Rent WWE SmackDown vs. Raw 2011 for PS3
view large frontback

WWE SmackDown vs. Raw 2011

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.4

1742 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

WWE 2011

posted by Viper561 (BOYNTON BEACH, FL) Nov 2, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

12 out of 15 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Pros: Create your own match mode and WWE Universe exhibition. The create character and moves are deep with many possibilities. Possible downloadable content for new superstars. Legend superstars are available like Rock, Stone Cold, etc.

Cons: Controls should have been kept the same as previous WWE games w/o analog stick. Superstars have repetitive move lists between one another. Not enough of variety in Road to Wrestlemania story mode. AI seems dull and unbalanced, on easy they practically are punching bags and on legend are an unstoppable reverse machine.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

s vs r 2011

posted by ps3machine (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Nov 9, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Though some parts of this year's game seem slow and clunky, overall this is a nice addition to the series. Your first thought when playing the game is that the new physics engine has both made your favorite superstars a bit slower, clumsier, and fatigued. Your second thought is going to be 'Why did they change the grapple system?'.

After the initial shock of not being last year's game, you start to realized what can be done with this year's version.

Positivies: Created wrestlers downloaded online can be edited! This is a huge plus for the series. There was nothing more frustrating last year than downloading someone's created wrestler and getting rid of them because of some small detail that ruined your suspension of disbelief. This year, if the music, entrance video, attire, move-set, or physical makeup of the CAW isn't quite what you want, you can change it! This opens a ton of doors!

WWE Universe is a welcome addition to this year's game as long as you don't expect too much from it. It simply enhances the realism and context for exhibition matches.

Free roaming is a welcome addition to Road to Wrestlemania, but the overall feel of roaming is redundant and anti climactic with very little payoff. I don't need to hear 10 different ways for susperstars to tell me to get lost.

Sheamus and Drew McIntyre are in the game! Not to mention Long Island Iced Z! Woo woo woo, you know it!

Negatives: Gameplay is slower and clunkier at times. The new grapple system can cause repetitive looking matches that don't have the feel for telling a story as superstars truly can.

Basically the game is a step in the right direction and an upgrade over last year's, but the game makers are getting it for this series. It should be exciting to see where they take the future of the series.

I would still like to see 'Create a Championship' back without having to buy the belt. 'Build a Brand' could be a fun game mode for the future.

Great game overall!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Bigger & Better SvR Game

posted by GreedSama (WESTLAND, MI) Oct 27, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

14 out of 20 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

Like the title say this game is bigger and better then last year game.The game have a big roster and some new and updated modes.

WWE Universe:WWE Universe is the new mode to the Smackdown Vs Raw Series this is what really makes the game.If you enjoy game that you only play for the multiplayer then you will enjoy this.WWE Universe can active is a click of a button and you can also turn it off just in a click of your right stick.WWE Universe talking just playing to a whole new level.The matches you play in Universe mode is really just play now games but better.Universe have the things the made GM mode great like power ranking and much more.In WWE Universe mode anything can happen you will be surprised we you will see in the main event at your PPv.

RTWM:Also got a revamp.You can know roam the backstage area like you did in some of the past games created by THQ.Other then that nothing really have change.

CAW(Created Superstars):You know longer have to earn their ring skill.While you are creating them you can increase their overall and it is really fair.

The gameplay is nice really nice the moves that you land during your match looks good.Storyline creative mode is also back from last year that is also better then the one they had last year.The superstar thread is also back this year for these who care.Controls have also got a makeover but it really nothing big after 4 or 5 matches you will get the hang of it.The game have it ups and downs just like any other games if you is a die hard WWE fan then you will be buying this if you want to get back into the Smackdown Series then this is the game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WWE Smackdown vs. Raw 2011

posted by Gigaregi (PHOENIX, AZ) May 22, 2011

Member since May 2011

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Much better than the last one. Its more realistic. It could go one on one with all the other WWE games made, and win.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WWE and THQ REALLY messed up.

posted by ndemarco (JESSUP, PA) Dec 28, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I have religiously purchased all WWE wrestling games since its days on the original Playstation, and its a running joke among fellow gamers and wrestling fans alike that somewhere around Smackdown vs. RAW 2025 they will finally get it right and get everything we want in a game, without removing things we never complained about to begin with. However, this edition is another failed attempt at making that dream a reality.

It has been many years since I have felt like throwing a video game controller at the television set, not since the days of the NES in fact, but this game made me very close to doing that. It was hyped up so much, but the WWE Universe Mode is not what it is cracked up to be, and very unrealistic in points(they do have title matches on RAW and Smackdown, really they do) and Christian's Road To Wrestlemania left me stuck in only the first few weeks because THQ decided to stick a Money In The Bank match in there which is seemingly impossible to win, so right off the bat, the first two big points of the new game are really forgetful. Everything else is pretty much the same, which kind of makes you wish you didn't waste a rent on this game.

I've never been so disappointed with a game in a very long time, and my hope is I have learned my lesson from this point on. THQ and WWE have lost a customer in this case, and while that may not be much to them, many are to come if they don't put more effort into this struggling franchise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best svr game since 07

posted by Smack8raw (SANFORD, NC) Nov 10, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Ok i played ever svr game there is. And it seems this is the best since 07. There is hardly any lag online and the cpu gives you a challenge,

And my favorite mode is universe, you will want to keep playing that for days.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2011

posted by valbumpy (MONTGOMERY, AL) Jul 19, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

My son loves this game... the grafic are wonderful... he know how to do all the moves... and the know all the characters... this is a excellent game for anyone who loves WWE.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

renting this game gives you maybe a 5

posted by hehateme (KERMAN, CA) Nov 3, 2010

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

restricted online hampers what truly would be an amazing game to rent... i like the specials and all new stuff added . but without being able to test out the other half of the game i recommend to stay away from EA and THQ games if your looking to RENT because online features will be disabled unless you spend ANOTHER 10 dollars to activate online play on top of your monthly charge of gamefly...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

/sigh...again?

posted by FlikViktor (BETHLEHEM, PA) Oct 29, 2010

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Usually when you have a series of games they progressively get better with the occasional dud. The Smackdown series seems to be doing the opposite by progressively getting worse with an occasional good game. Well it's been a while since they released a good game, and this one still isn't it.

First the good!

We have a bunch of new moves, and redesign of some older ones which is always nice because seeing the same old stuff every game just gets boring. We also have the ability now to customize our Exhibition matches even more with Create a Match in each category.

Now the Bad!

WWE Universe Mode, or should I say GM Mode with no control over the events that happen during the matches. This was supposed to be what they introduced to replace there Career Mode. Let me assure you that THIS IS NOT A CAREER MODE. This is something that they thought looked shiny, but in reality is well garbage.

WWE Axis... Really? WWE has gone the way of EA in making it so that you have either purchase there "Code" to play online or buy the game at get the free code with it.

In Review...

What we now have is a game with great customization for your wrestlers that you can create. That you now to have pay extra (if renting) in order to play online. That has no career mode to speak of, just a more shined up GMs mode.

Honestly the game just isn't worth the money. If your E-Fedding, just rent it and send it back, if your looking for a good wrestling game keep looking because this game once again falls short on all levels. If you love the WWE and love the idea of playing as some of your favorite WWE Superstars then sure rent it, but it is really, really not worth the money to purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

SMACKDOWN VS RAW 2011

posted by AZEAZEL187 (ORANGE, VA) Feb 7, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i love the smackdown vs raw franchice but in this and all other smackdown games since bring the pain have felt unrealistic what ever happened to fighting in the stands,why cant you do ground create a finishers why is road to wrestlemania basically the same everytime.i feel like a child playing with smackdown toys,why is all the matches almost the same and yeah you might have dubbed up the create a player but its still lacking the reality i mean look at the wrestlers that were placed on the game they look real and sum may get by with help but most of the create a players look cartoonish.why cant you do finishers off the stage?this game was a disapointment to me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Worth spending the money on

posted by Scoobage (FOSTORIA, OH) Oct 29, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

There were a lot of things that I was impressed with when it came to SDvRaw 2011. The new Road to WrestleMania was very exciting, with the free roaming option now available. WWE Universe is another great game mode since the in-game engine kinda switches everything up on you while you're playing (random cutscenes, having to face another opponent right after your scheduled match, etc.) The only drawback I found while playing is that the grapple system was changed, which in my opinion is for the worse. I was used to being to initiate a strong grapple at any time during the match, and now everything is based on your opponent's damage. I understand that they're trying to make this series more lifelike and close to the real thing, but why do that at the cost of making the controls harder to get accustomed to? Besides that, it looked amazing, played great, and is definetly worth spending the money on if you're a WWE fan and you enjoy the games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST SvR game EVER!!!

posted by rlane4 (SACRAMENTO, CA) Oct 27, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It has some much added features like the WWE Universe were you can play matches without going into a career mode by going to PLAY in the main menu. NEW online features like; new Kelly Kelly Devi's attire and you can play online verses other players in Royal Rumble and others, but I'm not sure. There a lot of new moves to create a move-set or finisher for your player. Now you can add a show brand by making a new logo for your show and adding superstars to it to be like RAW and SMACKDOWN! The graphics are great (if you have a HD TV)! They finally made the practice area a lot easier to accomplish then before with new moves. I was disappointed that they didn't add GM Mode or 24/7 mode but the Story Mode is about the same with new features. This is only my review on it for only 2 days but I'm guessing there would be a lot more to this if I waited.

Overall A+

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

same as 2010 and 2009

posted by Shezza (ANTIOCH, CA) Nov 1, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

they copyed the same game over twice the story line sucked they need to do better next time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

This Years SM vs Raw has some problems so far...

posted by Wolfy13 (WARWICK, RI) Oct 30, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I've just started playing this game, but I have run into a few big issues so far.
As someone who bought the playstation years ago just to play this game, I have a lot of experience w/ this title. They usually expound upon last years game adding a few details and making it look and play better. This year's game has a lot of differences in the basic game play and look. The characters look bigger and they and the backgrounds do not look that good for the ps3. I'm used to better graphics and last years looked better IMO. They got rid of the strong grapples (used by holding the R1 button and pointing the left stick in a direction) as we know them and replaced them w/ groggy grapples. What makes someone go into a groggy state allowing you to perform these grapples is not always clear. I found myself becoming groggy (wobbling in the ring vulnerable for a groggy grapple or strong strike) for no reason in matches.
The move set of the characters is bothering me most. They cut out a lot of moves and have the wrestlers move sets consisting of very few moves compared to last incarnations. I found myself trying to plug in moves for the wrestlers from memory so as to not be doing the same maneuver over and over. If I'm not clear then I'll elaborate. When you move the stick up, down, right, or left for a grapple you initiate a chain grapple. You are holding an opponent in a hold and then have a choice of 4 maneuvers from these positions. Up, down, right or left will then give you different moves IF you have different moves plugged in to their move set. Most wrestlers have the same move for up, down, left, and right instead of different moves like in the past.
This bored due to pulling off the same moves over and over.

The game feels choppier than last years. The constant reversing of moves back and forth is irritating and unlike WWE matches we all watch on TV. Last years game was much better. One good thing, this years game you can lose at matches as opposed to last years.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Same old Same old

posted by MrSverdHed (LOWELL, MA) Oct 28, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

The new stuff added to this years version did nothing to enhance the game. The controls feel sluggish and the characters move slower, or is it me? Sent back the next day in disappointment

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

1st :)

posted by ips3er (PERRY, FL) Oct 25, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

7 out of 25 gamers (28%) found this review helpful

ok im not talking bout to review it but i am ironically but the 1st actualy means
the 1st wwe game to go into detail
the 1st to have the ability to use charchters more than 15 times
the 1st to have over 50 characters
the 1st wwe game to make it seem like a how instead of having to make exhibition matches
the 1st to make people hate each other by making some interferring for no reason(say miz jumps the big show when he wrestles kane)
1st to make use of making caw's be on one or the other shows

and im 1st to review

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Why "fix" a good thing?

posted by JuggaloX (NORMAL, IL) Oct 26, 2010

Member since May 2010

3 out of 12 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

The controls are now horrid! It's far too easy to reverse EVERYTHING. They completely have gotten rid of the strong grapple system. They've some how made the game worse than last year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by 123354687 (NEW BRITAIN, CT) Oct 26, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 18 gamers (6%) found this review helpful

Great!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game

posted by ericfried (ORLANDO, FL) Dec 5, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

best game ever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

very bad game

posted by majahcouzab (LAWRENCEVILLE, GA) Jul 13, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

this game is the biggest let down in the world a bad use of time and money do not get it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

cant really get into it

posted by DJBubbaD (SPRINGFIELD, KY) May 23, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

honestly i can say that the svr games get worse every year i miss the old fashion career mode on the smackdown games and have complete story lines in the career but in the svr games the story lines come less and its just bunch of matches and it seems you have to use one of the top brass superstars to have alot of matches

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Fight it!

posted by pigmadic (ENGLEWOOD, CO) Apr 10, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

online pass enabled

en.wikipedia. org/wiki/Online_pass

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

damage

posted by mr12ceelo16 (SPARTANBURG, SC) Feb 14, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

dam game didnt update . so i couldnt play it fuccin shyt

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great Graphics short stories hmmm

posted by Selectfew (MONTICELLO, FL) Feb 1, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

Lots of effort apparently went into the graphics characters are very detailed however story mode for player is like 6 matches long or so ... the other thing thats a snoozer from earlier games also , is gues what very very little Diva content . No stories there at all . seems it was built for mostly online eathernet play. NOT EVERYONE DOES THAT!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Game

posted by Ryder830 (NEW BRAUNFELS, TX) Jan 6, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

Story line was better than most games i have played.. But the backstage got old and boring.. Fighting seemed easy so that's a good thing.. I say this game is a good choice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse