Rent WWE SmackDown vs. Raw 2009 for Wii
view large frontback

WWE SmackDown vs. Raw 2009

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.6

652 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

GREAT GAME!

posted by jayrocko21 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Apr 25, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I am a huge fan of WWE and I can honestly say that I am very pleased with this game. I also have it only PS3 but i wanted to try it on the Wii and I love it. It makes me feel like I am part of the WWE, that i am actually in the ring. Awesome Game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun!

posted by gamer740 (SMITHFIELD, RI) Apr 16, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was awesome!!!! The graphics are getting better, even for the WII. The sound is good and the music is good to. Definitely try and rent this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Round 2 for the Wii

posted by Mydlyfe (FRESH MEADOWS, NY) Nov 15, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

11 out of 14 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

To keep this short and sweet for you guys, SvR 2009 is an improvement from last year's game if you're wondering. The story mode, Road To Wrestlemania, where you take either The Undertaker, Chris Jericho, CM Punk, John Cena, Batista & Rey Mysterio (the co-op story mode if you want), and Triple H to Wrestlemania in 3 months, all are better then 24/7 mode from last year. The online gameplay lags so be prepared for that. There are over 30 match types this year and create a superstar is better and is improved from last year as well. All in all. This is a game that becomes another victim to the Wii's lets play motif. The replay value is minimal unless you have friends, and online mode isn't anything to rave about just yet because matches go by so quickly.

There is no Create-a-finisher mode on this. And while it might take some time to get used to the controls for every match, this isn't a bad game. A step up from last year but they've still got a long way to go until the Wii version can battle it out against the other Next Gen consoles. If you have a choice between this system and a different system go for the other one, but if you want a fun time with friends and maybe 20 hours of fun for yourself then get this game.
7/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Smackdown Vs. Raw 2009 is the best wwe game ever!!

posted by Sonickid (TORRANCE, CA) Dec 8, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

It's the best game because I played it was fun I felt the exitement. I felt like I was there. My favorite characters were THE UNDERTAKER, JOHN CENA, and JOHN MORRISON. It's very entertaning. My favorite Battle is a tag team with my friend because meanwhile I am fighting my friend starts to play and win by my side. My tag team with her is LOST MERCY it's very catchy. This was the very first wwe game this is when barely started liking SMACKDOWN! This was a fun start with liking wwe games, SMACKDOWN,RAW, or ECW. I hope this helped you as much as it helped spread my feelings fo this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Deeper than 08, but way to much waggle

posted by youngpoe79 (WESTMINSTER, CO) Mar 6, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2005

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

So I had really high hopes for this game and it just didn't pan out. I hate to say this but on other systems the game might be a little better. The main reason is that shaking the remote is about 50% (if not more) of the game.

I will say this. It is a big improvement over the 2008 model. You have more match types, good graphics, more superstars, a great create a superstar mode, and more options in general. The controls for the most part are easy to pick up, but sometimes it just feels tacked on. This is definitely a game that could have benefited from the motion controls. When you get on screen prompts that tell you to move one way or another, you can really just shake the remote and that will be it. Or you are trying to match the on screen prompts and it doesn't read what you are doing, which is just really frustrating.

Overall this is a definite improvement over last years model but I think it will take one more year to really nail it down. To me, it is just too much waggling for my liking. I do like the fact that they worked it in there, but just not as much of it. Use it selectively and make sure when you use it that it works. If they just came up with an alternate control scheme then this game would be much, much better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

WWE wrestling fans

posted by irispixie (LAWRENCEVILLE, GA) Dec 31, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This is by far the best wrestling game we have played. I originally had it listed in our Que, though my husband couldn't wait for the game to arrive and had read so many great reviews, he received it for Christmas.
For the wrestling fans out there looking for a fun game to play, pick up this game, you will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Just Terrible

posted by MonkeyManD (BALTIMORE, MD) Jul 2, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

I tried playing a singles match, and I couldn't get one move off. All I was doing was hitting buttons and swinging the remote around, and just getting my wrestler beat up.

If they had a training mode, I could not find it. It would have been nice to get to practice moves, like one can in Star Wars The Force Unleashed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

svr09

posted by JohnFerrer (HEWITT, NJ) Feb 6, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

good game, i recomend this game for all videogamers

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best wwe game i ever played

posted by gamehero56 (LAUDERHILL, FL) Jan 31, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

this game takes you inside the wwe, i mean grapics are great ! new features are mind blowing etc. i got this game the day i bought my wii.i played it with one of my freinds.as soon as we got comfortable with the easy to learn moves.we were unstopable.and dont even get me started on the road to wrestlemania,just beautiful and i just fell in love with the two player road to wrestlemania story with batista and raymasterio. and still no badsides to this game,rent or buy it.love wwe !!!!!!!!.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

wwe smackdown vs raw 2009

posted by qwe123 (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Dec 5, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

the game 5 out u 10 good game i bet the game it was esey

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good on xbox 360 and playstation 3

posted by JTorigin (BLUE SPRINGS, MO) Jul 30, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

As always not half as good as xbox 360 version just fake version but still good game just if you have 360 or ps3 get this for them better online

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Major Improvement

posted by qdakid (ORANGE, TX) Jul 28, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

This game was everything I hoped it to be and nothing I expected.I have SVR 08 and it was nothing like the ones on the other systes. This game was much more similar to its counterparts and had most of the same features other than a few match typres.The motion controls were much better then 08. My only complaint is that they barely changed the create a superstar feature and did not include create a finisher.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A great game for wrestling fans

posted by sps4860 (NEW IBERIA, LA) May 8, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

If you were skeptical about getting this game after the 2008 version, don't be. This game is far more superior than its predecessor. If you watch wwe as often as I do, you'll love the Road To Wrestlemania scenarios. This game also has just about every match you can think of from singles competition to a 30 man battle royal and everything in between. The controls are a bit aggravating to get used to, but in time you'll get the hang of it. All in all, I have to say this is one of the best games I've played for the Wii and that is saying a lot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game is a pile of poo.

posted by tman11 (HENDERSON, NV) Nov 9, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

this game is absolutly awful.the gamplay is dry,you cant create a finisher so it overal sucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »