Rent WWE SmackDown vs. Raw 2009 for PS3
view large frontback

WWE SmackDown vs. Raw 2009

Not Rentable
GF Rating
7.3

1681 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Getting Closer to Perfection.

posted by Hansolo (SAINT MATTHEWS, SC) Nov 10, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

11 out of 11 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This years SvR release is more polished than all the previous iterations. The presentation,visuals, and sound are all top notch. I rarely saw (if ever) any of the collision problems that's haunted this game since it began almost 10 years ago. The in-ring action is faster and smoother, more fluid. The announcers appear to know who's in the ring for a change. The new "Road to Wrestlemania" mode is a really welcome change to the series. You take on the persona of one of 6 superstars HHH,Cena,The Undertaker,and a few others. Also included in this mode is a Batista& Rey Mysterio Co-op. The goal of course to make it to the "Grand daddy of 'em all". All the while featuring real voice overs from the wrestlers themselves in a very unique story mode. So now you have a reason to actually use an existing Wrestler instead of your created one (like I usually do). Now the bad news. Unfortunately the trade off for this is there is no story mode for a created character. There is a full on career mode, complete with stat tracking. Other than moving up the ranks and winning new championships is less rewarding than ever before. Your Created superstar's abilities improve based on match performance rather than last years training sessions. With all the improvements made with the controls and all that I mentioned earlier it's kind of disappointing to lose what has been the game's main draw for all these years. A new camera perspective has been added when the action spills out of the ring, and it can be difficult to see your opponent when you knock them down. However I'll admit these are small gripes. When it comes down to it you play this game for the wrestling itself,and THQ definitely nailed it this year. Online play is as frantic and challenging as ever, and if you're able that may be where you end up spending the bulk of your time. It was nearly perfect this year. I'm hoping this is a sign of things to come. This years release is more than worth a play if you've given up on the series

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

0

posted by Exile23 (BRONX, NY) Oct 27, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

000000000
00000

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the best game ever

posted by gamegirl12 (OGLESBY, IL) Sep 16, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I ever played

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game is definitely one to remember.

posted by Swift10210 (PELHAM, NY) Jan 7, 2009

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ah, yes. The wrestling world has produced yet another great game. I can still remember my elementary school days--coming home to play No Mercy with my brothers. Still, this game has even more components and yields almost the same fun. Now, don't get me wrong, no game can exceed the amount of fun you get out of playing No Mercy, but this is a very nice attempt. I give WWE SmackDown vs. Raw 2009 a 9. It is well-deserved.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Can't use Created Character in story mode

posted by jasoncourt (MIDLOTHIAN, VA) Nov 13, 2008

Member since Oct 2003

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

For years I looked forward to being able to create a character and take him into the ring against all the WWE superstars. Last year I was disappointed by the game, partially because the same problems that have plagued the game since the begging hadn't been addressed.

This year they have added custom entrance music importing (finally!) for PS3. Also a big plus for this years game is the faster loading times (also finally). The downside of SVR 2009 is that the created wrestler you make cannot play through the story mode in the game.

What fun is it to spend all this time creating a character and entrance and move set and finisher(new this year) if you can't go into the story carrer mode. There is a carrer mode, it just has no 'story' and is just match after match to win each belt.

And there is a story mode, but the only characters you can use are Triple H, Undertaker, CM Punk, Chris Jericho, John Cena or the tag team of Rey Mysterio and Batista.

This is just so disappointing for me personally. If you don't mind using one of those superstars, then you might not have a problem with this game. As far as the game-play goes, it is alot like last year with very minor improvements all around.

In summary:

positives +import music for entrances (new for PS3)
+significantly less load times

negatives -can't import your created character into the story mode

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

going in right direction

posted by onithekid (LOUISVILLE, KY) Nov 8, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

this is the best game in the vs series...its right up there with hctp,sdvsraw06 and....NO MERCY...but with that said there is work to be done...mainly with the outside cam view of ring..we need more layers on the models...and stop with the painted on clothes..go the def jam ffny route(which even on ps2 still looks better than this game graphically)..this year they really listened RTW is great but 2 short i would like it to start at summer slam then end at WM...but what they gave us with it is the best season in years so good job there..the additon of DLC to the series..is great with guys like dibease and bourne making the cut that way really show that yukes is stepping their game up..inferno match is decent...the highlight reel is a great addtion...cant wait til next years to raise bar even more

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Raw V. Smackdown!

posted by DAtruem0 (BAYONNE, NJ) Jan 3, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is nothing short of GREAT! many different forms of game play the graphics r RIDICULOUS, the entrances are outstanding. The story line in My Wrestlemania is also reaalllly good. This game definitely satisfies and beats your expectations great play, very addictive. HIGH RECOMMENDED!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

NO STORY MODE

posted by blazer8487 (JONESTOWN, PA) Nov 17, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

SIMPLY PUT, NO STORY MODE, GRAPHICS HAVE THERE LAG PROBLEMS. FEELS LIKE THEY TOOK STUFF OUT TO MEET THERE RELEASE DATE, BUT NO STORY MODE????

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

awsome game

posted by sports (SHELTON, CT) Jan 22, 2009

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game is sick nasty,hardy hardy!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

smack down vs raw 2009 BEST GAME EVER

posted by gameflyer4 (VERONA, WI) Nov 22, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

the new features rock love them creating your own finisher come on no other game has that and the story play with a tag team and co-op i've always wanted that and now they have it this game is fantasitco!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome Best Yet

posted by WWErules09 (HAMPTON, GA) Nov 9, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

this game is the bomb it has all the potential to be a great game the graphics are great but the story line for career mode is okay maybe bad but where's wwe shop! the road to wrestlemania is great and very realistic go rent it but you wont be disappointed if you buy it. the create a character is awesome go get this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

What You Would Almost Expect

posted by Freeze17 (KUNA, ID) Nov 13, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2005

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Let me start this off by saying I have only been able to play this game for about 5-6 hours. As a wrestling fan this game is almost what I would expect. A huge let down for me was the trade wrestler feature has been removed and the online mode lags horribly. The load times have significantly improved and the use of custom music is nice. This game is definitely worth playing and owning but there is some room for improvement which seems to be a re-occuring theme for the SVR series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

love it!

posted by kingassassian25 (HUNTSVILLE, AL) Aug 13, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

i rented svr 2009 and i loved it! so far out of all of the svr games (svr 2009, svr 2010 and svr 2011) 2009 was my favorite.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

PS2 vs PS3 version

posted by BloodyHeck (HOLCOMB, KS) Apr 19, 2011

Member since Oct 2008

the only thing was better on the PS3 version was being able to play Super Crazy, Ted DiBease, Bushwackers, Earthquake, Evan Bourne, and Charlie

plus Jericho and Mysterio alt attires

visuals were the same as PS2

the gameplay was more sketchy though on the PS3

the PS2 had more cleaner gameplay not so much confusion

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Smackdown sucks go with UFC!!!!

posted by clawss (PITTSBURGH, PA) Jul 26, 2010

Member since Feb 2008

At first, I found this game enjoyable. It gave me hours of entertainment. Then, I began to realize how repetitive it was. Every single year, it is the same game. It is boring with out your own music because it has none. You move to slow. On every single game, the wrestlers have the same moves. Clothes for create a superstar sucks. Create finisher begins to suck. All arenas seem the same. Its super easy off-line. Online is ight. Always better to play online right?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WWE Smackdown VS Raw 2009

posted by wwefanatic (SANTA CLARA, CA) Apr 10, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

This is the third best WWE game on the ps3 system because one it has blood that drips onto the mat and then goes onto the wrestlers chests and #2 i like the fact that you can create your own finisher and the roster it is alright

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

worst Smackdown vs RAW game

posted by Goldfox17 (STEVENS POINT, WI) Apr 4, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

I rented this when it first came out. I thought it would be cool but boy was I wrong. First there is no GM mode. I always thought that was the best thing invented. 2. Um storyline please. I really can't say any good thing on this game. I played for maybe 10 min then quit. Trust me don't get this don't even look at it. I would play TNA Impact the game over this and I thought TNA was bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great for fans, but otherwise lacking!!!

posted by Wildcard82 (Oak Hill, FL) Dec 24, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

I've been a wrestling fan since I was born and though I've gotten away from it every now and then, I always find my way back to it. I guess that's why I'm suck a sucker for the wrestling games that come out every year without any real change. Smackdown vs. Raw 09 gives you a semi-updated roster with a few fun add-ons through PSN. The "Road to Wrestlemania" feature is the only really fun and immersive aspect of the game. It allows players to follow through a unique storyline for select characters on the way to Wrestlemania. The stories themselves are just what you would expect from watching wrestling. There are certain objectives to complete throughout each storyline that unlock new content, so that also keeps it a little interesting. Outside the "Road to Wrestlemania" mode there really isn't much substance. Just the same old gameplay, creatable character mode, and a rather weak career mode. The game does boast a large variety of match types which you can play until the your thumbs bleed. The commentary is still pretty pathetic but what do you expect??? All in all the game is fun for a little while, but once you play one match you've played them all. If your not a fan of wrestling the game is probably not for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SvR 2009

posted by Drtc24073 (CHRISTIANSBURG, VA) Oct 22, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

This game is awsom and i dent thx it wuld com this soon thx you gamefly for being so cool

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good graphics(if you put an HDMI cble to your PS3)

posted by rockers102 (GRAND ISLAND, NE) Oct 15, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

If your a person that likes fighting and cool moves. If you never liked wrestling I promise you will like this game I never liked wrestling either but I really really really promise you,you will like this game.But this is the downside to it,it has no trophies I don't know why but it would be nice if this game had trophies like making someone bleed or grab a weapon not guns or knifes i mean chairs, a baseball bat,and even barbed wire on a stick but no guts just sad it has no guts or bleeding from another part of thier body exept the opponents head wich is kind of graphic for people that don't play games with blood. So thats all I have to say about this game hope this review helped everyone thats reading this because I know my games alot because I've been a member for quite a while people so you can read how long I've been a member I'm not lying so trust me everyone thats it and good by.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not up to par

posted by tloc3385 (BUTLER, PA) Sep 1, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

This game promises a lot and doesn't deliver the combat system is frustrating. It looks like THQ just took 2008 and through some new people in the roster. They have made the story mode even worse than before. Is it too much to ask that THQ puts some time into this multi million dollar franchise rather than pimping it out to the fans. It just seems like THQ is cutting corners to make the game seem fresh but its really not. O yea don't forget if you wanna play online forget about using your own custom song and entrance on your created wrestler cuz they wont let you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Smacked Down

posted by scrtasian7 (HOUSTON, TX) Jul 7, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

I used to be a HUGE wrestling fan growing up - watching the likes of Hulk Hogan, Rowdy Roddy Piper, Ultimate Warrior, Macho Man Randy Savage, etc. As for being a fan of wrestling games, the Smackdown series that originated on the PS1 was top-notch! With every iteration, I was there with saliva running down my mouth, ready to get my hands on the controller to play the next incarnation of Smackdown games. It became an annual event like Madden.

I've enjoyed the Smackdown vs. Raw series on PS2, but haven't really played them since getting a PS3. I tried out SvsR 09 and to my dissappointment, it wasn't the same. Granted I've skipped a couple of games in the series, the last being SvsR 07 on PS2, but that was enjoyable. The controls seem overcomplicated to me (even though other reviews say they're great). Sure, it's easier to pull off certain moves with just the flick of the right analog stick, but without any tutorials for newbies (or people who have stepped away from the series like myself), you're kind of stuck mashing buttons and doing the same moves over and over. I also had problems uploading DLC which I don't know if it was my network or what was going on, but after downloading the extended rosters from the PSN TWICE! Nothing got uploaded to the game.

I found the game to frustrating and too repetitive, which if you are a fan of the shows nowadays, is exactly how it should be. I miss the days of Stone Cold and the Rock.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

fun

posted by mrmendoza (FARMERSVILLE, TX) Jul 6, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

this game was fun from the start action was good computer A.I. kept it interesting recommend it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WWE Raw Vs Smackdown 2009

posted by beanz74 (BRIDGETON, NJ) Jun 25, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

HEY WWE STOP MAKING VIDEO GAMES...THIS IS THE WORST GAME I EVER PLAYED SINCE NFL HEAD COACH..THIS IS STUPID...THIS IS THE DUMB SEASON MODE EVER..NO GM MODE..YOU CANT EVEN MAKE A TAG TEAM AND THE GAME WAS SUPPOSED TO BASED ON TEAMS..BASTISTA AND REY JR ARE THE ONLY SEASON MODE TEAM..THAT IS STUPID

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

The Honest Truth from a die hard fan

posted by GOTWLGF (LAKELAND, FL) Jun 19, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

I love wrestling as much as the next DIE HARD fan, but this game had it's ups and downs.
The new wrestlers is always a great thing about this game by far. To create not only a finisher, but a highlight reel had an awsome start, but I hope to have longer highlights, to be able to mix them up from match to match, diffrent types of finishers, and more of variety of finisher components. The Road to Wrestlemania is awsome, but wish they had more superstars. The Career mode is just a HUUUUUUGE dissapointment. You went from seeing your CAS come to life in these rivalrys to just doing a bunch of random exhibiton matches with no plot. As much as I didn't care about the Manger Mode, it is always something fun to do, but they got rid of it. Every SVR always has a major focus, but this years was not that great, Tag Teams. Tag Teams are fun in all, but they aren't a great topic. If they are going to pick a major focus make it Create a Superstar somehting everyone does. THEY TOOK OUT CREATE YOUR OWN CHAMPIONSHIP!!! I loved to do that all the time, but now they got rid of it. There is alot more I could say, but I highly doubt anyone is going to even read this far.
Overall a great game in all, but we've seen and know, they can do better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse