Rent WWE SmackDown! vs. RAW 2008 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

WWE SmackDown! vs. RAW 2008

Not Rentable
Also on:PSP Games, PS2, PS3, DS, Wii
GF Rating
7.0

4061 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

AS GOOD AS THEY CAN MAKE IT

posted by GridIronDM (BROOKLYN, NY) Jun 28, 2008

Member since Jan 2005

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I enjoy this game and encourage people that are debating sitting this one out to get it.
There are a few minor flaws that you can really care less about.
1)Still dont see every superstar on it, im hoping that 09 has more superstars and brings in guys like hornswoggle and more divas
2)you can only have one 24/7 mode at a time. Its the same story over and over but i usually play as a GM.
3)Obviously, they cant make it perfectly fluent which sometimes makes the game really suck. if your getting up and somene uses a move that is used while your down it still works.
I like this game but it can get boring, during which i suggest u create new characters and titles to spicen it up

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SVR Keeps Getting Better Every Year!

posted by XylonHades (HOMESTEAD, FL) Nov 29, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have no complaints to this game. It keeps getting better and better. The graphics are amazing and so is the gamplay. ECW and the new wrestler's ability(hardcore,showman,- submission,etc) are a great add!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A+

posted by KingTreybo (CLEVELAND, TX) Nov 19, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

20 out of 24 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

The WWE titles keep getting better and better. First of all, the graphics are top-notch (as expected). Facial expressions, muscle movements, and pyrotechnics are all improved on this one. Voice overs aren't quite as cheesy as the last game (although ric flair needs some lessons). The create-a-superstar mode is better than ever, plenty of options, but easy to modify however you like. Create-an-entrance mode is awesome, too. Xbox has the option to use any song you have on your hard drive as entrance music for your wrestler, which is great.

The gameplay seems a little slower than before, but is still up to par and seems a little more believable than before as well. Weapons have more fun add-ons as well, such as setting a barb-wire 2x4 on fire :) Some of the maneuvers have been re-animated as well (the RKO, FINALLY!).

My only complaint is that the game has a bad tendency to be cheap. Sometimes it doesnt matter what you do, the opponent can counter every single move you throw at him. And the ladder matches are a pain also. Even if youre not a big wrestling fan, this is an extremely fun game to play around with...pummeling Cena has never been more fun :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

wow great i dont know what can top this

posted by philly12 (UTICA, NY) Dec 15, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

GREAT GAME. season mode is good everythings good about it buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It had potential....

posted by caustic47 (PALMDALE, CA) Nov 15, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

19 out of 26 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

Coming from a hardcore WWE fan, I can tell you SvR 2008 is a good game, but it's far from being great! Every year it seems the SvR series adds something new, and for some reason, gets rid of something great. In this case, its the story mode, called 24/7 Mode and it's completely disappointing! You can't even call it a story since there is NO story, you basically just have the same cutscenes of your wrestler walking by, shaking hands, talking to(without voice-overs), or arguing with another character. The superstar's voices are only used for pointless e-mails and nothing else. The "off-days" your wrestler gets are spent on useless, repetitive events that involve ridiculous scenarios such as photo-shoots, website interviews, starring in hero or villian films, and going on "dates". It's all utterly ridiculous and THQ should be ashamed of themselves for considering this as a suitable replacement for last year's story mode. Now the good part of SvR 2008...ECW!!! The addition of ECW superstars and the Extreme Rules Match are the best part of this game! The things you can do with a chair are a wrestling fans dream come true, not to mention the ability set tables and a barbed-wire 2x4 on fire are incredibly awesome! The ECW superstars are pretty great, though there's only a handful of them to choose from, and you can't use any of them in 24/7 mode. The roster itself is another disappointment, which has been downgraded to barely 50 wrestlers as opposed to SvR 2007's 70 or so characters. All other aspects of this game are nothing more than recycled parts from 2007, including the same matches and create-a-superstar/entran- ce/belt etc. Only a few minor additions, none of which are worth mentioning. The fighting styles add a nice touch, but it's nothing special. Overall SvR 2008 is good game, but seems more like a slight expansion to 2007. If it wasn't for the addition of ECW I would give this game 5/10, but the Extreme Rules Match boosts the score to 7/10!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WWE Smacdown v.s. RAW 08 including ECW

posted by GTkilla26 (KENNESAW, GA) Nov 25, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

9 out of 13 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

I gave this game a 10 because the graphics, gameplay and the new edition of ECW are AWESOME! I think there should be more ECW superstars though......The ONE bad thing is that in 24/7 mode sometimes when you win a match in the little video is says you lost and you get beat up.......THIS GAME IS AWESOME!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A Step Down For the Series

posted by DaMikeSC (COLUMBIA, SC) Dec 6, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2007

23 out of 35 gamers (66%) found this review helpful

I have been a fan of wrestling for years and wrestling games for a little less time than that, but a pretty long time nonetheless. I remember NES Pro Wrestling with fondness, the WWF RAW/Royal Rumble games, the N64 classics --- and I've always liked Smackdown and the later Smackdown v RAW.

This year's game, though, is weak.

Now, create-a-wrestler, which is always a favorite of mine, is as robust as ever. The move list is still ridiculously long and it is fun to make a guy with all of the cool spots in a match.

The problem is that the controls are messed up. Every year, Yuke's seems to try something new, and this year, the new effort tanked.

Grappling is a massive annoyance in the game. The quick grapples are easy, but no matter how much you beat on an opponent, the more powerful attacks tend to be a pain to hit. They reverse absurdly well and, outside of your finisher, anything rougher than an armdrag just isn't going to be hit often. The submission system was always a weakness and in their attempt to address it, I think Yuke's turned it all the way into a liability. Keeping a submission hold applied is a headache, but reversing it for you is equally agonizing and irritating.

The commentary has gotten worse as well, as you hear a few quips repeated ad infinitum. The voice acting of the wrestlers is minimal, at best, and the storyline is pretty much bare bones --- but watching WWE as of late, that is likely for the best as the writers are basically hacks as it is.

The game isn't bad, but it's the worst of the SD v RAW games to date. It's worth a look, but Yuke's is moving further away from correcting the problems, not closer to the solution. Which is a bit sad, really.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

frieken awesome

posted by mkfan1186 (RAWLINS, WY) Mar 5, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

i tell you what i own this game and i have never felt happier xbox live is so addicting you wont leave your living room or room for a week it has fighting styles which the are hardcore showmen brawler powerhouse sumbmisshon high flyer technical and dirty the 24/7 mode is awesome the brand new ecw extreme rules is frieken awesome becase you can light tables and barbwire on fire. the only problem is the commentary sucks. the guys on these comments are idiots this game is not horrible rent this game wait no dont rent it buy it!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Some things depressed me....

posted by bigwayne (BEDFORD, OH) Nov 10, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I like the game but there were some things that flawed the game Like the Submission Struggle system I didn't get the point the point of it and the Elimination System(Royal Rumble,Over the Top rope)It's too easy to Eliminate people. Let it be a little challenging.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

And that's the bottom line....

posted by misterB (WHITESTOWN, IN) Nov 19, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The new fighter style is a great addition. It actually seperates the wrestlers and makes the game a little more realistic. Many match types makes this game replayable. The online capability adds more replay value. This is a very fun game but after awhile got repetitive. But definately a good rent!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

OMG the best WWE game yet

posted by sicoitc (OAKDALE, CA) Nov 12, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

12 out of 32 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Its soooo good. you have no idea. the only thing is the lack of alot of story in 24/7 mode.

overall 9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

controls

posted by mattster84 (WATERTOWN, NY) Nov 16, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

the controls suck it is too complicatingto play i thought it be more simpler like the old days i wasnt exspecting only 2 control types i was thinking like 5 to 10 types.grahpics are good and all but needs BETTER CONTROLS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Waste of time

posted by Fearless2x (METAIRIE, LA) Nov 16, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

i waited for 4 days for this game to come in the mail, what a waste of a rental! I should have gone with Ac6 instead of this garbage. The controls are HORRIBLE. There is NO storyline whatsoever, and increasing the stats for a created superstar is not worht the effort. Not even ECW can save this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A Big Dissapointment

posted by BigAlshara (DEARBORN, MI) Nov 15, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

Man i couldn't wait till i got this game then i got it on wednesday man it made me want to rent the smackdown vs raw for the ps2. It lacked a lot of skills and very few moves. No fun game modes. Also the 24/7 mode could have had a lot of improvments. Probaly a must rent for wrestling fans but i wouldn't suggest this game for new players to this franchise i would suggest the older versions of this game on the ps2 those were very good ones.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

What is this...?

posted by bakedcrakr (AVONDALE, AZ) Nov 15, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

now i know the cover on the game says 2008, but this just seems like a suped up version of 2007! C'mon, the exact same commentary as the last game, all the skits in 24/7 mode is repeated with different superstars. Glad i rented it and didn't blow my cash.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

why was this game released?

posted by NECRO666 (SURPRISE, AZ) Jan 4, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

this is one of the worst games if ever played. I mean it had so much potential. but the messed up bad on the story. like just now i got a call from HHH who gave me the option to betray smackdown of stay loyal i said i would got to raw. then i get a call from him again and he said i make a big mistake by choosing to stay on smackdown. and this is not the first time ether it happens through the story. if you choose what the game like thought like above if i would have said stay loyal then i would have stayed loyal. and that not all if you like to watch cutsenes then the only one that will look different are the one in the ring. the back stage one id say there are 6 to 7 diff one. and finally the commentary in the ring you hear the same thing over and over again the dumnest thing of all is when you do a finisher the say your showing off for the crowd when you lounch him from the top rope for the crowd. the ony thing good is the back stage commentary

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Hi

posted by seanmoore (LAND O LAKES, FL) Jan 5, 2013

Member since May 2011

May I Have It I Have Online Xbox Live Of The Underdog In Hall Of Fame Mode

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Ehhhhh...

posted by rantmaster (LONG BEACH, CA) Jul 6, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

This game has its ups and downs. Its ups are that it has a more flowing gameplay, wrestling types such as (submission specialis, hardcore specialist, brawler, powerhouse, and more), and features ECW superstars and involves them in season and GM mode. However the downs are more shown then ups, such as hardly any ECW superstars in GM mode, and the complete lack in season mode. SPOILER ALERT!(For example the begining of a smackdown superstar of your choice has you being interviewed by Maria which seems okay when 2 things are already wrong. 1. The choice you make doesn't affect this scene, or half of the scenes as a matter of fact. 2. this scene has you, instead of doing what you chose, has your superstar become a player and try to kiss Maria, and lets be honest your gonna choose The Undertaker first, makes this a very strange and very lazy effort in storytelling only difference having different voices saying the same line. So to put this short, the season mode is lazy compared to 2007's game. Whew). Anyways the story mode and GM mode are a huge part of the game, so it affects this games rating. Besides having a boring and lazy modes, (not including KOTR and Beat the clock) and lacking ECW superstars its a decent game and i give it a 3 out of 5 stars, which is equivelent to 6 out of ten.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

love it

posted by funnyguy (KANSAS CITY, MO) Jun 15, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

this game is definatly one of the best svr games the roster is great eerything is great theres so many things tht went right with this game tht sadly got removed through the games of now and your hearing this from a future wwe superstar and champion! no not like the miz ;)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Need more than 10 fingers to play

posted by ObiRon2460 (REDWOOD CITY, CA) Mar 25, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

Not sure why you would think WWE would make the controls of this game simple. Very hard to understand the controls or the tutorial. Very
frustrating to play that I just gave up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horrible

posted by leerachaun (LOS ANGELES, CA) Oct 14, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

it was horrible cuz i didn't even get it from y'all and so that means ill have 2 wait yo man that's messed up

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

GARBAGE>

posted by Gamer10111 (Los Lunas, NM) Sep 20, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

how people can watch something as FAKE and STAGED and wrestling is beyond me. the video games are even worse. weak controls. weak gameplay. soap opera story lines. i attempted to like this game but could not. this genre of games could only best be appreciated by "pro" wrestling fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Horrible

posted by Mikeyjoe (AMBLER, PA) Aug 29, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

This game is horrible. it's got to be 1 of the worst game i've ever played. Ok this time around well i didn't have to say that because it's pretty much the same. Except the fighting styles. they aren't that great. it's the laggiest online play you'll ever find. And theres this story crud
where if you do anything you get 40% fatigue. I mean the injuries suck too. if you get hurt you hold your head the whole match which means you lose. i hated it don't get it. Get Mercs 2. Or skate

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Definitely not a step forward...

posted by CharlieB19 (OCEANSIDE, NY) Aug 27, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

I had high hopes for Smackdown vs Raw '08, unfortunately I was let down by what it had to offer. To make a long story short, I found myself wrestling the same two wrestlers (Booker T and Gregory Hanes...or whatever) who I could care less about. No matter what I did, they continued to team up against me, one wrestling me after the other until Rowdy Roddy Piper stepped in on my side, then it became a "tag team" in and out of the locker room, which became tedious.

The wrestling itself is either extremely aggravating or overly easy (even on Normal difficulty). There were times where I would just be owned by the computer with no say in the decision or I would own the computer, using basic grapples. Forget "hard" grapples, they're very difficult to pull off and don't yield as much of a reward versus the risk necessary to pull them off.

The game is along the same path as the predecessor, however, this version was a revamp attempt that didn't need to be made.

I'll be waiting for the next installment and I will be praying that it'll be worth more than this one was worth.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Problems with the game

posted by wizkid0430 (KISSIMMEE, FL) Aug 11, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

When i got the game, I was very exited, until I won a match. The game went right to the loading screen and wouldn't stop. I left the game alone for 6 hours, but the picture of Bret Hart stayed there. The information still went by though. Whenever I won a match, put the entrance on, or tried to go into 24/7 mode the game stayed on one of the wrestlers. Overall the game is fun , easy, and is one of the most fun games I have gotten from Game Fly. Thanks for reading my review and happy gaming.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse