Rent WWE SmackDown! vs. RAW 2007 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

WWE SmackDown! vs. RAW 2007

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, PSP Games
GF Rating
7.4

2770 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

X-Box Gets a Good Wrestling Title

posted by DaMikeSC (COLUMBIA, SC) Sep 28, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2007

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

\I liked the SD v RAW games for the PS2 and this is more of the same. The graphics are improved a lot (now, they look like LIFELIKE plastic sweaty robots who can't walk well). And the addition of analog controls to the grapples actually makes the game more fun. The voices no longer sound like they were recorded in an echo chamber either.

Season mode is decent enough. If you're on RAW, you don't get to enter the Rumble that I have noticed. Nor did I get to work in the Elimination Chamber :-(. The roster is decent enough, but THQ needs to look into adding characters via XBox Live Arcade during the year.

The locker room challenges run from the insanely easy to the brutally difficult (having the Mexicools beat Kane & Undertaker was less than easy). The choice of legends was a bit odd (in what universe are Jim Neidhart and Bam Bam Bigelow viewed as legends?). Some of the matches are a little better (rather than a finger-shattering button-press-a-thon, ladder matches now have you locate the sweet spot on the analog sticks and just hold them there while the briefcase/belt gets loosened). The MITB match is very, very irritating as the computer has a nasty habit of waiting until you have the belt all but removed, then knocking you ladder over, putting it back up and taking the belt.

Create-a-Wrestler is pretty good. Creating your own entrance lags far behind the verson the prior XBox RAW titles had. The facial features have been reduced -- but they had so many options it needed to be done. The list of moves is impressive and that your created guy has a voice is a nice touch.

The GM mode takes a big step back as you now have to hire writers to write specific storyline and try to plug people into those plots, which is a headache. Add in the usual 20 wrestlers roster limit, which is far too limiting, and you have one thing worse than the previous title.

MS has a good wrestling title, finally. Hoorah!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

WWE Loading Vs. Loading

posted by Cmonbuddy (CARY, NC) Jul 22, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game play is a bit slow, as in the characters walk very slowly around the ring, you can run but then your out of stamina real quick. After a few matches this game became fun. It was especially fun to play the "legends". The entrances and story line are great. If your a hardcore gamer you could go through the available "season" modes in a week or 2 so its a good rental. Hardcore wrestling fans should buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Load Time Sucked

posted by dfields (NOBLESVILLE, IN) Jun 27, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Graphics and game play were excellent. The load time was horrible. I felt like I was waiting longer to play the game than actually playing it!!! You have to wait 15 to 30 seconds for every scene to load. Horrible flow!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

WWE Smakedown! vs. Raw2007

posted by HolyGhost (Brooklyn, NY) Mar 10, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Well they have made some changes due from the last time and it took some getting used to and after i did, well it was as addictive as the last! But due to the hours and hours lost to the loading time and the lack of DIVASSSS it was not as good as the first but i would not buy it. IT IS A RENT!!! unless u really love the world of choreographed muscle bound steriod headed men thow eachother around!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

R.I.P 619 from 1999-2001

posted by ETowner (EVANSTON, IL) Feb 28, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Well first off i miss old wrestling. After wresltmani 21 it was fake
Eddie is gone
same with Rey
so this game gets really boring fast the story sucks the controllers are desent but BORING FAST

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great game, but needs some fine tuning.

posted by MDiver82 (PALM COAST, FL) Jan 2, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Graphics 7/10
Player models look fantastic. Fans look cut and pasted on. Also, characters start to move all glitchy when attempting moves at times.

Gameplay 4/10
I know when people see 4, they think bad. Not so much in this case. The game is fun, but there is a huge frustration factor. Especially when you beat an opponent down for 10 minutes straight and have them in the red; yet they keep finding away to get back up in two seconds flat. Then they pull off a reverse and than proceed to knock you down with a sissy grapple move, in which case it takes you close to 20 seconds to a minute to recover from; while pressing a random repeatly to get up. That's a great way to develope carpal tunnel syndrome. The creat-a-belt was an awesome idea. Too bad online play is lags too much, otherwise I could have could have boosted this score significantly. Difficulty needs to be tweaked, because everything favors the computer. With a maxed out character, it takes me about 3 times the moves that it takes a computer opponent to deal out the same damage. They are also next impossible to grapple with on anything harder than Easy. I didn't notice a real change in stamina with increases in levels.

Sound 7/10
All around good job. I felt like I was in an arena. Need to expand the commentary though.

Value 8/10
If they fix online play, this could easily be a 10. There are so many match types, that there is always something to do in this game. It does have a great replay value aside from the unexcusable.

Tilt 6/10
I'm not a big WWE fan, but the games are usually pretty fun. This game is extrememly fun, but they need to improve online multiplayer. Making a deeper general manager mode would have helped as well. Also some realistic physics. No way does Triple H get his butt whooped by the Women's Champ. That's in a computer simulation. The character ratings don't mean anything, and they should. It needs a lot of work, but it's still a fun game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

One small step, not quite one giant leap.

posted by AdmSlpknot (MUNCIE, IN) Nov 20, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

19 out of 25 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

Smackdown Vs RAW 2007 has to be the most highly anticipated wrestling game for the XBox 360. The 360 finally had the chance to get away from the weakest genre for XBox; wrestling games. So how does it stack up?

The graphics can be summed up in one word...amazing. Most of the wrestlers look like their real life counterpart, the crowd looks realistic, and the arena/videos look...crisp. The CAWs even blend in with the actual roster.

The controls have been totally revamped, and while awkward at first, they become second nature. The overall gameplay hasn't been changed all that much, with exception to new environmental "hotspots" and Ultimate Control Moves, which allow you to add some variety to your matches. And the season mode is improved.

But the most improved game mode is GM mode. Making it's first appearance last year, Yuke's added even more to it. Storyline writers, news on a mocked up WWE site, and the Power25 will play a huge part in your quest to become GM of the year. This mode seems simple, but looks can be deceiving

But no game is without their faults, and SDvR 2007 is no different. The commentary is a copy and paste job from 06, and there are also some ring announcing glitches (which I have yet to come across, so it may be an isolated problem). Perhaps the major problem is the CAW mode. If you are a big online person, then you may want to refrain from a CAW. For some reason, Yuke's decided that any CAW with a logo, text, design, or flag on them will NOT be eligible for online play, possibly to prevent obscene words and designs.

All in all, this is definitely worth checking out. With the updated roster, improved GM mode, and close to 40 different storylines, this will keep you busy for a few weeks. And that doesn't take into account exhibition matches, which can add months to the game's life.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This Game will really make some WWE Fans Happy

posted by VideoGames (RAMONA, CA) Jun 15, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

yet another Great WWE Game from THQ there is no other Wrestling Game out there that even comes close to this Game this series just keeps coming out with Great Features for every Title each Year the Graphics are way Sharper the AI is alot Smarter and even the Audio and Visual of the Audience and and Backgrounds sound and look more Real yes this Game will not let any Wrestling Fans down and i don't know about you but i can't wait to review the Next ...in 2008

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WWE Smackdown Vs Raw 2007

posted by BkLivewire (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Mar 30, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

WWE Smackdown Vs Raw 2007 is overall a fantastic game for wrestling fans of all genders and all ages... The Graphics are sensational and the wide variety of game controls and functionality is just brilliant. It is by far the best wrestling game ever made, Season and GM mode allows real-life events and extraordinary access where you can choose what path your WWE wrestler or Custom-Made wrestler goes down...The Sound is Excellent with loud and clear voices of real WWE wrestlers and the gameplay 10/10, put your opponent through tables, throw them off ladders, into the crowd, grab weapons and signs off the crowd, and much more, an absolutely unbelievable game that i recommend to every WWE FAN in the world!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Must have

posted by a83ogJF (ROHNERT PARK, CA) Mar 10, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Best wrestling game I have played thus far. Go buy it NOW!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

THIS GAMES IS THE BEST!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by SPARTAN44 (WICHITA, KS) Jan 31, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

When I got this game I new it was going to be fun. It has a great roster!! I wished they added the ECW superstars.If your a wrestling fan pick this game up!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

WWE Smackdown vs Raw

posted by Wizzkid (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Dec 27, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Overall the game is really good. But there is way to much loading.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The best SD game yet?

posted by TheDrue (DURHAM, NC) Nov 22, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Being a veteran of the wrestling gaming experience, I would have said that the old Day of Reckoning Series was the best, most likely because of the old No Mercy 64 feel it had.

But Smackdown vs Raw 2007 is certainly a great improvement on the WWE gaming experience, fantastic character models, the ever expanding create modes, and more and more ways the game is becoming more like actually watching it on TV.

The good and the bad really come in the little things, because nearly all of the big features are very good.

The good little details are say... increased reversal variety, I dodged Cena from a shoulder block in the turnbuckle, so he went through and hit the ringpost. Which is very much like it should happen on TV. The Heel/Face adrenaline boost/penalty is very cool, if you're a face, hitting the non legal man or knocking down the ref SHOULDNT help you, and it in fact hurts you. In GM mode, if you have extremely low popularity, the crowd is DEAD when you come out, which is great. If you're an unknown, why would people cheer?

There is the bad as well, I have found quite a few animation glitches, where you're performing the motions for a move, but the opponent isnt synched up with you. Ladder matches and the MITB match still need a bunch of work, the running up the ladder thing is cool, but rarely works properly, the guy on the ladder usually falls off like I hit him before Im even all the way up the ladder. And the Royal Rumble, while fun, and nice that if you lose, you can enter in as another character, is still far too easy to get eliminated, and being the Big Show doesnt make you any harder to be eliminated over Rey Mysterio.

All in all you'll be more excited about the little things you see, than the little problems, making this game a must for the hardcore wrestling gamer/fan. And even enjoyable for your friends who know nothing about wrestling at all.

8.5/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfect

posted by drprpimp (SOUTH RICHMOND HILL, NY) Nov 13, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

12 out of 20 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game is the best game you will ever find. Smackdown vs Raw 2007 kept the excitng GM mode and added an updated list of superstars. I love Career Mode. They finally improved the repetitive storylines. I kind of didn't enjoy the fact that they changed the buttons, but it is easy to recover after a while. I love this game because you don't have to be a wrestling fanatic to understand the game. This game is a "MUST GET."

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Game is ok

posted by hitman14 (POINT PLEASANT BORO, NJ) Nov 17, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

8 out of 16 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Smackdown vs. Raw 2007 is definetly pure eye candy for the Xbox 360. You will see such detail as you progress into the matches, you'll notice the little detail such as the sweat coming off the wrestlers. So here is my brief review on the newest edition to the Xbox world of SDVR.

The season mode is definetly improved with story lines and much more enjoyable to play. GM mode is great if your into the whole fantasy type of gameplay. The create a wrestler feature is fantastic. You have alot of options to choose from to customize your own wrestler. SDVR always had great create a wrestler options and still shines. The create an entrance is spectacular as well. ALOT to mess around with here including camera angles and pyro from the stage to the ring.
Now for the games downfall through my gameplay experience. First off, is the absolutely outdated roster and outdated entrance themes such as RVD and Daivari, but who counts Daivari anyway. After you create your own wrestler, you will hear the announcer say "From Newark, New Jersey" followed again by "From New Jersey". You will also hear poor crowd reactions, or pure silence as your created wrestler makes his/her way to the ring. It can also get a tad frustrating when you have pure control over the match and then the computer will turn it around instantly by countering all moves, knocking you down for a long period of time. I found myself pounding different buttons in order to get up from simple moves, while the computer would get up almost immeditaly on power moves. Very frustrating at times. I never understood that on SDVR games. You will also encounter a whole lot of clipping in the game. Submission moves done inside the ring, your hands and feet will mysteriously dissapear in the ring.

For me, I gave the game a 5, based on it being the only wrestling game available for 360. Once you look over the eye candy graphics, the game is very glitchy and a bit incomplete.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Loading..................- .......................

posted by sikorade (LAKE ORION, MI) Aug 9, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

GRAPHICS - 10/10
These are the best looking character models in any sports game. Period. Excellent fan models and realistic looking arenas all add to the realism.

SOUND - 8/10
Although the voices are not done by the wrestlers themselves (except a few), most of the voiceovers are pretty much dead on. Although the in-ring announcing does get repetitive after a few matches, it's still better than not having anything at all (Madden...cough....Madden).

GAMEPLAY - 5/10
For some reason, the controls feel really non-responsive and frustrating at times. The tag-team and handicap matches are frustrating since your AI partner is brain dead. It's impossible to pin someone with everyone else breaking up the count. Also, why does it take so long to get up after being knocked down???? Don't bother facing someone like Angle or Benoit since they'll pull off 8 or 9 consecutive submission moves while you bash away at buttons worthlessly. Even the ladder matches are not that fun. The same button is used for both picking up the ladder and climbing it, so you'll waste several seconds climbing when you meant to pick the ladder up.

REPLAY VALUE - 8/10

The season mode is very diverse and entertaining. The story lines were well put together with continuity. Though some of the matches are frustrating, the one-on-ones are always fun to play. With a deep Create-A-Wrestler and lots of Legends to unlock, this game has kept me hooked for several weeks.

OVERALL - 7.25/10
Although the realism of this game is through the roof, the frustrating controls make me want to punch a baby at times. This game will keep the true WWE fans hooked until '08 comes out this Fall.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Same O' Thing

posted by callen4158 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Dec 10, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Giving I have not played a wrestling game sense the N64, I expected to much I suppose the game is about the same just better graphics. Game play seems limited not that many moves it seemed to me. Also if you are wanting achievements pass on this game I played for about 12 hours and did not get one achievement. Overall this game seems very much like something I have already played...pass!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The best wrestling game I've ever seen!

posted by greatone (SAN CLEMENTE, CA) Nov 14, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This is just another addition to the Smackdown vs. Raw series and it has many new and improved features. They've enhanced the Career Mode as well as the GM Mode. They've also changed the controls around, which take some time getting used to, but not too much.

The new roster is very nice, it has most of the new wrestlers on it like The Boogeyman, Carlito, Chris Masters, Lance Cade, Trevor Murdoch, and many others. It also has some wrestler's up to date with their current gimmicks. However, I do think some wrestler's could have still been updated. John Cena's ring entrance is outdated. But those are little things that shouldn't affect the way you feel about this game. This game is truely the best wrestling game ever made at this time.

Its production started in October 2005 and it was released in November 2006, and you can tell there was a lot of work put into it. However, if they did have time to update gimmicks and add more recent superstars, I wish they would have, but I can understand that they may have not had the time and I'm still happy with the final outcome, after all in the wrestling business things almost change overnight, so keeping up to date with them is nearly impossible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

WOW! AMAZING!!!!

posted by mezzo0916 (BAYPORT, NY) Nov 18, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Just as the title says WOW! Amazing!!!! I am a major SVR fan and I was waiting for this day for years its great I still wish they would change Big Shows Entrance but it was a great game!!!

I would say get this al some game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GREAT WRESTLING GAME

posted by bigdog63 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Jan 13, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME HAS GREAT GRAPHICS AND GREAT STORYLINES.
I WENT OUT AND BOUGHT IT THAT DAY.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game is pure garbage!!!

posted by Fire451 (BURBANK, CA) Feb 12, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

Ok...to be fair; this game looks great. One of the better looking 360 games out there. The create your own character was nice, and the characters created looked excellent in game. This is where my pleasure ends with this game.

The game play is horrible. This game prides itself on not being a button masher, but 50% of your time will be spent on the canvas..."tapping any button" to get up. The other 50% of the time you are staring at loading screens of 10 seconds or more; and not just one loading screen. I counted 5 different loading screens in the span of one match. In a post G.T.A. world, this is unacceptable.

The new control system blows. It reminds me of fight night round 3, except FNR3 does it right...and you have to press the B button to regain stamina... :/ . Blocking is hit or miss as there are two buttons (both triggers) that are used for blocking, one for grapples, one for punches. The game even prompts you when to use it. The only problem is that the writing is sooo small that you need to remember the color that flashes instead, because by the time you read what the screen says, its too late....arrgh!! I cant even rant anymore its making my head hurt.

God this game just sucks. Don't waste the time or the money on it. Game makers should not profit from this piece of garbage. If you want to play a wrestling game with good game play, bust out the N64...other wise wait till the wrestling world puts out something better, because this ain't it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Ok game

posted by john38821 (AMORY, MS) Dec 2, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

Game is okay, the controls took a little getting used to and it seemed as if the A.I. could reverse easier than I could. Itis fun to play though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

SVR 07 Stamina Turn Off How To

posted by TheKila5 (OCALA, FL) Aug 7, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

I loved it there where some major cut backs the stories where the same aspet main people like cena and undertaker and triple H now all of you who dont know you can turn off the stamina system in options lol i rented it and im like screw it ill buy it its good graphics and yes they added money in the bank and i have a tip for that take the 1 ladder place it at the entrance they will sooner or latter walk for it thank you hopefully this was helpful.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Didn't work

posted by willokafor (BUFFALO, NY) Jun 3, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

Game did not work! Will be canceling handful. My son waits for days for these games and for it to not work is a huge disapointment!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

scratched

posted by Jaden09 (EMPORIUM, PA) Mar 21, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

this game was scratched and wouldnt play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse