Rent WWE SmackDown! vs. RAW 2007 for PS2
view large frontback

WWE SmackDown! vs. RAW 2007

Not Rentable
GF Rating
8.5

1851 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

P.E.R.F.E.C.T

posted by Andrew000 (GIBSONIA, PA) Nov 5, 2007

Member since Mar 2005

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game all the best characters,graphics,and it kicks some serious but. I the game you an be characters and fight to the top. when you win matches you can get money wich can get you characters,moves,outfits and more. I love this game because I get to beat my cousins all the time. I hope that anyone who gets this game loves it because I did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Smackdown Vs. Raw 2007

posted by langem (DEARBORN, MI) Jan 10, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

FANTASTIC!!! The most realistic and finely detailed game I have ever seen/played. The gameplay is smooth and easy. Joystick/button operations used to conduct wrestling moves were not complex or difficult at all, like they are in some previous wrestling games. Graphics, storyline, voiceovers, everything were 100% top-notch. My only complaint with the game is the difficulty and length of time it takes for your wrestler to recover and get up after sustaining an attack. It takes a tad bit too long and gets really irritating. Not enough for me to not give this game a 10 rating though. This game is excellent and I highly recommend it to any and all wrestling enthusiasts. Great, great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best one yet

posted by jacobolson (MORTON, WA) Nov 14, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

18 out of 21 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

this new smackdown vs raw 2007 is the best wrestling game they've had yet. The new season mode is the most realistic one they've ever had and the new control system is a little harder then the other ones but its so much funner. And as far as the general manager mode, its way better then the last one and their's more to do as a general manager. So if you like the smackdown games you'll love this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Turning Point in Smackdown History!!

posted by Kristopher (LAKELAND, TN) Nov 15, 2006

Member since Jan 2003

12 out of 15 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Most annual release franchises try to dazzle gamers by adding a few new features, to a roster updated but otherwise unchanged, game. THQ and Yukes are one of the few companies that seem to take their game back to the drawing board each year and rebuild from the ground up. Smackdown vs. Raw '07 is a truly an ambitious example of this trend and the end product is nothing short of amazing!!

By far the largest change this year is the completely redone control scheme. Though this can initially be very jaring to long time fans who have been using the same controls for almost a decade to play Smackdown games, it truly IS for the best. Each year THQ has been trying to give the gamer increased control over what moves their wrestler performs in the ring while still maintaining an authentic on screen wrestling matches. This year the right analog stick gives you more control over what AND HOW certain moves are performed. For example, in the past a typical turnbuckle move was to mount and punch a guy 10 times. This was performed by pressing the right combo of buttons and was followed by a canned animation. In SVR '07 you actually control how many times you punch your opponent by mimicking the punching motion and pressing up and down with the right analog stick. This may initially seem needlessly complicated but the on screen instructions make the appropriate button presses apparent in all environmental situations.

The season and GM modes have also been improved upon but to me the most exciting changes were done to the create-a-entrance mode. You can now watch entrances AS you make changes and you can actually control the timing on fireworks and camera moves!! WOW!!

The graphics and sound are as good as they are gonna get on the PS2. It’s hard to explain but the moves seem to “chain together” better than in past games. For example, reversals aren’t so obvious and thus harder to counter. My only criticism is of the long loading times.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The Champ is Here

posted by Knockout24 (HIALEAH, FL) Nov 19, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

12 out of 16 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

First of all this game is best of the series. The change in grapple is confusing in the beginning but once you get the hang of it you'll love it. The graphics are wonderful, some of the superstars are missing but it's no problem because you have some great legends to make up for that. The only problem I had with this game is the load time. Jesus Christ the loading time is so unbelievably slow. I fell asleep waiting for the match to load. This game would receive an all out 10 if it wasn't for the loading time. After reading this review and playing the game, I'm sure you'll agree.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THE BEST WRESTLEING GAME EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by viggy34 (SHORELINE, WA) May 12, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

the game is easy and smooth the story line is good the graphics are good I give it a 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

wwe a great game

posted by spcmomma (Cleveland, OH) Mar 7, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

wwe 2007 is very awesome hours of fun and keeps you looking for new moves and keeps you playing for hours

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very Good, small problems, but over coming...

posted by MistaMacc (FREMONT, CA) Jan 14, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Very good... graphics are nice, game play is good, the grapple is a lil hard to get used too, but this game is getting better and better... wish they would leave all the matches from smackdown vs raw 06 in, but its ok... u can finally fight as the champion in the season mode and try to retain the belt which is nice. wish they would update the rosters better... u see the new wrestlers in the intro video to smackdown and raw, but the wrestlers are not in the game itself... worth the money to me, a good pick up for any wrestling fan...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Championship Gaming Experience

posted by Matthius (SOUTH POINT, OH) Dec 29, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Smackdown "vs" Raw 2007 is an excellent addition to an already succesful franchise. The newly added features in this years edition make the game a must play for any fighting game genre fan, and a must own for any wrestling fan.

This game delivers the Pedigree in style with Graphics that push the playstation 2 to the limits. Wrestlers Don't only the best the ever have, bar the xbox 360 version, but their movements flow seemlisly like their real life counterparts, with all mannerisms in full effect.

The sound effects in the game are really well done. With good new tracks to have for entrance music, or to listen to as you navigate the main menu. In ring sound is wonderful, sometimes so good you can feel yourself cringe as a the mat booms when you hit it.

The new control scheme mixed with added "Hot Spots" to lay the smack down on your opponent are really what makes this title stand out, as the interactive areas are just a pure joy to dish out new forms of punishment in.

Multiplayer is done differently and gets you straight into the action, and is really fun and solid, unless you run into the occasional cheater that can't be pinned, ect.. Also there is the lack of communication with people online. Chatting is rare, and heahphone capability would have been a really nice addition, so you could verbally piledrive your opponant during a match.

Overall, this is a really fun, and satisfing game. The only downsides, are the repeats in the commentary from last year, and some the occasional slow loading screens. That said, Whether you smell what Rock is cooking, or you are taking your vitamins and saying your prayers, There is no doubt you will feel the smackdown from what is the best wrestling game made on any system to date, for months to come.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

d-generation-x suck it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!

posted by Andrew7777 (ROCKINGHAM, NC) Jan 18, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Man this is soooooooooooooooo cool! Putting DX on this game is awsome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!! I give a two thumbs up!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

The best one yet.....Really??

posted by WhereAmI (GRESHAM, OR) Nov 22, 2006

Member since Mar 2005

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have read all these people talk about this one being the best and that its a perfect 10 and I wonder if they are playing the same game. Yes, they have made some improvements, but overall the game is not that great. The new control configuration is absolutely insane, its to difficult. no matter the difficulty setting, its tough, you can't make a reversal and you spend far to much time on your back with the CPU doing move after move after move. Oh, and the worst of all you will spend more time at a load screen longer they you will be playing the game, guaranteed. I have waited and have been excited for this game, but I am truly disappointed. I give this game a 5 at best, and thats me being VERY nice.
Rent, if you must, but don't buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

What could've been a great game is...(loading)

posted by Revlis (TEMPE, AZ) Apr 6, 2007

Member since Oct 2004

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This looked to be such a great game. Even though I'm much more into the Xbox 360 I decided to buy this for the PS2, simply because that's where I've been playing the series for so long. With this installment I was excited to see how that had changed season mode once again, and to see the change to General Manager mode. Of course my main form of curiousity was in the new grapple system, which after taking time to get used to was quite fun. Overall I would've loved to give this game at least a 7, probably even an 8, but due to one simple problem I was unable to.

The load times on this game are insane. This may be different for others, but I've tried 3 different copies now with similar results:

2-5 seconds wait after choosing match type.
10-15 seconds after choosing wrestlers
5-10 seconds loading to change rules
45-60 seconds to load first entrance
10-15 seconds in between each subsequent entrance
10-20 seconds after last entrance before match start

Overall this is about 2 minutes of loading everytime. This is just a rough example, because everything in the game, no matter how mundane has insane load times. I'm sorry if others disagree with my opinions, but I found this game ultimately unplayable, which was a shame because I've always loved the series.

My recommendation is to just wait for the 2008 installment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game eveer

posted by owwiel (EAST ORANGE, NJ) Nov 13, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

7 out of 15 gamers (47%) found this review helpful

This game looks awesome. Cool graphics and new controls.I'm asking you to definetly play this game.Rent or buy it,it won't be a waste of money. It is 9.9 people!! Trust me it won't be a waste of money!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Whoa hold the phone

posted by fatherscar (CORNING, AR) Dec 14, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2004

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I made the mistake of putting this game in and just trying to play it. WRONG. The control scheme is 100% different. It takes quite a bit of getting used to and even then its way too easy to try one move that you know that is effective and accidently pull off another that your opponent can easily escape. It also seems the A.I. needed some work before release. If you get knocked down, go get a soda or something because even at 100% no damage it's going to be a while before you get back up. The graphics are gorgeous though and after you put in the time to get used to the pitiful gameplay you have a good gaming experience on your hands. On a side note, i was quite dissapointed not to see some of my favorite old school ECW wrestlers, i think they made a big part of the WWE scene during 2006.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Didn't like at all

posted by kortney (COLLIERVILLE, TN) Feb 2, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I didn't like this game at all. It was too difficult to learn the moves and when you get pinned it takes forever to get back up. It was frustrating learning what to push to activate the moves and often didn't appear to work properly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Review of Smackdown vs Raw 2007

posted by sterma (MEMPHIS, TN) Feb 2, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

All in All a VERY nice game. I have not yet played with the manager season game but the create your own wrestler option was very nice. The fact that the game changes according to your win/loss percentage is also very well done. It actually made me change my opinion of Molina (snicker). The only down side i noticed were a few graphics bugs and text bugs, like you would be fighting edge and the broadcasters would be talking about Kurt Angle. But the ability to improve your stats and customize your wrestling style was VERY cool. A solid 9 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Raw Vs. Smackdown of the franchise.

posted by doog07 (CHARLOTTE, MI) Jan 31, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I absolutely love this game. I got this a while ago and I am still playing it. Great graphics, new nifty updates, and the analog grappling is cool. Doing dirty special moves is awesome, as well as the clean special moves. All sorts of main event matches you can play under exhibition, and the rosters are fully updated. The General Manager mode is much better than the last one, my only gripe is that you can't play it with 2 people. I would find that to be fun to play with friends or my brother, to see whose the better GM. The create-a-player mode is definately cool, and building up your stats on your created player is fun as well. The season mode seems the same to be, just a better story line. Great game, definately rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Say it ain't so!

posted by drew12 (MARSHALL, NC) Nov 20, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

3 out of 13 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

Iv'e been a loyal fan of the smackdown series since it's inception. Aside from smackdown 2, this has got to be the worst in the series. The new control scheme is dissapointing at best. My entire experience was spent as a cruiserweight fighting big show and viscera. Come on! Most of the time I spent on my back "Pressing any buttons!".

I am gladly sending this one back, thankful that I didn't spend the 40 bucks on purchasing this game before trying it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Soo AweSoMe

posted by gamersking (MOBILE, AL) Nov 23, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

i had this game on ps2 long ago but had to get it again i forgot how much i use to destroy my friends in this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

i ove this game

posted by superflykid89 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Aug 4, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

i'm going to do it on my own without my brother help.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

wrestling

posted by ganster1019 (HILTON, NY) Apr 6, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

this game is a great game for kids that like to have a season going on in like madden 01,02,03,04,05,06,07,08,09,10,and 11 an other games if you have played a season or parts of a season. this game you can unlock real people like hulk hogan and roddy pipper you might not know them but you might know john cena or the undertaker they all are goreat fighters. you can have tag teams and my favorite is royal rumble.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

WWE of 2007

posted by shadowmove (ENDICOTT, NY) Nov 11, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

The voiceovers during season mode was very well done. The grappling system and the create mode features really suck and thats why this game is only fair to me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WWE SmackDown! vs. RAW 2007

posted by seth19 (GREENBRIER, TN) Jan 9, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

Dear Gamefly Staff, I'm really mad about my game.Its so scratched that I cant play it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

really awsome

posted by altiar (SOMERSET, TX) Jul 7, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

graphics were cool roster was good i really enjoyed hitting them with chairs liked every character overall good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

its not as good as 06

posted by MOTOCROSS (ELIZABETHTON, TN) Jan 28, 2008

Member since Sep 2006

its not as good as 06 but its still good

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse