Rent WWE SmackDown! vs. RAW 2008 for PS3
view large frontback

WWE SmackDown! vs. RAW 2008

Not Rentable
GF Rating
6.8

1782 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Call me Old School

posted by Kleintime7 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Nov 16, 2007

Member since Mar 2004

10 out of 11 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

I have been playing Smackdown games since they were on PS1. The game has lost a lot of what made it cool to me. When I got Smackdown, I was amazed at how fun the game was. The never ending season mode that would allow you to plug in any of your created wrestlers and have them in the story of the game was one of the best times I have had playing a wrestling game. While the stories were a little lacking back then, the game play was awesome.... Fast forward 8 years and I have to say while the graphics have greatly improved, the entertainment value of the game has been destroyed. The wrestlers look great, the movement is smooth and the story lines are more involved and that allows me to say that the game is good and worth a play/rent.

This game would have a much higher level of enjoyment if there were more options with a season mode / story mode.

All in all, I would tell the average fan of the series or of wrestling in general to give this game a shot, but if you are anything like me, you may want to search for the old version of the game on e-bay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

smackdown vs raw 2008 ps3

posted by tttyyyrrre (WATERLOO, IA) Apr 10, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

oh my god svr08 is better than svr10 because theri a create a championship and on svr08 rtw u can play as a gm mode it's just awsome i love it woooooooooooooooooooooooo baby i love it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

better than 09

posted by johnson (BETHLEHEM, CT) May 22, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

why i think this is better than svr 09 is a few reasons

1. there is no GM mode in svr 09 but there is here

2.they story is wwwwwwwwwwaaaaaaaaaaaayyyyyyyyyy better on 08

3. there are legends in svr 08 but not in 09

there are also flukes in svr 08.

1. in the story mode even if it is better than svr 09 it is repeatitive with the vidioes.

here are some reasons i like svr 09 better.

1. svr 09 has the infornale match

2. svr 09 has newer superstars

3. svr 09 has improved moves and the create a finsher

if the makers of svr are reading this please take my problems and fix them in svr 2010

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WWE SmackDown! vs. RAW 2008

posted by ALEX4113 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jun 23, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Horrible! Graphics were better for 360 on the 2007 version. Its impossible to play a co-op carrer (example tag team titles) with a freind or relative, so your basically stuck playing against each other instead of together.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

WWE Smackdown Vs Raw 2008

posted by Mywords (MILLVILLE, NJ) Apr 3, 2008

Member since May 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Smackdown Vs Raw 2008 was a good game" i like the graphics better when Mr Kennedy was introducing himself in the ring. The worst things i don't like about the gameplay are using the right analog stick to grapple, pressing the buttons rapidly just to make the WWE superstar to get up when they are down, and the CPU is so Predictable. I don't like the storyline especially when it's repeated after Wrestlemania. The game has limited features in the Create a superstar mode" For example They have limited clothes to choose from. I don't like the loading time in the game because it's slow. I am disappointed about the limited roster that the game has.

The music in the game was pretty good except for the rap music. In my opinion the best fighting style in the game is the Showman Style because when i choose that style for my superstar that i edit i could steal my opponent's finishing move" I also like when you could edit the WWE superstar's moves, and Entrances" for example i Changed John Cena's finishing move into the Stone Cold Stunner and i made the Undertaker have Kane's ring pyro move" it's pretty cool that players can make funny entrances and moves for the WWE superstars. I like when the game allows me to use WWE Diva's like Melina to lift up a bigger superstars like The Great Khali. Lastly i hope they add Melina's brand new finishing move in the next WWE Smackdown vs Raw game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Same old stuff witha new face

posted by DonkySlong (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Mar 28, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I haven't' played a smack down game since here comes the pain. While this is definitely an improvement, it is a far cry from what wrestling really is. Making the actual gameplay into a 3d fighter was good, but too bad it is too loopsided for some characters/styles like brawler and powerhouse.
What they need to do is actually make a good single player mode since wrestling , now is all about the storyline and when you play the game, you are part of the company. Behind the stage things like how much the company likes you and political games you gotta play should be in the game. It's not all just popularity and how much you train. Because in real life, it's all about how much Vince machman likes you and how much the other wrestlers like you. they should even have a mini game of how to cut a promo.

But no, it's all not there because this series is put out every year with a new gimmick and marginal improvements. I'm glad i rented this, definiately not a buy. But it does pass as a game.

Still things like downloading new charatcers should be in now so that the roster is never out of date. Sure charge money for it, its inevitable, but to have that option would actually make the game's life longer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

GOOD-ISH

posted by redsox2004 (MONSON, MA) Mar 12, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game has all of the stuff that WWE 07 has, but it also has the new 24/7 mode. it you have played wwe 07, this game is the same as that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

PLEASE WORK ON THE 24/7 MODE

posted by sinceatari (RANDLEMAN, NC) Jan 16, 2008

Member since Sep 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a great multiplayer game...like all the other WWE games have always been. However, if you want single player story mode, PLEASE don't waste your time with this game. It is the most tedious (boring) character attribute building I ever been through on a WWE game. Plus, many times the wrestlers you are feuding with, you will be hanging out with and shaking hands backstage in the cutscenes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Played Them All

posted by Freeze17 (KUNA, ID) Dec 4, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2005

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

I have played all of the WWE games and as much as I like this game I can see where the complaints are coming from.

Positives:
- Load time (While the load time is still longer than on some video games it is a vast improvement over SVR07.
- Online Play (It seems that there is less lag time this year and that each wrestler stands a chance even if they are playing against a CAW thanks to the new fighting styles.)
- Wrestling Game (Let's face it, it is a wrestling game made for the PS3. Hopefully it will tide you over until TNA next year)

Negatives:
- CAWS (This system seems dumbed down and less attractive. Not to mention no tatoos or logos online...not good THQ)
- Season Mode (Very repetitive if you want to use a CAW and again nowhere for female CAWS to go.
- Online Play (Yes, it made both lists. This game desperately needs online chat. They should look at their own library (Stuntman) and take from that as I found it worked really well.)

Overall this is definitely worth owning if you are a wrestling fan who likes to play against people online. I think it is a good start even though I expected more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best since HCTP!

posted by AntDaGamer (CHERAW, SC) Nov 12, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

15 out of 20 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Yes I said its as good and somewhat better than HCTP. 24/7 mode comes out pretty well and isnt as repetitive as season in the past. Online play is smoother than ever. Lots of new unlockables and logos. Lots of WCW including the WCW title can be unlocked via Hall of Fame mode. ECW extreme rules matches are betrayed ver authentically down to the crowd participating. New Fighting Styles changes the game making it more stratagizable and fun. Get this GAME!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

And here comes the pain.....................- ......

posted by Simoun (CERRITOS, CA) Nov 28, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

And it really is a pain to play this video game. Before this game was even out in the market, there had been speculations that the roster will be disappointing. It was not disappointing. It was very ugly.

There were very few tag teams and cruiserweights in the game which makes the championship belts almost useless. That is, unless, you get to create a ton of created wrestlers, which will take you a while to build their stats up since you cannot (unless you want to) have a cruiserweight wrestler get beat up by Mickie James.

The women’s division is ok, but, it still has some flaws. Take Kelly Kelly for example. I cannot recall her having any match before this game was announced. Maria, on the other hand, has been improving her skills by getting into diva matches on Raw, she has participated in more matches than any of the extreme expose yet she is not included in the game. Brian Kendrick and Paul London are better athletes than some of the present wrestlers in this game, but they were not included. Cryme Tyme was included. For what reason? They were rarely in a match and their primary role on Raw was simply being clowns.

It is frustrating when your opponent reverses your finisher and you have to start to build momentum again, using the same moves over and over because now the players only have eight strong grapple moves, two ultimate control moves and four quick grapples. Last year, it was 16 strong grapple moves, four ultimate grapple moves and four quick grapples.

They should have eliminated the stamina effect, or at least made it automatic. The creators of this game wanted more realism. So, since when did William Regal reverse all of Batista’s strong grapple attempts? One thing that the creators should think about is that professional wrestling is scripted (not fake, scripted). But in the video game world, it is not scripted; therefore there should be some adjustments that need to be made when thinking about being realistic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

OK (avarage game)

posted by zombie9 (NEW CASTLE, IN) Nov 21, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Loading screen's kill this game. I have played all the smackdown games and this one left me a little sick. Don't really care for the NEW control's and they deffently could have made this game better maybe I'll buy 09. that's why you rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

not bad

posted by hardtosayx (COATESVILLE, PA) Apr 26, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I rated it a 5 because of the handling. It's not clear of what you should and should not press in order to do the wrestling moves. Not boring. But not enough for me. I haven't played any WWF/WWE games since N64, and the N64 games were better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Boring Season mode really hurts the game.

posted by Bratallica (BROOKLYN, NY) Nov 28, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The 24/7 mode is boring just like any other Smackdown based season mode. You wrestle one superstar about 3 times before the pay per view. Feuds are random and boring. I had to feud with Masters and Carlito to get some stupid movie contract? Also, it is very annoying when they have the "never happen" scenes where you and your opponent fight/talk right before your match in the ppv. You know when the screen is all black and white like a preview before the match. SvR has the same exact thing. It would be nice if they including scenes and events from matches that actaully happen instead of making it all up.

Commentary is probably the worst aspect of the game. Jeez, is it horrible. They say extremely random/unneccessary comments with occasional pauses throughout the match. You don't feel like you are watching a wrestling match. Commentary has been a problem with this series, yet Yukes are still to lazy to improve it.

Gameplay wise, it is not all that bad. They have a lot of matches types and i mean a lot. I was really impressed when i so the list! Wrestling aspect is also improved. Matches are slower paced which makes it more realistic but yet, it could also make the game very boring. Constant reversals get very frustrating too!

Overall, the series is dying and I'm surprised it is still alive. I was really looking forward to this game since i have not played a wrestling game since SvR, but I'm sure i have not missed much. Smackdown KYR was probably the best Smackdown game created. Yukes really needs to get step up and start producing a game worth playing, not garbage like this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GREAT

posted by bigrob92 (DOLTON, IL) Nov 12, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

THE WHOLE GAME IS REAT MORE MOVES TO DO MORE OF EVERYTHING THE 24/7 MODE IS REALLY GREAT ALSO BEST WWE GAME EVER HANDS DOWN BUY IT VERY GREAT LASTING GAME AND THE FIRST PERSON ENTRANCE IS GREAT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Severely under par

posted by Daredevil (CLEVELAND, TN) Nov 22, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Ok first things first, I never write reviews; however, I felt it neccesary to deter anyone from wasting there time on renting this game. All that will happen is you waste a week where you could have had something much better. I have been a fan of the WWE games for quite sometime, but the latest installment in the series has seriously crippled any love I have for this game. Probably my hugest greivance is the 24/7 mode, which for those who don't know is this installments career mode, which has taken about 3 steps backwards from the previous year's game. There is no longer any unique storyline, and as far as i've managed to stomach to play the same 3 cut scenes over and over and over, where your portrayed either as a good guy or a heel. Not to mention you'll find yourself sometimes shaking hands with people your in a serious rivalry with. Also improving your characters stats is not only boring, but it gets to be a chore that makes you want to turn off the system without saving, which i've done many times thus far. There are afew areas of light shown in the game the multiplayer is still as fun as always, provided you have a friend to play with you. All in all however, renting this game for anyone will be a waste of time, and purchasing the game will be an even bigger waste of money. So please choose another game to rent take it out of your GameQ, and keep the 60 bucks in your bucket, and lets all hope next years installment sees the neccesary improvements to save what seems to be a dying game series

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game is awesome!!

posted by kingassassian25 (HUNTSVILLE, AL) Jun 23, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

svr 08 was WAY better than wwe 12! the only thing that sucks about this game is that you can only be a gm or a superstar (season mode) but besides that this game is the best svr game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

2008

posted by thereal619 (CUBA, MO) Dec 9, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

hey its rey mysterio the real 619 i know its 2010 but i just wanted to write about 200b svr it is a good game but not as good as 2011 svr to all of my latinos out there check it out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Smackdown vs Raw 2008

posted by eddy100000 (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Jun 4, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

This game is kind of better than the last years since not we can defend 2 two champships at the same i beat my brother by putting the ECW and WWE Title on the line and won both of them and then we also played for the tag team championships and i became a tag team champion. even if i lose a championship in the game then i am still the champion untill i lose all of them

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Repetitive

posted by XxGamerxX (MACHIAS, ME) Jan 28, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

IMHO this has to be one of the worst games I have played on the ps3. I'm twenty-seven years old and have played many wrestling games and it's pretty pathetic when i'd rather play ps1 then this game.
What I like: The music was great, some cool moves,graphics.
What I disliked: half the time I tried to do a move it wouldnt work. In 24/7 mode I played the same people over and over then the game kept repeating itself and never followed the storyline. Not enough moves, very slow, not enough wrestlers. It's a ps3 do you really need a long loooong loading screen?
If your a big wrestling fan i'd rent it before you buy it since i'm a long time fan and I returned it after two days.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

AL BOO BOO -----> means not good

posted by 707player (VALLEJO, CA) Feb 10, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

I did not like this game at all. The graphics were great but the game play was so slow! Collision detection was pretty bad, especially while on the ropes. The right toggle grapples were okay, but made game play for me pretty boring after a while. I felt that the load times took forever and the 24/7 career mode wasn't fun at all. I felt that the old school nintendo pro wrestling was more entertaining in terms on fun factor and game play. The moves the characters had were pretty sick, but the game just moved too slow for what I was expecting. I just hoped for more in a ps3 wrestling game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I played it for five minutes

posted by Operator7 (LONG BEACH, CA) Dec 8, 2008

Member since May 2007


Maybe you will invest more of your time into it.

To me, I think the wrestlers themselves designed the game. That's how bad it is.

I don't want to waste much time even reviewing this stink.

What I'll say is that there is nothing telling you how to do a move, only "push buttons repeatedly" sign.

I remember games made back in 89 that were better than this.

But hey, have at it.

Get it, rent it, buy it.

I'm off for games that are much better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best Game Yet!

posted by WWErules09 (HAMPTON, GA) Nov 2, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

This game is awesome you need to get it. Okay first of all I would like to say that the graphics could be better and the mouthing every time something happens looks really stupid. The selections of wrestlers are great and creating a wrestler actually looks good this year for this game. Not to huge of a step up for svr08 but acceptionally good.The 24/7 mode is pretty good and realistic but not alot of types they need to make more storylines maybe a different storyline for each superstar.The online mode is fun its just that its always so laggy but you will not get bored with this game for a realy long time cause of all the new modes and matches.Go buy this game you wont be sorry.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

WWE SmackDown VS. Raw 08

posted by bcizzle030 (YORK, PA) Sep 26, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

This is the most realistic game in it's class that I've ever experienced. Though it will take some getting used to if you have played any other WWE SmackDown games in the past, I think when you finally do, you'll like it. Season mode is cool, its called 24/7 and you pick a superstar to play as you have to train up his statts and compete in matches while managing his health and injuries.

Generally an all around good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Waste of time

posted by SurfFreak (LAGUNA BEACH, CA) Sep 18, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2004

This game really wasn't very much fum. The controls are too involved. Unless you are into sports games, stay away from this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse