're taking a fabulous walk. I really enjoyed it as did the rest of my family!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

It keeps me moving!

posted by carolm (STONEVILLE, NC) Sep 1, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I like this game! I have tried lots of fitness games looking to mix up my exercise routine. I really like how you go right into the walking, no going through menus of different exercises trying to pick what to do. You just start walking, and you get so distracted with the little things you're trying to click on you don't even notice how long you walk. I can get a quick walk in before work and it has helped me be more regular with my exercise. I bought it to use along with my Wii fit, which lets me input the steps I did on Walk it out in my progress chart.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game

posted by Evie55 (NORVELL, MI) May 31, 2010

Member since Aug 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is great! It has halped me with some lbs lost. lol. I want to play it for the work out part and for the fun! The songs are fun. Before I know it an hour has gone go by and I've gotten in a great walk! it's a great thing to have when you can't go outside to walk for whatever reason. The games on it are fun too!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun and Motivating!

posted by cmsimmo (OWENSBORO, KY) Apr 1, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Walk it Out is a blast! I am not big on excercising, but I was determined to start trying to excercise for at last 30 minutes each day so I rented Walk It Out. This game was so much fun and the music was great. I ended up walking for 30 minutes each morning and about 1 hour each afternoon for the past two weeks straight (even on the weekend). My 11 year old daughter decided she wanted to play too so we spent about 3 hours this past weekend taking turns walking and unlocking events on the island. I highly recommend this to anyone who needs a little motiviation to excercise!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I'll admit I wasn't convinced by the title or ads

posted by Lightlike (RALEIGH, NC) Mar 18, 2010

Member since Mar 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I wasn't impressed by the title of "Walk it Out" or the box art, but I feel that Konami really did put A LOT of thought into the actual game. Yes, there is a little bit of room for improvement but I love walking in "Walk It Out" and I didn't think I could be so addicted to such a simple and fun game.

Yes, I can (and do) exercise quite a bit outside in the real world, but I'm a gamer at heart and "Walk It Out" is actually fun: both as a game and as an exercise. There is so much to find and collect in Walk It Out and once you get the hang of game it's really fun.

If you think about it: it is hard to walk for 1-2 hours outside and NOT notice that you've walked for that long, but there has been many a day(or night) that I've intended to play Walk It Out for only 15 minutes and then suddenly realize that I had walked for 1-2 hours and had so much FUN doing it!!

The music is great and the game keeps me coming back every day. There's over 100 different songs and you can customize your own playlist to listen to the tracks you want to.

The graphics may not be Xbox 360 or PS3 graphics but there was a lot of work put into them, the game seems to come alive at different parts of the day, if you play at night the Island looks like it's dusk(or night time) and there are different items available at various times of the day!

There are a lot of options in the game, you can change how quickly you have to step in rhythm to the music or you can even make purchasing items on the Island cheaper, or you can even make the game harder, it's really up to you! Also, you have different options when it comes to playing styles, if you like using a DDR mat you can do that, or if you like using the balance board you can do that.

I highly recommend at least renting the game and trying it out, but I for one: am actually glad I bought it straight up instead of renting it first.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Love this game!

posted by tamisusan30 (RHINELANDER, WI) Feb 8, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I ended up buying a copy of this game because I liked it so much. If you are one of the facebook build a town, resteraunt, or cafe, you will love this. You build a town by buying trees, cars, buildings, etc. The cost? steps! It costs 100 steps for a tree, 200 for a car, 400 for a house, and so on. I end up putting in a few miles trying to build up a block of items for my city. gets me up and moving instead of sitting on facebook waiting for my cafe to load. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

walk it out

posted by goofy08 (LAWRENCEVILLE, GA) Apr 10, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

It is a fun gane the only thing that I didn"t like was the trainer doesnt tell you how it get out of the stadium.I had to go to facebook to find out how to get out of the stadium.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Boring

posted by Enders (LUFKIN, TX) Jan 23, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Walk it out is a simple concept: walk to the beat of music, earn points to spend on beautifying your island. The graphics are typical for the Wii, and the music selection is disappointing. The game play is overly simple and just feels tired after about ten minutes. But if you love walking in place and could care less how you burn those extra calories, this could be fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Boring

posted by ColoShark (LAKEWOOD, CO) Jan 16, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

The game is boring. It is difficult to get the controler to recognize your steps and give you points, and the activity burns few calories and doesn't create a sweat.

This game might be appropriate for children who need more exercise (and are easily entertained), but it doesn't offer much for adults.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

its ok

posted by ryan7926 (KITTANNING, PA) Feb 14, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

the game was fun with all the music,places to go and to unlock.
but the only thing you could do is walk! sure the name is "walk it out"
but doing one thing gets boring and bland. i give this game a <5>

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

dumb game

posted by mickeyminnie197 (UNIVERSITY PLACE, WA) Jul 13, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

it don't show u moving.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Walk On

posted by roguemutt (STERLING HEIGHTS, MI) May 23, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

The best thing to me was that you could choose to use the Balance Board instead of just shaking the controller like those dance games. You don't really "walk" on the board since you aren't supposed to lift your entire foot, but you do feel the burn. At least I did in my lower calves.

I didn't play it as much as I wanted to, but from what I did it was pretty good. Not all that exciting but if you want to get a little exercise and some use out of that expensive Wii Fit board then it does a decent job.

You can also use a Dance Dance Revolution mat which I didn't have.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I wanted to love it...

posted by RRKing (SPRING CITY, PA) Apr 20, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

I'm a walker with more than a few 5K events under my belt and I thought this game would be perfect for days when it's raining or too hot to walk outside. I have a spacious living room so I have a lot of room to move around. However, it was really challenging to get the game to register my steps with the controller and nunchuck, and I felt too restricted on the Wii Balance Board. I also got frustrated with trying to hit the capsules while moving around. I really loved the music and the statistics provided, but I'll be sticking to my regular walking routine and continue to supplement it with Wii Fit and Just Dance on days that I can't be outside.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Walk It Out for the WII

posted by cjhulley (HICKORY, NC) Mar 30, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

I had really high hopes for this exercise "game". I found it to be boring. It was frenetic trying to "capture" the icons for potted plants, light posts, etc. while trying to enjoy the walking aspect of the game. I think less icons to "capture" and actually getting a feel for the visual changes as you captured these icons and added things to the scenery would have been nice. Was thinking of purchasing the game but will not do so now that I've rented it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Walk It Out

posted by matthew13 (CHESWICK, PA) Jul 26, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

I played this game and when I played this game I thought it was a dumb game cause all you do is walk in place. I just think that is plain stupid and pointless so I am going to send this game back so I can get another game alright.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »