Rent WWE SmackDown vs. Raw 2011 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

WWE SmackDown vs. Raw 2011

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, Wii, PS3, PSP Games
GF Rating
7.5

2244 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

My review of SVR 2011

posted by ECHS33 (SMITHS GROVE, KY) Apr 26, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

10 out of 10 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Many people that buy the SVR games get disappointed within the first 2-3 days of playing the game. This year was different. The all new Physics-System added some new oomph to the gameplay. The newly added superstars such as the Nexus and Yoshi Tatsu make it fun and all around exciting to play with them. The RTW modes have been improved. Now you can walk anywhere from within the arena before your match. You can start fights, visit the GM or just go straight to the match. The Undertaker's RTW was especially good! However, it was a little different than the traditional RTWs. Capturing lost souls, beating up a vulnerable Paul Bearer. But even with the flaws, the game is a solid seller. Fans should have no problem getting into this game. This game gets a solid 8-out of-10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best SDvsRAW to date

posted by xRenegade (ORLANDO, FL) Jan 19, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This SDvsRAW is definitely well done. I've had every Smackdown game since Smackdown for the PS1. This game is way better than previous ones. It has a lot of interactive things including all the weapons are all interactive with what's going on in the ring.

Only thing I didn't really like was the commentary. Its a little cheesy.

Certainly worth a rent if you're into SDvsRAW Games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game is so AWESOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOME

posted by coolspence (PALM SPRINGS, CA) May 22, 2011

Member since May 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

ok let me start by telling you that this game has the most realisim of any game based on a show i have ever played. the graphics are insane the matches are so real and realistic that im still learning stuff about the game and ive been playin the game for half a year bye

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

amazing

posted by reybob (OLNEY, MD) May 17, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

it is fun because you get to vs people. the characters are also realistic. you get to hit people with chairs,mops,guitars,ladders,tables,sledgehammers,kendo sticks(japanese fighting sticks),trash cans and maybe one more thing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best wrestling game so far this generation.

posted by kyoput (LEXINGTON, KY) Oct 27, 2010

Member since May 2008

18 out of 23 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

SvR 2010 is a fantastic game, wrestling or otherwise. It's fun, polished, and loaded down with extras and the little details that make sim games great.

First, the game play. It's pretty much your standard SvR control scheme with a few exceptions. Grapple moves are no longer on separate tiers. You now chain weaker grapples into stronger ones. I, personally, have enjoyed the change so far. It is very intuitive and easy to get the hang of. I also have not had a huge problem with my moves being reversed too often. I see just as many counters as I have in the past games. But ti will be an acquired taste for many, i'm sure.

The presentation is, again, top notch. Easy to navigate menu screens. Detailed info windows for every mode and, honestly, I find it to be the best front end they have put in. The entrances are awesomely accurate as always, the backstage shenanigans are handled in the offbeat WWE way and are either funny or ridiculously funny, but the commentary STILL needs improvement. I love the expanded backstage and it reminds me of the old Smackdown games on PS2.

Road to Wrestlemania is again a treat as you get 5 tailored scenarios, layered with the drama and comedy you can expect from a WWE program. With the expanded backstage it really feels like you're in a WWE show each week. You can interact backstage but you don't have to. It's just there for you to enjoy or you can focus on pushing the story forward. There are still many scripted moments backstage and they are, for the most part, enjoyable. I do agree with some reviews that a few backstage encounters went on a bit too long but it didn't ruin anything.

The real star this year is the WWE Universe. A combo of exhibition mode and career mode. It is the WWE for you to control week in and week out. You are basically Vince McMahon. You can play matches or just sim out a week, a month, or a whole year at a time.

Everything feeds into the online as well to make the experiences even better. Just a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WWE

posted by GothicRose1988 (NASHVILLE, GA) Jun 9, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I remember the Days Of PS2 THQ you Have Done A Great Job on The New Game Runnung Back Stage, as well as The WWE Universe, It's Awesome.

A Must Play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This year's SVR

posted by Barabus75 (FREEPORT, IL) Oct 26, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

14 out of 23 gamers (61%) found this review helpful

Well i went to the midnight launch, brought it home put it in my 360 and played around for a bit. First of all the characters are kinda downplayed due to the other stuff they threw in. i mean don't get me wrong I like it but totally not the best graphics in the franchise. It's kinda gimmicky.... Secondly I'm not a big fan of the new game control layout, last year's was much better. Too many times I would beat down my opponent to a bloody mess, only to get many of my moves reversed. Thirdly, when are they gonna make a game to where my created superstars in previous games can be uploaded unto the newer version. I don't know about anyone else but i grow tired of having to make new wrestlers for every game. Fourthly, what is up with the handful of wrestlers this year, wow probably the smallest yet. Last but not least the sound isn't the greatest its ever been, not bad but definitely not the best.....

All in all its great for us die hard wrestling fans, but for those who aren't this game isn't for you!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Solid effort but room for improvement

posted by DawgPoundx19 (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Mar 21, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I think the most innovative addition to this version of SD Vs Raw is the WWE universe feature which is like a never ending season. It creates rivalries and partnerships based on the matches. Contenders are established via wins and losses. It's as close as THQ has gotten to Smackdown: Here Comes The Pain PS2 (which kept track of wins and losses, title histories, titles held, etc really gave it a realistic feel) and Smackdown 2 PS1 (which allowed you to make allies or enemies based upon your action in the locker room or in matches). That type of feature is often lacking and is necessary along with solid gameplay to really create a realistic and robust game. It allows you to sort of create your own episode of WWE Raw or Smackdown in a virtual sense. The career/story mode is the typical fare where you play on the road to Wrestlemania and can make choices to dictate what happens. While fun to play though it's not particularly innovative or new.

This game is lacking in one major area. The game play ad it relates to moves and grappling, which had always been a strong point in the past. THQ did away with the strong grapples and made reversals far to easy. You have such a repetitive and limited number of moves it's pretty frustrating. Bring back the robust move set from previous versions of this game and it would be a 8.5 or 9 easy. They dumbed this one down it would seem and it really took away from the game play.

Overall a fun game, but not one I felt like buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Will they ever learn?

posted by LAX5150 (BOONTON, NJ) Oct 31, 2010

Member since Mar 2007

10 out of 17 gamers (59%) found this review helpful

Let me try to put this in the simplest way possible. Will they ever re do the moves? Honestly, you can't call this game to be for 2011 if the wrestlers still walk like robots; look at UFC;TNA and MMA; they got down the mechanis- why is it so hard for you to do the same?

First off; in traditional SvR series predictability; they've taken perfectly good controls and decided to screw it up to make it 'exciting'. They made it even easier to reverse (both strikes and grapples are dodged by using the trigger) and left the ridiculous talents like getting 3 finishing moves in a row which basically prohibits you from enjoying a positive experience.

Character creation- much more in depth than last year......a little too in depth. To make a full character with moves/entrance it takes around and hour and a half or more. Too much to keep me interested.

WWE Universe mode aka Gm Mode? Career? doesn't matter it's a DISASTER. Very random events; which have no sort correlation. No real explanation on how to use it. Gives no real sense of accomplishment; Just bring back to good ol' Gm mode, is it too hard? That was easy to understand and made it more like a sport now it's all 'how many times can i beat up on Santino before I get a title shot'

Entrances are nice so are the graphics with a few issues.

Less characters? It certainly feels like it. Once again I'm forced to play as Rey Mysterio in RTW really? bring me someone fun.

MUCH more in ring actions which actually pleased me.....but it doesn't matter since if you play online you'll never use anything more than a running strike/grapple and set stats to 100.

Few mistakes; move wise they're almost done right although I wonder; was it too hard to give the Hart Dynasty their actual tag team finisher and not some generic move? Getting lazy on us?

Voice acting is decent; some people(CHRISTIAN) seem to have lost all interest in providing decent voice over but other than that most are good. Free roam is pointless.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

My review about smackdown vs raw 2011

posted by killjoy10 (Vernal, UT) Dec 7, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I think Smackdown vs Raw is awsome but my xbox 360 broke in October ,so my mom is going to get me a new xbox 360. My finisher is the attitude adjustment and stf. One of the best things about it is the superstars because thats the biggest I heard thats the biggest roster so far.

On the wwe universe mode you can be any superstar you want. On wwe universe mode if you have a tag team partner they can come out during one of heamatches and do his finisher on you and on your opponent, and then after that your relation ship is over.

There are many championships like world heavy weight championship, wwe chapionship, and million dollar belt. if you are the number 1 contender you half to defend it until the preview.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Mixed feelings

posted by BodomxCrow (GIBSONIA, PA) Dec 10, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I got this hoping it was gonna bring the series back. Still no general manager mode, which was a fav of mine. the charecter creation is great but they took out thinks like choosable voices that make it more personal. yet again the game is based on playing superstars instead of created charecters. which if they were smart they would go back and look at games like smackdown shut your mouth and the original SvR and learn how to make a good game. it wasnt to bad but i would not buy this. Seriously they should really stop stripping the games of the things we all like, and stop adding in things no one cares about

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

wwe 11

posted by abubakar (POTOMAC, MD) Jul 30, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It is Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

weird graphics!

posted by tdog17 (SOLON, OH) Jun 15, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome!!!! it is just that when u have a belt on it doesn't touch your body.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

love it

posted by chris79 (ZEPHYRHILLS, FL) Apr 11, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

smackdown vs raw 2011 is a great game i love it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

can i really get this game beacuse i rlly wanna

posted by stevenlync (HIGH POINT, NC) Apr 1, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

play it please

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Smackdown

posted by Jlu (SAN DIEGO, CA) Mar 9, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

WWE Smackdown Vs Raw 2011 is the best game in the series in my opinion. I am a huge fan but my favorite game before this one was 2007. In this game in lue of a general manager mode you have WWE Universe. You aren't competing with anyone, but it's still fun and a great alternate to just playing regular exhibition matches that don't matter. Overall great game, highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awsome

posted by thethinglo (SANDIA PARK, NM) Jan 14, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i really love the game its adictive and you just kills things and break stuff nuthin better than that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Rent Worthy but I would not buy it

posted by Oldman619 (WEST HAVEN, CT) Oct 27, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

Ive been playing wrestling games a long time and to be honest this game is not very good I even prefer smackdown vs raw 2009 it seems all games after that have begun to lose their touch I mean if your a wrestling game fan then this will leave a bad taste in your mouth the graphics are not very much improved and did not wow me at any point. The new style of gameplay leaves alot to be desired like no longer can you pull off choke slam after choke slam because the new method the game chooses your grapples starting with weak ones first working you up to strong ones which in my opinion severly takes away from the freedom of this game. The walking around backstage thing is just annoying because the camera angle is rubbish although i dont mind the fighting but then again when it comes to fighting you are limited in what you can do. If you just want achievements like for xbox 360 or trophies for ps3 go for it because when your done youll never pick it up again so all in all if you want a good wrestling game stick with smackdown vs raw 2009 and do not buy this game it was poorly constructed and has many aggrivating flaws so yeah just rent it play through it and when your done send it back to gamefly

Graphic 6/10
Gameplay 6/10
Replayability 4/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

WWE SmackDownvs Raw 2011

posted by travelboy1 (BRANDAMORE, PA) Jan 5, 2011

Member since Sep 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I liked playing as myselt or the other wrestlers

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

VERY FUN!!!!!!!!

posted by mjc529 (RICHMOND HILL, GA) Oct 26, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

smackdown vs raw was very fun just got it though.the character graphics are actually pretty good controls are a little confusing but if youre a wrestling fan then all i have to say is get the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

smackdown vs raw 2011

posted by hawkfire (LAWRENCEVILLE, GA) Oct 25, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

6 out of 19 gamers (32%) found this review helpful

svr 2011 is a good game it is my favorite game so far. I hope who ever is reading this will get this game ,because if you don't you don' know what your missing.All the characters look awesome. I really love story mode and universe mode.Get this game please. It is awwwwwwwweeeeesssssooooommmmmmmmmeee.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

how svr 11 is the best thq game

posted by 12kill (ATLANTA, GA) Jul 8, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

gamefly is the best . because you can rent games and send them back when you are done only if it shipped faster svr11 is awesome because it has better graphics other svr graphics suck no offense only if they had jeff hardy thats my opinion #wussup

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Wrestling

posted by TOGMOAG (WOODSTOCK, GA) Dec 1, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

You would think after two decades of Wrestling games, they'd get it right. The story is fine, char creation is fine, but the controls and the game itself still leaves much to be desired. It's very clunky and not very fluid. I feel like I'm controlling a robot not a person.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Glad I didnt buy this one

posted by GQNalo (ROGERSVILLE, TN) Nov 6, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

Now its not my normal game but I have been watching a bit of RAW lately. Graphics are really good controls not so much and the little open thing in back stage pretty cheesy I may not be giveing it a fair break but after a couple of hours it was back in the envelope to be sent back first thing Monday. If you have played the others like this and liked them then its right up your alley but I wont tell you not to try it cause it might be something you like anyhow.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

It sucks

posted by Simmons01 (CREIGHTON, MO) Oct 28, 2010

Member since Jun 2009

4 out of 15 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

Talk about over doing something. Yeah it's cool that you can create almost everything, but who wants to take 2 hours to do that. Also, where is the career mode. I like to work my way up, not just decide I'm champ and go from there. What were these people thinking.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse