Rent WWE SmackDown! vs. RAW 2008 for Wii
view large frontback

WWE SmackDown! vs. RAW 2008

Not Rentable
GF Rating
6.3

852 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

WWE Smackdown! vs. RAW aka. Laydown vs. Snore

posted by MajiShine (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Nov 27, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you have ever played any of the past SD! vs RAW games from WWE then you know what to expect out of a good wrestling game.

Great action, awesome story modes, tons of characters to choose from and in general a great game to play alone or with friends.

Well if this is what you have to come expect from a WWE game then you will be quite disappointed with SD! vs RAW for Wii.

First off, many of the elements that are present in the versions for other systems are completely missing from the Wii version.
24/7 mode, many of the match types, online play, and the new fighting styles system are nonexistant in the game.

Instead 24/7 mode was replaced with a Main Event mode. While this might see interesting and compeling enough to play the game, after an hour of playing it it becomes boring, when you realize that doing the same moves and fighting the same few people can let you breeze thru it in a short amount of time.

The missing match types doesn't even make sense. The Wii version only has 5 match types compaired to the almost 30 of the PS2, PS3 and Xbox360 versions.

Also the main draw of 2008 was the new styles fighting system which seems to have been completey nixed for the Wii version.

The fighting controls are very simple and easy to pick up and play and are strangely enough quite fun. You actually control the moves with moving the Wiimote in different directions to pull off moves. This is fun, but sadly because of the limitations of this you find out quickly how to beat your opponent by using the same few moves over and over again until you can end the match with a finishing move.

The taunts are a nice touch too as you have to actually DO the taunt with the Wiimote and nunchuck to activate them in the game.

It seems to me that the game was toned down for a more fun appeal than the other system versions.

So if your looking for a solid, fun game this is pretty decent, but if your a hard core about WWE games, rent another console version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

somewhere in the middle

posted by johncene (MARBLE FALLS, TX) Jan 5, 2008

Member since Aug 2005

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Overall the game is awesome, but i'm a little disappointed that there is no cage, or ladder matches also you can only use a chair and drop them through the announcer table in hardcore matches I mean come on!NO TABLES!!!!!!!I would recommend this game to anyone who likes wrestling and not really extreme.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A-W-S-O-M-E!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by Mikemonkey (GLENDALE, AZ) Jun 8, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Definitely one of the best games out. You basically run around the ring and pick up ur opponents and throw them out of the ring on the ground (on your knee :) ) and onto the ropes.

Customizable characters more than should be. A variety of masks, jackets, tops, tights, pants,
piercings,face paints, ect.

Great game cant wait till 09 comes out.

Oh did i fail to mention deadly accurate combos and attacks?A number of entrance styles music and back ground musics.

Also hardcore matches where there are chairs you can pick up and B-U-S-T open your opponents face.(You can also do this by rope throwing your opponent and pressing A+B or pressing B and waving the wii remote down while your opponent is on the ground)

THE END
NOW GET LOST...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Smack Your Wii Around and Feel Raw!

posted by deekim (HOUSTON, TX) Feb 16, 2008

Member since May 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Pros:
O.k. graphics at 480; this game doesn't really need to be extremely detailed. Lots of move variations. Some match variations. You can play with the females. Mii integration. Different difficulty settings.

Cons:
Lots of move variations, easy to forget them. No tutorials, but fairly easy to pickup anyway. Lots of Wii-mote waving; some moves will not register unless you completely throw your shoulder out.

Since I have never played any previous wrestling games before I have to say that this was a surprising experience. My younger brother and I had a blast playing this title. He's a button masher so it was kinda natural for him to pick this up. Nevertheless, it gets tiring pretty fast when some of the moves requires extreme Wii-mote waving.

There are some different matches in play now but seems pointless because they feel the same, except 3 vs. match. And tag-team wasn't too bad either. But, once again, it gets tiring pretty fast. Play now is more geared towards two players.

Then you have the match mode where you pick Smack Down or Raw. Where you beat opponents progressively through various cities while building up your character.

One thing I found very interesting was you can actually make your own moves and characters. It's almost limitless in regards to the number of moves you can create. This is probably a good thing because you will more likely remember your own created moves than what's assigned. Then again, with so many move options it would be easy to forget them too, unless you only use a few power moves.

Overall: this is a mixed bag of nut-s for me. Even though I enjoyed playing it I didn't enjoy how tiring it got. Though it was a fairly easy to pick up and play I didn't want to play for long. At first it was pretty exciting, but fails to maintain my interest. When I expected more almonds and cashews I got more plain salty peanuts instead; monotonous game-play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

WWE Smackdown vs. Raw 2008

posted by tyler0124 (DAVENPORT, FL) Jan 3, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game can confuse esaly on the controls. Graphics, sound, and openers are great, but gameplay is tricky though. Main event mode is really good, but it gets tiring to keep up with every thing thats going on. But trust me is worth it when your holding up that championship belt.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

feels like im in the game

posted by psp360 (SPRINGFIELD, MA) Dec 29, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

at first the controls were hard i didn't know what to do but i got use to it and learned i was very sad you didn't have all those special matches in exhibition like ladder helld in a cell and other matches that stunk im gonna rent it on the 360 to see if its better and if it has those matches this games a rent for short game play and boring controls you should have had to punch with the wiimote to punch enemy that would of made it great but no instead you shake it wii boxing more enjoyable the picture was ok on the wrestlers but bad on the fans hope this helps

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Step in the right direction

posted by Baseball91 (CHICAGO, IL) Nov 14, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Now there arent as many modes or matches as the other systems, which might turn you guys off but the gameplay is simply amazing, While there are some repetive moves like when ur in a tag match and your pinning some1 2 things can and will happen, 1 is that your partner hits the guy b4 he can breakup the tag(usually number 2 is what happens) 2 is that u pin the count gets to 2 and then the opponent hits you and stops the pin, then your partner knocks him outta the ring. BUT OVERALL I HAVE TO SAY ITS A GOOD GAME AND I LIKE IT ITS REALLY ADDICTING I TOOK A dAY OF SCHOOL JUST TO PLAY!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Had alot of potential...

posted by Deniz562 (LONG BEACH, CA) Nov 18, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Gameplay
-Controls (6 out of 10):
WWE Smackdown V.S. Raw 2008 (SVR08) for the Wii is a game that had alot of pontential in being different and being a better game because of it. The controls actually feel a bit weird and gimmicky. One is that you only punch with your Wiimote only and shake it like crazy you will pull of combos. You shake the nunchuck to throw people to the ropes and it feels weird when doing it. There is no button to run so it feels your stuck just walking (no the case when outside the ring). Where the controls really shine is when acting out the taunts. But, another flaw, is doing the grab moves themselves. They are unresponsive at times and some times don't make sense doing them (except choke slams).

-Single Player (8 out of 10):
Wii has a special "career mode" than the other consoles. SVR08 has Main Event, in where you choose a wrestler and approve fights or ask for them and gain popularity for it. The more popular you are the more stuff you can unlock like wrestlers and arenas.

-Multiplayer: (6 out of 10)
Supports up to 4 players but I couldn't find a mode like Fatal Four Way, in where all players are against each other. The only way they can is in a Tag Team match. Other than that its a fun time to go crazy with friends. Lack of modes does hurt it though.

Presentation
-Modes (6 out of 10):
Right when the game is loaded you will see Play Now, Main Event, Tournament, Create Modes and Options. Play Now is used to play multiplayer and there is only about 5 different match types, and all are about the same (no cage matches). Main Event is for single player, Tournament for King of the Ring games.

-Graphics (6 out of 10): Players look great but the crowd is horrible.

-Sound (8 out of 10):
Everyones songs are there. Commentary can get very repetitive.

Conclusion: [Avg. of scores](6 out of 10)
Hopefully THQ learns from the mistakes and fixes them and look for a better SVR next year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Pined!

posted by Snow1118 (WOODHAVEN, NY) Mar 15, 2008

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is very good I can bet anyone out there like that. Who ever plays this game hope you win. Game on!
From,
Snow1118

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

weeeeeaaaaaak

posted by Decalyco (LAS VEGAS, NV) Nov 29, 2007

Member since Jul 2003

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

This game is lame. All the uniqueness that the past WE titles had is gone. It barley has any variety. IT doesn't have Cage, Ladder, TLC, Handicap ,fatal 4, or King of the Ring matches. The hardcore match is lame, the only weapon available is a chair. This is a total let down. Skip this and play any other fighting game. Try Day of Reckoning for the game cube, or even better No Mercy for N64.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Addicting and Fun.

posted by robbie (CITRUS HEIGHTS, CA) Nov 19, 2007

Member since Sep 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is very fun. It has good graphics for the Wii. The Main Event Mode is kinda short.
But, there is some glitches and bugs.
Like A lot of less features than the other consoles.
And some other stuff.
All in all, it's a fun game rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very good

posted by espnfan13 (MONMOUTH, OR) Jan 19, 2008

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

It's pretty cool and it has Rey Mesterio on it. I recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Might Be Better On Other Systems (No Need To Rent)

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Nov 15, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I will admit that I am not a fan of Wrestling; but that does not fog my judgement of this game. I might not have played all the games out there but this one lacks modes and matches, the graphics are nice, but the music is lacking and most of all the controls do not register most of the time. I sent it back within 15 minutes!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I Love the WWE

posted by darthl1378 (SAINT HELENS, OR) Nov 17, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

Finally after all these weeks of anticipation it has come to your WII!! First of all the graphics are better than the psp and ps2 COMBINED! The gameplay so fun. You have to act out punches suplexes, powerbombs and the very well known DDT. The controll scheme well I kinda menchend it durring the gamepaly section. The only thing that i have a problem with is the match types. ONLY 5 to choose from. Singles, Hardcore, Tag Team, Triple Threat and K.O. Match[NEW!]. It stinks no ECW extreme rules match.

Graphics:10/10

Gameplay:10/10

Controlls:10/10

Match Types:9.5/10

So There u have it my review of smackdown vs raw 2008

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

hi

posted by seanmoore (LAND O LAKES, FL) Mar 16, 2012

Member since May 2011

My Dad Get Me New Wii I Want This Game! WWE 2008 On The Wii

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

wwe smacdown vs raw for the wii

posted by wwebigfan (BREMERTON, WA) Mar 28, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

im a big fan of wwe and tna but lets get to the game
its a game thats tring to mack you feel in the game
and i m am so thats good but thaers somfing rong thers no
cage mach in a sale and its not close to ecw exetrim ruls you have to pay
for the rock and stone cold but it is fun to put a me in the ring
the moves are kind of hard to do but the game is ok to play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Physicly different but still the same

posted by Endgamer77 (DEER RIVER, MN) May 17, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

I have bought/rented every smackdown game since 02. While they use the wii motion controls well, it doesnt seperate it from other years. The wrestling still is the same. Graphics only slightly better, and a huge problem for this game is very little choice in matches. Dont buy/rent this game. just forget about smackdown games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

bad very bad

posted by spud80 (SIERRA MADRE, CA) Apr 7, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

all you do is wave your arms around like an idiot. seriously. not awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

the gam disc

posted by rockie (KISSIMMEE, FL) Nov 18, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

I did not like the game because the was scratched and my system could not read it.I hope you could fix that problem soon.THANK YOU P.S. The system that would not read it was the NINTENDO WII

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

What is this Hardcore!?

posted by Ziantman (JAMAICA, NY) Aug 5, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

The addition of ECW makes no difference at all. I've been hit with more than steel chairs. You can only use steel chairs. You can only do about four or five moves over and over...I'm sorry, but I'm used to performing strong and weak grapple moves...and where is the pause button? WHY THE HECK DID NINTENDO JUMP ON THE BAN WAGON WITH EVERYONE ELSE...we don't need a boring Raw vs Smackdown, what we needed was one more Day of Reckoning or something. They were going on the right track. My favorite thing about this game is the create player. The attire is a lot better, BUT you can't preview your entrance . Very inconvienent....too many flaws to type about....TNA AYUDER! This game is a slaughter...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WARNING AWESOME GAME!!!!!

posted by KingGamer1 (BRIDGEPORT, WV) Jul 29, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

This game is sweet! I love the the gameplay and the graphics are super! I love this game! You can customize your own character and moves! This beats almost all the other games out there. If you either Smackdown, Raw, ECW, or the W Legends this is the game for you!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THIS GAME IS RAWSOME

posted by Bstoybox (Springfield, IL) May 1, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

Many of you WWE SMACKDOWN VS RAW 2008 owners are disappointed well if your 1 of them haters turn away now, you gone you arent are you well prepare for the tombstone piledriver of reviews. I played thes game at my friends house and I loved it my first character was Rey mystireo and when I did my first 619 I was hooked so if you are an idiot and dont like this game I feel sorry for you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not what I was expecting

posted by RaineyDay (ROWLETT, TX) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

I was SOOOO excited to get this game....that is until I played it. The graphics were great, but the game play was weak. The controls were lacking and seemed very awkward. I was very disappointed...(sigh)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

a renter or 20$ game

posted by Avasira (HARRISON, AR) Apr 21, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

It was all right. Graphics were not bad, sound was good. It was just the controls that got me. Majority of the superstars did the same move set. As long as you were in the same weight class (heavy weight, super heavy weight, etc.) you could pretty much bet on if i move the controller up, he'll do this.

The greatest thing about the game was the way matches were handled and that your wrestler actually fatigued after a match. Be warned however, your fatigue drains the same regardless the match.

All in all, it's not a bad rental, especially if your a wrestling fan. It might be worth picking up in the value bin, but not worth much more than that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

WWE SmackDown vz. Raw

posted by steelplayn (CANDLER, NC) Apr 7, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

I'm not a big wrestling fan, but I have liked some of the games. I thought that SmackDown for the WII would be a great way to show off the Wii remote and what it could do in an action/fighting game. I thought the controls were tough to get a grasp on and bothersome to maneuver after that. The story mode was not very deep, and I thought the overall game play was not very good. I am suprized that the rating is as high as it is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse