Rent WWE SmackDown vs. Raw 2009 for PS2
view large frontback

WWE SmackDown vs. Raw 2009

Not Rentable
GF Rating
8.3

887 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great game

posted by gameguy12 (Jacksonville, FL) Feb 9, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I would give this game an 8 because its really good the rosters are updated the theme songs are correct the only thing worng with it is 1. theres no genral manger mode this game would be so much better if u could control the superstars. 2.the season mode rosters are short the raw roster on season mode is only 18 superstars long usally the real wwe roster is 38 includeing comentary guys and interveiws plus the genral manger. but besides that the game is awsome i love the new inforno match

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty Good

posted by KCalhoun (COLUMBUS, GA) Mar 16, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Pros: Nice graphics, Good updated roster, Good gameplay, Improved Pyros

Cons: Create-a-Finisher too limited, No CAWs in Story Mode and everything has to be unlocked in Story Mode

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome game better than the rest

posted by buckfever (Highland, AR) Feb 26, 2009

Member since Dec 2005

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is by far the best svr game to date with updated controls and excellent graphics puts you right in the ring with your favorite superstars

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A weeks worth of fun

posted by DiscordX (UNIONTOWN, PA) Nov 15, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

This game is one of the better ones from the SvR series, but it still pales compared to the earlier Smackdown series.

The focus seems to have shifted from replayablity to eyecandy. This game is like last years graphically and they seem to have taken out more from CaS mode. The Road to Wrestlemania contains seven stories, each about 2 hours along. If you want to build up your CaS then go through career mode. Career Mode is okay, as it's a throwback to the acclaim wrestling days when there was no storylines in wrestling games. There's no traditional season mode and GM mode was taken out. It seems like THQ has lost what made the smackdown series superior for all these years, opting for looks over substance.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

crush boom!slam!

posted by hogol55676 (ROUND ROCK, TX) Apr 17, 2009

Member since Nov 2005

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

fun fun fun! i have went to the real thing and this game is just like it GET IT GET IT GET IT GET IT GET IT GET IT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

YEA!!!!!!!

posted by MrTucker2 (PHILADELPHIA, MS) Dec 27, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome. Who ever thought of the special features added to this game is a genius. Well got to go. Y'all rock on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Create Modes

posted by cherry (BATON ROUGE, LA) Dec 7, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I wanted the Career Mode spot ed the GM Mode because it was fun playing the gm mode in svr06 svr07 svr08 and I hope it will be great in svr09

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Certainly an improvement

posted by MusicIsArt (BILLINGS, MT) Nov 9, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I'll cut right to the chase.

The positives: The graphics are very smooth. The tag team action is very fun. Create-a-finisher is an A+. Having all the updated rosters is always nice. The Road to Wrestlemania storylines are entertaining.

The negatives: Road to Wrestlemania can only be used by 6 designated characters. Loading times are disrupting every now and then.

I may have to re-review the game at a later time, but from what I have played so far, it's worth buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

what to add in 2010

posted by jowehng (RENO, NV) Feb 22, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The game is great to just play with your buddies or hanging out with friends. but if you want to play by yourself you should stay with one of the earlier titles because with no story mode the game really stinks. during the match its the best controls I've ever played but everybody wants a story mode.

some things that should be in 2010
create arena
story mode
legends
create a finisher submission
online play
create a championship
more extreme weapons like barbed wire to put on anything and you can choose during game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The Best SVR since 2006

posted by Lordjon (FORT WORTH, TX) Jan 27, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I've been playing this game for about 2 days now, and through trial and error messing with character creation, finisher creation, etc, learned that this game was ALOT more fun then 2k7 or 2k8 especially 2k8. I have 2k8 personally and 2k6 2k7 wasn't worth the buy and I bought 2k8 without renting it first thinking it would be as good as 2k6. In the case of this game I enjoy it alot. I play it for a couple hours then put it down because that's just the way to do it. This game is fun in spurts the commentary is better the Character Cration is the same as 2k8 for the most part. The Create a Finisher option was fun to mess with and I love seeing my 10 part finishers everytime I whip one out with the Triangle button. This game deserves an 8 out of 10 but not a full 10. I didn't modify the reversal rate or anything, but I find that character like Big Show can still be Choke Slammed...he is WAY too heavy to be pickedu p by ANYONE. In my opinion the game needs to add more realism to the system...but if they did that it would be like 2k8 where the AI reverses most of your good moves, so I can't aggree with my own saying atm. I liked the Tag Finishers and enjoy playing this game just as much in Tag Modes as single player matches. There are a few matches missing from 2k8 though I would've like to keep and I do miss the Buried Alive matches.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

svr 09

posted by Leperchaun (STOCKTON, CA) Aug 16, 2009

Member since May 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Overall its good but at the same time disappointing they added creat a finisher wich was good but that was just standing front this game is good but 08 had better story and options

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

ha

posted by Beambeam (BELINGTON, WV) Jun 16, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is an amazeing and the realisticness of this game is just omg lol omg thats all that needs to be said not much of a review i know but what can ya do

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good Game!!!

posted by vbean12 (ALISO VIEJO, CA) May 10, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I like going:

Triple H
and
The Undertaker

against

Chris Jericho
and
John Cena

There's something you could try out!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Best Game Ever

posted by cheetah94 (CYPRESS, CA) Nov 8, 2008

Member since Sep 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

If you like wrestling then you will love wwe smackdown vs raw 2009. It has new features like hot tag and the create-a-finisher got upgraded. There is also where in season mode you go with a patner. There are lots of superstars and new type of matches. There are also more Divas. Evrything in 2008 is also in the game but also new things.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

jacob

posted by jake123321 (COARSEGOLD, CA) Nov 21, 2008

Member since May 2008

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

I expected way more out of this game the graphics suck, and NO GM MODE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!! never get this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

me and my best friend beat this game

posted by superflykid89 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Aug 5, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

it fun and cool it was hard and easy it was i awesome game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

i Got The System

posted by seanmoore (LAND O LAKES, FL) Aug 29, 2011

Member since May 2011

i Got Ps2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

SvR in 2009

posted by shadowmove (ENDICOTT, NY) Nov 11, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

This one is very well done with exellent features in the create mode, and new Road to Wrestlemania Mode, and with all new soundtrack to this game. You can't go wrong with Smackdown Vs Raw 2009, I highly recommend this to all WWE fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

terffic game

posted by redsoxfan3 (RICHMOND, ME) Jul 27, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

Smackdown vs raw 2009 will change smackdown vs raw for years to come

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

could be a lil' bttr

posted by WarHawk49 (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Jun 7, 2010

Member since May 2010

i love the game... but it would stop loading when i went to create a superstar

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Hello

posted by adan1130 (FORT LAUDERDALE, FL) Dec 29, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

g

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

WWE Smackdown! VS. Raw 2009 Review

posted by deven7 (OLD TOWN, FL) Aug 18, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

wwe smackdown vs raw 2009 is a very good game but it has one flaw you can not choose any one else in road to wrestlemania which is WAY better than season mode which sucks the best part about the game is that you can create a finisers that is da bomb i made about 25 at most there all strong.the thing thats sucks is that is you can not create championships. thats my review of smackdown vs raw 2009

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

its a super game

posted by cowboy0675 (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Jul 4, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

i loved to play the game its a kool game i love too be tripleh in the game and beat up randy orton

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

don't work

posted by jman350451 (GRIFFIN, GA) Apr 28, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

This game doesn't work

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Smackdown vs raw 2009

posted by powerjon (LONDON, OH) Apr 12, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

Well quite honestly a disappointment in the SvR series. Sure they got create a finisher and for ps2 thats about the only good feature in game. I figure this SvR was going to be the last one made for PS2 as sony is moving on and you would think they would of created something fantastic to go out with . I hope the future games will eneable self titantron and music I mean it not that hard to do and as far as unlocks there really isnt non worth mentioning. All and All I rather play 06 for out all them at least you had online options ect so be well fans of WWE.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse