Rent WWE SmackDown! vs. RAW 2008 for PS2
view large frontback

WWE SmackDown! vs. RAW 2008

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.4

1270 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

My God J.R

posted by darthl1378 (SAINT HELENS, OR) Jan 4, 2008

Member since Jul 2006

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Wrestling is the greatest sport of all time and dang thq makes some good wrestling games.Here are some pros & cons

PROS:Where to begin....ah yes the graphics department.Some of the wwe superstars look very realistic such as:John Cena,Brett"Hitman"Hart, stone Cold,Rey Mysterio{just to name a few}. So the graphics are very well done.24/7 Mode makes you feel like your a superstar yourself.Play matches every week depending on what brand your on,do R&Rs,movies hero/villan.Acomplish manny different goals to be in the WWE "Hall Of Fame".Gm mod is kinda like last years game.

CONS:In 24/7 mode playing as the GM{general manager} is very confusing this time around the only bad part of this is you get a low ammount of superstars.The WWE "Hall Of Fame" mode is very difficult to acomplish some goals.

Final View:If your a wrestling fan/video game fan like my self I highly recomend this game to BUY IT!!. Or at least rent it.

10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The king of games

posted by batista (MERRIMACK, NH) Dec 8, 2007

Member since May 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

IT has a GGGRRRRRREEEAAAAAATTTTTT overall, the only thing i would change is the Way everything costs at the store. the lostest price is 40,00 bucks! But anyway the game has awesome characters and awesome moves the next best part is hall of fame mode. You can do classic matches, such as HBK winning the Royce Rumble from the first entry. also Foley vs. Undertaker in that deadly cage match.
Gotta get it,
Batista

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

This game is bad

posted by LesPS2 (AUGUSTA, ME) Dec 9, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

The voice acting is horrible. JBL sounds like he is reading from a book (badly att hat) while sunning himself by the pool. The cut scenes are tedious and stud, and sometimes wrong for what is happening. Choices you make are not acknowledged or reflected in the game often. And you are not able to perform as many moves this year as with SvR 2007.

On the other hand, the moves appear more realistic, and playing is still fun, though I find myself cursing at the game and confused when playing the 24/7 mode, since none of it makes sense. And forget general manager mode... Just dont even try it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game is awesome!!!!!

posted by SlipKnoT01 (APOPKA, FL) Nov 13, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

7 out of 13 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

I just bought this game today, and its awesome. The controls are a little different and take a few matches to get used to but there easy. The WWE 24/7 mode is cool. So far, I've found 2 problems with the game. One, they are NOT EVEN CLOSE with the looks of the divas. They hardly look like them, especially Maria(not even close). Two, the announcers say the same things as in 2007. The only difference is JBL replaces Tazz(but says the same lines) and of course the ECW announcers. Other than those, this game is a MUST BUY!!!! I would give it like a 9.75/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrid.

posted by snowcat720 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Nov 19, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Where to begin? The divas are deformed (Ashley's legs literally look like sticks, they have more shape than that O.O). Character creation is the same stuff from 2006 with like 5 new things added. Announcements during matches are yoinked right from the other S v R games. 24/7 mode is annoying and you have no control over how the story goes whatsoever. Just... disgusting. Way to squeeze money out of WWE fans by reusing the same stuff over and over and over again. Its the same thing as all those other sports games now, barely change a thing with the game and update the rosters. Disgusting. Don't bother trying it if you've tried any of the other S v R games, its basically the same thing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Disappointing...

posted by MadDogAcey (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Mar 7, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have been a huge fan of wrestling AND wrestling video games, I was excited about finally playing this game. I started playing, was confronted with the basics (Create myself as a character to play through the main story mode, which was 24/7 mode this time) I start it up and what I find is this horrific patchwork of repeating cut-scenes with different characters, usually in the wrong place. The controls were familiar but there was a lot more fidgeting to them, not to mention the endless button bashing to stand up. Then there's the fatigue factor, you pull off about 2 big moves, and your wrestler is done for the night, wobbling about and basically unable to counter, AND as far as I can tell, no way to regain any stamina.

All in all, not the best one I've played, I'm sticking with '07.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good but not Great......

posted by ryanrone (CHATTANOOGA, TN) Nov 18, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i have been playin s vs. r since they came out even on the ps1. this game has alot of good things but alot of stuff that really heeds work.
pros:
graphics are good
great weapon selection especially in the ecw match
i like the fighting system to an extent
a very long story mode( good and bad)
good wrestling characters, but need more
cons:
graphics look the same as s vs. r 1, still look good on the ps2
HORRIBLE cutscences
same commentary as s.vsr 1, just differant people saying them
the story mode is never differant in either brand, cant even use ecw as a brand
controls take some time to get use to
not enough wrestlers to choose from
story mode is very repetitive

overall i gave this game a 7 because i like what they are trying to do. but the horrible commetary, repetitive cutscenes and that you basically only control your guy when hes wrestling. i can only hope they get it right next year. if you like wwe then rent this game to check out the newer payperview arenas and the extreme rules match, but stick with the s vs r from last year. maybe next year guys.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

The Worst Wresting Game in History !!!!

posted by RockyJ2006 (NEWPORT, TN) Nov 17, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

This is the worst smackdown game ever every year they get worser and worser i cant beleve I waisted 55 bucks on this garbage. Instead of improving it went backwards I mean between the god awful 24/7 mode which sucks in more ways than one I mean for starters it has the same storylines on each brand I mean on smackdown and on RAW and you cant even use ECW. Also it dosent matter which choices you make it still does it;s own thing like if you wanna trade opponents or dont if you pick dont it trades them anyways. And dont even get me started on how god awful deformed and ugly the divas look this year. The Same commentary has been used since the very 1st smackdown vs. raw game the same call names and and the CAW alltogether sucks period. I have nothing good to say about this BS.

I know this much I will never ever buy another smackdown game again. And I have been a loyal smackdown fan since day1 but this is the final draw no more and never again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Can't wait to play, but have a question

posted by bobby1419 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Nov 12, 2007

Member since May 2007

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

i have not gotten this game yet, but i have a question. Can you set up the controller in the classic way like the old games? I know you could do it on 2007, just wondering if you can do it on 2008. I don't like playing with the analog sticks unless i have too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the best

posted by july04 (ONTARIO, CA) Nov 12, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 13 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

this game is cool.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

i love this game

posted by superflykid89 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Aug 4, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

play withou my brother help i will do it on my own. and i will win gm mode on there to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Smackdown vs Raw 2008

posted by Napoli25 (ARLINGTON, TX) Jun 30, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

this game is a little bit older than the rest, but it's better some of the newer ones i like the fact that that u can buy stuff with money u dont have to beat this challenge or that challenge for the rock GREAT GAME 8.9

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

eh just wanted to let u guys no this game is good

posted by brianthomas12 (BATON ROUGE, LA) Sep 25, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

Fun FUUCKIN MOTHER FUUCKER GAME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

i Got Ps2 Got the System

posted by seanmoore (LAND O LAKES, FL) Aug 29, 2011

Member since May 2011

i Have Ps2 Now

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The wwe of 2008

posted by shadowmove (ENDICOTT, NY) Jan 8, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

I only played this for 20 to 25 minutes maybe and then stopped, it sucked that bad. I don't recommend this one to anybody.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

wwe s vr r 2008

posted by jw13kef13 (DARIEN CENTER, NY) Feb 18, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

This is better then last years s v r 07. Its only flaw is a amall roster.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

WWE: SMACKDOWN VS RAW 2008

posted by wparker (FAYETTEVILLE, AR) Oct 20, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

GREAT GAME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Would have been good

posted by issac03e (HICKORY, NC) Aug 7, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

Idk how the game is mine was very slow an did not work

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

DAM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by aLEX600 (HIALEAH, FL) May 10, 2009

Member since May 2009

Great graphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

its ok

posted by hogol55676 (ROUND ROCK, TX) Nov 30, 2008

Member since Nov 2005

there are alot of good fighters in the game.in story mode it is so easy.you can use a chair and hit someone.you can open someones head and blood comes out.you can make your own fighter.cage maches are ok.you will be bord arter 4 days.like i said its ok.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

smackdown vs raw vs itself

posted by bleachnews (GLENDALE, AZ) Jun 27, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

summery of the game

first let me say that it a good game. the game has some problems tho mostly with itself it seems as if the AI create the biggest problem. The targeting of you and the AI are well one of the worst problems. also the counter system is bad!! you could be dominating the other guy then all of the sudden bam!! your done for. Also they commentary is reused for everything the only new stuff is for the new wrestlers. The 24/4 mode is ok i like the calender and the events but they seem to end up lame with you doing as many dash attacks as you can. that can be fixed with an approach like GTA sananderes or the rockey boxing game where insted of doing dash atacks your doing sit ups and push ups lifiting waights so basicaly
dash attacks out mini games in and the 24/7 mode could be great. Also the injures are good in the fact they add realism to the game but they are to frequent and trust me don't listen to the other guys again with some fixes the feature well add a lot to the game and be worth it.

now this game is a yearly title so there is not much time to fix problems so bear with them and in years to come the game should be awesome.

Presentation

the game does do well here with great graphics and and for a westling game the stories are good for a westling game not for other games. The character types add good depth to the game, but nothing else there not very well done and need some work in the upcoming 09 game.

Game Play

the game brings back the controls it had last year with some changes and additions. Like the struggle submission it gives a good feel to the game. Again the character types add a little to the game but with some changes they could make upcoming games excellent.

Scores

Graphics 5

Presintaion 3

Game play 3

Total score well lets say it sqeeeks by with a 4

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

loved it!

posted by weirdo (GOODYEAR, AZ) Jun 6, 2008

Member since May 2007

it was such a great game! i liked the storyline on career mode. i loved having a belt. unlocking roddy piper was hard! but it was worth it. he's my favorite legend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST YET

posted by monkeybob (WOODFORD, VA) Apr 11, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

THE GOOD: Smackdown vs raw 2008 is the best one yet.This one has the best graphics out of any smackdown vs raw game yet.And 24/7 mode makes it feel like you are a real supestar. THE BAD:it is hard to beat the wwe "hall of fame" goals to unlock them.And theres not many. FINAL VIEW:if you are true wrestling fan or a video game fan I would BUY IT OR RENT IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

good game

posted by cmpunk (NAPERVILLE, IL) Apr 10, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

this is a very good game the graphics ARE amazing the reson i gave it a 9 is because the roster dont get me wrong its good but it could of been beter like it doesn't have some of the superstars like for example(the miz,the bogeymen, Cody Rhodes, Brian Kendrick, Paul London, and meny more but in all its a very good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

What a disapointment...

posted by bac1551 (TEMECULA, CA) Mar 21, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

I haven't even played this new installment of SVR yet, and i'm not even gonna bother. I can tell its gonna suck just by reading the user reviews. 24/7 mode sounds ridiculous. I can't believe I was waiting so long for this game, just to be disapointed. i'm glad I didn't rent it, or it would've been back already...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse