Rent WWE SmackDown vs. Raw 2009 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

WWE SmackDown vs. Raw 2009

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, PSP Games, PS2, DS, PS3
GF Rating
7.5

4154 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Improvement, But still More Desired

posted by Bigpoppane (NEW BEDFORD, MA) Jan 27, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

23 out of 26 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

The game has greatly improved upon last years SDVR!

Firstly the Career mode is great and lengthy, usually requiring 5 wins to get a shot at number 1 contender, then one win to get a shot at the title match. Each 1 Contender win unlocks a new match type in Career mode, and each match is rated on excitement, entertainment, and technical skills, making you feel as if your CaW is a real wrestler catering tot he fans desires for outrageous taunts to High flying High Risk Maneuvers.

The second great improvement was the Road to Wrestlemania Mode, which lets you jump into scripted and voice WWE Action with 5 specific wrestlers and a Tag Team first Co-OP which is a step in the right direction for the series and if given more attention in future series will give the game the Title it rightly deserves, as what is more fun then laying a finisher on an opponent, then performing a catastrophic team finisher on your opponent!

Another great addition, that really vaulted this game into the wrestling fans game collection is the largely hype' d and rightly so Create a Finisher, which in no uncertain terms gives you the feeling as if your really creating a wrestler, not just a look and stealing another stars finisher. The ability to string together a 10 move finisher, adjust how fast or slow its done, then unleash it upon an unsuspecting superstar is amazing, Not to mention throwing it on some jive sucker on line and saving it to the highlight reel. The only suggestion here would be to add a tag team finisher creator.

A feature that sadly didn't make it this year was create a belt, but with the huge additions that were added, we can only be grateful, and assume that next years game will see SDVR shoot back up into the stars where it belongs.

Until that game comes this game comes highly recommended, and will provide you with hours of entertainment, well beyond its retail value would suggest!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

wwe 09

posted by rbann (DECATUR, GA) May 23, 2012

Member since May 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game and smackdown vs raw 10 is better than smackdown vs raw 12, easier to use with undertaker& kane or single matches, 12 with the breaking point.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

smackdown v/s raw 2009

posted by BOLOGNA29 (MUSKOGEE, OK) Jan 27, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

GREAT GAME! I made my boss on it n went to town!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Wrestling games

posted by Mixmasterj (OSHKOSH, WI) Jun 19, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Well...actually there are a feww things that i would like to point out.
Some of the superstars don't have certain moves, so they just randomly assign a move that another superstar has, giving it superstar originality. The commentators whomever they are depending on the brand you're on, will always cut mid-sentance when you hit someone with a chair, or use your finisher or something ridiculous like that. It's not something i like.

Aside from all this The rest is exceptionally well.
I like the exhibition matches.
and i LOVE RTWM and Career mode where you can build your created wrestler.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Smackdown vs. Raw 2009

posted by Thebeast08 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Jun 11, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Don't get me wrong i love to play Smackdown vs Raw 2009, but it was missing alot of the real life game play for example: like the in crowrd fighting thats what makes wrestling wrestling i like the in crowd fighting, another problem was the story mode for your created player, thats the best part, i was kind of disapointed that you took that out and for once can you please make the story board longer try fiiting in king of the ring and beat the clock in the gameplay, and the last thing is lets make more realisctic by having injuriers i mean i get tired of fighting and beating the cumputer till there red and they come back like nothing happend. If you fall of the top of the Cell COME ON!!!! the computer get right up lets try to make Smackdown vs Raw 2010 the beat wrestling game evey this year. But other than that i liked playing the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Another solid title from the WWE

posted by TheChozyn (DAYTON, OH) Mar 30, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game had all of the elements of a solid wrestling game, but one... the lack of an optioned story path.

The road to Wrestlemania mode is fun, the voice over work is good and the announcers talk about the overall story arc, which is nice considering how repetitive those get in any other mode.

The addition of the inferno match is a nice touch, though the ladder match is still tragic at best. I'm not certain that this series will ever be able to get the feel of the ladder match correctly, too much to program.

The Career path lacks the storyline feel that I personally enjoy, and would like to see a true free formed path of options for a story mode, but again it's probably too much to program with everything else they have.

Give me some options to develop my character and this game would be a 10.

Compared to the other wrestling game that's released lately (which name I shall not utter ever again) this game is the winner of the genre. At least until Legends of Wrestlemania releases.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Typical Wrestling Game

posted by eltonjohn (WABASHA, MN) Mar 20, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Should you check this game out? Yes. It's entertaining and is worth renting, but still lacks in certain areas that are important for a hardcore wrestling fan. One is the delay process with how some wrestlers and announcers leave/ change shows and are still on the game when it is out. The game is worth looking at for the story, but I have learned not to buy these games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

They should've kept something

posted by Missedout (WILMINGTON, NC) Mar 13, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Man This game was good. I loved the create your own finisher. the carreer mode got kinda boring after awhile. But they should have kept the GM mode like last time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Another Year another smackdown

posted by Doolz80 (LONG BEACH, CA) Mar 10, 2009

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Very fun game to play overall. I enjoyed the road to wrestlemania, and the roster was ok. The new Tag options were also a welcomed addition. The only thing i could find wrong with the game is, that i wished that they had of included a road to wrestlemania for heels. Hopefully this will be addressed in svr10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Improvement over SvR 08

posted by TimA2287 (GILL, MA) Feb 3, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I think THQ did a good job on this game. It's very similar to last years game but with slight modifications. The stamina system is automatically off but is available if you like it. The graphics are a bit sharper. The create a finisher is cool. The story mode is lacking the story but you don't play the same story lines over and over like in 2008. This game also has a Road to Wrestlemania mode which lets you choose from Triple H, CM Punk, John Cena, Chris Jerhico, Undertaker and Batista w/ Rey Mysterio. This mode follows each superstar in their own personal story line that keeps you guessing. The only negative thing is that each players story can be easily be finished within a few hours. On last negative thing is that a lot of the environment control moves are gone. No parking lot brawl, just a locker room match or backstage match which end very quick with a KO and the areas dont have many playable weapons. Give the game a shot, you wont be disappointed if your a fan of 2008.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Short of what SmackDown games should be.

posted by Gandoff216 (MOUNT STERLING, KY) Jan 29, 2009

Member since Sep 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ok, my title is not one hundred precent right on it, but it is close to what I meant. They took three hug steps forward in making this version like the co-op mode, but took a few hug steps back in changing the playing function in contorls. I was hugly disapointed in how you play, but after hours, and I do mean hours of playing, you become used to it, but still hate it. I hate the idea of looseing so many moves, and the fatigue button was greaty. All in all a solid 8, but concidering that the others have been 9's, descpit the gains, they lost alot on this version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Definitely a XBOX360 MUST PLAY!

posted by GFQG4MER (ROCHESTER, NY) Jan 16, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Me and my friend have always had our separate ways of how we rated games. In cases where Game Informer would hand out a 9, we would always vote either one point higher, or one point lower depending on our reactions to game. We also rated games with a simple "MUST or NEVER PLAY!". 'Must' being for games we just had to waste our money on, and 'Never" for stuff I would not touch with a 10 foot pole'

And so, that brings us to SD V RAW 09. This is definitely must play for those who are hardcore wrestling fans, and love wrestling. Each character has their own storyline, as with all the other wrestling games. They also have all the glitz and glam of the real wrestling show. Complete with all the cheesy lines, corny segments, beautiful cut scenes, and memorable ddts. Game play 9/10

Music is all rock and heavy metal stuff as always. Not being a big fan of rock, I say the game loses points here. All though there is one song on here I love. Overall, the music gives the tone of the game feeling. It makes you think "Im gonna do an fu to the first person who picks up the controller" Music 8/10

In game graphics are killer, with only minor details being edited from cutscenes when you compare them to the actual in game. The wrestlers in the game are dam near dead on. With a 1080p screen. You wouldn't know if you were watching a movie on playing a game, if you didn't have the controller in your hand Graphics 9/10

All in All, This is definitely a game that should be played if not owned, and since I use gamefly, I took upon this opportunity to rent this game, and play it. This is really one of those games, that should be purchased, and I can see why I have yet to see ANY of them in the local gamestop!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Almost a Ten

posted by herenow (MURFREESBORO, TN) Jan 7, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have been playing the WWE games before they went to the Raw vs Smackdown titles. I have always thought these games were great, until last years attempt. They changed too much, however they have made good on this year's installment. Then controls are different but you have the freedom to change a lot of moves and they don't have to be a specific type of wrestler.

Likes about this game:
Lighting tables/bats on fire
Inferno match
Create your own finisher(best idea so far)

Dislikes about this game
Commentary was ahead on a few things, such as if you were about to push someone off the He11 In A Cell match, or put someone through the announcer's table
They did away with GM mode.

Overall I really enjoyed this game. It was good to see them get back more simple wrestling. You could really just be a fan of WWE and pick the game up and play for hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by redsox2004 (MONSON, MA) Jan 4, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is very good. I would like more customizable features for the entrances, but it is very good. I hope that next year, if there is a SvR 2010, they make it so that you can make our own arena, like a PPV Stadium, and have it so that there can be more than 2 pyro sets in the CAE. I would expect there would be more unlockables, because you only can unlock like 15-20 item/people.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

WWE reapeat or new generation?

posted by readsaf55 (BELLEFONTE, PA) Jan 3, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

WWE 09 is a good fighting game but the moves have not changed the only thing new is the roster and tag team ability which is not to good. The first WWE smackdown vs. raw was my favorite but they change a lot of things that were awesome like GM mode and some of the matches. If you ask me they made 5 steps forward 20 steps back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

wwe rvs 09

posted by theonejosh (CORNELIA, GA) Jan 1, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

great game smooth loading and great customer creation.the only thing this game lacks is online co-op story mode.achievement wise the game is alot better then previous years.online vs is still a little unfair everyone use the spear adn puts little tactic into wrestling

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best SVR ever !!!!

posted by superpoof (BEALETON, VA) Dec 27, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

SvR 2009 was amazing but, I would have liked it more if it was lacking of the Boogeyman. I did like that they had Triple H's and Shawn Michaels' DX ring attire more than anyting except the new roster editor especially when you can change the championships around without having to play any matches , it's just easier to change title belts that way.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome

posted by GridIronDM (BROOKLYN, NY) Dec 26, 2008

Member since Jan 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The new SvR is the best yet. The new matches, new superstars & divas, new arenas are great. I enjoyed the RTWM. The only things I hate are that there are no legends and the rtwm is insanely short. I've had the game for three days and I've pretty much finished the game. The career mode is good but it gets boring cuz there is almost no story. You start on a championship path and become no.1 contender. When you finish that one u move on to the next championship. Its a very good game and I reccomend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun For A Day

posted by CaliKidnVA (NORFOLK, VA) Dec 16, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

They did put Kelly Kelly on the commercial thats one plus! Some parts of the game are very well done.... the character creation, entrance creation, and all the move/finisher creating is all done very well. Gameplay however imo is still the same old thing, not much has changed since the previous versions. The ability to grapple and attack the ref is also very annoying since he tends to want to get in the way often. With some of the options this game rates a little above fair but not something I would play long term. I give this game a 6 out of 10 on the fun'o'meter!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

its not No Mercy but then again what is?

posted by happyfun (ALPINE, CA) Dec 3, 2008

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

bad stuff first

if you hated the control scheme on SVR 08 then youll hate it this time too.

the camera angles when your outside the ring is BROKEN!

the targeting is automatic so if you are in a 4 way or a battle royal your at its mercy. if your fighting one guy it will automaticly switch to another wrestler that comes too close to you.

the carrer mode is barebones and boring and if you wanna have more then 1 CAW with good stats you have to take each one through the whole thing.

same animations year after year after year.

good stuff

sound,graphics are top notch.

road to Wrestlmania is fun alot more so then carrer mode.

blood drips onto the ring. i like that.

weppon grapples are always a plus

lots a wrestlers and zombie versions of Finlay and Santino......dont ask.

lots a match types(unlike the TNA game) and the inferno match is passable but seeing the same animation of a wrestlers butt on fire after you win gets old.

SVR fans go out and buy this now. SVR haters well im sorry.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Game

posted by KingMJD (MILWAUKEE, WI) Nov 28, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed this Game.But it is very similiar to SD vs Raw 2008.Story mode is really fun but it only have a few characters to play with.Carrer mode is'nt that fun to play because it really seem like there no rivalries to start or actually do.The matches that are really the highlights of the game is the inferno match, the tag team match and the gauntlet match.The game is really good but I think you should not use any cheat codes because it is really fun and easy earning the unlockables.I recommend this game for anybody who like SD vs Raw Games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Smackdown vs. Raw 2009

posted by xTravisx (TEHACHAPI, CA) Nov 24, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Smackdown vs. Raw was pretty fun. But when it says create your own tag team for the co-op story line, it doesn't tell you the only tag team is Rey Mysterio and Batista. Also, on the Road to Wrestlmania's, you fight the same people for like the whole story line. But the stories were great. I like Cena's a lot because of the whole Tony thing and I loved killing MVP at Wrestlmania. Undertaker's was good too. Well, I suggest renting it, just not expecting too much.:)
-xTravisx

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Definitely a step better than 2008

posted by GTripp (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Nov 15, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

After being underwhelmed with playing TNA Impact, I feel I have more respect for what Yukes has done with their WWE games. No, this year's version still isn't perfect (I really hate that you have to go through the career with a CAW before they are worth playing as (no patch until Jan 2009)), but overall I am enjoying every minute I've played this game so far. It's no Fire Pro (I would love a current gen version of this!!), but this is the next best thing. Biscuits and Gravy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The Best one yet....

posted by Sleekonia (ROSEDALE, MD) Nov 15, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Honestly its not saying much. At first i was looking forward to TNA impact, to bring a nice change to the way wwe has taken wrestling games. First off i would like to say the co-op story mode, which i personally been waiting on for a long time, is over rated, because its only for 1 of the road to wrestlemania. The graphics are far superior than years past, the create a finisher is a nice touch. but seems to be sort of an after thought to the game, since mixing certain moves makes the finisher glitch from one move to another, I really enjoyed this game, even with the limited co-op and gimped create a finisher. it looks like wwe is turning into madden; by that i mean if you own 2008 then its not worth buying,because not a whole lot has change from 1 year to the next, but if you don't own a past version then by all means try it maybe buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

how we doin'?

posted by elgonzo247 (PLYMOUTH, MA) Dec 9, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

hey how we doin'?...first off let me start off saying that this is one of the best wrestling games I have ever played to date. Not only are the graphics on point, but the overall mechanics and gameplay and even the implimentation of downloadable rosters (coming soon) and just the overall look and feel of the game.

Well let me start by saying that I like that they put in "The Road To Wrestlemania" mode in because it brings more depth to the already deep game but some flaws in TRTWM are that there isn't a wide variety of character choices...now i'm not saying that the selections that they gave aren't good enough but wouldn't you rather have the option at your fingertips to choose any wrestler that you see fit? (with some exceptions of course) well i would...but that may be just me. Ok and secondly the career mode is pretty intense and deep but could use an actual story aspect to it but i'm not complaining, it's very fun to play. And third I didn't really like that they got rid of the GM mode, I thought that was the best part of SVR 07 but that's ok they replaced it with TRTWM, so therefore i remain happy. Some other key aspects of the game include: create a finisher, Hot tag, more in depth and tweaked online mode with tag co-op (hot tag) and some characters can do Kip-ups.

Overall I would highly recommend this game to any wrestling fan, and even if you don't like wrestling just try this game and it just may change your mind, I promise. Ok well I hope that whoever takes this review into consideration and actually tries the game and likes it, you are welcome and thanks for taking my word for it. And if not, you are missing out on a great wrestling experience. So there you have it in a nutshell adios and have fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse