Rent WWE SmackDown! vs. RAW 2008 for Wii
view large frontback

WWE SmackDown! vs. RAW 2008

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.3

852 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

hi

posted by seanmoore (LAND O LAKES, FL) Mar 16, 2012

Member since May 2011

My Dad Get Me New Wii I Want This Game! WWE 2008 On The Wii

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

wwe smacdown vs raw for the wii

posted by wwebigfan (BREMERTON, WA) Mar 28, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

im a big fan of wwe and tna but lets get to the game
its a game thats tring to mack you feel in the game
and i m am so thats good but thaers somfing rong thers no
cage mach in a sale and its not close to ecw exetrim ruls you have to pay
for the rock and stone cold but it is fun to put a me in the ring
the moves are kind of hard to do but the game is ok to play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Physicly different but still the same

posted by Endgamer77 (DEER RIVER, MN) May 17, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

I have bought/rented every smackdown game since 02. While they use the wii motion controls well, it doesnt seperate it from other years. The wrestling still is the same. Graphics only slightly better, and a huge problem for this game is very little choice in matches. Dont buy/rent this game. just forget about smackdown games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

bad very bad

posted by spud80 (SIERRA MADRE, CA) Apr 7, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

all you do is wave your arms around like an idiot. seriously. not awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

the gam disc

posted by rockie (KISSIMMEE, FL) Nov 18, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

I did not like the game because the was scratched and my system could not read it.I hope you could fix that problem soon.THANK YOU P.S. The system that would not read it was the NINTENDO WII

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

What is this Hardcore!?

posted by Ziantman (JAMAICA, NY) Aug 5, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

The addition of ECW makes no difference at all. I've been hit with more than steel chairs. You can only use steel chairs. You can only do about four or five moves over and over...I'm sorry, but I'm used to performing strong and weak grapple moves...and where is the pause button? WHY THE HECK DID NINTENDO JUMP ON THE BAN WAGON WITH EVERYONE ELSE...we don't need a boring Raw vs Smackdown, what we needed was one more Day of Reckoning or something. They were going on the right track. My favorite thing about this game is the create player. The attire is a lot better, BUT you can't preview your entrance . Very inconvienent....too many flaws to type about....TNA AYUDER! This game is a slaughter...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WARNING AWESOME GAME!!!!!

posted by KingGamer1 (BRIDGEPORT, WV) Jul 29, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

This game is sweet! I love the the gameplay and the graphics are super! I love this game! You can customize your own character and moves! This beats almost all the other games out there. If you either Smackdown, Raw, ECW, or the W Legends this is the game for you!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A-W-S-O-M-E!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by Mikemonkey (GLENDALE, AZ) Jun 8, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Definitely one of the best games out. You basically run around the ring and pick up ur opponents and throw them out of the ring on the ground (on your knee :) ) and onto the ropes.

Customizable characters more than should be. A variety of masks, jackets, tops, tights, pants,
piercings,face paints, ect.

Great game cant wait till 09 comes out.

Oh did i fail to mention deadly accurate combos and attacks?A number of entrance styles music and back ground musics.

Also hardcore matches where there are chairs you can pick up and B-U-S-T open your opponents face.(You can also do this by rope throwing your opponent and pressing A+B or pressing B and waving the wii remote down while your opponent is on the ground)

THE END
NOW GET LOST...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THIS GAME IS RAWSOME

posted by Bstoybox (Springfield, IL) May 1, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

Many of you WWE SMACKDOWN VS RAW 2008 owners are disappointed well if your 1 of them haters turn away now, you gone you arent are you well prepare for the tombstone piledriver of reviews. I played thes game at my friends house and I loved it my first character was Rey mystireo and when I did my first 619 I was hooked so if you are an idiot and dont like this game I feel sorry for you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not what I was expecting

posted by RaineyDay (ROWLETT, TX) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

I was SOOOO excited to get this game....that is until I played it. The graphics were great, but the game play was weak. The controls were lacking and seemed very awkward. I was very disappointed...(sigh)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

a renter or 20$ game

posted by Avasira (HARRISON, AR) Apr 21, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

It was all right. Graphics were not bad, sound was good. It was just the controls that got me. Majority of the superstars did the same move set. As long as you were in the same weight class (heavy weight, super heavy weight, etc.) you could pretty much bet on if i move the controller up, he'll do this.

The greatest thing about the game was the way matches were handled and that your wrestler actually fatigued after a match. Be warned however, your fatigue drains the same regardless the match.

All in all, it's not a bad rental, especially if your a wrestling fan. It might be worth picking up in the value bin, but not worth much more than that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

WWE SmackDown vz. Raw

posted by steelplayn (CANDLER, NC) Apr 7, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

I'm not a big wrestling fan, but I have liked some of the games. I thought that SmackDown for the WII would be a great way to show off the Wii remote and what it could do in an action/fighting game. I thought the controls were tough to get a grasp on and bothersome to maneuver after that. The story mode was not very deep, and I thought the overall game play was not very good. I am suprized that the rating is as high as it is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Pined!

posted by Snow1118 (WOODHAVEN, NY) Mar 15, 2008

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is very good I can bet anyone out there like that. Who ever plays this game hope you win. Game on!
From,
Snow1118

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Great Gameplay, but NO depth whatsoever

posted by MalcolmO (NAVARRE, FL) Mar 9, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

I've been playing the WWE games for years and have resigned myself to accepting that their THQ releases are little more than roster updates. That being said, the other features in Create-a-Wrestler, Career mode, the sheer diversity of match types and creatable PPV's all made up for the relatively stagnant gameplay.

But the Wii version of this game suffers from the exact opposite problem. The gameplay itself rocks! It's reliable, it's innovative, and it doesn't bog you down with single set move lists. You even make the exact taunt motions to get stamina back!

The problem I have with this installment is that the replay value is nil. There are 4 match types, total... not even a cage match! The story mode consists of non-animated text message challenges. No interference, no storylines, no real rivalries...

If all you're looking for is a good utilization of the Wii-mote's motion sensor mechanic, then you'll dig it. If you're a wrestling game fan, you'll want to pass this one up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

SD 2008 worst ever

posted by Mistaken (PANAMA CITY, FL) Mar 2, 2008

Member since Sep 2006

I hate the controls because you are limited on the moves you can do. It seems you end up doing the same move over and over. The PS2 version beats this game because the features alone. The season was not even worth the times and the lack of matches dropped the scores all the way down. I hate this game and sent it back the same day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Smack Your Wii Around and Feel Raw!

posted by deekim (HOUSTON, TX) Feb 16, 2008

Member since May 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Pros:
O.k. graphics at 480; this game doesn't really need to be extremely detailed. Lots of move variations. Some match variations. You can play with the females. Mii integration. Different difficulty settings.

Cons:
Lots of move variations, easy to forget them. No tutorials, but fairly easy to pickup anyway. Lots of Wii-mote waving; some moves will not register unless you completely throw your shoulder out.

Since I have never played any previous wrestling games before I have to say that this was a surprising experience. My younger brother and I had a blast playing this title. He's a button masher so it was kinda natural for him to pick this up. Nevertheless, it gets tiring pretty fast when some of the moves requires extreme Wii-mote waving.

There are some different matches in play now but seems pointless because they feel the same, except 3 vs. match. And tag-team wasn't too bad either. But, once again, it gets tiring pretty fast. Play now is more geared towards two players.

Then you have the match mode where you pick Smack Down or Raw. Where you beat opponents progressively through various cities while building up your character.

One thing I found very interesting was you can actually make your own moves and characters. It's almost limitless in regards to the number of moves you can create. This is probably a good thing because you will more likely remember your own created moves than what's assigned. Then again, with so many move options it would be easy to forget them too, unless you only use a few power moves.

Overall: this is a mixed bag of nut-s for me. Even though I enjoyed playing it I didn't enjoy how tiring it got. Though it was a fairly easy to pick up and play I didn't want to play for long. At first it was pretty exciting, but fails to maintain my interest. When I expected more almonds and cashews I got more plain salty peanuts instead; monotonous game-play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Dissapointment

posted by taker150 (WELLS, ME) Feb 10, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

Ok... I was watching videos on the internet of gameplay of this game... i saw flaming barbed wired bats, 2 tables flaming on top of each other, and flaming guitars. But when i rented this, it had... nothing. nothing but an announcer table and chairs. I know what you're thinking, "man this game must really stink, I'm not gonna buy it!". But Smackdown vs raw 2008 for wii is really good besides that! I mean the graphics are cool and it's fun beacuse you get to acully do the taunts the superstars do in the game! But the bad part is the 5 match types are,
Single
Tag team
Triple Threat
Hardcore
K.O. Match

Now the roster is pretty sweet. They got MVP and Jeff Hardy on it this year. Also people from ECW like CM Punk or Elijah Burke or Tommy Dreamer or Sabu. But they forgot people like Chuck Palumbo and Jamie Noble.
So the game isn't as bad as it is, but if the stip matches go, then the presious perfect 10 goes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

ehhh....

posted by Yehezkel (BONITA SPRINGS, FL) Feb 8, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

Not my cup of tea.... I am all over any game that only concentrates on the motion sensing of the Wiimote...

Sorry WW

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Bad

posted by pkessler (LOUISVILLE, OH) Jan 25, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2007

They ruined the whole franchise with this game. Smackdown: Shut your Mouth was the last good Wresting game. They keep making mistake after mistake with these new wrestling games. This game is by far the worst. It's got terrible controls, they could of thought of something better, or at least add in functionality of the classic controller. Then you only get maybe half the roster of the WWE. Then on top of that there are only like 5 matches to choose from! Get it for the 360...the Wii version is terrible. Or better yet, just play Smackdown: Shut your Mouth and be happy with it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Does not live up to its predecessors

posted by dabends (PASADENA, CA) Jan 22, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

Having played the last 2 installments of WWESVR 06 and 07, I must say that this version on the wii takes a huge step backwards. Three major issues warrant a score of 3. #1. The controls are modified for the wii which does not allow for precise control of your character. #2. Only 5 match modes? #3. I can appreciate an open story line but SVR08 storyline is just a compilation of play now, unlike SVR07 where there are cut scenes.

In conclusion this game would have warranted a 5 however when THQ set the bar high on SVR07 only to disappoint with SVR08. With SVR08 THQ didn't even take the time to rehash the title. Come on even Madden is better every year.

-Dabends

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very good

posted by espnfan13 (MONMOUTH, OR) Jan 19, 2008

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

It's pretty cool and it has Rey Mesterio on it. I recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It wears ur ARM out !!!!!!!

posted by Stikbone (WASHOUGAL, WA) Jan 14, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

The game is OKAY and the game play is very tiring. The level of controller action is very limited. Basically you are required to move the controller in a constant (Right to Left) motion. To get the characters to do the moves to beat your opponent. All the while hitting the A or B buttons to do certain moves. Now with that constant motion it tends to wear your arm out. I was usually able to play 2 or 3 times. Then I would have to take a break. Well that's my take on it and I hope this helps anyone considering the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

somewhere in the middle

posted by johncene (MARBLE FALLS, TX) Jan 5, 2008

Member since Aug 2005

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Overall the game is awesome, but i'm a little disappointed that there is no cage, or ladder matches also you can only use a chair and drop them through the announcer table in hardcore matches I mean come on!NO TABLES!!!!!!!I would recommend this game to anyone who likes wrestling and not really extreme.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

wii have been ripped off

posted by wwefan77 (SAINT PETERS, MO) Jan 4, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

dont waste your time or your money on this game the move selection is limited to 5 moves per wrestler with no back grapples. The create mode is very bad cant listen to music or preview entrances. What happend to custom entrance mood? No interactive season just text a wrestler with no voices, going back to N64 how retro NOT!!!!I could go on for hours bottom line this game sucks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

WWE Smackdown vs. Raw 2008

posted by tyler0124 (DAVENPORT, FL) Jan 3, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game can confuse esaly on the controls. Graphics, sound, and openers are great, but gameplay is tricky though. Main event mode is really good, but it gets tiring to keep up with every thing thats going on. But trust me is worth it when your holding up that championship belt.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse