Rent WWII Aces for Wii
view large frontback

WWII Aces

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.1

452 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Fun Steep Difficulty Curve but A Little Repetitive

posted by Shazbot (BROOKLYN, NY) Apr 13, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

17 out of 18 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

WWII makes good use of the Wiimote control (but see later comments) to provide a fun flying, combat and dogfighting experience. It's main drawback is the sameness of many of the missions in single player.

Steering is done much as you would expect by turning and tilting the Wiimote and is pretty instinctive. Bombs on 1, Guns on 2 to deal out the mayhem. However, the neutral position is with the buttons facing upwards which results in a slightly unnatural feel until you get used to it.

Target crosshairs are provided on the ground and in the air for the bombs and guns respectively. Targets on the ground are simple and often do not need to be totally direct hits. Machine guns are a different story as particularly in tight turns you need to 'lead' the target as the trail of bullets will curve with the momentum of the turn and also seem to have some randomization of targeting built in. This is a little frustrating at first but is quickly gootten used to.

Missions start out very simple but later ones get difficult quickly - particularly in the RAF campaign. If you value your sanity, unless you are really skilled start out with the Russian campaign and leave the RAF for last. On the second RAF campaign you are quickly confronted with odds of at least 10:1 and this makes it very tough.

Master the loop manoevre quickly and learn how to trun onto your enemy after the loop to finish him off -so far as I can see this is the only advantage you have against such odds.

The bad stuff - there are only two things to hit in the game - stuff on the ground which is simple as long as you are not being chased by 20 fokkers - and the 20 fokkers themselves which can be more than a little tricky as they are quite evasive. The computer aircraft have a few discernable patterns but overall are tricky to pin down especially with 4 or 5 of their buddies still on your tail.

A very solid game but the easily bored may not be happy with the missions. Give it a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

For Real Pilot "Aces" Only

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Apr 25, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm not a history buff, so I don't know if this game's historically accurate. But I do know it's a flying game that controls like many driving games for the Wii.
In this game, the player goes on missions: to protect the good guys and/or destroy the bad guys using a small selection of WW II aircraft.
I had little trouble getting control of my plane and performing basic maneuvers. But there was a problem with the loop maneuver - sometimes I could do it, other times nothing happened.
The best part of the game was dog fighting against the AI. My guns weren't very accurate, so I had to hit the other plane a lot of times, but that was a small problem.
One big problem was some of the missions are really tough. They sent me up there by myself against entire squadrons of enemy planes? What kind of strategic thinking was that? "Our one guy can take out twenty of their guys." I was thinking court marshal for whoever came up with that idea.
Another major problem were the loading screens. There were many of them, and sitting through them was a trying experience.
WW II Aces had potential, but major and minor flaws kept it from being great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

nice controls but too many enemies

posted by dcj111 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Apr 29, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Controlling the plane with the wiimote is great, but the missions quickly get too difficult. I've played other similar games such as combat flight simulator 2 and was able to go much further in the game quicker.

The 2-player mode is also fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

did not work

posted by t109j (CHESTER SPRINGS, PA) Apr 16, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

that is all i have to say i put it in the wii and it sayed it did not work but i put another game in and it stared right up

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

At least the concept was cool

posted by 18lbsboost (DANVILLE, IL) Mar 6, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game was neat until I started to play it everytime I tried to turn the plane did a loop. Very overwhelming when the controls are hard to adjust to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

World War Two Aces

posted by meep20 (EAST WINDSOR, NJ) Feb 19, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

WWII Aces is one of the best games I have ever played . If you go on to Dog Fight Mode there are Fighter/Bomber planes for each airforce there are also Special prodgets.So WWII Aces is an awsome game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

frustrating but fun

posted by charlie4 (SUNRISE BEACH, TX) Feb 11, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

We are not gamers, so we found the lack of instructions to be frustrating. Luckily, we had a real pilot as a guest. He picked up the control and after a few crashes, he had a blast. Lots of fun. The loading time is a bit long, but all in all, we will probably buy this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Worth a rent... I guess.

posted by pkessler (LOUISVILLE, OH) Apr 22, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The actual gameplay in this game is semi-fun because of the use of the controls. There are 3 different ways to control your plane. The first and best one is holding the wii-mote sideways and steering it like steering a car with your guns and bombs mapped to the 1 and 2 buttons. The other 2 forms of control utilize the nunchuck as a flight control stick, which is a good concept, it just doesn't work for this game, it would need some tweaking for a sequel.

The actual storyline and missions in the game are really dumb and aren't backed up by any cutscenes. It's just "bomb this" "fly to this" "destroy incoming planes." It's like ace combat, only it sucks cause it's WWII and it's made by Destineer.

It's worth a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Don't Bother

posted by Rustus (LAKEVILLE, MN) Jun 19, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I'm usually a big fan of piloting games and the WWII aspect of this game made me even more excited to try it. I own Secret Weapons over Normandy and thoroughly enjoyed playing it, so WWII did have a hurdle to overcome, but how hard is it to make a flying game where you get to shoot stuff?

Apparently it's harder than I thought.

Primarily, it's the game play that drags this down. The enemies are always getting in behind you and riddling you with bullets - everyone of them an ace. Now I don't mind some competition, but this is ridiculous. Second, your controls are hamstrung - pulling all the way back doesn't put you into a barrel-roll - there's a specific key you have to hit for that move. There are no wingmen to control, only drone wingmen which are rarely helpful.

Don't bother renting this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

fair game

posted by mustache55 (MOTT, ND) Jul 10, 2011

Member since May 2010

The game was average. Its controlls were hard to use, but it would be fun if you practiced the game a lot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

WWII ACES Just Misses the Mark

posted by excop (NEWPORT, OR) Jun 10, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

While it's true that I did have problems with the disc, my review and my opinion do not take that at all into consideration because when it DID play it played just as advertised. The controls are outstanding. The graphics are pretty close to dead on. That's about all of the really positives that I have. The objectives are not clearly defined and lead to confusion as to how to move onto the next level. That as we ALL know can be VERY frustrating. I did originally try it in control style 3 that uses the nunchuck, and while you lose some of the sensitivity necessary to do barrel rolls, wing overs, etc., it is still possible to fly successfully and FEELS more realistic using both hands. However, with the single controller and the motion plus in control mode 1 you get amazing control of your aircraft, but the left thumb is guaranteed to ache after a good long session. All in all it's a great rent for people who enjoy that era's Russian, German, and RAF planes because earning USA planes takes a real time committment, or skill (the kind I don't posess) - but there's nothing like flying a P-51 Mustang!!! And for those who crave the sound of gunfire this game is for you. I WILL rent this again just to earn and fly the Mustang.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I liked the game

posted by 1cbulice (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Jul 21, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

I admit I am not the best gamer around but I try to have fun. It took me a few tries to get accustomed to how I should move the Wii mote. And I crashed or was shot down several times. After getting shot down, restarting the game from where I left off was very slow - frustrating.
It is much easier to accomplish each mission when I played with a partner.
I never did try the "dogfigt" mode.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Nice but...

posted by Creaks (RIALTO, CA) Jul 19, 2009

Member since May 2008

Not enough training at the beginning. You are shown how to fly, shoot and strafe ground elements then you are thrown into a aerial combat over carrier ships with enemies from everywhere. Maybe I missed the training somewhere along the way, but this is what made the game frustrating for me to play.

I liked the flying part and messing around with that, but the combat was just too hard. If the training was more complete then would have been better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I wouldn't if I were you...

posted by floydmack (JAMAICA PLAIN, MA) May 28, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

This game is awful.First of all there is no walkthru/tutorial to show how the controls work.Once you do figure it out the controls are unresponsive more than half the time.For some reason it reminds me of that game that came with the 64-pilot wings?Except that game was ok and this game is wack.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

VERY GOOD

posted by Diezeldog (CHESTER, VA) Apr 1, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

I loved this game , hated to send back. sound effects are great . if you like flying games , this is a good one

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WWII Impossible Aces

posted by gotalife (FOREST GROVE, OR) Dec 23, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

Unfortunately, this is another one of those games where the levels are so hard that it takes an hour or more per level - on average. The ratio of enemies to allies is always an average of about 8:1, taking the fun right out because advancing is very difficult. If you have days w/o things to do, maybe you can get thru, but I play for fun and to spend a few hours here or there, I do not play to dedicate my life to games. I do not recommend this game to anyone as it is more frustrating than fun. Do not play this game if you have a life and things to do. Who makes these games? I could have more fun cleaning my house than playing this game - mainly because I can advance on my work, where I cannot advance in this game. Who cares about gameplay or fx or the like, when you cant enjoy it because they make it too hard to play. NO FUN AT ALL.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Could be so much better...

posted by PBDrive (SAN DIEGO, CA) Dec 1, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

1) The storyline is nonexistent.
2) The controls are difficult to master, especially with control option 1 - the Wiimote control. With option 2, the Nunchuck control, left to right motion is governed both by the joystick and with motion, making it very confusing at times.
3) It takes too long to load each individual challenge. (When you die often, as I do, you have to reload the challenge each time... it gets old fast.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

a ok air plane game

posted by Matter (SANTA ROSA, CA) Oct 28, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

This game is ok for a dog fight game but it has bad graphics and it dosent compare that well to Blazzing angels 1. I returned the game the day after i received it so thats how i thoght the game was.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DO NOT RENT THIS GAME!

posted by thehofsta (TALLAHASSEE, FL) Aug 14, 2008

Member since May 2008

Worst game I have ever played in my entire life. Period. No room for discussion or debate. If you rent this game, don't say you weren't warned when you end up wanting to throw it against the wall.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Skip this WWII flying shooter

posted by HippyVock (SEATTLE, WA) Jun 8, 2008

Member since May 2006

This is an arcade flying game that is fun to fly around in for 5 to 10 minutes and then you will tire of it. Rather than bore you with all the average details the developer gets correct, quite simply it gets way too hard way too fast. If the developers had put on an extra coat of graphics (the ground is actually broken up into visibly noticable repeating squares) and taken a few of the enemy planes out to increase draw distance, this game could have been fun. Instead, long drawn out missions with confusing objectives (let alone difficult to see) that have no checkpoints is what is offered. With all the WWII games out there, I'd skip this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

WW2 Aces

posted by Ownij02 (FRANKLIN, TN) Apr 19, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

Still got the game a week later. It took a bit to get comfortable with flying the plane, but it's an awesome setup. I'm only through the first 7-8 missions. Lengthy storyline, but it adds to each mission to keep you going. The only bad side that I'm finding so far is that when extra planes are aiding you they aren't that good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »