Rent Wacky Races: Crash & Dash for Wii
view large frontback

Wacky Races: Crash & Dash

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS
GF Rating
4.3

180 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Think of it as homage to the cartoon

posted by Jonocross (AMELIA, OH) Dec 26, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you're expecting this game to be your next great race game... get something else.

If you remember the show or watch it currently, this can be a really fun game to play. I personally loved it.

Don't take the game too seriously and just have fun with it and it's definately worth a rent.

Basic game play... you're in a pack of wacky racers all with cars that can do special stuff when their abilities build up. Even when you fall behind the pack you get throw back into it after a short time and the game is interupted a few times a race with Dasterdly's traps which result in mini games that you play through to help or hinder your position in the pack. End of each race is a mad dash to the finish line and a photo finish.

See, about as serious as the show. If you ever wanted to be a part of the show or thought a certain car would be cool to try yourself, this is the game for you. If you want a big bad race... look elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

True To The Series Spirit But Could Be Better

posted by Shazbot (BROOKLYN, NY) Jun 27, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Let's get one thing straight from the start - it is clear this games producers had the spirit of the series at heart and wanted to recreate the atmosphere fans know and love.

Graphics are not state of the art - they're trying to recreate an old cartoon series folks - but THEY ARE very very true to the original series. It's easy at times to think you are not in a game but watching part of the cartoon - especially with the cut scenes of Dastardly and Muttley.

I was a little disappointed not to be able to play as the 00 but once you start the races you see why, as Dastardly is, as usual, trying trying to mess with everyone and his antics are the lead in to the minigames.

Those minigames are overly simplistic and the controls can be a little hokey. They are almost certainly the worst part of the game.

The races themselves involve the gang often bunched up in a group progressing across the usual deserty and ghost town like scenery. Wiggles of the Wiimote will give you a boost to the front and you need to be close to the front in order to collect the cogs which help you use whatever special effects are normal for the wacky racer you select to play as. Pat Pending has air ship power and rocket power for instance and the vehicle converts nicely giving good advantages in their different ways.

The camera angles on the races are going to be heavily criticised. They can make it hard to play as you cannot see far in front on the side view. The camera alternates between this and an aerial view and this is doen to again simulate the feel of the cartoon. IT SUCCEEDS even at the detriment of some playability. Just deal with it - it really is not that much of a disaster.

The race for the finish line and the great still shot that always came near the end of the episode is well done. The racing has been done so that almost everyone will always be in with a shot at the end.

Bad stuff - it is a little simplistic and probably easily finished.

It is however good fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

"Crash and Dash"? More like Snore and Bore.

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Jun 24, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Based on the TV show, Wacky Races: Crash and Dash is about ten racers going at it over 24 courses. To win the race you keep ahead of the competition using powerups that seemed ripped off from Mario Kart Wii. Getting that lead is tough because the pack of racers moves like a herd of buffalo roaming through the wilderness. Your opponents will do a very good job of blocking your chances of getting first place.
When I did get the lead, I got hit with hazards (pits, buildings, fences, hills). If I can see these hazards coming, I would avoid them, but the camera is placed so there is very little warning of what's to come, so I ended up in a ditch or slammed against the side of a building far too many times.
The clunky controls aren't helping, either. These cars bounce and roll when they hit a slight bump in the road.
Another thing that's annoyingly repetitive is the announcer - he says the same dozen or so lines over and over again. He's an annoyance to the ears.
The graphics are an annoyance to the eyes; they're awful. The snow and sand don't look anything like the real thing, and some of the trees are just outlines with nothing inside.
So the game looks bad and it drives bad. How could they possibly make it worse? By adding lame mini games like driving in a small arena or paddling down a stream avoiding logs. There are only eight mini games; playing them once was bad, playing them again and again is worse.
Besides, it only took me about three hours to get through all 24 courses, and I have no desire to give it another try. I certainly won't be paying $40 for this.
Fans of the TV show ought to just buy the DVD or catch it on Boomerang (if Boomerang carries the show).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

not any good!!!

posted by bruinswin (GARDNER, MA) Feb 20, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

If your looking for a game like nascar or f1 not its even hard to go! Then you do all these stupid mini games!! dude dont play this!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Awsome Thought, Bad Gameplay

posted by DankyBatz (TACOMA, WA) Nov 1, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

i've been a fan of cartoons as long as i can remember, and to see a "Wacky Races" Video game i thought i was in heaven, well, not all that glitters is gold, in this case the style of gameply was an awsome idea, however having to shake the wii-mote non-stop in order to move makes playing this game almost impossible, personally i made it through 1 and a half races before my arm was sore from trying to maintain 2nd place. Danky says "Don't dissapoint yourself, just watch the show instead!"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not Good!!!

posted by lsafford34 (CALDWELL, ID) Dec 9, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

This is a really bad racing game - right in the middle of your race they switch to some ridiculous game that you have no idea how to play. Also the car and characters are so small you aren't sure even who you are. Not the best as a racing game - it has a pretty good concept, leave out the in between interuptions and make it so you can actually see who you are and it will be pretty good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game is horrible

posted by novana47 (SAND LAKE, MI) Oct 6, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

This game is horrible nothing to it. Can not add players. Nothing to this game. I would never buy this game. Thank goodness I rented it first to find out I did not want to buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I Hope They Release The NES Version; This Stinks!!

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Jun 24, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

What a dissapointment! I was hoping for a new twist on the series; but it was very basic and the camera is terrible and very boring! Skip!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Epic Failure

posted by Kavan19 (SPARKS, NV) Jun 23, 2008

Member since Jan 2005

Their are only two words for this game, EPIC FAILURE!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »